220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Tom Johnson Camping Racing Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 47 user reviews. Phone: (704) 455-4445
CGID2040

Tom Johnson Camping Racing Resort

Camp Information
Sites
462
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   8   8   9   10   9   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
We stayed here with Adventure Caravans for all the racing happening on Memorial Day. The campsite was within walking distance of all three race tracks. The campground is huge, but only has one building for the showers and restrooms, and it is located at the far end of the park with the dump stations. The sites are pretty level, and large gravel. During our stay, they placed a karaoke group in the middle of our area of the campground, and the noise was terrible and went into the quiet time almost every night. When complaining, all the staff would say is that they paid for their site too, and once paid, anyone can do anything they want, within reason. The security was told to ignore the complaints from the campers. That came from the lady at the front desk. The sites were very close; close enough so that if you did not get your RV within the middle of your site, your awnings would touch or the slide-outs would be within an inch or so of each other. There are no family facilities at the campground.. no pool, playground, etc. This is a good campground only for the convenience of the nearness to the races. We would not stay here again on our own. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$23
This is the place to stay if you are in the Concord area for NASCAR stuff. Sites are gravel and fairly level. We had a back-in that was plenty long and very wide. Water pressure is 75 PSI so you really should use a regulator. Voltage ran 123 with the AC running. Laundry has 3 washers and 3 driers and you get 54 minutes on the dryer. There is no shade so we were running both ACs during the day. Plenty of eating places within 3 miles and also all the shopping you need. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$80
Stayed here for Passport America Rally, so our rate reflects the campsite, meals, entertainment, and seminars. The campground itself is very well maintained with relatively level gravel sites and easy in & out. No extra amenities, but right next to Tom Johnson's RV Sales & Service is problems arise. Close to interstate, shopping and restaurants. Would stay there again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Signage is terrible. Online directions say park is on the right. Nope...it's on the left. Good thing we arrived during light traffic time! Very difficult to find office to register. Once we found it, however, check-in was easy and staff was friendly. All sites are loose pea gravel. All utilities worked well. Would stay again, especially now that we know where it is located. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Nice large pull through sites that are gravel. Not a lot of amenities, but you are next door to Tom Johnsons for service or Motor Home shopping. Easy to get to near I 85 and I 77. I would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Staff were friendly on check in and helped us change dates while there due to our fifth wheel being repaired (in the shop) at Tom Johnson RV which is right next door. This is an easy RV place to get in and out of. Sites are long, basically level, and you are on gravel but the roads are paved. As previously mentioned easy access to either I-85 or I-485. No cable TV but you can pick up local channels in HD using your roof top antenna. I just wish they had Wi-Fi, that would have helped a lot. We stopped here mainly for service on our fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Although it won't appeal to everyone, this parking lot campground is great.  Wide open, clean, EZ access from interestate and within the grounds for big rigs.  Spaces are very wide and level with gravel.  Nice picnic table.  If you're into racing, it's ideal as it's right next door to the Charlotte Raceway. If not, it's still a great place to stay and visit the city.   Back ins are more than ample for a 45‘ and the pull thrus are super long-100’.  The Nascar Hall of Fame, in downtown Charlotte, has a race car simulator that is really fun.  Nearby is good shopping, tons of restaurants and Rocky River Golf Club.  No wifi but strong phone signal.  Would definitely stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This is a great park. It's a no frills place, but the sites are huge and pretty level. The park is very easy to navigate through even with our 40ft Class A motorhome with a tow. I can only imagine how crazy this place gets when there is a race. We made sure to come when there wasn't a race which meant the park was pretty empty making it quite peaceful. However, on Saturday night there was a live band playing outside which was pretty loud but they stopped by 10pm. If you have a pet, there isn't a ton of grass to walk your dogs, but there was a enough to get the job done. I can't comment on the restrooms because we didn't use them, but it's always nice to know they are there. You cannot beat the location, it's 2 miles from an amazing outlet mall if you are interested in shopping. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Clean campground and facilities, not family camping, no place for kids to hang out or play. it's a great trasient campground with clean level sites, and easy in and out. Rates go out of site on race weeks so be aware of that. This place caters to the racing community and is only a "campground" when it has no races to cater to. Friendly people and lots to do in the local area, just nothing to do on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
