220931 User submitted reviews online!!
Flintlock Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (828) 963-5325
CGID2032

Flintlock Campground

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   7   7   10   7   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
rate based on $197 for 7 days. 1st the good. Excellent service from staff, very friendly and helpful, outstanding! Lots of shade and a great stream running through the camp. Restrooms were great. The not so good. Tight spots. I only bought my 20' rig with no slide and there was no extra room. The cable TV system was out the 1980's. You had to have a box for each TV, but the staff warned me it was hit and miss. But the service from the staff made this family owned park all worth it. If you are coming get a river front site, we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
The park is well maintained and the employees are friendly and helpful.The park is located 3 miles from downtown Boone. We stayed in site 33 which is on the creek running the park. There are many creek front sites, most with sewage. The restroom and showers are clean, well maintained and heated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
This is a clean campground, with friendly staff. It's in a beautiful area. It's been mentioned before, but the entrance does come up quickly, but if you know the general area to look for, you will be fine. The sites are small, but ample to do what you need to do. This was the first trip with a much longer trailer than I was used to. The other campers were very helpful and nice in assisting us with getting into our spot. The creek is nice, but will try to stay at a pull through site next time. Yes, we will go back. The cable had better reception than we are used to. The campground is nice, quite and relaxing. Even our 16 month old made a friend with another child in the campground he also enjoyed his time at the campground and nearby Tweetsie railroad for the Thomas weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very clean little park, but very tight. Our site backed up to the stream, and with our awing out we were almost touching our neighbor. Their sewer connection was 5 feet from our picnic table. Nice area to walk the dogs around in, and the folks their for the whole summer were very friendly! We just did not like the tight sites. Also coming east off Grand Father mountain we could not make left hand turn into park. We had to go up the road and make u-turn and come back down to campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
We returned because the campground is pleasant with lots of mature trees and some attractive, stream-side sites. We had to split between sites to get a full week, a reflection of the camp's popularity - some come here for the whole summer. We enjoyed getting together with relatives and were fairly well accommodated, given the holiday limited site availability. There are a surprising number of cultural activities in Boone, a university town, and nearby Banner Elk, an upscale community. Emphasis is on country music, but there's summer theater at Lees-Mcrae College. However, I down graded to a 7 because: dryer out of order for weeks. Wi-Fi throughout is poor to none in evening and some times in non-peak / daytime hours. Water pressure is low - small pipes just don't get the flow to more distant sites. But, yes, we would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
We stayed 4 nights and love the place, management is super nice and very helpful. We were in site 70 right at the office so Wi-Fi was great. Nothing real fancy here but it is very clean and quite. We will be back soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Super friendly people. Very quiet. Could not get Wi-Fi from our site (56), but overall it was a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
We camped in site #36 on the creek. The staff was pleasant and helpful. This is a very nice campground with level sites and easy access from the road. Wi-Fi was strong at our site, which was wonderful since we did not get the Wi-Fi the night before at one of the other nearby campgrounds. The bathrooms were dated but kept clean. There seem to be many seasonal or long-term campers here but they kept their outside sites neat and decorated for the fall. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Pleasant park with nice shade at many sites. We camped with a babbling brook immediately under our rear window. Rest rooms / showers are simple but adequate. Staff was pleasant. Wi-Fi was very good at our site 11 spaces from the office. With one antenna for whole camp, signal strength may be weak at some more distant sites. Entrance is at the bottom of a long hill when heading west on Rt. 105 (3.5 mi from center of Boone). One must be prepared to signal a turn well before entry to avoid rear ending. Turns out of campground to the right are ill advised for big rigs with when towing a trailer, tight turn. Excellent for visiting nearby attractions on the Blue Ridge Parkway, e.g., Linville / Linville Falls, Lin Cove Viaduct. Also strategically located near Boone, Banner Elk, Valle Crucis. As adults, we'd stay here again, little at camp for kids to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Sites are level. General condition of the camp is below average. Manager was extremely helpful and willing to accommodate us however she could. Campground had a number of seasonal sites, most were packed up for the winter. This campground is acceptable for a one night stay if you get in a pinch. Having said that, we would not return. CAUTION:if you stay here, do not attempt to enter from the south if you are in a big rig. The sign is hard to spot so follow the directions exactly as provided by the campground website. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$48
We chose this campground due to it closeness to ASU. We stayed in cabin #9 with 2 adults, 2 teens and a medium-sized dog. The staff was helpful and polite. The game room was so-so, video games fairly outdated, pool table was ok but all of the sticks needed recapped. The store had a very limited number of items. The bath house was standard campground fare, a bit run down but fairly clean. The showers were hot! It was well supplied with hand soap and paper towels/toilet paper. Our cabin exceeded our expectations. I have been to campgrounds where their "camping cabins" are little more than sheds with beds. Our cabin was very roomy and had a double (bit of a saggy mattress) and a set of bunks. The small night stand, table and bookshelf all came in handy for storing our stuff. No linens and the mattresses and pillows all were covered in plastic. No heat so bring a good sleeping bag in colder weather. There was a ceiling fan and plenty of windows so the airflow was good. The porch was a nice bonus that came in handy since it rained all weekend. The parking was awkward, you park in the yard and then the neighbor's fire will get soot and ash all over your vehicle because their fire ring is entirely too close. There is a limited amount of "extra" spaces by the office, which is where we put our truck. The road noise on the cabin side of the campground was minimal, but fairly loud everywhere else We will definitely stay here again, but more of a "base" from which to enjoy all the area has to offer, rather than a "destination" in itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Wonderful place to stay!!! All the attractions that Boone and surrounding areas have to offer are near by. There is a river that runs thru the campground and it is so soothing to sit outside in the morning with a cup of coffee and listen to the water roaring. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Bathrooms were clean, ice and and firewood were reasonably priced. The sites were very level and easy to set up at. My kids had a blast playing on the rocks and walking throughout the campground. I would most definably stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Small campground and it's a little hard getting in and out of. Friendly and helpful staff though and our campsite backed up to a creek. I think that most of the campers were there for the summer. We stayed one night in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$15
