221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Moonshine Creek Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (828) 586-6666
CGID2030

Moonshine Creek Campground

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   10   10   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
This is a beautiful campground in a rustic setting in the mountains of NC. They have cabins, tent sites, and RV sites, and we saw all three in use. All are heavily shaded. A small but active creek runs through the campground providing wonderful background sounds. Our RV site, #74, was especially nice as the creek ran behind the site (the back of our motorhome jutted out over the creek) and then curved around our camping side where we had a private wooden deck over the creek! Some of the sites are small - our driver's side slide is about three feet away from touching our neighbor's awning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway and there are many places to go hiking nearby. There's a real sense of community in the campground, other campers out and about, interesting in chatting, etc. The drawbacks for us were the lack of any open space to play with our dogs, and the lack of Wi-Fi. They have a hotspot in their office which you can use for occasional connectivity. AT&T coverage is poor, Verizon is moderate, but with our 4G booster we were able to get good connections with both. We received no over-the-air TV channels, but the campground does offer cable TV for a daily fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
We stayed here the first of April 2014. I will give the facts first and then my "feel" of the place last. Finding the campground is a little hard when we went. There was road construction going on on Hwy 73 so it was a bit confusing with all the orange barrels but after turning off the main road it is a quick right on a winding road. Not a problem with a pop-up but would give me pause with a big trailer. Entrance to park is on the left marked with a yellow lettered sign. Easy to see in the day time, but maybe a problem at night the first time you go. Drive into park is tight if you meet someone coming out. Office/ store is on the right with a pull off area to park when you check in. Owner checked us in. She was very friendly and helpful. She called for her husband to show us to our site and help position camper. After finding out we were new campers, he was very hands- on, helping us put into place to the inch. Campground is in small valley with most sites near creek. Some sites are high up on a bank that look down into campground. The site we chose was 20c, a pie shaped lot right beside the creek. Camper faced the creek with a tall (30ft ?) bank on the other side. It had the table at the far end of the site and fire pit at the front. With camper facing creek and tall bank, site was very private and big enough for the 2 of us and 1 dog. Larger family with kids might not have enough room and site drops off about 3 ft to creek so small kids would need to be watch close. It has water and elec. no sewer. Good base of gravel and a slight slope to creek/ far end, but nothing the could not be leveled by trailer and a board. Water pressure was good and electric was correct. The park is very nice with large back-in lots for RVs and good tent sites. A stream runs down the middle with some nice photo areas. There is a trout pond that may be stocked, not sure.I think maybe 1/2 of the sites are permanent renters, but they are in good repair. There are a few cabins for rent, some are newer than others. The store has basic needs. Staff was helpful, although they were on a shorter day (10-6) when we were there. The WiFi hotspot is at the office and is small and slow, but fast enough to get emails. The bath/ laundry house was clean but dated. The inside temperature was kind of low some mornings ( see-your-breath-low) but the showers had good hot water. The laundry units were in good working order. A mixed load with towels and jeans cost about $4 from start to finish. They had a few paperbacks in a rack if you need something to read. Enough of the dry stuff- This is a nice place! It was still early season when we went and some things were in the works/ being trained, but we still loved it. It made a great base camp for day trips to surrounding towns. The owners and staff were great. Always helpful and friendly. The only reason it does not get a 10 is the bathrooms. They work and were clean but very dated looking. But the owners said they are getting ready to do a remodel on them. I think with so many trailers with there own bathrooms, it has been low on the list of things to do. But don't let that 1 ding hold you back. We hope to go again many times. Worth the 5 hr trip there for us. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
We absolutely loved this place. Our site was right on the creek and it was very relaxing to fall asleep to the sound of the running water. The campground itself was clean and well kept. Wi-Fi was very weak unless next to the office and even then if too many people got on the whole thing would reset. The only issue we had were some complaints about our dog (barking when we were out) but even then the owners were very accommodating in working with us to come up with a solution. We would definitely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
This is a beautiful park that is spread out on quite a bit of land: great for taking our dogs for a walk. The sites are fairly level and gravel. The bathhouse was okay, but I would have liked it better if it had been updated a bit. The laundry room is in between the men's and ladies' rooms, but both washing machines were out of order when we were here. One thing I did not like was having to pay separately for cable TV, and extra guests over two people. The owner/manager escorted us to our site and was extremely helpful in helping us back in. There is a small store at the office, but to get groceries or go to a restaurant, it was 8 miles to Sylva. The road leading to the campground is near the Blue Ridge Parkway, but is very curvy. No problems maneuvering if you just take it slow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This is a wonderful campground which is well kept and clean. We stay here each July and just love this place. It is under heavy tree cover and stays very cool. There is a stream which runs down the middle of the campground which is very relaxing. The owners are awesome and folks who work there a friendly and helpful. Will always stay here when in the Balsam area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
