206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Kerr Lake State Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (252) 438-7791
CGID2063

Kerr Lake State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
694
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   8   4   4   5   8   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Countyline is a great place to camp, boat and enjoy some piece and quiet. We have been coming here off and on since I was a kid, a long time ago, the bath house has plenty of hot water and is clean. The downs are you will need a long hose for water and there is no sewer hook up. Many of the sites are tight to get in with a camper. The sites are water front but they have built retaining walls which while they give you flat areas for tents but they have graveled them so tents are a little tuff. The rates are low unless you choose a site they list as a double site that you pay double fee but the site really isn't big enough for 2 big campers. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Sites vary from much bush it to out in the open. You can't get a water front site with electric & water hook up. The sites are very small. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
We stayed at the Bullocksville campground. Campground is typical of many state parks, especially N.C. – good, but needs funding for better upkeep and improvement. Roads are paved, but sites are gravel. (Note – many sites require hose to reach the water!) All sites are at least partially shaded and have good picnic tables, fire-rings; a few not very level. Bathrooms were OK, and kept clean. Many good water front sites; other have view of the lake. We stayed here for 4 days and would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
When we stayed here two years ago we would have given this campground and staff 10/10. Sadly, now we would say 4/10. The main difference: The ranger that used to be in charge moved to another state park system. I cannot remember his name, but he was super friendly and helpful and made sure that this was a safe and friendly park. Now that he is gone, we noticed that the security of the park is gone too. And without good management, the park was not well kept. We were told by one of the park staff that a new ranger should be hired soon. Hopefully, he or she can make this a great campground again, but until then we will avoid this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
We stayed at JC Cooper Campground at Satterwhite Point. NC State Parks have a new reservation system and the computers were down when we wanted to make a reservation so we had to show up as a "walk in" on Monday afternoon. The attendants at the gate were obviously new and couldn't figure out what sites were available. We got permission to go look for a site and come back to register. Some sites had white tags on them stating "Reserved from ___ to ___" but no dates were on the tags. We picked a site with no tag along the water, backed in, hooked up electric to keep the A/C running in 94 degree temps and went back to register. By now the attendants had figured out how to find available sites and told us the site we picked was not available and gave us a list of about 12 available sites...none of which were along the lake with 50amp service and water. So we moved the rig and went back again to register. We stood outside the registration booth in the hot sun for 30 minutes while the lady typed in our information - ONE LETTER AT A TIME - she didn't know how to type or use the mouse (kept running it off the edge of the desk). Then she couldn't get the computer to take the abbreviation for our state as she didn't know how to click on the arrow to expose the drop-down window in which to select the correct state. The gate attendants were both very nice but they should have been given better training or had somebody with them that knew what they were doing. TWO hours after our initial arrival at the gate we finally settled in our site. Later in the evening we observed the man attendant putting reserved signs on campsites. These now had dates on them and all were reservations for the following weekend. Of course the site we had originally picked out (along with several others on the lake front) were never occupied. We were required to move for no reason other than incompetence of the computer operator/system. Unfortunately this park is getting to be a party central area…a group by the lake was very large and loud. The bathrooms were atrocious…full of bugs, in need of paint, dirty sinks and toilets, no toilet tissue. There are a couple of curves that big rigs can negotiate only with extreme caution. Handicapped sites (there are three) are concrete but too small to accommodate big rigs. Campground hosts were very nice and said their suggestions to make things easier for big rig owners and remodeling of bathrooms have fallen on deaf ears. This used to be a fairly nice, quiet place to stay but no money is being put back into upkeep of the park and security has become non-existent. Oh, and they lock the gates at 10PM and don’t open them up until 8AM. We will move this park to the bottom of our list as an emergency stopping place only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
