206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Sands Of Time Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (252) 995-5596
CGID2029

Sands Of Time Campground

Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   9   8   8   8   8   2   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$47
This campground was ok. Nothing fancy. They do not accept credit cards, cash only (which is kind of a pain), and charged us $1.00 for our second dog. The first dog was free. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
Very friendly staff. Very helpful with directing us to the places that must be seen on the Outer Banks. We had a shady site with a large grassy area for our use. While the location of the campground is not "on the beach", it is conveniently located and allowed us to tour the Outer Banks in both directions. We spent 4 nights and enjoyed our stay, as this was our first visit to the Outer Banks. We would come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Nice clean park. 10-15 minute walk to beach. A couple good places to eat in area. Very quiet park. Not much for kids to do except go to beach. We used the Passport America discount for a very good rate for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
We liked it here. It was very quiet but a good location for the beaches of the Outer Banks. There is a good grocery store at the top of the road and I can really recommend the hairdresser located just opposite the campground. The sites are all back-in but are easy to navigate. There is no swimming pool but I think this made the site very quiet and not full of children. The price we paid was Passport America price and it was good value for money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
A nice place to relax and get away from any hustle and bustle. Very friendly staff. The site was grass; it is very level, easy to back in. Sewer hookup is too far in the back for us; bring a loong hose. The rate is PA. Electric is metered and extra (we spent 3.45$ for three days). Very quiet day and night. We followed the staff's recommendation to buy some fresh fish at the local harbor, a 5 minute walk away. Good advice. Grocery was also in walking distance. Nice feature is the birdhouses on the campground, whose inhabitants keep the mosquitoes somewhat in check. Bathhouses are pretty old but appeared clean. The Wi-Fi was an issue as it shut off once a day and we needed to walk to the office to get the server rebooted. This would be our place to stay again when on the OBX. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
We went to Avon after Route 12 reopened on October 11th. The park was in good shape considering the damage that was done in the area by hurricane Irene. We will return next year as it is very convenient and clean with larger sites than others in the area. Per night price was Passport America including charge for electric usage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
This campground is VERY basic. There is no store, the laundry facility is undersized for the number of sites and if infested with palmetto bugs (cockroaches). There is no pool or any sort of things to do at the campground. We camp 50+ nights a year and this was one of worst experiences. Granted it was late July and it was so hot we were hallucinating. Maybe in the spring or fall, but keep in mind it really is a VERY basic campground with not much to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
Nice park off the main highway. No beach access, have to drive a few miles. Sites were good, as was power, water and cell signal(AT&T). Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
We really liked this campground; the water was good, there were plenty of small trees scattered throughout, and nice green grass and good-sized sites for a coastal campground. They had a little apartment complex of well-inhabited martin houses right in the center of the campground and visible from our rig, which seemed to help on the bug front and made the cats very happy indeed when we opened the blinds on the back window. The only downside is that it’s land-locked, so you have to drive to the beach access lots at the national seashore (two miles in either direction on the main road.) Rate is Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Nice campground; wide decent sized sites but they all are back-in. Can not see the ocean from the campground. The Passport America rate is not half price as we paid $20 and the off season rate was $34. Our pet added $1/day and we had to pay for electricity also. We left an $8 electrical deposit for 3 days (moderate weather so didn't need heat or air conditioning). The problem came when leaving as the office closed at 5:00 PM and didn't reopen until 8:00 AM. We got back after 5 and had to leave early to catch a ferry. Ended up forfeiting the $5 or so extra deposit. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We loved this simple campground, nestled in the village of Avon. It is far enough from the highway to get away from the occasional traffic and noise, yet close enough to have a choice of restaurants, shops, gas stations, etc. to choose from. If you ride on the beach in your vehicle, this is a very appropriate campground since it is not located directly by the ocean. The owners are helpful and friendly, the WiFi is very inconsistent due to the lousy WiFiRV service (this is a problem at many campgrounds in the United States due to this scam of a company - this has nothing to do with the park owners who are trying very hard to rectify this problem). I recommend this park and look forward to returning again and again. Our price reflects our PPA membership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