We camped here for 6 days to enjoy the fall leaves. Sites are a bit snug, but very woodsy park with a great stream that runs through the park. Park has cabins and tent sites too. Laundry room and restrooms were clean, though a bit outdated. Owners are very nice. Even helped us back into site and helped to level our trailer. Loved walking around campground. Very close to Waynesville and Sylva for restaurants and shopping. Right next to Blue Ridge Parkway. Go see the elk that are being re-introduced to the area. Loved this campground. Will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Just a great location for motorcycle riding and just 25 minutes from Wayehutta and OHV area. As always park was clean, owner and hosts are great. I always stay here when I am in this area of NC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
This is my family's favorite campground. The location is awesome. The place is clean and well kept. They are making improvements to the facilities and updating things yearly. The stream keeps the kids busy and the sound of the water rushing is so relaxing. The owner is open to suggestions and is on site working. It stays cool due to the shade. There is a train that goes by from time to time and the kids loved that. I will be back as I have been coming to this location for 10 years. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We camped at Moonshine Creek for eight nights in June 2012. We had a great time. The campground is situated in a very private area with tons of trees and a creek running through the middle of it. We were guided to our spot by the owner of the campground. He helped me during backing into the spot, and I must say he is really good at it. We camped right on the creek and the sound of the water running by was wonderful. Most of the campground is very shady, so the temperature was always extremely comfortable. It was June and we never ran our air conditioner. The campground owners are wonderful and they really take care of this campground. The bathroom facilities are older, but you won’t find a cleaner bathhouse facility around. I bet the staff is in there four to six times a day wiping things down. The owners are updating the tenters' restrooms currently and they plan to remodel the main bath house as soon as time permits. The grounds are immaculate and we couldn’t find a scrap of trash anywhere! It did rain quite a bit one day, but our site drained very well and we had no problems with mud, etc. Some of the RV sites are very close together. There is a little camp store on the property. It doesn’t have much, but it stocks the essentials that you may need. There is wireless Internet, but only at the office. There is no signal in the camping areas which was somewhat of a detractor for me. The sites have cable TV connections. There is no pool, but the kids can frolic in the cool, clean creek. The Blue Ridge Parkway is close by and offers some of the best views in the country. I would rate the campground a 10 if they had larger (wider) RV sites and wireless Internet in the RV area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Loved this park. We backed our 5th wheel into a slot beside the rushing creek. Had a wonderful mature tree for shade. This park had clean bathrooms and a laundry area. Took a small hike up through the woods. I couldn't find the waterfall that was supposed to be there. Maybe I didn't walk far enough. The owners were amazing. Since we were late, we made certain to call ahead and advise them of our late arrival. We arrived at around 8pm and the owner graciously showed us our site as he was leaving for the evening. What a great sport! I would definitely stay here again. I love the mountains and felt quite at home in this happy little hollow. Some may need more out-in-the-open sites, but I loved the feeling of being wrapped up in the mountains and the stream. The space between our neighbors was quite adequate and not too smothering. The road into the area is paved and has a switch-back but that is told on the website directions. The park itself has gravel roads and firm gravel pads. There are a few tent sites at the beginning of the park where the sunlight is profusely abundant. We stayed here 2 nights for a Western Carolina graduation ceremony. We will one day return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
We absolutely loved camping here during our recent stay over the July 4th weekend. The grounds were in great shape. It was nice to see so many families enjoying the weekend together. My wife and I are retired and finally made our way to the Blue Ridge Parkway, (we live in California), and we are very happy that we found Moonshine Creek since it was so close to the Parkway. We made our reservations last fall to ensure we would have a place to stay. The facilities were in great shape, bathrooms were fantastically clean, and the staff were helpful the entire weekend. The two main reasons we gave this campground a 10, were price and its location! $37 a night for a true campy feeling in the mountains. We will be back the next time we travel through the south east. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
This was a nice park but not a whole lot to do inside the campground. Nothing at all for kids to do so it is fortunate mine are grown. Cable TV hook up gave us 13 channels. The park layout is a bit odd and there is a sharp turn in one spot where big rigs may have trouble (we are 33 ft). Our site was along a creek which was nice for the sound effects. Sites are very narrow and not very deep. Our front end was sticking out a bit onto the main road and we were not the only rig with that issue. The big plus for this park is the distance to the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is just a few miles from the campground. Lots of hiking trails and beautiful overlooks there. Park would have had a better rating if site was bigger, cable was more worth it, and if there was more to do in the park itself. We would come back if we do the BRP tour again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$40
