217962 User submitted reviews online!!
Watkins Glen State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (607) 535-4511
CGID2007

Watkins Glen State Park

Camp Information
Sites
305
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   9   7   10   9   9   8   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Great park. Stayed in the loop with electric. Some sites can be tricky with bigger rigs. Stayed here in a 26' RV and had no problems. Bathrooms were nice with fully tiled showers which appeared fairly new. Staff was very helpful. Had a large limb come down in a storm between sites. Staff came the next day with a lift to cut it down. Pool is nice with plenty of room. Best is that town is at bottom of hill with great restaurants and a Supercenter Walmart. Plenty to do in area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We were really looking forward to camping here and enjoying the gorge and falls, but were really disappointed with the campground overall. The restrooms/shower houses were absolutely filthy and disgusting. This campground has a lot of potential but is poorly run in my opinion. The swimming pool is very nice and large which was a plus. And the gorge and falls were really neat to see. But it gets very crowded in the campground and surrounding areas. Been there, done that, and won't be back (at least to this park). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This is a very nice park. We like wooded, shady campsites, and that is what you get here. We stayed in site 91 on the Mohawk Trail loop. Our motorhome is 33 ft, and the sites on the electric loop limit to 30, but we were able to fit. The trick is in getting into the sites, as the sites themselves are plenty roomy. The roads are narrow with lots of mature trees. For some reason the direction they have you take onto the loop puts you at the opposite angle for backing into the site. We were there during the week with little traffic so we went the other way on the loop each time we returned from an outing, and it made it much easier to back in. There were no "one way" signs, so we felt okay about doing that. Hiking the gorge is a MUST - and bring your camera. We also had a boat tour of Seneca Lake from Capt. Bill's - dogs can go for free! Also visited the Corning Museum of Glass - highly recommend! Pool was nice and also free. Another plus was the 2 parking lots at the entrance to the park. As campers we had free use of the lots which was so handy since we do not tow. We could drive the motorhome down and park in the lot then explore town, etc. from there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Nice State Park! walking trails to the Watkins Glen Gorge connect right to campground. Very nice although a little tricky for bigger RVs. Had trouble getting in and out with a 30'TT and an extended cab full size bed pickup. Needed help from camping neighbors to navigate my way out. The loop was kind of backwards to the site. However it's because they kept as many trees as possible which makes a very comfortable site once your in. I would return if I get something smaller. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This was our second visit to this campground. (The last was at least 15 years ago!) It was well maintained, and in a lovely, shaded area with mature trees. While the electric loop was full, it was very quiet. We hiked the gorge trail and visited the nearby Corning Museum of Glass. The pool was large and clean and there was a large playground by the pool as well as another in the campground. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
The website says there is not room for larger RV's, but we have stayed here often. I tell them we have stayed at site 52 in the Mohawk loop, they look it up, and sure enough, we've been there before and they let us stay. We could fit in over a dozen sites without any problem. Some sites have 50 amp service now. We really like this campground and stay here whenever we want to introduce new people to the Watkins Glen Gorge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We really enjoyed staying here! We especially appreciated the online registration procedure which allows you to view open sites and make your selection from what's currently open. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Excellent campsite. I'd recommend it to everyone. The state park is eye catching as well as the walking/hiking trails. Must see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Can get a little muddy but dried up quickly. Sites were roomy enough and shady. Closeness to the gorge trails was great. Pool was great, never crowded. Closeness to town was nice. Would definitely camp here again. Some sites were a little tight for bigger trailers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Our site was very muddy due to recent rains. Some gravel on the site would have helped! Probably would not stay again. Would go to near by private campground next time. Walking the Gorge was exciting and beautiful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
This is a great camp ground to visit Watkins glen. It is walking distance to hike the gorge. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
