220520 User submitted reviews online!!
North Pole Resorts was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (518) 946-7733
CGID2013

North Pole Resorts

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   8   10   6   9   9   2   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
This campground has a lot going well for it. It is very clean and well maintained. Each spot is raked and cleaned after the camper leaves. Hookups are well done and in the right location for a variety of units. We were in the front part of the CG and it seemed a bit less crowded than the River end. Water pressure was OK and cable did fine. Site was pretty level. They have a nice playground and pool plus a game room inside, outside bocci, basketball, and a clean laundry. For all those reasons the place would be a 9 or 10. Unfortunately, there are some negatives that caused me to rate them lower. Depending upon your needs these may, or may not, be an issue. When reserving online, we thought River front sites were available. At check in, we found there are no motor home slots at all. We had included that request in the notes but no one bothered to let us know. They just took our money and would not likely have refunded it if we were unhappy. The WiFi is awful. In four days we never managed to get a good connection. We even went into their hotspot area which did not help at all. I heard the same comments from three other campers. When we asked about it, the lady in the office looked at her computer and said, "it is working fine here, must be OK". Finally, the place was quiet at night but, during the day, neighbors felt the need to serenade us with their choices of music plus the poolside music could be heard. Country on one side and Classic Elvis on the other. It is difficult to sing along to two tunes. The hosts frequently patrolled the area and it did not seem to disturb them. I would stay in the front area again, my wife would not want to return. That's the story, as I see it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Campground in good location near Lake Placid and other attractions. Staff helpful and friendly. Sites fairly close and road to camping area narrow; only one way in and out. Bathhouses old but clean. Located on river and you can rent kayaks at the campground. Have a well stocked camp store. The playground, putt-putt, and pool were very nice. Rate reflects Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
We stayed in the section along the river. The campground is well maintained and has a separate section for tents. The sites are pretty tight. However, they were assigning them on an every other one basis because there was not that much demand. There is a lot to do in the area and the drive up Whiteface Mountain should not be missed if the weather is clear. The Ausable River is dammed at this location which provides for an enjoyable canoe or kayak outing. We would stay here again if in the area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Nice campground. Enjoyed our campsite. Choice of wooded or open sunshine sites. Level and well maintained. Clean bathroom/showers; although, no heat at this time and timed showers with no temp control. Office staff had moments of nice contrasting the norm of unfriendly/indifferent/ unhelpful. Would have been a 10 except for office staff attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
This park has two sections - the resort area and the 100 acre woods. Both areas are very nice. The woods area has sites that are a little more secluded but both are situated very well to fit even the largest rig. The power is good, good Wi-Fi, extremely friendly and helpful staff and clean, clean, clean. Nice playground, pool, and pet walk. Meeting area for clubs. Mini golf and lots of other games are available. Nice store. This is one of the best run parks we have been to lately. We would stay here again and recommend it to all our friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This is a great location for many outdoor activities such as fishing, hiking and close to Lake Placid and the Olympic history there. The resort side of the campground has rather small sites and some are covered with gravel, some are dirt only. The bathrooms were the cleanest we've seen; however, the "lower" and "upper" baths (located underneath the motel area are not handicap accessible at all. There is mini golf and a game room and an adult room with puzzles and a TV. Grounds staff were very friendly and capable and helped us with our electrical issues. I believe the utility company was called to resolve the problem. There are 2 pools on the property, as well and a great playground for the younger children. We would stay here again just because there are so many things to do at the campground or within 20 miles or so. But, be aware of the limitations if one needs accessible access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Great office staff. Nice campground with lots to do for children. They have an adult lounge, too. Nice sites, gravel, but need to level. There's a lot to do in this area. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$59
Very nice spacious sites in the 100 acre woods. We were escorted to our site and were impressed right off the bat by how level the site was. We set up just before a horrendous electrical storm and because of all the tall trees we were very protected. It is very convenient to Lake Placid and Whiteface. I was, however, disappointed that because we were 4 adults instead of a family of 4 we had to pay $16 extra. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
