219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake George/Saratoga KOA was rated 5 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (518) 696-2615
CGID1969

Lake George/Saratoga KOA

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   2   6   2   4   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$43
I agree with the previous reviewers. Nice, quiet, wooded campground. Simple and decent. My only complaint is the occasional low voltage at the campsites. It would vary widely from 120w to below 104, if I was running my AC. I've stay at this KOA before and noticed the same problem at another site. As long as your semi-conserved about your power use it shouldn't be a problem. I use a "DISH Tailgater" Satellite system for TV reception and was able to receive partial satellite coverage at site 09. Sites 04 & 52 "looked" like additional possibilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$52
If you want a campground with a lot of glitz and glam, this in NOT the place. This is a very quite, wooded campground. The sites are large and the place, especially in the back area, is nice and dark at night. The bathrooms/showers are clean, but a bit weary. The sites could use more gravel to fill in the low spots. Our biggest complaint was the poor Wi-Fi and, with no cell phone service, you really need internet. My husband complained to the owners who contacted their Internet service. The service was a bit better after that. The signal is strong, but you keep getting bumped off along with slow Internet speed. We also were disappointed that there are no enclosed dog park. We had that at the other two KOAs we camped at this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
This is not a bad park, but only average. Very expensive for what is offered. For this kind of money, we've had beautifully landscaped sites with a patio, full services and amenities. This KOA is rustic, with max 30 amp electric, no cable, no antenna or satellite reception, and gravel sites and roads. We camped in a 38 foot motorhome, and getting to our back-in site was tight. Exterior maintenance was good. We didn't use the washrooms. If you enjoy state park camping, this offers the same experience. It is close to Lake George, but still 10 miles out. If you need firewood, get it on the road just before you get to the campground. For $5, you'll get twice as much as you will for $8 at the park store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
Unfriendly place...no cell service...no CATV...no satellite service...slow/none Wi-Fi...low water pressure...dusty park. Closest grocery store is 10 miles away. We will never go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$58
A nice basic park but advertising is a little misleading. The game room is not operational. The footpath to fishing, dead ends at a town road. No stream found. The unheated, outdoor pool was usable (and popular with many folks) and maintained fairly well, but still suffered from detritus falling from the trees regularly. Our rate is averaged over 3 days. Week days are cheaper than weekends, and we had a $4.00/day, per child added charge with 2 kids. All camp staff was friendly, especially with the kids. We would likely not stay here again, as there are better deals available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
During the planning of our visit to Lake George, we had a large number of campgrounds to stay at. We chose Lake George / Saratoga KOA solely on the reputation of KOA and on the experiences we had at other KOA campgrounds. It is with this in mind that we had high expectations since Lake George / Saratoga KOA was in fact, a KOA. Our expectations were not met. By far, the biggest disappointment was the pool. Frankly, it was disgusting. During the entire week of our stay, the pool’s filter was never “on”. This was evident by the lack of pool jets circulating the water and the simple fact that you couldn’t hear it. This resulted in a layer of bugs and human hair that floated on the pool’s surface the entire week. It was also evident that the caretakers didn’t know how to properly vacuum the pool. The one morning I saw someone attend the pool was laughable. Instead of using the tool to “vacuum” up the debris that sank to the bottom, a young man was literally pushing the dirt toward the filter in the middle of the pool. Since the filter was never “on”, this did nothing other than make piles of sand and dirt. It is not an exaggeration to say that there were piles of dirt and sand clearly visible from outside of the pool during our entire stay. The pool was our biggest complaint, but there were other items we felt didn’t live up to the KOA experience. Trash was frequently overflowing. At one point we had to specifically ask for the trash to be picked up. The game room was filled with arcade games; all off and unavailable. The pool was closed during a few times during “pool hours.” Once because the pool was being topped off (why this wasn’t done before pool hours, we don’t know). Once because it was sprinkling out. The office was closed and locked during “operating hours” because of a available lack of attendants. I will say that our site, 18B, was very spacious and gave us a lot of room to spread out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
This KOA's website makes it appear that the campground is very close to Lake George. It's not. It's 8½ miles west of Lake George, uphill. It is much closer to Lake Lucerne, which was only a mile away. The park is extremely wooded and may create problems for larger vehicles attempting to navigate the interior dirt roads. The site I was on was the most unlevel I've ever stayed on, both side to side and front to back. I had to extend my hitch jack to the full extension in order to get level front to back, and several Lego-type blocks cured right to left. But this put my outdoor grill , as well as my storage pass-throughs, at mid-chest level. The sites are deep forest sites, and not too far from us was a ½ mile trail to one of the lakes that descends from Lake Lucerne to Lake George, we let our dogs run free on this trail. They loved it, but look out for mosquitoes; without coverage you're a walking meal. Wi-Fi was sketchy, but we were able to connect, albeit slowly. If you like the boonies, heavy forestation, and don't mind jumping through hoops to get your rig level, then this is a place for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$47
We hit this campground just after Labor Day weekend and it is blissful. It is very quiet despite being off a somewhat busy road - 9N. I am sure it is busier peak season but we are one of just a few campers tonight in this heavily wooded, very pretty campground. We had to change sites despite that because each site is wired differently and we weren't able to reach the sewer connection with the first site they gave us. They moved us next door without any issue and we are happy tonight. The laundry facilities are great. They had four washers (3 working) and 3 dryers. Excellent condition. The bathrooms and showers are very clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$43
Beautiful location in pine woods, but naturalistic grounds mean lumpy, unlevel campsites which can be a challenge to fit into. CG claims to have pull-thru sites but only a few actually are (driving overland, squeezing between trees 10 feet apart is not my definition of pull-thru!) Clean and nice location - sites near back will have much less road noise. Cute WiFi area with picnic tables and special signs. This CG could be so much more; it just has a tired feeling about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$42
Things must have changed since last year. The camp host looked grumpy but was actually very nice. WiFi is available for sites near the office. I was able to hit it with an external antenna from half the campground. The pool is still a small rectangle. The playground equipment was in good repair, maybe it's been replaced? Sites are dirt, roadways are gravel. Large sites with decent view. You are in the trees. Some traffic noise from the popular 2-lane road nearby. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$44
It's been 4 years since the last review, and this place hasn't changed from the previous reviewer's review. Same run down playground, small kid-unfriendly pool, grumpy staff, and extra fees if you are going to run your A/C. On top of all that we had very low voltage, our power protection system kept disconneting us. I finally turned on the generator to run the A/C until the coach got cool. We were able to get our 42' BigRig in there, but I wouldn't call it big-rig friendly either. Oddly there were no signs directing you to this KOA like most have. It was a little too treed and rustic for us too, no satellite, no wifi, no cable, and we are never going there again! I also marked it as having no pull-thru sites. As the people at the dest told me they didn't have any, but I saw 1 site that some might be able to pull-thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2002
$35
We stayed here for a weekend and found it to be mediocre. The access roads were narrow and poorly maintained. Sites were a good size and relatively shaded, however. The place was clean and wooded. Staff was grumpy and rude at times. Some family members that lived locally came by to see our TT and staff insisted they pay $5.00 each just to see our TT! The way staff handled it was quite rude and put us off. The pool was small and not very child friendly. The playground was run down with old equipment--not very exciting for the kids. Many people crossed through our camp site on the way to the bathroom. We would not return to this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com