206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Watkins Glen / Corning KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 81 user reviews. Phone: (607) 535-7404
CGID2006

Watkins Glen / Corning KOA

Camp Information
Sites
306
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   10   4   6   6   9   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$57
This is an upgraded KOA with a variety of sites. After the paved entrance (sharp turns from the road and at the office), the interior roads and sites are reasonably well packed gravel. The park has been upgraded over the years with improvements to electric service, kid-oriented amenities, and many sites with concrete pads (with corresponding high prices brackets). We arrived late in the afternoon, and were escorted directly to our site, bypassing the office; a nice touch. This is a pet-friendly park, with a small off-leash area provided. Cable TV was acceptable but the “free Wi-Fi” was constrained to the point of being unusable, in addition to being totally unsecured (a definite no-no these days). Back-in sites are fine for smaller rigs, but the majority of the pull-through spots (most of the newer spaces) are exceptionally large, long and well spaced. Stay away from site F187 in the lower level, as an out-of-control landscape irrigation system turns it into a mud puddle each morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$66
When we went to our site there were gobs of dog hair on the ground. It appeared that the previous camper had combed or sheared his/her dog before departing. Is this the fault of the campground staff, obviously no? However, a site should be checked before it is assigned to the next occupant. We, of course, went back to the office and were assigned the adjacent site. There was no way we could get level in that site. Off we go to the office once again to obtain an acceptable site. We were assigned a site in Section A which was very nice. We were charged $66 per night --- for that price we should have been given a premium site from the beginning. We were told that the $66 entitled us a site in the A section so why would we be assigned a site in Section B. We surmised that it was because of the length of our rig which is 29 feet. This is not a fair or reasonable way to assign a site or charge a fee. According to the owners, who toot their own horns quite a bit, say they have upgraded this campground over the past ten years, which seems to be the case, but more attention is needed to the sites in Section B. Another unusual thing occurred upon check-in. We were given arm bands to wear while in the campground. The purpose was for "security". We are older folk and have been camping for over thirty years and have never encountered this before. If management is worried about someone coming into the campground that is not a camper or guest, then put up a gate and control traffic by manning the entrance. There is no way I would ever wear an armband in a campground. If that meant that I couldn't camp there then, so be it. Oh, by the way if you lose the armband it will cost you $4 to get another one. Crazy eh??? Yes, this possibly could be a very enjoyable campground to stay at, but management needs to tweak a few policies and situations to make it a "resort". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$76
A very nice,clean park. We did not like wearing a wrist band for a whole week, there should be a easier way of keeping up with your clients. The Wi-Fi was non existent on the premium sights. Other than these trivial faults a very clean and pretty park. I would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$62
Overpriced, overcrowded and unappealing visually (hanging baskets of flowers do not count as landscaping). There is a sharp turn getting into the park, checking in took a long time and staff was not customer oriented. I made reservations and requested site -A128 when we checked in we were assigned A120 which is a big difference. A120 is directly across from the playground and on the corner where all incoming traffic passes. The playground is basically a huge sand box, and given the large number of children, much of it ends up in the shower and restrooms. There were heavy rains while we were there, sites in the lower areas had standing water and lots of mud. Given the effort made to attract families and children cleaning restrooms once a day is not adequate. Also, trash pickup at noon is inadequate, I do not like having dinner trash in the motorhome over night; there are no dumpsters. WiFi was intermittent and cable was snowy, and even though our site was not treed, we had difficulty with satellite. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$72
Nice park, but overpriced for those just wanting a place to stay while touring the local area and not wanting use of a pool, jump cushion, water slide or miniature golf. Lots of renovations since our last stay, and you'll help pay for it! Also learned something new - Thursday's are considered a weekend day (and you will pay the weekend premium rate). Weekday rates appear to be Mon/Tue/Wed only. Restrooms okay, but could be cleaner. Staff is helpful and friendly and park is excellent for big rig access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Off 414 and handy to both Watkins Glen for boating on the "Finger Lake" and touring the falls or for Corning and the Glass Museum and other attractions. The road is very good to and from these areas. The park is large and we were close to the bathrooms. They were NOT clean though and I only used them once and did not return. I was disappointed that they do not recycle as many other parks do, but we were told to put our plastic, paper, and glass in the trash. We would stay here again since we are self-contained and there is a lot to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$59
We found this to be larger than many other KOAs we've stayed in with a variety of sites for both large and small RVs. It is well laid-out and spacious. We stayed in section A which had nice, level pull-through sites that were easy to get in and out of. The campground is centrally located to many of the area attractions which we enjoyed. The weekend we were there was very busy and we surmised that it is used as a weekend retreat for area residents. With the many activities available and the competent and efficient staff it is easy to see why. We would definitely stay again, if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
