214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Asheville West KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (828) 665-7015
CGID2038

Asheville West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   10   6   8   7   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Right off highway, so some noise at night. Just stayed overnight. Typical KOA: pull thrus and back ins, wooded sites. This would be a good spot for a nature lover, trails etc. facilities were clean. Pull thru we had was long and we didn't need to unhook . Would recommend as overnight or for weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Sites need gravel. Fairly clean bath house, but low-water pressure in showers. There is no place for your soap or shampoo in the showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$40
This is a good KOA. The main issue is the interstate noise. The noise takes a little to get use to but not near as bad a being near a train track. The campground is clean, good shade, and grass to walk the dog. The showers are clean and each shower has its own individual shower area. The showers are a little small but hot water and good pressure. Cable TV has the mail channels and local channels, about 25 stations. Owners were very nice. Again, good campground if you can stand the I-40 traffic noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Easy access from I-40. Convenient for all area attractions. Nice trails through woods between the two sections. Main section has all pull-throughs. Excellent FREE Wi-Fi and satellite TV. We will always stay at this KOA when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
This park was convenient as I approached Asheville from this side of I-40 and is easy to get to, like most KOAs, right off the highway. I got a chance to check out the sites before going to the office, the nicer sites with cable were full and had been for months (fall color season) so I chose site #20 on the water/electric side, wanting to be a bit away from most of the other campers. Sites in this section are not level even with 2 leveling blocks up in front, Wi-Fi works well. Bathroom is clean, but has a bit of an odor. It's a wooded area and pleasant enough. It'll be okay for tonight, but will try the another KOA for the next several nights as I explore Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$42
The road to the campground is steep, but doable. Staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed in the full hook up section. Sites and roads are gravel and level. Some turns are a little tight. Utilities work fine. The cat hookup is on the bottom of the box which could make it difficult to connect. With the new TV connection came a new channel set up. They went from 75 channels to 24 with no guide. If in the area would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
We stayed here as a late stop-over enroute to Myrtle Beach. The campground is easy to get to from the I-40. It's definitely a stopover but appears adequate for a couple of nights or to stay if visiting attractions on the west side of Asheville. The sites are fairly close together and, we found some difficultly getting a site that we fit (front to back) so we didn't have to unhitch. The night security man assisted us to locate a more suitable site. The roads are gravel and, due to the sandy soil, I can see where rain would turn it into a soggy site. We were in a full pull through,and the back in sites appeared fine. There was only one site that appeared to be a worker camper with excessive clutter. They have a camp breakfast for $3 on Saturday which was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Visiting Biltmore, this was convenient and easy - we were about eight miles west. Site was level and spacious. Cable was very good. Wifi wasn't working, but we had a good Verizon signal of our own. Office help was very friendly and informative. We did not use amenities, but the pool looked inviting. There was some minor interstate noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
Sites are in two loops - a pull thru loop and a backup loop. The pull thru loop has cable and larger sites. We were in the pull thru loop and most sites were level, decently spaced, and had good road access. Both the internet and the cable worked very well. Management was extremely friendly and helpful. The campground was clean and well maintained. The only real negative is that the freeway is very close and very loud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
We found this an excellent location to tour Asheville and surrounding areas. The campground sites were adequate and full service. We have our own hot spot so did not try the campground WiFi. Staff friendly. We would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$40
This campground is located over two ridges. Entry is from the west, up a steep drive. The main road through the park is paved and wide. At the top of the driveway is located the office, pool, pavilion, cabins, and the drive through sites. The loop roads and pads are a mixture of dirt and gravel; but the sites are fairly level. Other than the pads, the rest of the park is pretty steep. The entry road, as it passes the office, drops down between the ridge lines, and then back up the other ridge. This main road is a 30 to 40 percent grade. It had rained hard, and the owners spread some straw down to cover some of the mud between the sites. Between the ridges there is a playground, but it is adjacent to a murky pond. There are hiking trails, but most are in disrepair, and the whole place is covered with poison ivy. Lots of web worms dropping from the trees at this time of year. I rated this as not pet friendly since there is no where to walk the dogs that is not on a steep slope and, although there is room, there is no off leash area. Dog waste cans were never emptied and bag dispensers were empty. Office staff was great. The noise here is overwhelming. This park is adjacent to I-40. On the east side of the park, there is a cliff with a TA truck shop at the bottom. Guess we would stay here again if passing through on I-40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$50
