223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake George Schroon Valley Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (518) 623-3207
CGID2004

Lake George Schroon Valley Resort

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$100



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   7   5   3   7   4   8   7   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$100
Rec room is a a mess; bathrooms are dirty and have mold all over the place; pool is not maintained well, and there is no second pool--it has been filled in. It is a beautiful location, but is very poorly maintained by the owners, which is really sad because it could be such a nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
This is now an Encore park and it seems like it's in better condition that previous reviewers said although the sites and roads are grass, gravel and dirt. We had a riverfront site with a path down to the river and it was beautiful. Lots of people were tubing. There's also a sandy beach area to enter the river. The site was nice and wide (could have fit another motorhome on one side between us and the next rig). This is a much quieter park than it's sister park, Lake George Escape, but we were invited to attend any activities there that we wanted to and they said there was a shuttle. The store was well equipped with food, camping supplies, cute camping related gifts as well as reasonably priced t-shirts. The ladies at the front desk couldn't have been nicer. Our confirmation from Encore showed a lower price than the computer showed, but we were immediately given the lower rate while they figured out what happened. I would give this place a higher rating, but the Wi-Fi is only free for 1/2 hour a day which I think is pretty petty for a big corporation. I think there are cable connections, but I used my own satellite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
While this campground was quiet and clean, it is also very tight and in need of maintenance. The restrooms and showers were clean but the hall to the toilets is only one very small person wide. The showers are tiny as well. When we were there, it was dry so the interior roads were OK. The roads had very little gravel on them. The sites were tight, and they had a problem with our billing. It was an OK experience but if you are looking for a nice place, try their sister campground, Lake George Escape. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$66
This campground was not what we expected! It was given pretty decent "star" ratings by a major campground review guide, but that is not what we saw when we arrived. The sites were overgrown with weeds and they were also very small. The play area/field was also overrun with weeds. Tons of people complaining in the office saying they were placed in sites without hookups, but that is what they reserved and had already paid in full for. Office didn't care and were not offering refunds. We left the next morning and found another campground. I would not recommend anyone stay at Lake George Schroon Valley Resort! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$42
We stayed there for the annual Warrensburg Worlds Largest Garage Sale, and the site we had was perfect. This is the 4th year on a row we stayed there and really don't have any complaints. The camp store looks like everything was being sold out, compared to the previous owners who had it well stocked with supplies and souvenirs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
This park does not begin to represent the ratings given it by Trailer Life. Upon our arrival, we found it has not been kept up, and there are numerous permanent residents that do not help its appearance. Our river site was dirt, no grass. One would not want to be there in the rain (mud). Wi-Fi was strange, doled out in 30 minute increments that one had to return to the office to renew, only if the office was open. Laundry facilities appeared marginal. This park is some 15 miles from Lake George village, not at all convenient. Our friends had a pull-thru site that was very difficult to get into and out of. This is not a "big-rig" park. Pool was drained. Water pressure too low to use without our on board pump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Older park but in good shape. Helpful staff. Sites are a mixture of dirt and gravel. Gravel interior roads. Sites are fairly level. Some shade. Bathrooms are older but very clean and plentiful. The campground is in the "boonies" but does have traffic noise from I87. WiFi is not full time, but 15 minutes 4 times a day. Cell phone is Verizon country.(AT&T no signal) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
This is a decent campground . Pull through sites are of acceptable size . Gravel roads make the cg dusty. Electrical voltage is at the bottom of what's acceptable (50amp). The river access to the Schroon river is a great feature . Lake George is a pristine lake . We will return We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$54