We camped here for a Motorhome Rally. They were very nice and gave us a section of the campground for ourselves. We are all big rigs and all fitted in there with no issues. They had a good breakfast on Sunday, too. The campground was adding spaces and they had equipment around still, but the new sites were ok even if they were too muddy still to stay there yet. I would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
We camped here many years ago & returned because we remembered it being nice. It is still nice but definitely focused on being a family resort rather than just a campground. Our site was near the pond which was good & bad. Relatively quiet, but not level at all. We also got no Wi-Fi & not a strong phone signal. There are all newer jumping pillow, pool, laser tag, etc. and really fancy sites with deluxe patios crammed on top of one another. Okay if you like that stuff but for less money we will pick one of New York's great State Parks next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$73
We visited the park in late August. We paid extra to stay in the Sunset Acres section of the park. Our site was crushed stone with a stamped concrete patio which included a fire pit, picnic table, glider swing and lamp post light. It is a central location to all the attractions in the area. We did not use the restroom facilities so I can not comment on them. The Wi-Fi was sketchy at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$56
We would love to give this campground a full 10 but their WiFi being slow was a negative. But to their credit, they did provide an explanation/disclaimer in their campground literature about the WiFi and their ongoing challenge to provide the best/fastest service to their campers and why it was the way it was. We didn't love our particular site although it was fairly level. We only needed a 1" block under one side to get leveled. This campground is very good size and had a wide variety of accommodations. There were 7 levels of camper sites and 5 levels of camper cabins. Trash pickup was at your site. They offer breakfast during the summer months at their Breakfast Pavilion. There is a second pavilion at the end of the campground that looked to be very new and would be an excellent location for larger get-togethers. It seemed like the quiet hours were pretty strictly enforced as we had no noise interference at any point. The sites were decently laid out and the roads around the park were no challenge to navigate. We would definitely utilize this campground in future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
Used for a two day stop over . The pull through site was narrow: close to neighbors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$75
We stayed in the Sunset Acres section which had large level sites with full hookups but was a little pricey. Very nice, quite area with plenty of room for our 34ft. trailer and large tow vehicle. The paved patio and fire ring area were a plus. The Wi-Fi was very spotty with a few days of no service at all. The sewer connections for our neighbors were next to our patio and should have been moved over so we wouldn't trip on them or smell them. The staff was friendly and helpful, store was well stocked and interior roads were fairly smooth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$63
We have a 30' 5th wheel. Sites were pull thru. Decent crushed gravel pad for the RV. It rained quite hard one night and there weren't really any puddles around the next day to speak of. Concrete patios which were nice. Staff seemed fairly helpful. Not many all night lights on the roads which we like. Water pressure was very good, Electricity even on a hot day with the camp fairly full was still over 116v. Cable worked with 60 some channels. We spent about $63 a day for 4 days in mid summer so for us it was a little more than we've paid for other campgrounds, but not a huge deal. We stayed at the least expensive pull thru site with a pad. The big downside for us was the internet. Once in a while it was okay, but most of the time it was terrible. The wifi connection was very good, but the latency on the internet was often in excess of 10 seconds. So pages load very slow if at all. Sometimes the connections would simply time out. The staff is well aware of the problem. When I went to talk with them about it, their response was "It's always been that way. We don't even have a good internet connection at the office." For them to advertise they have wifi is misleading IMO. Sort of like advertising you have cable, but only have 1 channel. Not likely we'll come back here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$73
We stayed in the Sunset Acres Section; no trees, no shade, very hot. Our site was very spacious with stamped concrete, fire pit, light post with hanging basket, picnic table, and a glider. It was a good walk to the somewhat outdated bath house as they have not opened the facility in this section yet. The mostly dirt, gravel road created a cloud of dust every time a vehicle drove by. This section still has work going on, and the work vehicles did not adhere to the 5 MPH speed limit, which created even more dust. We had to wet the road down in the evenings in order to stay outside. Some road noise mostly during the day; evenings were quite. The indoor pool would be really nice in the winter, but when it is 90 degrees outside the pool was not a good option. There was no outdoor pool. The wi-fi was extremely poor, the cable was poor, the 50 amp service was excellent; it was in the 90's and we had no issues. Our check in was smooth, but service was average over all; it depended on who was at the front desk. The park was located very well for attractions, State Parks, Corning, Finger Lakes wine, etc. We would stay here again, but probably in a different section. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$75