This a nice RV facility. Some of the spaces are a little tight for big rigs over 40 feet but still doable (we are 41 feet). Kids activities are wonderful. Office store has list of stuff you may need. They make fresh beignets and coffee for breakfast, yum. Separate areas for RV and tent camping which is nice. They also have small cabins for rent. Clean and charming. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. The grounds maintenance is mostly very nice, like the owners really care. For short stays or long I'd recommend this KOA. I'd have given this a 10 if the spaces were larger and turns in the RV section were made a bit wider for larger RV's. Make reservations and pack marshmallows. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$42
First I want to rate the CG. It is close to I-40. In fact it is a little too close. Road noise on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being noisy, is a 7. Road into CG is steep. Staff is friendly. Interior roads are gravel, a little bumpy, and turns are somewhat tight. If you have a fixed Sat dish trees may present a problem, but CATV is excellent. Sites are relatively level. It is in my opinion overpriced for what you get. Now about the management. When I checked in and paid for my stay I simply paid. After I looked at the receipt and noticed I was charged a different price for the days during my stay. I asked why this happened. I was told the rate changed during my stay. I was never informed during the reservation process or at check in. There is no weekly rate so they are free to do this. I find this bad business practice and not sure if I'll stay again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
First time in a KOA and what a good place to start. First, the staff was excellent. They were helpful and very friendly. The site was gravel and level, plenty long enough for my 40 foot fifth wheel. Water pressure was strong, more than any other park I've stayed. Cable TV was awesome, well over 100 channels. Wi-Fi was strong too. Pool was nice and clean. Well kept. The campground itself was very appealing, with trails around it. My wife and I traveled most of them. The rear lot was mostly for smaller trailers; the coaches and fifth wheels were in the front lot. The road into the grounds was steep, no doubt but we made it in first no problem. Turn from the campground to the road out was a little tricky, but we made it no problem. The only drawback was the highway noise from I-40. I personally did not mind it, but this campground is not for those looking for solitude. It's great for overnighters and we saw many of them, but being that close to I-40 was convenient to sight seeing. The noise was loud, but not unbearable. For my first time in a KOA, I was pleasantly surprised and completely satisfied. I would definitely return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Not a bad campground. Was very hilly, but the site was fairly level. The two loops are very far apart, so access to pool and store is a long ways for one of them. Bath facility is small. A lot of highway road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
As KOA's go, this was not too bad. The sites were small with a dirt base. The roads are mainly dirt and in the rain can be a bit of a mess. Most sites were fairly level. The park is located in a nice area on the top of a hill, and is very close to I-40. This is a popular stop for those traveling I-40 and it would be best to have reservations. They only have about 25 sites with full hookups. Sites located away from the clubhouse (and closer to the freeway) are subject to quite a bit of traffic noise. The park is close to downtown Asheville and the Biltmore Estate. Staff members are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
A rustic campground that, for the most part, is pitch black at night and needs some lighting. Also needs some warning posted that the campground entry is almost hidden on a corner. Sites can be tight for a big rig. Services are OK and the campground is convenient for visiting Asheville. Staff are accommodating and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This is a well maintained park. The staff is extremely helpful. They have a booklet of the area attractions that is something every RV park should have. It describes the attraction and gives directions to it from the park. The lots are not level side to side and the roads are rough. This is the first park we have stayed in, that the freeway noise was extreme. The Wi-Fi was very good. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We had a friend search for RV parks in the Asheville/Candler area, and this is the one she provided us with. The turn off on the main road is hard to find, and the turn into the campground is also hard to see! Just be prepared. Then you enter the park up a long paved hill. We had a pull-through site that was in the dirt, but we didn't spend much time at the motorhome while in Asheville. The office staff is wonderful and will be there to help in anyway possible. As in most KOA's, you are placed close together. It is close to the freeway system, as well as fun small towns on the west side of Asheville. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Very nice park. Cool mountain air was welcome from the July heat. Staff was nice and helpful. Did not notice any highway noise and no smell from a paper mill. Would stay here again and would like to stay longer next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
