223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (704) 588-2600
CGID2041

Carowinds Camp Wilderness Resort

Camp Information
Sites
199
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$62



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   8   8   4   1   10   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$62
It wasn't packed as I expected it to be on a beautiful weekend in July. The campsite was a pull-through behind the check-in station, was paved, had a concrete patio and a very nice picnic table. The showers, restrooms and pool were very clean. They offer discounted tickets to Carowinds in the campground store and a shuttle every hour from open to close. This is nice since we could come back and have lunch at the camper. The food prices and parking prices at Carowinds are very expensive. That kind of made up for the campsite cost being a little steep. The staff was friendly as well. Restaurants and shopping are nearby. Very close to I-77 and Downtown Charlotte. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Good location, near restaurants and shopping. Has shuttle service to Theme Park. Bathrooms were not very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Good park for satellite. You do hear the Theme Park noise at night. We would stay here again when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$51
This was a nice place to stay while visiting the Amusement park. The grass was very long , I walked up and asked the front desk if they could take care of it.. The next day early it was handled. It was worth the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$40
Paramount's Carowinds Campground is actually called "Camp Wilderness Campground". See other listing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$47
Very expensive rates for a place that is not kept up very well. There was only one staff person working in and around the grounds. The staff in the office was helpful and friendly. The pool was nice, but had dirt and sand all over the bottom. The tiles in the pool definitely hadn't been cleaned in a while. The lawn chairs were nasty! This is not a campground where you will find family activities going on, if that is what you are looking for. This campground would be good if you are taking a trip to Carowinds or were here for race week. Otherwise??? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$50
Very disappointed with this campground. Sites are very narrow for larger motorhomes. Poor drainage - site was flooded and muddy from a bad rain storm. ANTS are very bad!! Bathrooms and showers were very dirty. And there are no bathrooms on the side of the campground with all the pull thru and back in sites - if you choose to stay here - make sure you bring your bike or a golf cart. You would think that charging so much for the RVs sites that they would at least have bathrooms on that side of the campground. We will not stay here again - but you live and learn the good campgrounds... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$50
We had a great time here. The staff was very friendly. I arrived before my scheduled check in time and they went ahead and let me park in my reserved spot. They also allowed us to stay after the 11 o'clock check out so our kids could swim for a while before we left. Very clean and quiet. The shuttle was always on time to take us to and from Carowinds. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
My family stayed at Carowinds campground in June. We stayed in a pop-up camper. We had a wonderful time. There are many things for the children to do they have shuffle board, miniature golf and swimming all free. They also run a shuttle to Carowinds every thirty minutes. We have season passes to Carowinds so this was great. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2006
$35
This is a very nice park and close to activities in Charlotte or for visiting South Carolina. The laundry has just 2 washers and 2 dryers but the good news is they are free! We stayed there a week in December and there were only 6 to 8 others camped there each night. We'd stay there again if we visit Charlotte again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$42
They advertise that there were a couple million dollars done in improvements, but I did not really see much different from when we were there about 5 years ago. They have added 50 amp sites with new power poles/water spigots, camping cabins, and wi-fi internet. It looked like the area of 30 amp hookups has not changed at all. The main reason we stayed here was the convenience to the amusement park. The shuttle was reliable. Other than that I thought the rate was high for what they offered. Because of trees, we were not able to get a satellite signal. If you needed satellite, I would consider staying in the last row of the Maple or Oak areas. There were not as many trees to the south. The sites are paved and ours was fairly level. They keep the entire area clean. Overall we enjoyed our stay. We would stay here again to go to the amusement park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$50
Sites were very uneven. Pool closed at 7:00 pm which is terrible since we prefer to swim in the evening, AND it needed cleaning. Had many leaves and sticks, etc. all over the bottom. Putt putt course had leaves and sticks all over it. Bath house was air-conditioned but needed cleaning. They must have spent the money they used for renovations for the cabins and on the lodge, as we saw no other evidence of other upgrades. The camp store had very little in it. We liked the KOA in Fort Mill (1 exit away) much better and it was $33.00 instead of $50.00. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
This campground is great!!! New cabins, new 50amp upgrade, new water and sewer lines. Needs some type of games in lodge.would like to see some type of activities around campground besides the park. Shuttle to park is great,.runs every 30 minutes. Bathhouse is clean with hot showers. Overall campground is great. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$45
Paramount has rebuilt the Carowinds theme park. They replaced all the electric and water/sewer hookups with new ones. Much paving has been done and all the picnic tables are new. They are playing on the disney theme with the name "camp wilderness". Overall we had a wonderful time. This is great for a family vacation - the shuttle to the theme park is reliable. The theme park and waterpark is awesome. The staff is very helpful. Bathhouses are clean - showers are very nice with individual stalls. They need new partitions on the toilets - they used the old ones and they should have been replaced. The lodge is very nice - store is adequete. Pool is manned by two lifeguards - minature golf is older - but FREE so how could you complain. Good place for kids to pass the time. One drawback - no cable tv. Real close to the Knights AAA baseball games at nigt - Wal Mart - 5 minutes away on the new 485 - Overall a very nice time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2003
$00
Just wanted everyone to know that Paramount Carowinds has closed their campground. At the present, they have not determined if they are going to reopen the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Some of the pull-thru sites get muddy when raining as there is little grass. Most are shaded and easy access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$24
Campground in conjunction with an amusement park. Difficult entrance is actually back entrance to amusement park. Good value for park close in to major metro area. Good security and friendly staff. Nice sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com