Yep: $75/night, but it was NASCAR weekend, and EVERYTHING, EVERYWHERE was inflated. So. Since last year, the entrance is being re-designed and re-built. Larger, wider. The place is still being expanded with more sites, etc. Still clean and well run. Noticed a whole new staff: smiles, friendly, informative and knowledgeable. Wi-Fi is better than dial-up but not broadband. One day REALLY fast, next day, not so much, but OK. New TV system, more stations and good picture. Like most places, some sites are not quite level. The one we were on (A-125), had to get out the yellow blocks under the tires for one side. Site is big, but IMO just a bit too close to your neighbor, but no problem. ONLY problem is that the neighbors sewer hookup is less than 2 feet from the edge (and center) of my patio. Been coming here since the 1980s. Will be back next year too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$70
Visited park for first time. I had made a reservation & told them I had a 45' coach & tow. Staff was disorganized and uninformative upon check in. All roads are gravel, but since there had been rain there was a lot of mud. Park needs to lay more gravel on roads & sites. Park is in a mountain setting and except for the pine trees at the entrance most trees were appropriately trimmed. The roads are narrow & turns are tight for big rigs. Our site was long enough to accommodate any size coach, but our slides were within a few feet of our neighbors awning. Utilities are modern & well placed. Site had a large patio, table, fire ring and swing. Cable TV was good. Wi-Fi worked fine. Park is very clean. Indoor pool and spa were extremely clean and even had an outdoor sunning area. Lots of facilities & activities for children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Well worth the money. Nice sites. Nice people. Doggy play park and stream to play in. Easy shaded walking trail. Lots of kids play areas. Indoor pool and hot tub all included in price. About 7 miles to Seneca Lake at Watkins Glen. Gorgeous area. Only 1/2 hour from 3 beautiful State Parks near Ithaca. Lower camping area is even more spacious. During our stay we had extreme heat (104) and our electricity never failed us even with the campground mostly full. Will definitely return and take friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$65
Gorgeous park. Clean, neat and exceptional - definitely the nicest KOA we have been in. Huge sites that have fire rings and concrete patios. Management/staff very helpful and a great place to spend a night or a week. Lots to do in the area and wonderful fresh fruits available from local farmers. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$68
We just returned from a weekend in Watkins Glen. The campground was great. The staff was friendly and helpful at check in. Our rate per day was $68. We stayed in the Sunset Acres part of the park. Theses sites are large pull throughs with cement patios, lamp post with hanging flower basket and a glider swing. Adjacent to the patio is a concrete area with a fire pit. That park was clean and well taken care of. The trash was picked up everyday at your site. Plenty of activities for kids. Wi-Fi was free and worked well. We will for sure return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
This is an excellent destination campground. Lots of stuff for kids to do: huge playground, indoor pool, bouncing pillow, a program of counselor led activities. The site was level, internet quick and easy, and the bathrooms were immaculate. Great showers. However, we would have appreciated a rule or two about quiet hours, and not tying dogs outside of the camping cabins all night (barking). There is a train closeby, but we only heard it once. Some food available: pizza and ice cream. Apparently there are hot breakfasts on summer weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
Wonderful park with great owners. This campground is always improving, instead of stagnating like so many others. Cable was great with lots of channels, WiFi worked well and was fast, laser tag was a blast. Good, healthy atmosphere for the family. Been here before and will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$55
This is one of the best campgrounds I have ever stayed at. It is very well-kept and maintained. We have a 40 foot fifth wheel and it is very easy to maneuver around this park. The sites are very spacious and clean. We stayed in a patio site over this weekend and those are definitely worth the money. They have a large concrete patio, fire pit and swing. The indoor pool was great considering the temperatures were quite cool this weekend and it gave our kids something fun to do. I was a bit disappointed that there weren't more activities for the kids but the pool was a great benefit. The staff at this campground was very nice and had some great information on the activities to do in this areas, such as visiting Watkins Glen State Park. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$55
We were at site A133 - a very nice pull thru with a concrete pad. It was easy to access and quite level. We did have a nice grassy area for the dog pen and the doggy park was excellent with agility equipment to play on. Folks at check in were very friendly. Indoor pool was wonderful but we found the hot tub a bit too hot (we keep ours at home at 100, this was higher). The turn into the park from the south was very tight - swing wide if you are pulling a long trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$57
This is our third time staying at this campground in 2 years. My previous rating remains the same. Has two annoying issues that were present previously, but overlooked because of good weather. This trip it was cold and rainy. The internet is beyond slow. It took 8 minutes to transfer one page of information. Gave up and put the computer away. Second issue were the TV stations brought in by their direct TV satellite. They selected NYC for their local stations. News and most of all weather had nothing to do with Watkins Glen. Also no NBC stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$59
This is not a bad campground, but it is not the best, either. My main issue is the expense. They nickel and dime you death. We never thought to check for an extra charge for our five-year-old! $4/night for a 40 pound kid! The pool is nice, especially when it is raining, since it is indoors. I would not pay extra for the jumping pillow but the playground is awesome. The pond is a nice touch, but they might want to try and aerate it, since it looked suspiciously murky. We caught a few Bluegill but threw them back. The people there are really nice and very helpful, but we had to keep going back for internet codes, time and time again. Why not have a code that lasts until you check out? Also, the store was out of milk for at least two days and we had to drive to town to get bait for the fishing pond. We are not sure if we will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
