223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Grandfather Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (828) 355-4535
CGID2033

Grandfather Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   5   4   9   4   7   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
Lovely views in the mountain meadow area. River side is very cramped. Our motorhome door opened less than three feet from neighbors sewer. We moved up hill. Bath Houses were not cleaned on a regular basis and they need updating. Laundry area needs to be swept out. The lint behind the dryers is several inches deep. They have an ongoing battle with the road ruts and excessive raining. They worked hard to smooth things out. Pavillion was only open on Friday and Saturdays. I found the people very friendly and would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This campground has the worst access roads imaginable - narrow, steep, and incredibly rutted. Other than that it is an attractive campground spread out along a stream with the sites located in clusters so it doesn't feel crowded. There are several different levels because of the hilly topography. Usual amenities. The Wi-Fi signal does not work well but that seems to be the norm at campgrounds. Great campground for dogs with ample room for walking, running and playing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
We would not stay here again in a big rig. Narrow, badly rutted gravel roads with very tight turns. Had quite a hard time getting into our "pull through" site. Have never encountered such indifferent office staff. No one led us to site and it was hard to find. That said, our view was gorgeous once we got settled. Right next to big open area in the middle of the campground, surrounded by lovely mountains. In a smaller rig the setting might make it worth the trouble. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
I was disappointed in the campground and glad that we only made it a one-day stopover so we could be close to Grandfather Mountain. Sites are not level and VERY close together, to the point where I couldn't tie out my dog, as she would be in someone else's site on her 6ft lead. The whole grounds looked kind of run-down, with weeds growing around the camp sites. Grass, however, appeared to be cut. Don't let the flattering photos on their website deceive you. A stream runs behind The sites in the A loop, but access to the stream is steep and rocky. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
Great views and a large amount of sites. Some on the mountain view side need some serious leveling. Ours did. Stayed 2 weeks. Boone is a 15-20 minute drive away; Grandfather Mountain 10 minutes. Lots to do in area. Internet was only OK if you sat outside. Cable was good. If you want to use your dish bring a good anchor. Wind can be awesome. Will stay again next year. Rate reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$24
This park is just barely accessible for big rigs. Very steep gravel driveway / road leading to upper sites with big ruts beside drive from recent rains made it difficult to negotiate turns. Lower level sites a combination of sparse gravel and mostly mud, close together, difficult to back into, no landscaping other than patches of grass and more dirt / mud, and under old trees that would worry me ref: falling limbs and debris. Gravel pull through sites on the upper level were far from level, required several leveling blocks on one side of RV. Seasonal units in park didn't look very well kept. Office staff was unenthusiastic and indifferent. Bathrooms were old, dirty, and disgusting, no way I would use them. Bath house looked newer and was just OK in condition and cleanliness. The park was nearly empty when we stayed so the views of the upper field and mountains were very pretty, that's the only nice thing I can say about this park. Rate reflects weekly stays. We would not stay here again (or at the other campground nearby on 105 which looked worse). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
This park has a wide variation of site quality. Ours was not level but it was very spacious. We were on top of the mountain. Roadways are not paved and difficult to maneuver with a 35 foot rig. Narrow and winding roads are a challenge. Quiet with enough trees for shade, but not too many to be in the way. We would stay here again as there is a lot to see. Good beer store, Peabodys on route 105 towards Boone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
What a nice park with BEAUTIFUL views. We stayed in the "Upper" portion of the park in a pull-through site (A39). Nice site with a mountain view and the large open area behind our unit. Bath house appears to have been recently updated. Clean and well maintained. Laundry facility also attached the the bath house. Plenty of area attractions for all age ranges. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Easy access off hwy 105. You are in a good location to access Blowing Rock, Boone, Banner Elk, Grandfather mountain. The park is clean. The sites are not very wide. We were in site A6 which gives great access to the Wautaga River which kids love to splash in. It was steps away and a short climb down the rocks on the bank. It is a rocky creek really with clean water. All the A area sites back up to it. They are easy to back into. I needed a couple of leveling blocks on one side. No big deal. The parking pad is gravel with a small grass yard with table and fire ring. Bathhouse was OK, looking tired inside. There is a nice small playground and sandbox. The sites on the hill are in a open field with some shaded sites. They have a nice view of the surrounding mountains. The roads in the facility are gravel and not too steep. It is in a valley. We enjoyed fishing at the trout pond next door, a separate business. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Great campground in beautiful valley. Our 40' pusher fit just fine and we had a good view in site A 41 on the hill. Restrooms look new and areas well kept with nice office staff. Rate fair for full service and cable. Would stay here again. Easy to get to on 105 just 10 mile south of Boone Rt 421. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
The internet was only available from one place, and it is a long uphill hike to get it. It hardly worked satisfactorily. There were lots of young people tenting, and only one rest room open. That made for noise and crowds. The sites needed gravel. The sites next to river made for nice soothing sounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Very large sites. Nice spot across drive from river. Water level was low, but kids enjoyed exploring rocks and ankle wading. B section had very large campsites. Had activities on weekend (tie dye, hayrides, singers). Staff friendly. Although doesn't have a "barking lot" they do have several grassy areas for the dogs to sniff. Only issue we had was with the bathrooms. One near our campsite was very small and had a lot of spiders. One up the trail had private bath/shower area but severe wood rot on floors. One unit had hole in floor and felt like you would fall through. Baths were clean but overall rundown. We plan on returning here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Camp was full over weekend (leaf-peeping season). We liked our campsite, but we had some difficulty locating the site because the markers are so faded. We were also in a big rig and although we managed, it was a tight squeeze in and out of the site. Note: The hookups are at the opposite end of the motorhome hookups. Our site was A50. Once we were in & leveled (used boards under wheels), it was a nice large space. The view of the mountains was beautiful, and close to Boone, Grandfather Mtn. Park, and Blowing Rock. I would do it again, but would be very specific about my site. There are only a few level sites to accommodate larger RVs. Be careful departing your site if you are in a big rig because the back end of the RV could possibly catch the electric/water posts as you swing out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