This campground is ok, the staff are nice and the bathrooms are clean. However, our entire stay here consisted of walking through mud because there wasn't enough gravel on the sites or the driveways. We constantly had to clean the floors to our camper due to the mud. There's cable TV lines running everywhere along the ground. My daughter tripped over the cable wires twice and once skinning her knee. There wasn't enough room for us to open our awning due to a tree sitting directly in front of our door as you opened it. The picnic table was dilapidated, out-dated and extremely small. The firewood bundles are way over-priced at $5.00 per 4-5 pieces of wood (which burns in about an hour). They charged us $3.00 extra just for having two kids instead of just one. The sites are very tiny and almost directly on top of one another. The third night we stayed here, we met another couple who directed us down the road a half a mile and paid $10.00 for enough firewood to last us a week. (If you turn left out of the campground and go about 1/2 a mile. Just past this church there is a white trailer with wood sitting out in the yard everywhere. The guy is very nice and will even help you load the wood, should you stay at this campground.) Do not pay $5.00 for 4-5 pieces of wood. Also, the so-called creek there that "supposedly" has fish, is about the size of our bathtub in width. There is NO fish in that little creek. It should be called a "rill" and not a creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
Wow, what a great Campground set in the mountains and right on a mountain creek. This is by far the nicest place we have been in a long time. Really quite and peaceful but fun for kids. The owners keep the place really clean and the setting is exactly what we were looking for. You really can't beat the natural beauty of this place, hard to find and it is not far from a lot of things to do. I really recommend Moonshine Creek and we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We just returned from a 4-night stay at Moonshine Creek. If you are looking for a peaceful, out of the way campground with full hook-ups then this is the place you're looking for. We stayed in site 20A which is RIGHT ON THE CREEK, as are so many of the sites. That's just what we were looking for as far as I'm concerned, there's nothing more soothing than running water or crashing surf and I don't feel like I've been on vacation without one or the other. The campground is very well maintained. The staff are very professional and helpful. The bathhouse and laundry are clean, and they even offer books/magazines/puzzles for loan or trade. There is a good variety of sites for tents and RV's, and lots of good walking. If you have kids who demand video games, a pool, a large playground, then stay somewhere else. Do make sure you come with a well-stocked pantry if you're staying for more than a couple of nights. The "Mini Mart" is sufficient but doesn't offer a great variety of goods. About 7 miles to Waynesville & the nearest store. We will definitely be back. I believe Moonshine Creek was made just for me. This place is wonderful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
We had a site on the stream and it would had been extremely nice if they weren't so small and packed together. The owner is very nice and helpful and campground itself is beautiful! They don't have activities for kids or a pool, but they do have a stream and frog pond. We had our granddaughter with us. She met a couple of children and they spent hours exploring the frog pond and the stream. She did not want to leave and wanted to take some frogs with us. Overall a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This place is by far one of the cleanest and camper friendly places to camp. My family returns every year for one week in July. Plenty in the local area to do, and all is not a far drive to get too. The staff is outstanding, the restrooms/showers are spotless. The stream in the center of the campground is priceless. The tree cover keeps it cool. Stay once and your hooked! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Great park just west of Waynesville. Quiet, clean and friendly. Owners take great pride in keeping the park clean. Keep in mind this is a mountain campground so the spaces may not be as generous as in the flatlands but still very accessible, private and peaceful. The temperature at the time we were here was pushing the mid 90's but being in the mountains, it was quite comfortable with plenty of shade. We will most definitely stay here again. Just can't beat being in the mountains and this is the place to be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Park was very nice. A bit pricey, and the sites were small. Otherwise very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