It is a nice clean park but very noisy. It is right off of highway 40. We were led to our site and helped to get situated. We only stayed one night, but it was nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
We camped here while visiting relatives in the area. We have camped here before but had stayed at another c/g because of a couple things. There is road noise from I-40 and a smell from a paper mill to the west. It has new owners who are very nice. They are very helpful. We did have a dog who woke us up every morning and should have complained but the owner was a worker in the park. Will probably move on to another cg. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Extremely nice staff. Very clean and well groomed campground. Sites are somewhat close but adequate. The owners have put together a pamphlet that gives information and directions to many area places of interest, which was very helpful. We will visit here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
We had originally only planned to stay for 2 nights at this campground, but with the beauty of the area and all the fun things to do locally, the niceness of the campground, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and owners, we extended our stay to 4 days. Even though you are only minutes from the highway, this campground has hiking trails, trees, and mountain beauty, but also includes all the modern amenities like level sites, cable TV, Wi-Fi, store, laundry, and more. A great place, with great people! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$36
We have stayed at this campground several times while traveling through. The new owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers are very clean. Great park for one night or an Asheville visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
This was one of our most enjoyable campground experiences. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They constantly patrolled the campground picking up trash and checked to make sure all was well in the evening after quiet time. Very impressive. There were planned activities for the kids and even a live band one night. Only problem was road noise from the close proximity of I-40 but was worth the camping experience. Great back-in spots in the woods but the dump station was out of order at the time of our visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
As I type this, I am listening to the roar of traffic on I-40. The proximity to the interstate is helpful but also one of this campgrounds downfalls. Forget the feeling of being remote in the mountains. We had a pull thru site and while it was adequate, it did leave us wanting more. They are close together and have very little grassy area. We walked through the back-in and tent site area and we are glad we chose a pull thru. It looked as if there were some permanent residents as one site had privacy fencing and some other campers were up on blocks. I do appreciate the on site trash pickup by the staff. There are some short trails that make for pleasant, shady walks with the dogs. The pool area appears clean enough but we did not use it. The staff have been helpful with information for the surrounding area. We would use this campground again in a pinch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$37
A little more site room than the typical KOA. Very friendly and helpful office staff. Even brought firewood to the site after the office was closed and we needed the firewood as it was cool even in late June. Really enjoyed Asheville, nice walking tour of downtown. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
New owners who are very nice. Stated they took on the KOA from an owner who had not kept up with the maintenance. They are putting forth good effort to upgrade. Front lot is pull through, rear is for back in and tents. The roads, sites are in need of new gravel and really needs grading. After a good rain this place may be hard to drive through. Lots of road noise, but very wooded, pretty. Playground was next to a deep pond, not near any sites. The showers were tiny, larger people may have problems with closing the door behind them. Although the showers, bathrooms were dated, they were clean and the water was very hot. Little store, pricey, coffee was 1.50. Most importantly though, this campground's entrance is quite steep. We took it at an angle and didn't bottom out, but could see where many campers have scraped. I would reccomend that if your unit rides low, avoid this spot. Leaving the campground we put the truck in low gear, as it is a steep decline. We will not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This is the first campground we have visited since we got our RV. Very nice staff, easy access, easy parking, level sites, and everything worked; this pretty well sums up our experience. Oh yes, our Verizon wireless broadband connection was the strongest we've ever had. This is a good location for touring Asheville and Biltmore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
The campground owners are extremely kind and accommodating. Some of the nicest ones we've met! In fact, they went out of their way to help us. We had major electrical problems with our coach and the owner helped us regain temporary use of our generator. They even provided an ice chest for us to use when our refrigerator failed to operate. The pool was clean and nice and the shower house is older, but clean. There is a camp store, laundry facility and WiFi access. We were in the back part of the campground and had to go to the office for access, but it worked fine there. This park is within easy access to 40-E and very quiet. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$36
