206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Sampson State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (315) 585-6392
CGID1986

Sampson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
309
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   7   6   8   4   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
This state park is really beautiful. We liked its open feeling--not overly congested with trees, although there was plenty of shade at our site. Bathhouse was very clean and modern; water was plentiful and hot. From our site, it was just a short walk down the hill to the beach area on Seneca Lake. We don't have kids, but families will appreciate the fantastic playgrounds throughout the park, as well as the beach and concession stand. We would definitely come back to this park again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
If you appreciate quiet, natural beauty, you'll love this park. Sprawling landscape, spacious sites. Lots of things to explore at this park and the Finger Lakes area. Would not hesitate to return. Would rate this park a ten if it had full hook-up, (I am spoiled) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
Signage to park was very good. The park is huge and was maintained well. The location is perfect for some wine tasting. The view at the lake is outstanding. The interior roads were paved and gravel roads to the loops. The loop roads had some potholes. Our site (239) was level, gravel with grass surrounding, reasonable size and was easy to back into. We had no problem with the site or throughout the park with our 38' motorhome. Our site was shaded so the roof mounted satellite did not work. The sites are well off the road so there is absolutely no road noise. Our Verizon cell reception was good. This is a great park for bike riding as there are several roads to explore. We were sorry we didn't have enough time to go to the Military Museum. We would definitely return to this park if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
A great spot to stay if you want to visit the area's many wineries, but NOT if you are looking for peace and solitude in nature. A huge campground with sites situated in multiple loops. Sites are pretty close together with only a few trees scattered about. Lots of amenities for the kids including at least three playgrounds and a nice beach with picnic area. We stayed here because it was close to the wineries, but didn't spend much time at the campground or the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Family camped here on three sites in Loop 3, Sites 121, 124 and 126 for Memorial Day Weekend this year. Sites were fairly spacious but definitely not lined up correctly with the one way traffic on the loop. There are shared electric hookups so we had to run our electric cord with extension under our motorhome and across our site which created a tripping hazard. The shared water for our section of the loop was at the back of our son's site #124. People needed to cross your site to access water and there is no way to fill one's RV from that distance. We also rented a boat slip for the weekend, but the administrative side of things for that weekend was a total disaster and there was no documentation for any of the slips, so boats were simply going into whatever slip was available when they came in. There was a popular fishing tournament being held that weekend. There is a nice beach, but no one was allowed in the water. The park ranger came and yelled at the people who were swimming and told them to get out. Not sure if it was because of a lack of lifeguard, but there was no posting to say swimming was not allowed and it was a very warm weekend. There are two very nice playgrounds for children. Overall it is a nice clean park, and I would consider returning; but never again on a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Bring a long electrical cord extension. Average for state parks. Sites are fairly big but laid out funny. Electrical boxes are on wrong side of site as are gravel pads. Decent beach. Nice Bike riding park. 25 Minutes to Watkins Glen gorge so if you have a big rig and don't want to stay at Watkins glen park which looks tight this is an option. Close to winery's and central between Geneva and Watkins Glen. Bathrooms decent. Would return. Some sites are on incline or decline and are not marked on Reserve America. Has Beach nice playground boat marina and military museum. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Made three night reservation for a waterfront site based on the Reserve America map. Got here and found the site very unlevel, a mud pit and blocked from view of Seneca Lake by a tree buffer. Fortunately it didn't rain so we left after two nights and forfeited the third. Roadway into the park needs work. Would not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
This is the first time we have stayed at Sampson when we were not here for the dog show. This is a great park and we would give it a 10 if it had water and sewer. The park is clean, well kept and we finally got to go to the museum and drive around where the base used to be. Museum was really informative and we have been to bigger military museums that offered a lot less. The sites are nice and well shaded and the employees are very friendly and helpful. The lake is beautiful and its a great place to walk, bike or just sit and relax. Will definitely be back here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