To call this a "Resort" is a gross misuse of our language. The desk clerk was rude and unhelpful, the site attendant was not much better. Interior "roads" are not that accommodating and in bad shape other than by the office. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned for quite some time, and the place wasn't even one-tenth full. The sites are difficult to get into even with next to no one there. I gave it a rating of 2 only because it has a nice walking path on the property. Next time, I'll stay elsewhere! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
We stayed at the "100 Acre Woods" section. The sites were large and clean. Despite the fact that Hurricane Irene had just been through the week before and the Adirondacks were hit very hard, the campground was open and no debris was visible. The workers were helpful and it appears that the owners run a very well organized campground. Even though it was Labor Day weekend and the full hook up sites were full, it was very quiet. Since we used the campground as a base camp for sight seeing, we didn't use any of the resort facilities. The staff was very attentive and responded when we wanted our cable connection checked. Would like to visit again and use their facilities and trails. For hikers, a campground trail connects to a trail to Whiteface Mountain. The rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
Were here for a rally and were in 100 acres section. All is on gravel with wide enough sites and roads. You are in the trees and that means bugs and no satellite TV. It appeared very tired and in need of some major updates. I understand it had flooded earlier this spring but not all looked like new damage. I would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
Our campsite was sand and some gravel with a picnic table and lots of shade. It rained a couple of times which made our site very messy. I should have asked for a pull through because most of these had gravel. This is a great location to visit several waterfalls and Lake Placid. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Our visit started with the woman at the desk saying that we could not have the Good Sam rate because we booked our reservation on line, What? Bad start. The cable TV reception was so bad that we used our over the air antenna. No Wi-Fi as advertised either. We were also told that we could not use the pool because we were staying across the road in the 100 acre wood section. That wasn't easy to tell my kids on the 90-degree days! The only thing good about this park was its great location near Whiteface Mountain. Will try the KOA next time in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Nicely located in heart of Wilmington on the Ausable River. Good roads and well maintained sites. Very friendly staff - helpful with directions and with things to do in the area. Family oriented campground. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Female desk attendant was abrupt and rude. Other than that, we enjoyed our site on the "100 acre plus" side of the park. The other camping area near the office did not have the isolated sites and trees. Plus, the office side was a lot busier with kids and noise: not nessarily a negative, but definitely not as quiet. Also, $5 a day for internet modem unless one goes to the motel for WiFi. Would not have a problem staying here again, though the KOA is reported to be very nice at a cheaper rate, surprising for a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
Big Rigs Best Bet got this all wrong! Yes, you can get a big rig in here if want go through a obstacle course of pot holes, low tree branches, tight turns and narrow sites. This is a campground not a resort. RV resorts have grass, hard surface patios, paved roads and the list goes on, for about the same price. RV site are located on a 100+ acres down the road about a 1000 ft and on the other side of the highway from the office store and campground amenities. Owners need to invest some $$$$. On the plus side Lake Placid and the Olympic complex are fantastic. (A great place to visit.) But do watch out for the New York drivers in the mountains they like to speed and tailgate. We would not come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
We liked the campground's large lots with fire rings in the woods behind the motor home. There are nice folks at the desk. The damp hosts were helpful and friendly. It is convenient to Whiteface Mountain, and other tour spots. We would not hesitate going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We loved this campground. It was close to Lake Placid and all of the area attractions. The price was very reasonable considering how close it is to Lake Placid. The scenery of the Adirondacks is breathtaking. If we are ever back in Lake Placid we will definitely stay at this Campground again. It had some of the cleanest rest rooms and laundry we think that we have ever seen. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Nice campground, beautiful setting, staff can't do enough for you. Very generous sites, but we had trouble finding a spot in which we could level our big rig. We eventually did, but were nearly off our site. The big rig next door to us apparently had the same problem since they were parked nearly diagonally on their site. Still, we will stop there again when we're back in the neighborhood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Stayed in the 100 Acres section of the park. The lot was large but uneven. Hope you don't get rain during your stay as the spots are muddy. Don't plan on having visitors unless you are willing to pay $8 each and then they can't park at your site. The staff was less than cordial. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