We stayed in an economic site, in section D. It was directly across from office which was good for us. It was a spacious site although we didn't have any neighbors so that gave us extra room. We enjoyed the site and would pick it again. We were here during the week so we didn't have to pay for the jumping pillow but I definitely would have been irritated if we would have had to. Its a great location, close to town and wineries. Staff fairly friendly, but had a hard time believing that it was best campground last year. It wasn't that nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$75
We have a very mixed review. The sites are very close. The neighbors sewer is right next to your concrete pad. If making a reservation, ask for a Premium site in section F. The lake/pond area is overrun with duck/geese waste, that looks like dog mess. You cannot go anywhere around to fish without stepping into or around it. Very unsanitary. I went to the office to advise them and was told "What can we do about it?". The miniature golf course is very small, neglected and a eye sore as you enter the campground. Also, they charge you extra for kids to camp, but than want to add $12 a child to use the facilities. Very disappointing. We did like the pirate ship playground, kids activities and daily trash pick up at your site. The area is amazing with state parks and wineries! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$46
Convenient spot off of Route 414 and about 5 minutes from downtown Watkins Glen. People were friendly. Arrived about 10 PM, the office was closed however there was a person who directed us to our site, which was very nice. All facilities were nice, except sites were to close together. The next person's sewer site was literally on top of us. Which disturbed us because you could see that there is work being done, like cement pads. Why do the work on cement pads when 2 feet from your picnic table is the sewer. Would I stay again, yes, since usually you can't find everything you want in a campground. Also, even though we don't have kids, seemed like plenty of activities, for the young ones. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$52
A well-maintained park with lots of amenities for the kids. Has a beautiful indoor pool and bounce pillow, a fishing pond and lovely creek. Unfortunately, the bounce pillow is only open a few hours one day a week except in the height of summer. But all the amenities in the world can't redeem a campground that has a difficult staff member at the front desk: which is unfortunately the case here. So, perhaps a little re-training is in order for her! Only one other criticism: the staff are the big violators of the speed limits in the park. Slow down and maybe put some more stone on the main roadway. It's getting VERY dusty! Even though I've made some negative remarks, we would probably go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$56
This KOA park seems to have a lot of site choices, from economy to deluxe. Economy equates to unlevel so beware. I needed to upgrade just to get a level site. The Wi Fi is slow as noted by other reviewers. I am here during mid week off season and think the price is rather high, though it does reflect two children. This is my biggest beef with KOA's in general. he extra charge per all persons over two. Helpful staff. I would try to find less expensive accommodations if in the area in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
This is one of the nicest campgrounds that we have ever camped in. The facilities were clean and well kept. We were fall camping and it was cold! The heated pool and hot tub were lovely. We had no problem with the Wi-Fi. Although our children are grown, we were impressed with the family friendly nature of this campground. We plan to stay there again and would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$52
We stayed here for 2 nights, had a patio and firepit. The campground was very nice, the people were friendly and overall very clean. Didn't bring the grandkids this time but there was a pirate ship playground right across from our site and they would have had a ball. The brochure states there is a charge for the jumping pillow, which was located far from the playground. The Wi-Fi was a little slow but overall we enjoyed our stay. Conveniently located near Corning and Seneca Lake Winerys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$52
We really had high hopes for this park: the photos on the website looked great and given the price compared to others in the area, we expected a superior experience. Unfortunately, while a lot of money has obviously been spent on this campground in order to add amenities and gain awards: the net result fails to meet basic expectations. The price reflects the cost of amenities that are not necessarily part of camping, but those costs are passed onto the campers. Sure, the pool is nice, the playground is unbelievable, virtually every KOA point-gathering amenity exists, and from the looks of it there are lots of activities for kids and families. They should have spent money on the basics, first. The entrance is extremely challenging if you are turning right from northbound Rt. 414, which is the easier direction given the grade of the hill coming up from Watkins Glen and the sharp left turn from Rt. 14. You will likely have to pull fully into the oncoming lane to make the right. The entrance is also quite a bit sloped up from 414, as evidenced by all the hitch and towbar scars on the main road. The trees that line the entrance were not maintained to a reasonable RV height, and larger rigs may be forced under their low hanging branches to make the 2 turns necessary to negotiate the entrance. Taller rigs need to watch for damage. Wi-Fi, while free, was unusably slow. You are also limited to one IP address. A disappointment given the nightly site rate. The sites are also gravel, not fully paved, as are the interior roads, which creates a lot of dust. It is doubtful we would stay here again if the rates remain the same. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$60