This was a nice campground in an ideal location, if you want to explore Hatteras island. The spots are spaced fairly wide, and it's a smaller park, with quite a few full-time residents. The laundry was clean, and the staff was nice. The only negatives, are no wi-fi, and we were roused from our sleep at around 2:30 in the morning by an emergency alert siren that went off for about a minute. We didn't know if the country was under attack, or if it was last call for the local bars. We asked in the office the next day, and she told us it was for the fire station next door, and there must have been a car accident or something. It was pretty alarming, but what can you do? We would stay here again. Rate reflects PPA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This is a great little park with friendly helpful people in the office. We stayed here using our Passport America discount. As others have said, the sites are large and the park is very well maintained. Will stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
We stayed here a week and the rate reflects our Passport America discount. We would stay here over and over again if we could. The restrooms were clean and neat, sites were large and we had plenty of room between our neighbors. Owners were very friendly and helpful and only accept cash for site rentals. Anyone looking for an overnight stay or long term stay this is the place: great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We stayed here for the weekend and really enjoyed our stay. The bathhouse was quaint, but nice and the park is very, very quiet. There is no pool or activities whatsoever for anyone at the park, but this is a good location if you are enjoying the outer banks. There is no water access at the park, so you are forced to leave the campground to enjoy the ocean or the sound. The only problems we had were trying to navigate in and park after dark since we arrived late. There is only 1 light in this park, so this was very, very difficult. There isn't even a light on the office, so I had to use a flashlight to retrieve our parking information from the bulletin board. Also, the mosquitos were so bad that I felt like I was being eaten alive. The mosquito problem is not just a night problem: they attacked even during the day. Other than that, this was a nice campground serving as a base location for our fun on the outer banks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
It is a great little campground. The sites are nice and level and are more spacious than a lot of campgrounds. The two ladies went out of there way to accommodate us without reservations. There are no planned activities and no pool. I think if you have children, they would be very bored. I thought the price was a little high considering there was no pool or other activities. I rated it an 8 because of the lack of a pool and the high price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
Our site was wide enough to park the tow car next our rig. Space between sites was great. The park was very quiet, with lots of birds. Nice picnic tables at each site. Employees were friendly. We did have trouble finding the park because of a missing street sign on the main road. Had to go by the fire station signage to figure out where to go. Disappointed to have to pay for Wi-Fi, but it did work well. Very nice experiences at this park we will stay here again. This rate reflects the Passport rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
The Park is strictly an RV park as there are no activities whatsoever at the campground. No fires allowed unless you bring your own fire bowl. The Restrooms were frequently out of supplies. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
It is quiet and in a good location for covering the southern end of the Outer Banks. The bathrooms could really use some updating. The campground is a good ways from the ocean. It is across the ocean boulevard and a block or two from that. We missed having WI-FI, so we only stayed four nights and moved to another campground that had WI-FI. There is a nice used book exchange in the office, and the people who run the campground were super nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
I am new to the camping world. Retired travel to several parks in 2008, saw there pretty pictures on the web on many parks, Sands of Times was the best RV park I stayed at. The staff and their daughters where great. Just plain down to earth. It's close to everything. Thanks! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
We've visited this campground several times. It's great for us because we spend most of our time at the beach. If you're looking for activity this is not the place for you. Very clean, very friendly staff. Close to the beach. Great hook-ups. They also have a house/cabin for rent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Huge cable line up. Clean bath house. Ok site size. A lot of purple martins and they keep the bugs down. The best value I found on all of Hatteras. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
Friendly, family-run campground. If you need 50 amp, be sure and get it because it can get hot. This has to be the best value on the Outer Banks. If you don't care about a bunch of extra activities, playgrounds, and other amusement park silliness, then this park is for you. Just a simple, friendly park in a great location. You can walk to the beach by using the crosswalk at Highway 12. The fish market on the corner is handy and so is the grocery. 4x4 beach access is only a mile or so north. We stayed a week and had a wonderful time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
Small, friendly, family-run CG just off the main road. NC Outer Banks camping at a reasonable rate. They also accept "Passport America" for 50% off daily rate. Electric was extra - approx. $5 a day to run AC. Sites were adequate but would be cramped for larger rigs and motorhomes. No concrete pads - gravel sites with a little grass and picnic table. Lots of surf fishermen at this CG. Bathrooms and shower clean but really need updated, as does the on site laundry. 2 washers and 2 dryers. NO modem hookup now. Owner says she will have wi-fi next year. Only blocks to grocery, fuel, and restaurants. 5 minute drive to beach access. 20 minute drive to Hatteras Lighthouse. Will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