The campground was very nice. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site. Sites are large enough with picnic table and fire ring. Campground is clean. There is a pool and playground. There are hiking trails. There is some traffic noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites were relatively level and graveled. Interstate road noise was evident even when inside the motorhome. Stayed their overnight but would consider a longer stay in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
We were in this part of North Carolina for a few weeks for work. Things we liked about the campground: -Workers were friendly and helpful. -The woodsy setting is beautiful. -There are lots of hiking trails in the park. Things we hated and will never go back because of them: -It was next to a major highway with loud traffic noise. -The smell of a local paper mill was sickening. The guy next to us had a ground campfire almost every night with lots of smoke and sometimes left it going all night long. We had to close our windows to keep the smoke from choking us. Every night was cool and we wanted to keep our windows open, but couldn't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
We stayed here overnight on the way to our destination. The park was very nice. Check in was fast. The site was level. If highway noise bothers you, this is not the place to be. It was so loud, it could be heard inside with the TV on. We closed up the camper and turned on the air to drown some of it out. Wifi worked ok but slowed down to a crawl at times. Didn't check out the bathrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$33
New Owners just took over, very nice and helpful. Easy to find. Fuel at exit. Nice setting in the mountains. Some highway noise.Would stay again when passing though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
This place is easy to get to and may be a good place to stay during the summer months. Our kabin was dirty and had cobwebs hanging everywhere. The sleeping mats were dirty. when we ran a rag over them it came up black. The showers could have used a good cleaning. We never saw any of the staff the 2 days we were there. They were never in the office when they said they would be. I think if you were a dishonset person you could camp here overnight for free and no one would know the difference. But like i said maybe it's a better place during the summer. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$27
On our way south, we stopped here overnight in a water/ electric site. The manager was very friendly and accommodating. The store was sparse, but it was the end of the summer. Everything was clean and fresh looking. The hill climb to the campground was a little steep but the sites were level and wide enough to accommodate our slide outs. Our pet was welcome. The only problem I had was the freeway noise, but we expect that at most campgrounds off the freeway. We choose the convenience of close to freeway as opposed to miles away. We would stop here again as an overnighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
Sites are close and graveled. WiFi was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
This campground is a little bit deceptive. The pictures on the website are of a newer area with only pull-through sites. This area is very nice. The other area with the back-in sites is not the best. It is tight, muddy, and near the roar of the highway. These sites are actually a good walk away from the nicer area. I would not stay on these sites again, but I would stay in the nicer area. It is also very close the Biltmore House. But the bathhouse area is clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
The sites are fairly level considering this is in hill country. There is some amount of highway noise, but it is very low inside the RV. Our problem with this place was the cable TV had a very poor connection. Considering you pay extra for Cable TV this is very annoying. Other than that it is an ok place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
This could be a very good park with a little upgrading. The interior roads were full of ruts. Not a very good exit from the sites. We had to back out because the actual exit would have been to difficult. It has a good paved road leading to the campground, however, it's very steep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$34
We stayed here while visiting Asheville and the Smokey Mountain National Park. Park was out of town, but in a convenient location. Restrooms and showers were very clean. The site we had was level. The park is located near the interstate, so it was quite convenient, however there is some highway noise. Not enough to bother us though. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$30
Nice people. Well kept campground surrounded by beautiful mountains. Not much to do at the park though and the road noise from the interstate borders on intolerable (forget about enjoying yourself outside by the camp fire). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Probably the cleanest park we have ever stayed in. Restroom/showers were great. Backin sites are a little bit of a walk from front gate and down a hill. Some interstate noise but not too bad. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pull thrus cannot have fires but backins/tents can. I would go back in a minute. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com