We have a dually/36' high-profile fifth wheel. Our back-in site was quite large but narrow roads left little space to get positioned - luckily a Good Samaritan staff member, who was a trucker, backed my huge rig in. And even for him it took many forward and backward manoeuvres!!! Many other sites were small and closely situated. The park was in woods - lovely if that's what you like. Some sites were more open and pull-through. Better all round. A grubby, run-down park which needed renovation but despite that, nearly full - no competitors to worry about. One snowy, antenna TV channel. Voucher limited WiFi (4x15 minutes a day)worked well - better than nothing. The staff were friendly and helpful but one was po-faced and off-hand (owner?) Restrooms were primitive - not used, just inspected. Very expensive and not good value. Would not visit again - not recommended. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
Lovely place. We had a spot right on the river.. good size lot. Owners are very friendly! Nice pools. Clean campgrounds, clean river! Will come again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$99
WOW - What a great time! The staff was very accommodating! The pool was a little busy, but large enough to hold everyone. The store was very nice, the food was great and reasonably priced. We traveled here with a Girl Scout group and had a great weekend! Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
This a nice park, easy off and on to the Interstate if you need a spot for a couple of days. However for the second year in a row we went there under the assumption that they would honor Passport America, and for the second year in a row, they have changed their restrictions with Passport America, only after the directory has been published. This time there was a twist, not only would they not honor Passport America , they will no longer honor Good Sam, and as a further twist, the week we chose to drop by has been changed from an off peak time to a peak period. I doubt the 3 other campers who came in that day would call it peak period. As a result of their changes our rate was an $11.00 increase over last year. If not for their changes we may have stayed longer. It is a nice campground, but it is not worth $38.00 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$36
We camped here for Labor Day Weekend. They had activities and music throughout the weekend. Overall it was a good visit. But the staff (as previously reviewed) was not friendly at all. One in the office was sarcastic and not friendly, as well as the craft ladies. The crafts were scheduled on the hour, but if you showed up at ten after, they gave you dirty looks and were already packing up craft supplies. Very nice campsites and Wi-Fi throughout the camp-which my Techy Husband loved. The bathrooms were somewhat dirty due to massive rainstorms we had. The campground was reasonably quiet. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
Vary nice park with a staff that we found friendly and helpful. The park was clean and in nice condition. We liked the quiet and there were no barking dog problems during the day or night. Other then the person next to us trying to put his satellite dish on my space we had no problems. We will be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$38
We found the campground and staff need lessons on welcoming someone to the campground. The attitudes of staff were not friendly or professional, with the exception of one older gentleman who may have been one of the owners. The campground was quiet at night and clean but the bathrooms were ridiculous. It is hard to believe they even passed the towns building codes. You could not open the bathroom stall completely and had to walk side ways to fit down the aisle. Neither pay phones worked and we could not get a cell phone signal. Advised the campground staff person that the pay phones did not work and she informed me that was not their responsibility. My husband bought a paper in the camp store and when he realized the paper which was 3 days old the store staff would not take the paper back! With friendlier staff and renovated bathrooms this campground could be a fun place to go. The Schroon River was the best, we really enjoyed it. We will be checking out some of the other campgrounds along the river. We will not be returning to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
Campground and staff need lessons on welcoming someone to the campground. Attitudes by staff and owner were such that you question yourself about ever returning. Seasonals were not friendly, and gave one the impression that they own the place. Campground was quiet at night, but sure had it's supply of barking dogs by day. Was not big rig friendly, trees, branches, and the site was not level either. With changes in attitudes, could be a fun place to use. As we live close by, less than 50 miles, would have liked to have found a campground to use on weekends without the nonsense. We will not return, and will go somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
I am not one to review campgrounds often, but have to rave about Schroon Valley Resort. CLEAN is the best way to describe it: spotless! The staff was friendly, and let us change our site last minute to gain privacy. Despite a very rainy weekend, we found the campsite in our top three ever. We camped riverfront with a pop-up. The site was large, and despite the mosquitoes (lots of rain lately in the Adirondacks) we found the river noise very soothing. The site was a little pricey ($35/night for waterfront, plus $4/night per child for a total of $47/night) but worth every penny. I wish every campground we've stayed in were as attentive to detail. Thanks for a great trip! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Overnighted here. Was quiet, clean, and scenic next to river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com