We enjoyed our stay at this campsite immensely. The pool is new, enclosed and excellent: the nicest of any campground we stayed at. The playground is fantastic: one of the best we have seen. We stayed in the pull-through sites with the upgraded patio in Sunset Acres. The sites are very nice. We had a great stay for the Labor Day weekend and plan to return to the campsite next year for a week long stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$62
This KOA is one of the better ones we have stayed at. We camped in the premium section. Sites were large, level and easy to get into and out of. Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground has three different sections. Front section has close small sites (initial section of the campground when it was built. Middle section has slightly larger sites and the newest section premium) which is resort like. Price represents discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
As promised. We camped in one of the Premium RV Pull Thru sites. It was secluded, quiet and had convenient hook ups. Definitely would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
This is our second trip to this campground and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Campground staff were friendly and helpful, and there was a lot of information available about local events, wineries, hikes, festivals, etc. Plenty of things for the children to do, reasonable rates if you want to buy a band for an entertainment package. Bathrooms and showers were clean and well kept. One note: if you are going to be watching kids on the jumping mattress, bring a beach umbrella, its very sunny there! We camped with two other families and would recommend this again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
For $45, we felt that we over-paid for what we got and what we expected. One to two hours before we arrived, I called and reserved a "basic" lot. The office told me that there were many more lots available if we did not like the site. When we went to our site, the lot was so out of level that we had to raise the front wheels off the ground. Unsuitable! We asked for another site, saw many more available, but were offered only TWO other unsuitable sites even after we offered to pay more for a "deluxe" site. The office said that no other sites were available. The next morning, there were still at least 15 empty suitable sites available! The dog park was pretty nice though! We made do with the first site and would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$47
We liked this park, except our site didn't have sewer hookup. We didn't like that the bounce pillow was not included in our fee to camp, and that it (bounce pillow) was a bit on the pricey side. The pool area was nice and clean. I would go back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$72
We camped in woods; site was good. Bathrooms very clean. However, due to a lightning strike, we were without power for about ten hours with no running water! In order to go to the bathroom, we had to drive five miles to Wal-mart!. Besides the gorge, there is not much to do. Town is boring with a lot of boarded up stores. Also, campground is boring with no activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
This is one of the better KOA's with a nice, family atmosphere. They've upgraded a lot of their existing pull through sites with concrete pads in the "A" Section. Even a few with upgraded patios and chairs at the end of each "A" Row, as well as a new "Big Rig Section" with upgraded "premium" patios. The Wi-Fi is the pits. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
This is a beautiful, well maintained park. We had one of the super sites in the back of the park and were very pleased with the size and layout of the site. I would give it a higher rating, but the Wi-Fi was so slow as to be unusable for all practical purposes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Beautiful campground well laid out, but the Wi-Fi is the poorest I have ever experienced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$63
This campground gets bigger every year this year was our 3rd year staying here. The staff is friendly and helpful and do everything they can to assist you during your stay. The pool and hot tub are both inside and well kept. The rest rooms and showers were clean and in good shape. the campground was just as clean. We will stay here again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$70
This park is expensive, but nice, close to Watkins Glen which is a beautiful hike. Close to Dundee speedway and Watkins Glen race track, slight noise from track may bother some people. The town is small but has a lot of stores to see including a Wal-Mart, the town is right on the lake which is beautiful. They need to plant some trees and keep the pool cleaner, but the patio sites are neat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$65
NASCAR race weekend: prices are always increased. We've been at this KOA every year since the mid 1980s and watched it grow. Growing maybe too much, in my opinion, but it's clean, neat, well run, no complaints. Owners are responsive and very friendly. First class all around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$50
We stayed on one of the new 'super-patio' sites. This area is very quiet, clean and nice. The owner and staff at this park are friendly and helpful. The owner even came around asking for input on how they can make their campground better. We will most definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$66
Nice campground .Easy in and out for big rigs . The new premium sites are very nice i.e. large patio with inset fire ring , lamp pole with night light and rocker glider and new picnic table. In the future they should plant a few trees . Seneca lake has lake cruise and many other activities . If your into wine you want to visit the wineries . It could be a two day affair ! Limos are available for the enthusiastic taste testers . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$55