We stayed in the 100 acres section of the park. There is a sign outside this area saying they are big rig friendly, however the lanes through the campground to get to your site were rather tight and we were scrapped by low hanging and branches that were just not clipped back on the sides. The site was very unlevel and a sandy dirt mixture which was hard to keep out of the rig. Wi-Fi was not available but we were given a cable modem which worked fine, as did the cable. The pull-thru site was plenty long and very wooded. We also felt the campground was way over priced and will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
We came to this campground at the last minute as our site at the KOA was less than desirable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and took extra time to ensure that our site would be level. The roads were paved and the sites were grassy. Sites could have been a little larger. One of the best attractions was that the fire ring was a little area in the forest. So, you really felt like you were camping and the fire ring was surrounded by rocks so it looked more natural than just a tire ring. We stayed in the area which is on the river and we thoroughly enjoyed taking our chairs and books and just relaxing with the river right before us. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$37
Price reflects Good Sam Discount. I was expecting great things from this park based on previous write-ups. We had a site in the Hundred Acre Woods. I have a 37 foot motorhome with a toad. Roads were dirt with small potholes and rocks showing. Extremely tight turn onto the lane my site was on forced me to disconnect toad while on a sharp turn. Not easy. Pull-thru site was dirt. Site was very off-level forcing me to use all my wood blocks to set up. Only spot on the site that I could use to set-up required me to use 30 foot of sewer hose. Sewer hose ran uphill. Very secluded site with fire ring and table. Dirt site with copious rain made everything a mess. I would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Staff was friendly and helpful. Park was clean and well keep. Would stay there again, but would like a site on the property across from the river where it was more wooded and private. The Olympic Tour is great. From the campground you can walk to an ice cream store, gift shops and restaurants. Views of the mountains are great from the campground and the hiking trails are awesome. We were at site #5. Loved the rubber flooring in the shower rooms. All the fire rings were surrounded by stones,so it look natural and not like someone lost a tire rim. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
Very nice campground with two locations. One is close to the river while the other is in deep woods. Both are very nice. I ran for miles through the 100 acres woods campground. Walked down to the river at our camp. Separate kids and adult game rooms. Ice cream social. Very shaded and private site with cable TV. Easy access to fishing and Lake Placid. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
Very nice park with lots of trees and a private feeling. Quiet with clean bathroom/shower rooms. Wireless for a fee or you can drive into Wilmington by the visitor center and get wireless from the public library if you just want to check email. Enjoyed the Adirondacks and a drive to Lake Placid from this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
This is actually two campgrounds, one on each side of the road. The side we stayed on was smaller, but bordered the river. Sites on the other side were more densely wooded with some pull-thru sites. Extremely helpful and polite staff. Very clean - especially the bathrooms - although small and older. The pool in front of the motel is available to campers and the nicer of the two. There is a motel adjacent so my non-camping mother was able to join us - simple but newly remodeled. Definitely recommend this quiet, family-oriented campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Great host . Very friendly staff. Far enough away from the hustle & bustle of Lake Placid to enjoy peace & quiet but close enough to go to town if you wanted to. I believe every site was shaded. The staff was "Johnny-On-The-Spot" in tidying up each site as soon as any one left. Some of the nicest people I have every met run this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
We had a great wooded site - very private and very quiet -loved it We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
Best service ever experienced at a campground - accolades to the workampers at this campground. They made this a very pleasant experience - very helpful and friendly. Two pools are available and a great playground for the kids with a pirate ship and monster truck both made of wood. The sites are a little narrow though we opted for a double wide site for our family and the in-laws to hang out together. Washrooms are the cleanest I have seen (again thanks to the workampers). Canoe, rowboat and paddle boat rentals allow you to experience the Ausable River. They do need to improve their rec centre (old and broken game machines). Lots of friendly campers which is a good sign that everyone is enjoying the park. Will likely camp here again and stay longer next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
