218648 User submitted reviews online!!
Holly Ridge Family Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (336) 367-7756
CGID2034

Holly Ridge Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   7   9   7   10   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Beautiful, large campground with a helpful and friendly staff. Easy six miles off I-77. Well kept and easy to get in and out with large MH. Only suggestion to make it better would be hotter water in showers, as we stopped here on our way south. Definitely would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
It's our family's favorite getaway for more than 10 years. Kid friendly, pet friendly, activities include gameroom, borrowing magazine/book/video library, coin laundry, general store, swimming pool, puttputt, shuffleboard, horseshoes, Yadkin river canoeing, playground, volleyball, basketball. Shady sites, no mud, patios at most sites, firepits, propane refills onsite. Weekend activities like karaoke, bingo, bands, covered dish dinners, trick or treating, golf cart parades. Now that our children are older, we enjoy the relaxation at Holly Ridge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
This is a great campground for families or couples. The family that owns this campground takes pride in providing a fun, friendly atmosphere, great service and very clean bathrooms. We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend and enjoyed an ice cream party and tie-dying t-shirts. There is also a hiking trail from the campground to the Yadkin River. The campsites are mostly shady. Some sites are a little small, but a few have been expanded by the addition of decks for picnic tables. Though the campground was quite full this weekend, nights were quiet. There is much to do in this area as well. Wineries, restaurants, Pilot Mountain, Mt. Airy and Winston-Salem are within easy driving distance. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
After reading previous reviews, we selected this campground during a visit to the Mount Airy area. We, unfortunately, were a bit disappointed. The sites were certainly secluded and wooded but other than the pull through sites in the middle, they were tight, not level, and difficult to get into. We had to try three times to find someone at the office to pay but when we did they were extremely nice. The thing that bothered us the most were what appeared to be the permanent units that seemed overrun the place. These were not the snowbird type setups, these were campers (some pretty nasty looking) that appeared as if the owners actually lived there full time and went to work during the day. The site across from us sported a large diesel utilities truck that fired up promptly at 6am to go to work for the day (waking us all up I might add). Overall, the feeling of the place was a bit seedy. We shortened our planned stay and moved on to another campground nearby. Now to be fair, we did stay during the "off" season so maybe it is a completely different place during the prime season. It just wasn't the family friendly, activity filled place we read about. We would consider staying there again during the summer months when there would be more kids there and the pool would be open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Looking at the previous reviews of Holly Bluff, we planned our Labor Day Weekend trip here. We were not disappointed. The owners had numerous family friendly activities scheduled for the weekend: potluck breakfast, sundae bar, baked potato and salad supper, horse shoe and shuffleboard tournament, and Bingo. Truly enough choices to please all of us. The owners were very friendly and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. We arrived late and they guided us to our site and helped us pull in our pop-up to reach the electric and water. Each site has a wooded deck and picnic table for personal use. The site we had was pull through and private. It was not level, but our Bal-Leveler handled it. The campground is modest in size (62 sites) and the facilities a little older, but all were well maintained. Holly Ridge was truly a family campground as there were many children, pets, and seniors enjoying the activities. We hope to return in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
This is a very nice, well maintained campground. The owners were helpful and friendly. I was disappointed in the laundry facility - only one washer and dryer, in the middle of the clubhouse, and you have to drag your clothes through the office area. We also had a very difficult time leveling our coach (it never was quite level). But choices are slim around these parts, and we would stay here again if traveling in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
We have camped at Hollyridge for several years. Since the new owners have settled in, it is evolving into a true family campground. So many things for the children to do. The energy level of this new team is off the hook! I had a blast hiding Easter eggs and watching the children run to find the prizes. If you have never played Arizona style Bingo, you must. It was awesome! You owe it to yourself to stay for a few nights, but you may want to stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Good campground, friendly new owners are beginning to update the campgrounds. Will plan to stay here again. Children friendly, putt-putt course, play ground, all at NO charge and LOVE not having to pay out for every little thing. Give it a try. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Great campground!! The owner is friendly and the campground is clean and organized. We will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
We took a spur of the moment trip and were glad we did. This is a small family campground not far off the interstate. Very quiet and peaceful. It was very clean even for being so early in the season. The park has enough activities for everyone to keep you entertained. If you like to get out the town is a throwback to yesteryear and lots of vineyards nearby if you like wine. The sites were large enough and covered with pea-gravel which was nice. The only drawbacks were lots of permanent campers, lack of cell phone service, and no signage getting to the campground.Without our GPS; we would have had trouble finding the place. Most of the permanent sites were kept up, but some were not. It looked to us like only about ten sites were available for overnighters. We will definitely go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$24
Very nice campground. Roads from Hwy. into park are asphalt. All sites and couple roads are gravel. Sites are close to level due to hills. Water and power were good. You will find open sites and sites under the large trees in park. Most sites are under trees. Owner is always working to update his park, very nice. WiFi now in place, free, sig. is weak, will only work close to office. Camp fires are OK here. We have been here number of times and will return in future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