This campground was clean and in a very wooded area. There were only 54 campsites with electric hook-up and the rest are non-electric sites, so reserve early! The electric sites are all in the Mowhawk circle. Our site was number 59 and it was extremely large and well-shaded. We also noticed that some of the sites in the middle part of the loop were a little close together and not as secluded as the ones were we were. We were close to a playground, water, and fairly close to the restrooms. The restrooms were kept clean even during the busy weekend, but did only have 2 showers for the whole loop, which created a bit of a wait on the weekend days, but wasn't a problem during the week. The pool is pretty far from the campsites, but it was easy enough to drive over and we did not have to pay anything additional to use the pool. The pool was very large and refreshing and our only complaint was that there were very few chairs, so we brought our own for the rest of our stay. The access to the gorge trail is a great bonus as well. The parking lot at the entrance to the trail fills up early, but you can park in the lot by the pool and access the trail from there and the scenic hike was well worth it! We were able to take a different trail back to the parking lot, which provided some additional views of the gorge. There is a lot to see and do in the area including boat tours of Lake Seneca, many winery tastings and tours, Watkins Glen International Racetrack and many interesting shops and restaurants in Watkins Glen. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Very pleasant campground. Wooded, with a nice amount of room between sites. Electric only at the site (Mohawk Village), but plenty of water spigots around the loop road. There is a large recreation area with a rec building, too. If you are going to hike the Gorge, this is the place to stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Boy, oh Boy, the hills! If you are in a motorhome, and do not have any other form of transportation, be prepared to climb and walk quite a distance to get to the main entrance and the pool from your campsite. This is a beautiful place to go and hike the gorge trial. Watkins Glen International Speedway is close, and we could hear cars practicing when we left on Sunday. Campsites are varied in size you can park a big RV and use a tent so call or use the website prior to booking a site. Nice and quiet even when crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Pros- Beautiful area, right on the glen, you can walk it from right inside the campground. Parking pass for the campsites also allows you to park at the bottom of the glen. Parking is at a premium there and its a really nice perk. Lots of sites so something is usually available. In the heart of wine country. Olympic sized pool. Large grocery store just outside the park. At the tip of Seneca lake. The mature trees keep you cool in the summer even in the worst heat. Lots of hiking. A beautiful, large state park. A treasure in the heart of the finger lakes. Watkins Glen race track is just around the corner and over the hill. A few sites have a view of Seneca Lake. Cons- Sites are smaller than the average state park while still larger than the average private park. Larger rigs have to maneuver around trees and the fire pits that are on permanent cement pads leaving you very few options on some sites. The sites seem very open. The large trees prohibit ground growth. I will be back, again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
Nice campground. Great pool and playground area. Sites tight to back into (we have a 27’ trailer). Bathrooms were dated but very clean. We stayed in the electric hook up loop and even though there isn’t water at every site, spigots are spaced appropriately. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
Staff not too friendly, acted as though we were an infringement on their time. Hard to enjoy the peace and quiet of nature due to several barking dogs. Not as buggy as I thought it would be. Children able to ride their bikes around the area. Rest rooms old and ready for cleaning after everyone did their morning cleaning rituals. Would stay again. Not bad for a State park. Had 30 amp. service and spigots available for water. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We have stayed in this park multiple times (always tent camping) and have been SO impressed. We were in Tuscarora, although all "six nations" of camping have decent sites. The sites are HUGE with full shade or full grass, depending on your preference. They have wood and ice on site at the campground check-in. The park has always been quiet. Between the full recreation options (think all board and sport games possible, 5 day a week formal rec program with pool table, badminton, shuffleboard, hay ride, etc., HUGE pool, gorge trail, other trails, and seneca lake around the corner, there is tons to do for kids. We even took them to a winery for a tour, which they loved. Bathrooms were cleaned often, although showers always had bugs/cobwebs up high. Only issues: no one mentioned when we booked the first time that there was a train behind our site (272)! We were woke up more than once with the very loud noise since it is only about 150 yards away. Of course the second time we camped there we were prepared and it didn't bother us at all-in fact my children brought coins for the train to smash! We will certainly go here again! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
Great camp! Excellent pool, both kiddie and olympic size with diving boards. Very clean bath house. Only complaint is that the pool is some distance from the camp sites and the hill down to the pool is very steep and is the main road up to the sites, so I wouldn't recommend that small children ride their bike to the pool. Great Gorge trail which is free to campers. I suggest you walk the trail from the lower entrance and take the shuttle bus back if your hiking with children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Nice quiet shady NYS campground, right at Watkins Glen Gorge. Park has central water pumps and dump station. If you are looking for a good camping experience, with nature, without all the kids activities, would highly recommend. Sites are large and separated, not like at the private campgrounds. Only complaint is the 11:00 AM checkout. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com