Stayed in one of the recently opened supersites. Site had a large, "stamped" concrete patio and patio lamp post with a hanging flower basket (nice added touch). CG was clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. Indoor pool and hot tub. The nicest KOA that I have stayed at. Only minor drawbacks were lack of shade in the newly open area and the WiFi was slow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$50
Not as great as others have said. Wi-Fi was horrible, slow and not realizable. They are tying to improve the park but forgot they have to maintain what they already have. Asked for a new Bball net and never got it the week we stayed. Also no hot water in the main shower area by the buffet. Breakfast for most of the day even though I reported it at 9:15am. Camp workers are nice and seem to like the job. Indoor pool was real nice. Met the owner and he seemed nice but only talked to him for a few minutes. Only saw them clean the shower area once and I stayed a week. Mini-golf is a mess and needs to be replaced. Local area is boring unless you drink a lot of wine. I would probably think they are the best place to camp in the area as the choices are minimal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$60
We loved this campground and will be sure go back again. We had a pull in site next to a grassy "yard" which our dog really appreciated! Our site was well shaded and was well located to all of the park's amenities. The staff was very pleasant as well. The area is gorgeous and next time we will do more hiking & sightseeing. However this allowed us to take full advantage of the park's amenities and they were very nice. Don't miss the hiking trail that winds along the back of the campground--we discovered it only the morning we were leaving and wish we'd gotten around to it sooner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Staff were very helpful, Nice location with lots for the kids. They have a good trail system in the woods. Indoor pool was very clean and well keep. We will be going back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$60
We had the nicest campsite that we ever had. It was a pull-thru with a large patio and fire pit and picnic table and light. The kids enjoyed the indoor swimming pool, the playground and the half-court basketball court. We were disappointed that there was a charge for the jumping pillow and for mini-golf. The rental bikes were hard to use on gravel. The camp store was pretty nice. The staff was pretty friendly. Overall, we had a very nice experience at this KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$55
We stayed in a pull through section of this campground. The concrete patio was very nice, but the sites are close together, and there were no trees in the campsite area. Normally this might be okay, but this weekend had temps in the mid to high 90's, and it felt like we were camping in a parking lot. A very nice nature trail hike along a trout stream provided some relief from the heat. The camp store is well stocked and has great ice cream. The newspapers are only available for sale in the store, which doesn't open until 9 a.m. It would be nice to be able to get a paper out of a news stand at an earlier hour. A breakfast buffet was listed on the website as being available on Saturday and Sunday, but was only served on Sunday. "Cable" is satellite and based out of New York city, so no local news is available. Internet usage is limited to 60 minutes at a time, and you must have a different access code for every session, and the coupons are only available from the office. The coupons were given upon check in, and you could get more. The internet was very slow and subject to weather because it is satellite also. You can check email, but it was frustratingly slow. A new big rig area is being built and looks like it will be nice, but again, not too many trees or shade. We will probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$40
Friendly staff, nice pond, indoor pool and facilities, nice dog walk areas, and basically a pleasant KOA to stay at in the Finger Lakes/Corning area. Sites available for big rig pull throughs to tents nestled at the edge of the trees. We will be back again, because we visit the Finger Lakes Wine Country every year. Go to Suzannes Restaurant on the East side of the lake for the finest food in the area at a husband and wife run business. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
We camped here over Labor Day and had a great time. I love coming to a CG and seeing positive changes. Upon talking to the owner, next year we'll see even more. The only items I'd like to see remedied is clothes hooks in the changing room @ the pool and some sort of fence by basketball court to keep ball from going into trees or going down hill hitting the campers. We will be back next year. They are big rig friendly. We had a 36' MH +toad and had no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$72
Our site was cramped and un-level (it had ruts in it). When I said something to one of the staff, no one offered to change my site or compensate me otherwise. We generally thought this campground was way overpriced for the overall value. We have a large family and the per-child fee starts to add up. We have stayed on much nicer full-hookup campsites in NYS for far less money (at a flat rate I should add). The campground is obviously making continual improvements (roads, pool, lighting, etc.). However, the roads were all dirt and very dusty when we were there. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
First KOA I ever had to pay extra ($3) for cable! It annoyed me. Add it into the price. It's not the money but the principle! Nice area, many things to do. Clean campground with nice pool and hot tub. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Very nice campground. Previous comment was correct. Lots of work being done here. Machines were going non stop. Not a big bother but wondered what it would be like with some quiet. Roads were a bit messy. Rocky and muddy. Indoor pool was very nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location for going to state parks in the area. Will come back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$54
This is a wonderful park. My site was large and level. My grandchildren really enjoyed the facilities. The people were very helpful and friendly. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were fantastic. I definitely would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$45
