206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Birchwood RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (919) 493-1557
CGID2051

Birchwood RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
October 2011
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   5   2   4   8   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Others call it quirky, I thought we were smack dab in Deliverance. Many people live here in their trailers and sites and some of them appear questionable but are harmless evidently as we had no problems while there. We would leave most of the day and return in evening. The on site manager, is extremely helpful and watches over everything so it was safe despite the shady appearing surroundings including the trashy looking mobile home park on the hillside above. We stayed for a week while in the area because it was the only RV place we could find. Spaces are shady and it was difficult to get DISH reception in the woods however we could pick up some local channels. Spaces are mostly rickety and uneven but the jacks leveled it out. It is surprisingly quiet. Some people say they stay here for months on end. For us, it was OK. This area of North Carolina really should get on board and develop RV sites however it seems they prefer hotels. Birchwood takes only cash or checks and it is cheaper to stay for the week so we did so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
I parked here for 3 months in a travel trailer with 3 dogs and 2 vehicles. The manager is great. We arrived after hours and he was accommodating and helpful. This park has a large number of permanent residents and some mobile homes as well. The park has great Wi-Fi, a laundry room with 3 washers/3dryers @ 1.25/use and a propane filling station. It is within 3 miles of shopping, dining and is near 3 main highways to get around the Raleigh/Durham area easily. Duke University is 3 miles away (check out the botanical gardens: beautiful). This is not a modern park. Sites are unlevel. There are no public restrooms or showers. There are lots of trees and ample shade. I felt very safe here, the park is clean and quiet. It was the perfect place for a 3 month work assignment and I would return. I paid $420/ month including utilities for my stay. Cash or check only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
The person who runs this park is so nice, that the quirky nature of this campground is just part of the experience. We could locate no sewer connection at our 30 amp site, which was gravel and grass under a tree, but some sites did appear to have it. The 50 amp sites were closer together but seemed a bit nicer. We had an electrical issue that was likely site-based. However the host was extremely kind and resourceful in buying a new Wi-Fi access point and mounting it high in a tree by that evening to insure we got internet service. Excellent! Durham has no other campgrounds to my knowledge and the 3 miles the next morning to Duke for our campus tour made this campground extremely convenient. Residents seemed very friendly and helpful. There appears to be a camper graveyard on the eastern entry road (Wilkins) to this campground. It is not part of the campground, which was good as it looked somewhat frightening. We enjoyed a pleasant visit, but would give it higher points for additional facilities (showers, bathhouse, sewer at 30 amp sites, paved 30 amp sites, and full functioning electrical hookups). Just a terrific host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
This could be a great park, if it wanted to be. In reality it is, as others have said, a mobile home park with a few RV spots. The location was handy for us - not too far off the highway - for an overnight. Signage was poor, office was a bit scary. Had to call the manager to locate him. He was very accommodating, though. They do not accept credit cards. Site was tight and not level. Would have been tight for a big rig. Wi-Fi was strong. If you have to be in Durham for an overnight, this is an OK, but not great, stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
This is not an RV Park, as mentioned in an earlier post. This is a trailer park full of many beat up, old, poorly taken care of trailers and campers. Junk cars parked in the sites. There were some over night or short trem campers, but not many. We pulled in and drove around the rough rutted gravel roads. The sites were not level. Strickly an overnight park, and that's only if the local Wal Mart is full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Close to Duke Hospital. Looks like a trailer park that is transforming to an RV Park. Will get better as time goes on and trailers are possibly moved out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$32
We found this to be just what we needed. A safe, no frills park in the woods yet close to everything. The manager was especially helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$29
This is not a campground. It is more of a run-down mobile home park which has a few sites available for transient hookups. When we pulled in the office was locked up so we had to knock at the door of a mobile home next to it. A woman answered the door and seemed put-out that we had interrupted her. She radioed her husband who instructed her where we could park. We stayed in a overflow site with water and electric. It overlooked the dumpsters which just about everyone who lived there visited during our less than 24 hour experience. We only stayed at this location because it was close to some friends that we wanted to visit while we were traveling through the area. I did not feel particularly secure at this place so we did not waste much time packing up and leaving the next morning. I would not stay here again, especially for $29. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Not really a campground, mostly permanent old trailer trash. Available sites are narrow and hard to back in. Not many campgrounds in the Durham area so was forced to stay. Should have known better when they wouldn't accept credit cards and had to pay cash up front for everything. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com