This is a very nice campground in a rural setting. Traffic noise is non-existent. Pool water was crystal clear and there is an extensive play area for children, one of the best I have even seen. The sites are relatively level and covered with pea gravel. Sites are roomy in spite of the numerous shade trees, no problem with access to the sites. There are many permanent residents, but these sites are well maintained and clean. No trash pickup at your site, but a dumpster is set up near the office. There are not many attractions nearby which makes this a great place to kick back and relax. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$24
Nice clean park. We used the swimming pool and it was sparkling clean. We used the campground as an overnight stay but would recommend it for longer stays too. The only bad thing for us was the construction between the interstate and the campground to widen the road, which it desperately needs. Once the road construction project is completed, they will have much better access for larger RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$12
We stayed at this campground for a month while getting the motorhome organized in preparation for going on the road fulltime. The owner is very nice and very helpful. The campground is well maintained and the bathrooms and showers were always clean. There is a miniature golf course, a swimming pool, playground equipment, and a game room. They also have a hiking trail from the campground to the Yadkin River for you exercise buffs. We will stay at this campground whenever we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$27
This is a small family campground. The sites are close, but fine. The bathrooms, showers and grounds are immaculate. The owner is very nice. We camped here in the fall so we didn't get to enjoy the pool, but our kids had fun on the playground and playing mini-golf course. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
We used this park as an overnight stay while traveling to South Carolina. The management was very helpful and friendly but the campground itself is not big rig friendly. We have a 40 ft motorhome and need a large enough space to feel comfortable setting up the rig. These sites are too small and uneven for a big rig. The roads are narrow plus the sites are narrow and short so just be careful choosing a site. We are finding out that many reviews may be excellent for trailers or smaller motorhomes but not big rig friendly. Just use common sense when choosing a campground and always consider what type of RV you are using. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
Stayed for two months while family member in Winston-Salem hospital. Owner could not be more helpful. One of the most helpful I have met in 5 years of fulltime RVing. He does have several sites that will accommodate large Motorhomes. We have 40' with 4 slides and had no problem. Park is about 8 miles off interstate and road is narrow but we had no problem. Park is spotless and owner is always in the area so very secure. Has great pool, playground, minigolf. Wonderful family campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
We had friends that camped here in a travel trailer and we wanted to tent camp with them but after calling they informed us they did not have tent sites. We ended up staying in one of the cabins they had. The cabin was extremely nice, very clean and spacious. There was a TV/VCR, A/C and a mini refrigerator. There was a small front porch with a portable type sink and a grill. It also had a nice deck built onto the side with a table and chairs. The only thing missing was a bathroom. The campground itself was immaculate. The pool was very full so I'm not sure whether they let people in that live nearby to swim. There didn't seem to be that many campsites for the number of people at the pool. The office was nice (not super friendly but adequate). One neat thing was a magazine/book rack that campers could borrow from. There was a small miniature golf course that was free which was nice. We would definitely make a return visit. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
The campground is small, but ok. Maybe the owner likes older folks (I am in my early 30's), because he only took my money and never spoke to us for the entire two nights we were there. I agree it is a little tricky getting in the sites, especially the backup sites. The pool, golf, and play area is nice and very clean. The bathhouses were very clean. Our friends stayed in a cabin while we were there (because we were told on the phone they had no tent sites). The cabins were nice as well. The tv reception is not good. We live 30 minutes from the campground, but we may return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
Excellent owner that is truly interested that you have good experience. Nice sites and good open areas. Pool and putt-putt older but in good shape. Very nice experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$21
Excellent Campground. As mentioned in previous posts the owners are very friendly and work hard to keep the Campground nice. $5.00 will buy a large bundle of firewood delivered to your site. Family friendly and very clean throughout, will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$23
We stayed at Holly Ridge just overnight but were impressed with how clean and attractive it was. We'd definitely stay here again but probably just an overnight visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$25
We absolutely love staying here. This makes 3 times. The first two were weekend trips, but this time we stayed a week. The owner is very nice and is always busy and it shows. This place is immaculate. He has an Internet access in the laundry room now, but who needs it? Would recommend Holly Ridge to anyone who is coming into the foothills of NC. There is plenty to do within miles of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$26
Quiet park, nice playground, clean restrooms, level sites, would stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Excellent smaller campground with well-stoned sites. Nice patio pads/decks at each site. Most cooperative and helpful management we've found in a long time. Good spacing between sites and good ingress and egress. Would highly recommend. Paved roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$21
Good road into site, very clean, people extremely helpfull and friendly, everything is neet and in place, very nice flowers all over the place, and lots of amminets. No road noise. The owner is always working to make your stay a very nice one. We plan to spend more time at this camp site in the future. Great place!!! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com