Having camped for over 30 years, my family and I found this to be the best run campground we have stayed at in the Adirondacks. The bathrooms are very clean, and the piped in music is a nice touch. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We are a multi-generational family and there was something to do for all ages. Park gets wonderfully quiet at night (even over the 4th of July weekend). We would camp there again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$36
We stayed at the North Pole Resorts Campground for an extended Labor Day weekend and had a very nice time. It is a very relaxing and well maintained campground in one of the most beautiful areas of New York State. We had an extra wide back in site in the original campground (they also have a newer section just down the road called the 100 acre woods). The staff is very friendly and they keep the facilities including the bathroom and showers immaculate. The only reason we rated it an 8 instead of a 10 is the lack of any organized activities for kids. But with all the entertainment options in the Lake Placid area we really didn't miss not having activities anyway. This is one campground we plan on returning to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
On site owners, an escort to our site, and assistance parking our rv made our stay at this quaint campground very enjoyable. The 100 acre wood area is down the street and offers a woodsy setting with large full hook-up pull thru sites and small no hook-up sites suitable for those looking for a "real" camping experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Stayed in section nearest river -- all back ins but escort will help you get in OK. Not superwide but OK. Extremely nice staff (Work Kampers)and scenic river. Restroom facilities are probably the cleanest and best maintained I have ever seen. New section down the road has wooded and field sites and probably better suited for the big rigs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$30
Nice place, very clean. Workers were friendly enough. Just watch out, when you book and pay, you cannot get a refund. My family recently stayed there and had to leave early. We were there for 5 nights and could not get a refund on the 6th night. All sales are final. They also nickel and dime you to death there. I ended up helping myself to a bag of popcorn during movie night. I was harrassed by a member of the North Pole staff asking me why I helped myself and that I owed them 50 cents. After paying $500 for the week, is 50 cents going to break them. Also, they don't have much of a first aid kit. Bring your own. Again, nice place but if you can find another place, think about going there. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$28
This was our first time camping with our new pop-up and the staff couldn't have made it any easier. They had a gentleman take us to our site, helped us position it on the site, showed us all the necessary connections, and didn't leave untill we were pretty much set up. Very friendly staff. The Bathrooms were outstanding...I heard one camper say that they were to clean for him to even shave in. Very close to all Lake Placid attractions. Looking forward to camping there again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$25
I totally agree with the person that stated they would return tomorrow. What a great place. We went over Father's Day Weekend and it rained on and off all weekend. The bathrooms were so clean I wondered if people took there shoes off before they entered. The showers are a really nice size, well lighted and ventalated. Did I mention the showers are HOT! Piped in music in the BR also. The sites were very clean and spacious. The staff is outstanding. I forgot my tea mug and the store was closed. One of the seasonal RVers notice me walking back from the store and ended up letting me borrow one of theirs for the whole weekend. The thing that got us is they go around at night to each site to be sure you don't need anything and to wish you a good night! About an hour after check in they also came by to ask if we needed anything. Would I go back? In a heart beat! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$34
I liked the campground but some of the people that work there have seasonal sites. They act like they own the place and will drive by you all day and never say hi or wave. They were not friendly. The place is clean but alittle hard for some of the big rigs to get into when the park is full. I would go back if in the area again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$25
We tent camped here for the second time and would return again tomorrow. This is one of the cleanest friendliest campgrounds we have been to. We stayed in their newly aquired 100 acre woods section and it was great. Just across the road from the main campground but has a much quieter atmosphere. There are RV and pop up sites available in this section and they are all nicely situated. Camp store is full of good stuff if your looking for groceries. Let me recommend the Little Supermarket and Hardware right up the road past the gas station. They have the best sandwiches around. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2000
$30
This is one of the very best RV parks we have ever stayed in. The people who own and run this part are tops. They are courteous, helpful and fun to talk to. This park is close the the KOA which we have also visited and did not like at all. The KOA gets more business because of reputation. It is not near as nice. The park is located close to Lake Placid and White Face Mountain. We attended the Octoberfest at White Face this year - great weekend. They also have a motel for visitors which is a really nice place. This one comes with my highest recommendation. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com