Overall we liked the campground. The rest rooms located next to the office were much nicer than the ones located near the middle of the campground. The interior roads need some work. There is a lot of updating being done and new sites being added leaving existing sites appearing to be neglected. We had a big rig pull-through and it was perfectly level and the width was adequate. The lake has great fishing and the pool area is beautiful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
We really like this campground. The indoor pool house is gorgeous and the jacuzzi is great. We have camped here 3 times and will definitely come back. There is so much to do around the area from hiking in the glen to visiting wineries, that you really can't get bored. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$50
We liked the park but had a problem with the fact that no one cleaned the bathroom. The staff was nice and apologized for the construction. The pool was very nice and clean. The location was ideal and we will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
Extremely friendly people, quick to help and answered any questions. Site was just large enough for our Toy hauler. Fences at the front of each site makes it a little tight getting out. WiFi worked excellent. I was working at the local fire academy so I did not have time to swim, but indoor pool is new, clean and was getting plenty of use as the weekend approached. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$43
I stayed here over the Labor day weekend. Camp ground was full but very quiet. It rained hard from Saturday morning until Saturday evening. Some sites did somewhat flood but overall everything dried out reasonably well. I only have 2 complaints, the changing rooms at the pool needs hooks to hang cloths from while changing. Bathrooms need to be attended to more than once a day. I actually plunged one of the toilets myself. Over all if it was a nice weather weekend everything would have been fine. The area does have some nice scenery so bring another vehicle. I will stay here again next year and do some winery tours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$42
We really enjoyed this campground especially the indoor pool and hot tub, which was built recently. It looked brand new and very clean! There weren't any lifeguards but that didn't bother us. We supervised our kids as did other parents. Our kids really liked the pirate playground too and could easily ride their bikes around the campground. The miniature golf is rather old and dinky and you pay to play, but the kids liked it anyway. Our site was in the trees and of adequate size. I believe the pull throughs were just in the open with maybe a tree by each. The pond is very pretty and a nice place to walk the dog, but we didn't have time to fish. You had to get coupons for the free wi-fi at the office which gave you an hours worth. This was adequate for us to check weather, maps,and tourist info which is about all we use internet for on vacation. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Be prepared to pay extra for cable TV ($3 a day) and for 50 amp ($2 a day) service! The wireless internet is a pain to use. You get 1-hour access numbers. If you log in at 9:00 a.m. for 15 minutes and again at 6:00 p.m., you need 2 coupons. If you don't have any coupons and the office is closed, you're sunk. The campground is really dusty, as most of the roads are gravel and/or dirt. Towed vehicles will need a bath after entering and leaving here. We travel with our pets, so shade is important. There's precious little here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$50
I agree with most of the positive comments on this page. My children didn't want to leave so at least they had a great time. They loved the playgrounds and pool. We were in one of the last pull through sites. Our site flooded very easily in the rain and we periodically had a strong sulfur odor in the area (seemed like it was coming from the cabins). I found the site to be very small, muddy, too close for campfires and no privacy. The bathrooms were soaking wet and very slippery from the use of the nearby showers. The indoor pool was a nice touch, it was very big and clean. However, I don't like the fact that they only have a camera watching the pool. Parents and children were breaking the rules so we didn't spend much time there. This was my first time at a KOA so maybe I am just accustomed to the state, county and private parks. Oh, if you are pulling a camper take exit 46, do not use map quest's directions. It may take you ten minutes out of the way but it is better than going up a very steep hill (route 14 off of 17) unless you have a very powerful truck. Overall the lake and Watkins Glen were absolutely beautiful, make sure you get to see the waterfalls too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
The site we were given was way too short for the size 5th wheel we reserved the space for let alone for our tow vehicle. The campground is way over-priced. The wi-fi is limited to 1 hour per day and requires an access code which you must get at time of check-in. Cable TV is an extra charge. We don't believe we will ever stay here again. We camped here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
Really a nice park with friendly and helpful personnel. This was our 2nd visit and they had finished the upgrade since our last visit. Well done and worth the cost. Only dislike was the added cost for anything extra but that goes with any KOA. The wifi is not the best but with a good cell signal we didn't use it anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$44
We stayed here during Memorial Day weekend. The park was full and everybody was well behaved. The staff is friendly and helpful. I needed to borrow an extension ladder to make a repair on the roof of our trailer. One of their workcampers let me borrow his and even delivered it to our site. The older pull-through sites are only about 30 ft long, but are well spaced out. Ours was sloped slightly down hill, which made it hard for our kids to get into and out of the trailer (even with a double step). Most of the other sites appeared to be very level. Despite being full, the restrooms and showers were always clean. The indoor pool is very nice and always busy and there are plenty of things for the kids to do. The store is well stocked with the basics. As another reviewer mentioned, if you are arriving from the Watkins Glen direction, there is a 2 mile long, 7% grade to contend with. Since it begins at a stoplight, you can't always get a running start. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