The campground is directly beside Charlotte Motor Speedway and ZMax Drag Strip. If drag racing is taking place at the time you are here, your entire RV will shake. This is bare bone site prep. Sites are large, but have only large, gravel foundation. There are a very few sites with any grass or shade. Each site has a picnic table. The water pressure is very good, and all roads are paved with easy maneuvering for large RVs. We use this campground only because it is close to the venue we frequent in Charlotte. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Stayed here while we visited our son in Charlotte. Went to the car show and races while we were here. Easy access and level sites. Close to all kinds of attractions. Family friendly camping. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
It's a big, gravel parking lot - nothing more! Great for the races, and Concord Mills shopping area, but not a place for lounging around the campsite. Don't know the rates, as we stayed there free after picking up our new travel trailer from the dealership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We stayed here in Concord for 2 weeks to visit with family in Charlotte. While the park has few amenities, it's definitely big rig friendly, with clean restrooms and easy access to several freeways for getting around the city. We've been here before, so knew what to expect. When there are no scheduled races, you can virtually have your pick of sites. Some reviewers didn't like the large gravel surface, but we encountered some severe thunderstorms and the rain quickly soaked into the gravel, rather than puddle outside the coach. We thought that was a plus. This will always be our choice when visiting Charlotte. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Perfect location if you are a Nascar fan. Stayed here to go the Hall of Fame. Site was gravel and level. No racing was scheduled at the track so it was easy to get a reservation. Would stay here again if traveling in the area and would make advance reservations for a race event. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Good for an overnight stop or if your visiting to see things in the area. You won't want to spend any time here, there's no fire rings, shade, swimming, fishing, activities, recreation hall, or privacy. It's a parking lot with paved roads and gravel sites. NOT for family camping. However that said it's a clean place, easy to get to and in and out of. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Large gravel park, clean rest rooms, across the street from the Charlotte Motor Speedway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Large open flat campground. No shade. Paved streets and gravel parking areas. The gravel is very coarse and not suitable to put a tent on. Some side to side, and front to rear leveling needed. Good electric power, easy in and out. Call ahead to be sure there are NO racing events scheduled during your planned stay. Multi day minimum stay requirements and high prices (around $400) for racing events. Otherwise $25 for back-ins and $34 for pull-through sites. Very good place for overnight or a couple of days to visit the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We were in Charlotte to visit family and we did enjoy being in the Charlotte Motor Speedway area. We went to the ZMax drag strip and it is great. It is sort of like camping in a parking lot, but it is clean and leavel with full hookups. Great shopping very close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This is a nice campground if you are at the races. Full hook ups, friendly staff, very organized. The newer section is a lot more roomy and nicer that the old section. Wish we stayed in the newer section. Very cramped and hot in the older section. Quiet at night even at the races. Would not stay unless a race was scheduled as there is nothing to do within the campground itself. The cost is very expensive during events. Wish there was more grass in the camping area, nothing but gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2010
$34
Last year I was given a song and dance about the Wi-Fi and cable being temporarily cut off when they put in a new road to the race track and I gave this park a "mixed emotion" review. This year, no song and dance but no cable or Wi-Fi either. Paying a heavy fee for easy access to a level parking lot is no great deal in my book. If it wasn't for the race track and nearby shopping there would be no reason to come back here and we won't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Nothing to do at this campground but park. No shade, no pool, no activities. Very hot even with a breeze as the roads are all black top (asphalt) and grayish/black gravel campsites. Only have pull thru's when no races are taking place. Not a good place to camp if you have children...nothing for them to do! Staff was nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Easy access for 40 - 45 ft motorcoaches although the sites nearest the dragway entrance (back-ins)are very narrow and barely room to extend your patio awning fully when you have a neighbor. Back-ins have hookups at the rear of the site and some of these sites tend to have a drop off at the back. Be sure to bring extra sewer hose if you are parked in this area. Other pull through sites have hookups located midway to the back. Beware that you may not be able to "pull through" if you have a neighbor behind you that has put out all their camping furniture, grill, patio awning, etc.(pull through sites are staggered). Your pull-through will be a back-in then! We did find the registration personnel friendly but disorganized. This being said, it is a clean park and in an excellent location. Note the entrance to the park is now at the new ZMax Dragway entrance which you follow all the way to the dragway and then turn right and right again(no longer entrance "X"). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
