223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Fish Creek Pond Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (518) 891-4560
CGID1989

Fish Creek Pond Campground

Camp Information
Sites
355
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   7   9   2   9   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
We stayed here because it was the closest campground to our daughter's 4-H camp in Saranac. It was also within about a 1/2 hour from Lake Placid attractions. There is a nice small grocery store across the street from the campground. Other than that, know that you are in the Adirondacks on twisting winding roads and there are no other stores close by. We had a nice large shaded site. There is a site on the web that shows pictures of each campsite so we knew what our site looked like when we made our reservation. Some sites get more sun than others. Be aware that it is a huge campground and chances are you will have a long drive to the showers that are at the far end. But the shower building was fairly new and clean. There are 2 ponds that the campground circles. We chose a site on the quieter end of the 2 ponds in an attempt to lessen the noise from power boats. Our sites could have had a little more privacy between us and our neighbors with more brush and shrubs. Very family friendly. Just about everyone had a sign on their site with their name and town, which added to the family friendly atmosphere. Road around the park is very narrow. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
We love Fish Creek - this was our 6th visit. It is no-frills; the bathrooms could use refurbishing and some of the old fireplaces are crumbling, but we will continue to go back. We love the bike path, and the kayaking can't be beat. Be sure to do the Rollins Pond loop, or head over to the Raquette River. Here's a little secret - campers at Fish Creek (where the showers take quarters) can go up the road to another campground(where the showers are free). There are ice cream, coffee, wood and ice trucks that make daily loops, music performances and various crafts and guided nature hikes and a playground for the kids. There's also a nice beach and day-use picnic area. Donaldson's Trading Post is on the bike path and has all your basic needs. We've met some of the friendliest people here; it's safe to let your kids run and ride bikes. It would not be summer for us without a trip to Fish Creek! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
We love this spot. Almost all sites are lake front and we appreciate it a lot. Lake is very nice. If you like a nice quiet spot in the woods - you'll love it. Canoeing, kayaks, hiking, bike path are available. We celebrate the end of school there each year. No electricity, water or sewer. Nights are cool up there so no need for A/C. Only one shower, but very clean and efficient building. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Road was very narrow but everyone took turns pulling over to let you by. There is only one shower house there that I could find and you have to put quarters in for a warm pleasant shower. The loons and owls were beautiful to listen to. Sunrise over the water unbeatable. Bathrooms were tolerable. The boat launch tiny, ask questions if you have a fair sized boat to put in the water. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
The previous review cracks me up. We just returned from a glorious two-week stay at Fish Creek, and lost count of how many times we said, "Look, there's another one of those big rigs that can't get in here!" They were everywhere. True, some of the sites would not take 40' motorhomes, but we've never had a problem with our 30' trailer when we book a site that says it can take a 30' unit. The road is a little tight but everyone makes it work, and there are places to turn around (like the dump station, for instance). But enough about that. This place is one of our favorites. Almost all sites are waterfront, the staff is attentive and helpful, the showerhouses are great, the atmosphere is perfect. Bathrooms need work but are functional. Bike path is great; ice, firewood, ice cream, coffee and baked goods trucks come through daily; and there is a nice offering of music and crafts. Frankly, I hope more people do read the previous review and decide to skip FCP; those of us who love it here don't need the competition for the sites! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is a great campsite for families with tents and very small campers, but it in NOT a place for either big rigs or 5th wheels. Reservations are made through a central NY service which is outstanding and a very real model. But these folks have never been on site and so do not realize that: 1. Road is VERY narrow with little room to pass anything. 2. There is absolutely no place to turn around 3. It is basically impossible to get anything larger than 20 feet into any site. So large 5th wheels and Class C and A units need to give this great spot a very wide berth indeed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
Our fourth visit here in five years - the best place we've found for kayaking and biking. All but a few sites are right on the lake, which connects to others by a series of streams and is just perfect for kayaking (or jet skis, motor boats, or canoes). The bike path rings the entire campground and is about 5 miles of level, safe biking. Sites are mostly good-sized, some more than others, and can be level or not. Place is tightly-run; although bathrooms could be better they are adequate. Shower houses are good ($.25 for 5 minutes), or go up to Rollins Pond where they are free). Only complaint is the reservation system, which often leaves sites empty but paid for so they are not available to others. Highly recommend this park, and we will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$21
A beautiful lake setting, tall pines and white birch trees everywhere. Enjoyed our camping there and absolutely will return again. Restrooms were clean, but just barely. Same with showers. Not the the worst we've ever encountered, but certainly could do with improvement. The park itself was kept clean and litter-free as far as we noticed, although we had to ask 3 times for someone to come and rid our fire pit of the garbage the previous campers had left behind and it never did get done. Staff were pleasant and friendly, as were other campers. The 10pm noise curfew is enforced and seemed everyone just quieted down perfectly all at once. Some lots are very open to one another, but others are spaced out with trees giving privacy between sites. We noticed that they are planting new trees between lots to enhance the privacy. Plenty of activities for the children, notices posted at the restrooms about upcoming events. Definitely recommend it as a great campground, you can't beat the starry nights by the "pond". We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
This place has to be a fisherman's dream come true. Just about every site is lakeside. Most sites are a little uneven but nothing to complain about. Sites are big & separated enough not to feel crowded in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
Another year and another great experience. This a great Adirondack state campground for those who are willing to forgo all hookups. The waterfront sites and views are beautiful. The sites are large and 305 sites are waterfront. If you enjoy water front activities: swimming, canoing, kayaking, boating, or fishing, this is the campground for you! The night time views of the stars are fantastic. If you bring a motorboat, you can access Upper Sarong Lake through Fish Creek. My teenagers were happy to spend the week without video games or TV and still want to go again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
We have found our new favorite campground! This place was awesome, and we will definitely be going back. True, there are no hookups, but there are water stations everywhere, a three-lane dump station, and it forces you to get outside and enjoy a campfire. We hooked up to our truck battery once or twice, but we were there for a week. What was so great about it? Almost every site is right on the water - you just walk out your door and you can swim or boat. Moor your motor boat or jet ski at your site, or pull your kayak up on the land. We love kayaking and you could go for hours on the lake, or up a small stream to other lakes. The road around the campground is great for biking for all ages - it's about six miles long, level, and the cars have a speed limit of 15 mph. There are also mountain bike trails and hiking trails all over the place, which we never got to because my kids were having such a great time with their cousins. The ice cream, firewood and boat rental trucks come through every day. The park rangers are serious about enforcing dog leash rules, quiet time, and boating life jacket regulations. While it was almost full, we never felt it was too crowded. The showers are a hike but you can drive or bike with no problem, and they were spotless. People were friendly, staff was knowledgeable and helpful, and this is our idea of a perfect campground. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
Awesome! Very busy campground, but 305 sites are lake front and you can swim, and boat from your site. The sites are large and despite the campground being full and therefore very busy we still had a great time. The campground quiets down at 10pm. The main road is paved and level so it makes for great bike riding. You can rent canoes from a truck that goes by the campsites each day. A "hard" ice cream truck comes by the campsites each night between 5 and 7 pm. Also, ice and firewood trucks come by. Yes, there are no hookups but the dump station has three lanes and you can run generators for 5 hours each day. A great way to visit the Adirondack park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2004
$17
Made this our home base while in the Adirondacks. Nice park, very busy. Interior roads are a bit too narrow in spots for large RV's but passable if careful when another vehicle comes by. Nice for family fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Don't go in July or August We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com