We camped here on Mother's Day weekend. The park is very well maintained and the staff is excellent. We camped with three other families. Upon arrival we realised our site was nowhere near our family members. We asked if they could put us on a site near them. They put us right next to them. The park was completly booked in advance as it was a 'free day' camping weekend. Activities for kids included: craft projects, scavenger hunts, and movies. There is a stocked pond, indoor swimming pool, mini-golf, arcade, 2 playgrounds, fitness center, basketball court, and pedal carts. No bored kids here. The store is well stocked and the staff is very friendly. I'd camp here again and would recomend it to all my friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$42
Nice campground just outside of Watkins Glen, NY. Well kept up. Showers and restrooms very clean. Our site was nice and level. Friendly staff. Suggest entering the campground from the south on Rt. 414. If traveling in from the north on Rt. 14, will have to climb a long hill from a dead stop at a traffic signal at the bottom of the hill. We plan on returning in 2006. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$34
We stayed two nights, and had a large back-in site. The staff was very friendly, and helpful. The problem I had was that my brother and his wife and two small children were able to join us at our camper for a dinnertime cookout. I had to put $40 on my credit card for them to visit, and if they did not leave by 9 pm, I had to pay that fee (of $10 per person). It was a bit funny - I wasn't going to say anything to my brother, but as they prepared to leave, it was 8:45. I then told them we'd go up to the office with them, as we would be refunded $28 if they left by 9! I don't mind paying a fee of $3 per person for their visit, but it seemed very excessive to charge me $40 if they happened to leave by 9:01 or later! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$42
This campground has very easy access - right off the main road, we had no problems with highway noise, however, we were set in a bit from the road. Staff were friendly, and they are making a lot of upgrades, including their new indoor pool and hot tub, games room, etc. It will be very nice when complete, and the construction mess is tolerable since you know they are trying to upgrade. Our site (#60) was a good size and had a lot of trees, however, the firepit was at the back of the campsite right at the edge of a cliff, which would not be great for families with small children. Restroom facilities are new, and very clean. The rate is rather high, considering Watkins Glen is really in the middle of nowhere. We would return again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
We were very disappointed with this campground. They are building a new indoor pool and because of construction, the place was a mess. We called early the day of our arrival to inform them that we will be checking in late (9 pm). We had reservations for a full hookup, pull thru site. They even told us on the phone, which site was reserved for us. When we arrived, they had changed our reservations and put us in a very out of the way back-in, elec/water site. Since we arrived late, everything was dark. We had a very difficult time finding our site because of all the construction. The least they could've done was send someone to help us. The rest of the campground was full of close campsites. Their "famous" buffet breakfast was not worth the price. The french toast was especially disappointing. I very much doubt that they will complete construction of their new indoor pool/spa by Memorial Day as they advertise. They could've at least kept the campsites in that area closed until they are finished with construction. We will never stay there again. It definitely gave a bad name for all KOAs in my opinion. At least their bathrooms were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
Advantages: nice, clean park, clean swimming pool, clean and stocked store, the staff is SUPER nice and accommodating. Disadvantages: small sites, non-paved roads All in all this is a very nice campground. Has the usual KOA problems (small sites) but the people were friendly. Family oriented campground with 2 playgrounds, pool and miniature golf. Also rental carts available for the kids to ride. Did not try the cable so I cannot tell you how this was. Everyone there was very accommodating and we will go back again. Very close to Watkins Glen Race Track. The owners are present on the property and take an active interest in the quality of the park. They are building new cabins and appear to reinvest money in the park for improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$37
We arrived at this campground on a Tuesday, June 3rd. There were only 4 other RV's in the entire campground. Our site was #59 which is a back in deep enough for our 34 foot MH and toad. The site was level and had plenty of shade. Looks as if they just added about 9 new pull throughs. The older pull throughs were not real long and slanted enough that some people were having problems getting their RV's level. The pool, which is located adjacent to the office, appeared to be clean and heated. The office was kept very clean. We stayed for 5 nights and found this to be a good base while enjoying the Finger Lakes area. The cable TV included approximately 17 stations: 9 of them were very poor quality. This campground would be a "9" if they would add more gravel to the roads and the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2002
$38
The campground was mainly for people to come and move on to sightsee. The sites were good size. Not much to do. No planned activities. The store was well stocked and the bathrooms were very clean and some of the nicest I have seen at a CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$37
Not normally a fan of KOA's but this was a nice one. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com