Full gravel campground outside the grounds of Lowes Motor Speedway. Huges level, full hook up gravel sites. While not a great campground this is a perfect location for visiting Charlotte and the surrounding areas. We wish every major city had these types of accommodations. Large outlet mall and shopping just a mile away. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
Stopped in for just one night for a quick stop. Great location to Lowes Motor Speedway and Concord Mills Mall. Gravel roads and fairly level sites. Good for an overnight when traveling through Charlotte. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$25
A clean park near Charlotte and next to the race tracks. As said above not a destination park but a good clean place to stay near the north side of Charlotte. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2009
$30
I have mixed emotions about this. There is no Internet, cable, shade or charm. It is easy in and out for a one-niter. The park is adjacent to the parking lot of all three tracks (NASCAR, Dirt and the new zMax Drag Race track) so it's super for race fans attending an event. The proximity to Charlotte's activities and Concord Mills Mall is a plus but there's not much else to attract campers. It’s definitely not a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
The campground is a gravel lot with a fence post to separate the sites. The sites are all gravel with no grass or trees anywhere nearby. I could not tell you anything about the bath house because it was too far away to think about going to. The phase 1 campsites were not available, only phase 2 and they did not have cable. While we were there they were doing construction so we had construction noise starting at 8:00AM going all day. I have also dealt with more friendly and helpful staff. To end on a good note, very convenient to the speedway, if your there for the races, as well as Concord Mills Mall, if you're there to shop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Basicly a gravel parking lot with hook ups. No shade and it looks like there will not be in the future since there are no trees on any sites. Construction going on in the campground and showerhouse was pretty much inaccessible. Cable did not seem to work, we got the same stations whether on cable or using our antennae. Good water pressure but the power kicked off on us once shortly after we hooked up. Convenient to the race track and to the Verizon amphitheater. Lots of good restaurants nearby and only a short drive from the interstate. OK if you are just looking for a place to stay and not a "destination" campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Just a big, ugly, gravel parking lot. Only if you're desperate for a site because of the races next door should you consider this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$83
Stayed here for the Coca Cola 600. This was our first time camping at a track and it was a pleasant experience. Everyone was very friendly and they showed a movie and had a fishing tournament during the stay. Without the race, I would not recommend staying here unless you are passing through or just want to make the rounds to the race shops. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
Good CG for a stop on the way, or for the races. No trees to speak of, enormous gravel lot w/100's++ of rv sites. Huge, clean, heated bath house w/at least 25 shower and toilet stalls (each). Sign are poor as are directions to the CG...There is easy access from I-95.. Easy parking, all hook-ups working well. Comfortable but its not all that friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
A very nice park, sites are more than adequate for large rigs. Easily located and close to Interstate. Look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
Big gravel lot of 500 sites very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$71
Great location - next to Lowes Motor Speedway. Full hookups with very wide sites. This is our second stay at this resort and enjoyed both visits. We stayed here during the Coca Cola 600 race in May 2005 and 2007. If you are looking for a place near Charlotte - this is it! It is close to I-85, Concord Mills Mall, Concord Airport, and several race shops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
We stayed here during the Autofair event at the speedway. Campground was well managed. Security was tight. Quite time was strictly enforced. Due to the size of the event, the park was full. At check in they said: we enforce the rules. It was a very pleasant experience. The campground itself does not have many amenities. The assumption is that you are here for speedway events, or shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Lots of room, but no trees and just rock parking. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2006
$25
No WIFI. Sites not level. Park staff very friendly. Golf course walking distance from Phase one. Nice shopping and restaurants close by. Showers not centrally located. Phase one not paved, Phase two large size gravel rocks on sites make it difficult to walk on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Very nice park located very close to RV service and Speedway. The site we were assigned was all new gravel and made for difficult walking, some grass would have been nice. Security is tight, check out time is strictly enforced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$23