Although they say that they are big rig friendly, 40 foot is about all that they can handle. We filled the campsite and barely extended into the road, which was plenty wide. There are a limited number of 50 amp sites, and they don't seem to try to save them for those who need 50 amp power, even when there are plenty of other sites available. All of that said, we would probably go back if in the area, but only if 50 amp were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$39
We camped here for 5 days while in Avon for our oldest son's wedding. This is the cleanest, quietest, neatest campground we have ever visited. The bath house was so clean that we used it instead of the shower in our camper. The owner gave us a military discount because our middle son, who is in the Navy, was with us. We used the public access and drove out on the beach and had a wonderful time. We will definitely be back as soon as possible! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
This place was great! We stayed here 5 nights in October: The weather was superb, sunny, warm every day. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Sites are good sized, very quiet, and level. Bathrooms were clean, although shower stall is small for a big guy like me. Lots of birds. The owner has a ton of bird houses throughout the property and the result is a "Florida-like" bird atmosphere. All kinds of chirping going on. Our cats were VERY interested! Cable TV is included. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$33
We stayed here July 24 for 5 days. The campground is very clean and quiet. Our motorhome is 41 feet with 4 slides and we had a lot of room. This will be where we stay at the Outer Banks. The Village Grocery at the stop light is worth a visit. We are looking forward to returning this fall. Sands of Time is also pet friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$36
Stayed a week and it is a very laid back campground. Not a campground for those looking for a lot of on site activites. They do not even have a pool. A real good place to just hang your hat and relax. Also a good base camp to explore the Outer Banks. A previous review stated that the showers were small but the men's were regular fiberglass stalls like I see a lot of people have in their homes. The restroom was not elaborate but it was clean all the times that I used it. The sites were level and the internal roads were gravel but smooth. The owners were not in the office once when I went in to check on leaving the next morning but I just left a note and the lady came to my site later and talked to me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2005
$26
We were shocked when we stayed at this campground. The owner was nowhere in sight and we actually had to sit on the front porch and wait for two hours until the owner arrived during business hours. Turns out, her home is situated directly on the campground. After checking in, we deiced to shower and get some rest. The shower stalls were extremely small, so small that we could hardly move in the stall, and we were then awakened the following morning by a loud dump truck, followed by ongoing hammering due to a nearby home being built. We were told that the home will be completed in the middle of Summer or maybe early Fall. There were also alot of long termers at this campground in travel trailers. We simply didn't get a vacation feel here; it is much more like a trailer park with permanent residents. After staying at this campground for only one day, we were ready to leave and go elsewhere to find some peace of mind. We ended up at Camp Woods in Buxton and we loved it there! No more Sands of Time for us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$30
We love this place. The owner is one of the most hard working owners I have ever seen. She is always outside working on the grounds to keep them nice. This is not a playground for kids. There is no pool or playground. We spend most of our time on the beach or out exploring the outer banks and use the campground as our base for this. We'll be back this year for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$15
Passport America rate was $15 per night plus metered electric. This is an older park, but what it lacks in "newness" it makes up for in "charm." I agree that the owners are greatly responsible for making this park such a nice place. There's much to do in this area and we highly recommend this park to anyone considering a stay on the Outer Banks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
If you are going to the Outer Banks for fishing, this is a great place. There is not a pool. The fish cleaning table is great. There is a "communal" campfire area, but fires are not allowed at the sites. The bath house is very clean, the laundry is clean. We will camp here for the rest of our OBX trips. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$27
This was the 5th year for us at Sands Of Time. The park is clean with LARGE full service sites and is very quiet. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Park is convenient to the beach and Avon Pier. This is one of our favorite parks. A lot of repeats so we see a lot of people that we have made friends with over the years. Good rates, Passport America park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Fishing paradise on outer banks. Great owners. There was a fish fry for all campers. Well run park with dune and pier fishing. I was here 2001/2002, and booked for 2003. Love it here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com