We stayed here 2 nights, had a blast!!! This was a very clean campground and bath house, with nice sites. The only complaint was that the electric hook up boxes were in strange places on the sites, had to park crooked to make cord reach the box. Other than that, is was a great campground. We had 6 adults and 4 kids along with 2 dogs on 2 sites. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
Large State Park with plenty of campsites but not much to do other than camp - poor TV antenna reception. Clean facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Wonderful state park. Stayed here two times recently, once with a group. Beautiful camping area, quiet,pretty level sites well spaced, CLEAN bathrooms and showers. You need a 30 amp extension cord in many sites, so come prepared. A little dusty between rain storms, but that's the worst I can say about it. Water and dump station are in a central area. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
Even though there are no full hookups (just electric) this is a favorite campground. The US Air Force and US Navy museums are first rate and should not be missed. The CG is located close by the Wine Trail and sits right beside beautiful Seneca Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
Reservation website calls most if not all of the sites partially shaded with a 40 ft maximum vehicle length but we found most to be quite open with nothing to shield the sites from one another. Many are not particularly level. Some have a decent bed of gravel, some are grass. We didn't see any big rigs but since you can park pretty much anywhere you want on the grass a big rig could fit. No water hook-ups and the electric hook-up has the plug for two sites on the same post so the power is on the wrong side for one site and it's a bit of a reach for both. We were glad to have an extra 25 ft of 30 amp cord. Bathhouses were fairly clean and just fine overall. Blissfully quiet mid-week and completely overrun on the weekends as you'd expect in the third week of June. We really liked the Navy and Air Force museums on the premises. The Corning Glass Museum is about an hour away and well worth the time; it's a beautiful drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Very nice park on a large lake with a swimming beach, boat launch, and bicycling. Most of the sites are large enough for the largest of RV's, and most are relatively level. However, some sites will not accommodate large RV's, and some of the sites on the lower portion of loop 5 are especially unlevel. The staff is friendly, and pets are welcome. Free hot showers, and clean restrooms. This is an old military base converted to a campgroung, and as a result it is a joy to explore on a bike. Enjoy the military museum in the park. This is wine country. Check out the wine tastings at many of the nearby wineries. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$25
Office staff were friendly and helpful. The park itself is beautiful with many roads and trails. It's a bicyclist's heaven. Nice playground available for the kids. The sites are gravel pads surrounded by grass and quite spacious. Five loops are with electric, and each loop has it's own bathhouse. In loop 5, the men's side showers had no privacy changing area, only a small shower area with a door. Women's side did have privacy changing area. Don't know if other loops would be different. The bathhouse could have been cleaned more frequently, although it was a rainy weekend. Park regulations are enforced. Quiet hours are quiet, and posted speed signs are observed. We found that to be a positive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
On beautiful Lake Seneca in the heart of Finger Lakes Wine Country. The sites were nice and large with gravel and grass. We just about reached the electric pedestal with our power cord. You need to fill up your water tank at the dump station before going to your site. The sites do not easily access the lake but their are trails down to the water's edge. There is beach swimming a short walk away with a lifeguard. The showers were great (nice and hot with plenty of pressure). Powerboats are allowed on the lake and the fishing is great! We recommend eating lunch at Wagner's Brewery/Winery overlooking Lake Seneca. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$18
I first went there for the Wine Country Dog Show. The last weekend in Sept the whole park is closed for the show and it is all dogs and RVs for people showing. It's a wonderful experience -- beautiful site. Then I returned just to camp and had just as much fun. The sites are really big. We had a 25 foot RV and three tents set up -- 9 adults and three dogs. The lake has a great area for people to swim and the dogs could swim anywhere in the lake. My dog spent the entire weekend in the water. As long as you are quiet, they don't mind if you swim with your dog away from the life guard (or at least never complained to me). The showers are very clean, free, with hot water. All the sites were very clean as well. If you love to be somewhere quiet with lots of trees and nature, it's the place to go. It's my favorite place to camp I've found so far. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2000
$18
Campgrounds are well kept. The park staff is excellent. Sites are large and easily accessable. Fresh water faucets are located through out the grounds and a dump station is close by. The state park offers a marina and two military museums (US Air Force & US Navy). The park is located next to Seneca Lake and has a beach for swimming. There is a Wine Trail which circles the lake and includes numerous very good wineries. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com