This is a beautiful park located close to Waynesville, NC. Our site was right on the creek and the sound of the rushing water was great. The park is very clean and well maintained, the staff are very friendly, make you feel at home, and we were close to lots of things to do. They have a hot spot for wireless internet at the campground office and it worked fine, the cable is 6 channels, and the bathrooms and showers were really clean! Most of all the quiet, and natural beauty of this campground can't be beat. I will definitely come back and recommend it highly to others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Our home away from home! This is our 5th year of camping here: it's our favorite campground so far. We have a small 17-footer, so our choice site is up the hill, above the creek, where we have a magnificent view of the wooded surroundings and the creek below. Moonshine is beautifully maintained and the facilities are well-equipped and clean. The staff is outstanding. From our deck above, we love to watch them assist the big rigs in and out, a process they make look easy and quick. They respond pronto when you need them, have helped us many times with problems with our trailer, and even jumped our car for us, twice! Our wireless internet is better some days then others; but then this park is perched 3300 feet up in the mountains, in a gorgeous natural setting of big trees with lots of shade. The Blue Ridge Parkway is 5 minutes away and the nearby towns of Waynesville and Sylva are a wonderful mix of modern and quaint shopping and eating. And a 5-star destination Asheville is only 45 minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Beautiful quaint campground nestled in the woods. A babbling creek runs through it, fire rings at each site, nicely stocked camp store. Very friendly camp managers. Waynesville and Barber Orchards (apples and pies!) nearby as well as entrance to Blue Ridge Parkway for fall color filled drives. A great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
We've camped here three times in the past two years and we love it! The people who work here are wonderful. This campground is fantastic, with lots of trees and a rushing stream that sounds so nice while you're sitting by a fire. The showers and restrooms are always very clean. It's away from busy traffic and is very peaceful. It's a perfect place to camp if you're looking for peace and quiet and to be close to nature. We just got back and we're already planning to return in a few weeks. We've made great friends with campers that come back every year. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle and just want to relax, this is a great place to go. If you want concrete and wide open spaces then it's not the place for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Had a great time at Moonshine Creek campground. This campground is located in the mountains of North Carolina and is the prettiest campground we have ever been to. The campsites are right on the creek and it is right out your door. The grounds were well kept with lots of trees and shade, flowers, and very clean. The bathrooms were also very clean, and had nice hot showers. The kids loved playing in the creek and the location is perfect. You feel remote and away from it all but are close to all the attractions and things to do. The staff is super friendly and helpful, where some of the sites might be a little harder to get into the staff takes you to your site and helps you park. All the amenities were kept up nicely, the internet was a little spotty due to the remote location and all the trees, but we were camping! There is a great bookstore in Waynesville that has internet. We have found our new favorite place to go in mountains! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
When I called them to make reservations, they said they were big rig friendly. This is untrue. When we arrived the entrance had low hanging trees that hit the top of our motorhome. The turns are very short and narrow. We had to backup and pull up about 4 times before we could make the turn. This was in the middle of the park. The sites are short. Because it had rained so much the sites were muddy and needed gravel. They had cable wiring running all around the park on the ground and across the creek and down the creek sides. The Good Sam's book say's they have internet, which they didn't. We paid for a week upon arrival. When we discovered they didn't have internet we asked for a refund and said we would leave because we needed internet, but the owner refused. We left anyway. This is one campground that we will never return to. If you have a tent or small trailer and don't want internet or many cable channels - had only 6 channels, it might be OK. There are better campgrounds out there, just shop around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
A pretty and picturesque park The sound of the fast moving stream was wonderful. The campground is neat and well attended to. It is very tight for big rigs. No pull through sites and very little turning room on the interior roads and when backing into the spots. Satellite access is poor due to the tree canopy. Not much for the kids to do in the park. Highlights are: it's neat, quiet, friendly, and has a wonderful fast moving stream. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Moonshine Creek was a great site. When we checked in, we were looking for a can opener in the camp store. They didn't have one, but about five minutes later they found one in the office that they let us borrow. They told us to just bring it back whenever. The staff was really great that way: very friendly and always stopping to chat when we saw them. This campground was very quiet and out-of-the-way, which was exactly what we wanted. Perhaps a little far from the local attractions, but everything was easy to get to. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Moonshine Creek is a wonderful campground nestled in a valley at 3,200 feet elevation. It is sort of rustic, yet very clean. The bath house was spotless, and the stream that ran through the middle added a wonderful sound to sleeping at night. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Great park! Host were very friendly...gave us lots of information and invited us to come back. Seems to be in the middle of attractions in all directions. Close to Cherokee, Maggie Valley,Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, and not too far to Gatlinburg. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$38