I've camped here twice in a tent. What I love about this campground is the spectacular scenery and the campground's location. I camped at B26 for a week in August of 2008 and at T70 for a week in August of 2009. There is an upper and a lower creek, both of which are nice. The bathhouse near B26 needs to be renovated. The bathhouse near T70 is nicer but could also use some renovating. There is a large empty field where it would be nice to have some playground equipment. The campground itself is bare, but like I said, the location and scenery are worth the stay. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
The draw of this campground is its proximity to local attractions and Boone. All the roads and sites are gravel. The sites are narrow and not level. Most of the timbers marking the sites are rotten and clearly detract from the overall appearance. The lower bath house is dirty and in dire need of an upgrade. Office staff is so so friendly. This campground does not receive the attention needed for it to be a good facility. There is no pool or other activities for children. The owners need to find a buyer who has the money to bring the campground up to modern standards and someone who has the expertise in managing an acceptable facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Lovely little campground. Clean and neat. I love going there. Very friendly! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$33
A very nice setting with slightly terraced sites giving nearly everybody something of a view and feeling of privacy. Sites were big and included table and fire ring. A river runs through the lower part of the park but we like the upper, more sloped section. There are tent sites but they were unoccupied while we were here in 15 degree weather! My only gripe was the lack of paved roads and pads. This place would be a 10 with some pavement. Boone is 10 minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
The campground itself wasn't too bad except for the extremely poor condition of the bath houses. They have notices posted that they are closed every morning for cleaning, yet they were not cleaned once in the 4 days we stayed. Even the "brand new" bath house in the upper area was very dirty and had a toilet stopped up. We chose this campground over a KOA, since they said they had a trout pond and fishing in the river. The Trout Pond they have on their website is a pay by the pound pond located next door. It was fun, but expensive with 4 kids. The fishing in the river is posted as fly fishing only (not practical for children) and catch and release. We were not told either of these facts when we called and spoke to them in person. My other complaint is the playground on the campground map is non-existent. The only playground is also next door at a "community park" and it is less than kept up. The swings are all broken and the merry-go-round barely moves. So for a "family campground" I would rate this very poorly. When camping with children I want clean bathrooms, a nice playground and easy fishing...and they don't have any of these. They do have nice shaded sights (in the lower area) and a beautiful river view, if you don't have children to entertain. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$33
It is a nice campground, as sites are easy to get to and are spaced out nicely. There are great views, and a nice area for pets. The staff was very friendly. The gravel roads are fine. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We used to camp here a lot, but not much recently. All roads are dirt and get very dusty at times.New sites along creek , rebuilt after floods a couple years ago. Friendly staff and they have free hayrides on Saturday nights. Would rate higher if they had a pool. Fairly steep hill to climb to get to upper sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$36
We only stayed here one night, but found it to be quite pleasant. We had a creek-side site which was lovely. The bridge woes mentioned in previous posts are now resolved, though the roads were still quite muddy. Also, though there are some very tight turns if you choose the wrong route, the campground is big-rig accessable since several 40'ers were there on our visit. Staff was very cordial and, other than the roads, the grounds were well maintained. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$29
We have stayed here monthly many times. Most sites are not level and are always muddy in the winter. There are scenic views from all directions. They have a small playground and lots of room for children to run around. There are only two campgrounds in the area open year round, this one is the better of the two. The only problems I have had here were with some people being loud on busy weekends, and a credit card billing issue with management one time that I had to involve my bank in. Overall this is a nice family park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$21
Sites were narrow and close together. Streamside sites are the nicest. Staff was very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2005
$34
This is a dusty, dusty campground with very unlevel sites. Also, it is not big rig friendly unless you consider a 15-foot popup to be a big rig. Turns are hairpin tight, sites are difficult to get into, and, if you blink, you will miss their pathetic sign. Possibly okay for an overnight but not if anything else is available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$29
Hurricane Ivan had damaged the bridge at the entrance causing the wife a few nervous moments getting into the park. There's a nice "catch what you keep" fishing pond next to the park. Restrooms were clean and there was a nice hiking trail behind the park. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2005
$29
We camped here for a short weekend get away to allow the children to go sledding at Beach Mountain. I understand why the previous post said dusty, dusty, dusty. When we were there it rained and it was muddy, muddy, muddy. The sites were very small and unlevel. The sites are covered with gravel, however, get off of the gravel and you are in the mud. We camped right on the river which is the only positive about this camp ground. This place is not big rig friendly. We do not have a big rig and it was not friendly to us in a 34 ft travel trailer. This place is OK for smaller units if you do not mind the mud and when it is dry the dust. We like to camp in cleaner areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
The campground is very nice. The only problems that we had occurred with staff personnel. We have camped there on a seasonal basis for several years. A staff member moved our travel trailer to its site the first year and bent the stabilizers. We had to replace them at our own expense. At the end of every season staff have turned off our electricity before we could get to the site and winterize our unit. This caused mold and mildew in the refrigerator along with other problems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com