223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Black Forest Family Camping Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (828) 884-2267
CGID2039

Black Forest Family Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   6   10   6   9   8   9   5   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Overall a very nice campground. The Wi-Fi only works at the office so you can forget it at the camp site. Also, I hate these campgrounds that have a cable across the main entrance. It doesn't do anything security wise and is such a hassle. This place could use a couple more bath houses. If you are camping in the lower area it is quite a hike back up the hill to the bath house and at night is a little too far as well as very dark. It is well kept and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I will come back and recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
We have stayed at this campground several times over the past 6 or 7 years, and it is one of our favorites. It is definitely challenging to drive here -- either up a two-lane mountain road with switchbacks (Highway 276 out of South Carolina) or on a two-lane country road out of Hendersonville, NC. If you have a rig over 25 feet, do not attempt to go through Brevard on Highway 276. The campground entrance is steep and narrow, and we always pull over and disconnect our tow vehicle before attempting the entrance. That being said, the campground is beautiful. It is about 20 minutes outside Brevard, up in the mountains away from everything else, and that is how we like it. The sites are wide and level, and they are terraced and staggered so you have a nice forest view. The campground is staffed by the family who owns it, and they are wonderful people. Everything is clean and well cared for. The WiFi works well, and Verizon cell phone service is available at the office. But we can use Skype for phone calls at our campsite. We definitely plan on coming back, especially in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
This park is about 12 miles south of Brevard up a winding, mountain road. Access into the park road is a difficult, very sharp left turn (for 36' or longer motorhomes). RV sites are scattered along steep graded trails. A large, fairly open circle is available for big rigs. The listed WiFi is only functional if you take your laptop near the office or the laundromat. No signal at the RV sites. The owners are pleasant and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Very quiet, (a few rental cabins appear to cater to somewhat louder groups, but the campers by and large are quiet). Sites are level, well-spaced, separated from each other by many large trees. Roads are good gravel and the entire CG is on a large hill, so the roads past the sites are often up or down hills, but they help lead you in logically so your backing in is relatively straightforward. I saw no pull through sites at all, but there is one large flat wide open area where they park the big rigs. Excellent bathrooms and showers. Heated pool. Nice pancake breakfast ($6 adults) Saturday and Sunday mornings. Very easy to get to Brevard Music Center, or the lots of hiking trails to pretty waterfalls. Route 276 north from SC into NC has several steep hills and sharp switchbacks, but with care and attention to your mirrors, you shouldn't have trouble. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
Friendly owners and were very helpful with directions to the many waterfalls. Yes, roads are narrow, dusty, and steep. Camp sites were very quiet and shaded with all hookups on both sides of the site. Only problem was the pool and office/store were too far away from the camp sites. Tried to walk to the office with my laptop to use the Wi-Fi and gave out. If you had a second vehicle this campgrounds would be fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
My stay here was thoroughly enjoyable thanks to the family who runs it, the cool, shady sites and the pancake breakfast on the porch on weekends. I also enjoyed the porch for using my computer and playing with little Jonathon. The roads are steep (it is in the mountains). It's a bit of a walk from the sites to the facilities and the gravel was hard to ride my scooter on. Overall, I like Black Forest very much and would stay there again, except longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
We have stayed here 5 or 6 times. It is a family-owned and operated campground, with sites for any type of camping you wish (including large full hook-up sites with built-in satellite connections for both DirecTV and Dish) at an altitude of about 3000 feet. It is an excellent base for visiting the DuPont State Forest (with miles of hiking/biking/horse trails and beautiful waterfalls) and Caesars Head area, which is why we come. It is remote (about 12 miles south of Brevard right on the NC/SC border), wooded and hilly with gravel roads and sites that can get a bit dusty. It is a relatively narrow one lane road from US 276 to the campground entrance, so don't arrive in the morning when others may be checking out. There is a pool and playground near the owner's home (which is not convenient to camp sites). Restroom facilities are very clean, but there is only one bath house in the camping area (the other is near the pool). There is a wi-fi hot spot outside the owner's home, and they have a nice front porch with chairs, tables, and electric outlets (but signal does not reach the campsites). Note that cell service is essentially non-existent in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
This is a very scenic campground in the "forest". The sites are large, shaded and very private. The pool was very nice and the Saturday night movie for the kids was fun. The bathrooms were spotless. It's a bit of a walk to the pool and recreation area. This is a good place to stay if you're looking for some peace and quiet and want to hike in Dupont and Pisgah State Parks. The staff was very nice. We enjoyed breakfast on the porch. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Just a little to far from anything, and roads are really steep and dusty. $32.00 was a little pricey for what they have. Nice owners, room for improvement. Would not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Owners very friendly, camping area roads are just to steep and dusty. We like to ride bikes, and walking you just can't do this here. No cell phone reception, and to far from everything. Like boone docking with full hookup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
A very beautiful campground. A little out of the way, but that was exactly what we wanted, very peaceful. The staff / family that owns the campground was very helpful and friendly. We plan on returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$28
Very nice campground. Bathrooms and showers were spotless. In fact they were the cleanest I have experienced so far. Gravel roads made the drive in a bit dusty but at the campsites we did not have a problem. Very friendly staff. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2004
$30
This is one of our favorite campgrounds, and we will be returning this fall for the third time. We love the area. The campground is 30 minutes by car from Brevard and 10 minutes by car from Dupont State Forest, which is one of the most beautiful places in NC -- full of major waterfalls and great hiking trails. Caesar's Head State Park is also nearby, as is "Pretty Place," part of the Greenville YMCA camp. The campground itself is in a beautiful wooded area. The big rig sites are all back ins, and they are situated so that they take full advantage of the woods. The family who owns and operates the campground is very nice and accommodating. Brevard is a wonderful small town -- very clean and well kept with nice shops and several good restaurants. Pisgah National Forest is within 30 minutes from the campground as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$24
This is a decent campground if you don't mind being a little close together. The sites are all gravel, with tent sites having pea gravel and the remaining sites road gravel. The family specifies which sites are for which type. There are also a number of cabins, which are very clean and nice (no smoking or pets). They are basic, only a queen bed and a bunk bed, but they have air conditioning and if it is cold they will loan you a ceramic heater. It was 40 degrees out when we went and we were toasty! They also have a front porch to sit on, nice if it rains! The family is nice, and they host pancake breakfasts, ice cream socials and a family movie on Sat. night. There are hiking trails within a 15 minute drive, and Caesars Head is only about that distance away. Brevard is close too. The negatives: sites are fairly small and close together; only 2 bathrooms and one porta-potty, and one of the bathrooms is up by the recreation area (too far to walk); the gravel is a little tough on the kids when they fall on it (expect scraped hands). Positives: lots of amenities (pool, air hockey, playground, washer and dryer, movie rental if you have a VCR, small store), way away from main road (safe for kids), bathrooms are super clean and have hand soap dispensers and hot air hand dryers. Not a bad bet especially if you have kids. Check out their website. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com