This park has everything you need to get away from it all. The creek was nice and the sites are level. The owners are very nice and do what they can for everyone. They even brought us some free firewood, because they had to blow the leaves off the site next to us. There are not many negatives to this park. Cable is not available at all sites and you can't pick up any signals even with an antenna booster. The campground is kind of out of the way, but that is a good thing. The waterfall comes out of a pipe, it's not a real waterfall, my kids were disappointed. The creek is really not deep enough to fish in, it's only 4-5 inches deep. The trout pond is not ready yet either. Over all, I would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Some sites were narrow/some long. Campground is clean, bathrooms are clean. Older campground well kept up. Some seasonal. Like the sites on the stream. Takes pets, very particular about cleaning up after them which is fine by me because I do anyhow. No pool. Little conference facilities. Will come back again. Owners/operators are very nice. Rally s welcome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
This is a unique out of the way campground. The roads are through foothills and valleys, but we had no problem with a 40' Class A. The campground roads were hilly and gravel with only one tight turn. Still it was wonderful once in. The staff could not do enough for you. This is a quiet place. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
This park is quiet. We had a site (number 16) on the stream and all we heard was it flowing by. The sites are all graveled and not very wide. With our awning open and our 3 foot slide out, we were at the boundary railroad ties for our site. Thankfully, there was no one in site 18 and only a small pop-up in site 14. Sites 14 up are in the upper section of the campground and there is no way for you to turn the rig around when leaving. One must back down to just below site 14 to be able to turn around and head out of the campground. We would stay again in one of the sites in the lower section if we were attending funtions in Waynesville, Maggie Valley, or Cherokee. If we were staying just for a camping weekend I think we'd stay elsewhere. The campground personnel were very nice and friendly. They truly offered service with a smile. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend, and even at its most crowded, it was quiet and peaceful. A reservation mishap at another park forced us to call in the late afternoon on friday, and we lucked out and got a site. The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Kathy and Rich are easily the nicest hosts that my family has ever dealt with. Clean bath houses, clean everything! It is the perfect jumping off point for tons of activities and it is also the perfect place to just sit and relax. Don't miss this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
We camped here during Easter break and stayed 8 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived late and they escorted us to our site. Overall, this is a beautiful campground nestled in the Smoky Mountains. It's conveniently located about 5 minutes from the Blue Ridge Mountain Pass. The sites are picturesque but on the small side. There are a few sites that give you some space. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. They have a children's play area but it is small and located outside of the main camping area. On most sites you would not be able to see your kids playing and the road runs on both sides. We were there when the campground was almost empty, but I would have felt uneasy had the campground been full to let the kids go off and play by themselves. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$26
Nice place. Pleasant staff. Had a site right on the creek. A little tight but realy relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
This is a nice campground in a beautiful mountain hollow. The staff escorted us to our site and helped us get backed in. The restrooms were very clean. There are many attractions nearby for day trips. The only problem was a very strong and constant sewer odor in certain areas of the campground (near our site). We mentioned this to the staff and they looked around a bit, but the odor was not eliminated. This sort of spoiled our experience there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
This wonderfully quiet campground features one of the prettiest small streams we've ever seen in a campground. The sites are short and necessitate unhooking the tow vehicle and parking it either next to or in front of the trailer, and the bathrooms are very, very simple. However, nothing beats having the windows open at night in a hollow in the Blue Ridge Mountains with a rushing stream just feet from your trailer. My only comment would be to add more gravel to a few of the sites, particularly where rainwater has washed the gravel down to sand. Friendly staff, quiet campers, and a pleasant experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Very nice, clean park in Western NC Mountains. Run by WorkCampers that take pride in their job. Very hospitable management. Sites range from narrow to extremely accommodating for slides and awnings. Be sure to stress the size of your rig when booking the reservation. Only a small playground and lawn area for children to play. I would not recommend bringing children unless they can occupy themselves. Overall it is a nice CLEAN, quiet, friendly campground to use as a base camp for exploring the NC mountains. If in the area again, we would return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
This is a secluded campground appoximately 15 minutes from Maggie Valley and also about 45 minutes from Cherokee. The roads are a little tight but are managable except for the absolute novice. When we arrived we were met by very friendly staff who showed us to our site and helped me get the 5er in the site. About 20 of the sites are creek side. The creek is about four feet wide but provides a nice sound and natutal beauty. The park is quiet. I saw very few children, and almost no teenagers; probably because there are no real activities on site. The bathrooms are clean, and neat if not fancy. They seem to be very pet friendly as almost every campsite had a pet. About one-fourth of the sites are seasonal but these sites are well kept. They also have camping cabins which are very sparsely furnished. I will return and plan to in the next month or so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com