We camped at JC Cooper over the Memorial Day weekend. It was very noisy. Campers did not abide by the quiet hours and we saw no enforcement either. The folks next to us had a large group and played a game (loudly) outside until almost midnight. Some guys came by in a truck at 2:30 a.m. banging on trash cans and hollering. My husband said the men's room was in rough shape. The woman's room was out of toilet paper most of the weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
This is a typical state park. JC Cooper Facilities were clean but shower tile needs to be upgraded. The water faucet locations can pose a problem - I had to use two hoses to get connection which would have been a problem if I didn't have two hoses available. The sites are large and positioned to allow privacy between them. Staff preparing for summer season - grading sites, tree work, etc. A great park to enjoy Kerr Lake, boat ramp for camper use only, peaceful escape this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$14
We stayed at the Bullocksville CG. It was clean and quiet. There was an excellent view of Kerr Lake. The staff was attentive and courteous. All in all we enjoyed the weekend stay there. The cost for the water/electric sites were $20 but we got the senior's rate of $14 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
I stayed at Hibernia Campground, part of the Kerr State Recreation Area, on site 95, with water and electric hook up. Site was level side to side on gravel pad, with good view of the Lake and a nice amount of grass between pad and rocks before the beach. When I went down mid July to check sites and reserve, the lake was very high, with picnic tables and fire rings under water at many sites. Upon arrival 7/28, lake was 'back to normal' with nice beach, and picnic tables have been replaced. Noticed lake shrinking about a foot every 24 hours and did hear a rumor that the lake is being pumped for Newport News. Restrooms/showers were clean and well maintained as were all of the grounds in the various camping areas. We enjoyed our walk on the Plantation Trail, and visited the cemetary of the Hargrove Family who migrated from England in the 1700's. Great place to camp. Two stores within 5 miles - RJ's Country Store (formerly Hibernia Shell) and Chuck's Shell both on Route 39, one at Hibernia Road, the other at Townsville Landing Road. We did enjoy Middleburg Steakhouse in Middleburg, and also tried 'The Olde Place' in Townsville, which was nice. There's a Walmart off Dabney/Rt. 85 as well as fast food joints, etc. all around Henderson, NC. We took a trip up to Clarksville, VA and enjoyed eating at the Lamplighter, visiting Occoneechee State Park, and Virginia Street Mall. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
We stayed in the JC Cooper Campground at Satterwhite Point on four camping sites, 48-49-50-51. The weather was hot for this time of year. We had access to the lake with one of our sites being right at the lake. I have a 33 ft TT and was able to get a site next to the road and was able to back into it very easy. Our water hook ups for all 4 sites were at the front of my camping site #49. You need to make sure you have at least 50-75ft of some type of hose. I used a 50ft. garden hose and only used the water for showers and pottie. I also had to connect my 25ft white water hose to be able to connect to the TT. A friend came up on Friday and he had to tie into my water line with a splitter to get water to his camper on site #48. So make sure you have long length of hose with you for water hook-ups. The power box had 30amp, 50amp and a 20amp duplex plug in it right next to my slide out. With us using 4 sites we had a great time this weekend. This was a quick last of summer get together before all our kids go back to school. We had over 35 people at our Saturday night potluck dinner. We will return and hope the weather is cooler and the fish are biting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$17
There are 7 Campgrounds all together in the park. We have stayed at 4 of them and enjoy both Hiberna and J.C. Cooper parks. The sites are huge and private and many of them are right on the lake. The bathrooms in these 2 sites are new and clean. The major drawback is the lack of sewer hookups but there is a dump station at each campground. The 2 Nutbush campgrounds are crowded, the bathrooms are filthy and many noisy locals spend the weekend partying there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Great place close to home for us. Campsites right on the lake. Staff friendly. Sites private. Even when busy does not seem crowded. Bathhouse very clean. Worryfree and safe camping. Kids love it. Will be back often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$17
A great place to stay with camping right on the lake. This is definitely a "make your own entertainment" kind of place though with no tourist attractions, etc. The biggest draw-back is that there are no sewer hook-ups but there is a dump station. Also, the gate closes at 8PM so if you decide to park a vehicle outside the entrance, take a bike as it's quite a hike. The water hook-up may be a ways from your site so be sure to have lots of hose. At $17/night the price can't be beat. It's even worth the 7 day minimum to reserve a site for busy times like Labor Day or the July 4th weekend. There is a Golf course nearby. We like the Satterwhite Point sites the best but there are 7 large campgrounds to choose from. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com