Wifi was strong, cable tv was very good. This is an older campground with very small sites. We backed in next to the creek and had the front end flush with the road. We're only 38 feet. Sites very narrow. Fortunately the site on our door side had no electric so it was vacant most of our stay. They had all 30 amp electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Pros: friendly staff; shady lots; quiet at night; and close to town. Cons: small lots; noisy car/truck traffic during the day; about half of the lots (the better lots) rented to long term campers; old/dingy bath house; rules not enforced; and hard to get on/off road (NC105). We stayed a week and enjoyed ourselves, but the campground has a "trailer-park' feel. For our next visit, we will stay elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
This is a very nice park. Lots of big shade trees and a stream running through it. Very quiet and pleasant. Staff is friendly and helpful. It is tough backing into the spaces. The difficulty doesn't come from squeezing in between other motorhomes, but there is no room to pull up and back in if the spot in front of you is occupied. The road is very narrow. There were only a few pull thru spaces and those looked like permanent residents. So, you'd better be great at backing in!! We were only 7 miles from Tweetsie Railroad. We would definitely stay here again. We had a nice and relaxing weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
Very nice park. A little noisy from traffic on highway; restrooms clean but cold. Nice campground for a short visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$26
We enjoyed our stay. This park is beautiful and the staff very nice. They also have new cabins. We will be back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Good sized sites. Small river next to site. Clean campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We have camped at Flintlock several times. I love it. They have sites that back up to a creek and the whole area is very scenic for driving. In the summer, parking can get tight, as during the summer they get very full. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
We actually did not stay here, but drove thru the park. The park left us with the feeling it was too crowded and poorly laid out. It also looked a little hard to get a larger unit into most of the spaces.We will stay at the KOA when we go back to Boone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
Next to a truck route, at the bottom of a hill, so you get to hear the trucks engine braking down the hill at all hours. Can't understand how previous reviewers managed to get the quite spots where they DIDN'T hear the trucks! Dirty bathrooms, close sites, trash cans full. A TERRIBLE exit back onto the highway. We agree with a previous reviewer that this is an older campground that is not well maintained. At least they had good WiFi service. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
A very family oriented place. Staff is friendly, laid back atmosphere. We have been coming up for the last 5 years and wouldn't camp anywhere else in the Boone area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
The campground is OK. The roads are narrow, especially the entrance with steep hill. The sites are somewhat close. However location is convenient to Valle Cruscis, Boone and Blowing Rock. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
Ok park. Sites were too close for us. My awing almost hit the next camper. If you like too be that close then this campground would be for you. I would not stay here again for that reason only. Everything else was fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
Old cg that is not maintained well at all. Camped in Class C along stream. Power kept going off - staff said it was because campers with big rigs were running their a/cs. This was unacceptable - owners should upgrade electrical lines to accommodate modern day campers. Staff said corrective action would not be taken as the power only goes off about three times a year. This is especialy bad if campers go off and leave pets in their rigs, as several of us did. As we were packing up to depart, another camper turned the water off and the whole faucet came off shooting water up in the air. Another example of poor maintenance. Recommend you pass this one up if you are in the Boone area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
Nice place to stay, close to everything in the area. Not a lot of amenities but we don't require a lot. It was a great relaxing weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
The campground is secluded off of hwy 105 near Boone. You can barely hear vehicles, and the stream adds a nice touch. The sites are very close together, but the campers there when we camped were nice. The bathrooms were horrible! The men's room reaked of cigarette smoke, had toilet paper rolls all over the floor, and the showers were full of mold. The bathhouse needed a major shakedown for cleanliness. We will not return until the restrooms and bathhouses are cleaned and overhauled. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
Felt the sites were very close together. Not very much privacy. Had a problem when I went to dump, my connection just happened to be stopped up, but I didn't know it until I was dumping. Sites were hard to back into and the sites across the road were also close making it harder to back into my site. Owners were very nice and friendly. Not much for my kids to do except for a small playground. I will probably not visit this campground again due to the fact it is about 4 hours away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This is a nice, peaceful campground. It is located right off the main road, but you never hear cars. We had a bold stream right behind our site that the kids had a great time playing in. They also have a small playground area for the children. We really like this place and can't wait to go back. The only negative thing I would say about this campground is that the sites are very close together. However, they are clean, level, and easy to get to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com