The location is great. It is very close to the Speedaway and the Team Shops. Also there is a great mall very close by with many places to eat nearby. You can hear the racing from your camper. The sites were not very level and the hook-ups are laid out very poorly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
This is a huge campground. There are many really unlevel sites and I had one. Even hydraulic levelers were not enough. Took many blocks to get the RV level. Overall, a good campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
We have stayed at this campground several times. Never have had any problems. We really like the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$25
We have stayed at this campground several times and they continue to make improvements each time we return. There is now a nice office in a log building with a lounge area for computer users and laundry facility. The lady who checked us in was very helpful and even arranged a late check out time for us. In the past we have stayed in the gravel pull through sites but this time we had site #26 overlooking the lake. The site was pretty close to being level. It was a full hookup site with cable TV. Most of the campground is only a gravel parking lot, but the sites along the lake have grassy areas and trees. The bathhouse is huge, heated, and clean. There is not a whole lot to do at the campground but they do have catch and release fishing on the lake, horseshoe pits, and a few play areas for kids. There is a ton of stuff to do in the area, especially if you are a race fan. We did some shopping at Tom Johnson's Camping Center and Concord Mills Outlet Mall, visited race shops, and stopped by Lowes Motor Speedway. Unfortunately the day we were at Lowes they were not offering the track tour due to the work to repave the track. The tour is $5 a person and includes a van ride around the track. We will definitely use this campground again and request a lake front site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2005
$25
This is a very clean, level, gravel, park within sight of Lowes Motor Speedway. It is very close to I-85. It is closest to Concord Mills/ Bass Pro shops. There are all kinds of things to do. Discovery Place in Charlotte is 15 minutes away and great for the kids. All of the NASCAR race shops are close by too. Just a wonderful base to explore the area for the weekend or longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Not much to do for the kids, but overall, a good campground. All gravel, large sites. Near the interstate and next to Lowes Motor Speedway and Tom Johnson's Camping Center. Had a great time at the spring fling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Campground is adjacent to Loew's Motor Speedway-NASCAR racing. Stayed here during NON-race time. Good for one night, passing through or while attending the races. Be warned - during racing season campground is booked up well in advance and traffic is bumper to bumper. There is a shuttle during race season going to mall and restaurants. New big pull through area - no grass, lots of rock. Put something under stabilizers or they will sink into rock. The area has new little trees - wide open, gets a little windy and will get very hot in the summer. Older area has some grass and trees, nicer to stay by the pond. Need security code to get into bath/shower but they were very clean as was the rest of the campground. Found staff friendly and helpful. Pond stocked with fish. Concord Mills Mall just down the road - great shopping and lots of good restaurants. Tom Johnson Camping store next door with lots and lots of new and used rigs to check out and drool over. The negatives are very large, very bright security lights that make it difficult to sleep (but I guess we would rather be safe); not very many activities for children; bags of trash left by each site need to be picked up more often than once a day - especially in warm weather. We would stay again but only for an in-transit stopover. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Don't look in Charlotte for this campground!! It's at I-85 Exit 49 in Concord, NC. The City of Concord is home of the Lowe's Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Bass Pro, Tom Johnson Camping Center, Rocky River Golf Club(Public), Hendrick Motorsports, Roush Racing, Sam Bass Gallery, the Backing Up Auto Museum, and many more Nascar Shops. The best and shaded sites are around the lake. (Watch out for the Canadian Geese droppings) Not much to do at the campground, but a great place to camp and visit all the above nearby attractions. The 1,500,000 sqft Concord Mills Mall is the #2 tourist attraction in the state of NC. Many many great restaurants within a one mile radius. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$20
This park is walking distance to the Charlotte Speedway (NASCAR) so is full during race weeks. However, at other times it's a nice stopover place for folks passing through the area. Not much atmosphere, but the sites are good sized and open. There's a small pond for fishing (a few sites are on it which are nice). A good golf course is just next door, and a large shopping mall is only a mile or two away and offers great shopping as well as a large theater, good eating places, etc. (Alabama Grill is our favorite). Tom Johnson's Camping World is adjacent to the campground, so their store and facilities for repairs are convenient if needed. Not a place for letting the kids loose though. Not a destination campground, but OK for a night or two "on the road." We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com