220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Hiddenite Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (828) 632-3815
CGID2065

Hiddenite Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
October 2009
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   6   8   7   9   5   7   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$33
Nice quiet campground. Owners are very nice, and they make sure you enjoy your stay. Not a lot to do in this area though. We stayed here because we have friends who live in Taylorsville, and the rates are cheap. They have a fun Haunted Trail the month of October and campers get half off admission. First night we camped there we had a loud group of tent campers beside us but the owners came out and told them they had to be quiet or he would have law enforcement sent to the campground. They remained quieter through out the night but were asked to leave the following morning. If the campground bathhouses were updated it would definitely make for a great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
We gave this campground a 2, but only because of the very pretty surroundings. The facilities themselves rated a 1. We paid $33.00 for a water/electric site. We expected better, however, this campground apparently hasn't seen preventive maintenance in years. Filthy bathrooms. Laundry area and laundry machines were so filthy that we opted to do laundry at our next stop. Deep cleaning of the bathhouse and laundry room, and a fresh coat of paint throughout would do wonders. Deep in a valley, do not expect your cell phones to work. We would not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
We had a great time at this campground until the weekend/holiday crowd arrived. They also contracted the pool out to a group that trashed the restrooms. Owner proceeded to work with motorized equipment to clean the restrooms at 10:30 pm (Very loud). Great petting zoo but look out for the bee's. Otherwise the owners were very friendly, and made frequent rounds. Sites are level but obviously have some drainage issues when it rains. We would return on an off season weekday having made sure rain was not in the forecast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
This campground is way off the road and very peaceful. Campground had a petting zoo with rabbits, miniature horses and goats. Our kids enjoyed the petting zoo and playing in the creek. Although not a lot to do in the area we had a good time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
For the price, it was an OK campground. There is no cable and we got only 2 channels with amplified rabbit ears. Internet was only available after 9 pm most nights till about 11 pm. We went to go to the gem mine. Employees were very nice. Had a variety of animals for kids to see and pet. Nice pool area. Bathrooms need a good scrubbing with bleach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This is a very nice family campground. If you are looking for something fancy, look elsewhere. However, if you are looking for a nice, quiet, family oriented campground, this is it. It is clean and quiet. We have a 34' motor home and had plenty of room. The pool is clean and a nice size. There is a laundry room, which is also clean. There are some older permanent campers on site. However, they are not really an issue. There are miniature horses, pigs, rabbits and goats for the kids to see and pet. The only thing that would improve this campground is a store to sell essentials, i.e. milk, bread, eggs, etc. This is a wonderful family owned campground. We highly recommend it and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
Small with nothing to do for kids but nice attractions around area. Run down but ok for one night. One permanent site has two refrigerators outside his camper. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Camped here for the fourth time. The staff was very, very friendly and helpful. They have REALLY cleaned the CG up since we camped here last Labor Day weekend. You can see they are working hard to make improvements. We had buddy sites with my sister, so we were face to face and it was really nice. The only thing that REALLY needs work is the bathhouse, even through we didn't have to use it, it needs work. Will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
We stayed here to visit the nearby gem mine. The road to the campground was very rough! It was gravel and had lots of ruts. There was a big swimming pool which looked clean. There were a lot of permanent campers which were run down and surrounded by junk. The permanents were around the outside loop of the campground, so the other campers had to park in the middle of the loop. All, except maybe one, of the stream sites were occupied with permanents. Not the best choice of campground if you have a big rig. The hookup area, as opposed to tent area, is woodsy. With the trees and having to maneuver our 37ft motorhome, we ended up having about a foot between our slideout and the neighbors. The staff person was nice but we never saw her after checking in and there is no formal office. It was relatively quiet at night. I do not think they take credit cards. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$25
We love this campground! We first stayed here last spring as we headed back to NH after wintering near family near Albemarle, NC. We loved the atmosphere, and the quiet and the fact that there's a stream to play in! (For us, our kids are grown!) It's laid back, friendly and accommodating, and we can even hang our clothes up, and snuggle into sheets that smell fresh & clean from drying in the breeze! Yes, there are a few permanent sites that could use a bit of cleaning up...but they're definitely not the best sites, and they're all nice people. If you are looking for a relaxed, down-to earth atmosphere(with plenty to do for kids of all ages!)then this is the place for you...it is for us! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
Small campground with a lot of permanent campers. There is no store at the campground but Food Lion and Walmart are a short distance away. This CG is about 5 miles from the Hiddenite Gem Mine and is only about an hour and 1/2 away from Boone. Statesville is 15 miles away. The owners are very friendly and run a tight ship. Music and noise are kept to a minimum after 10pm. Very nice trails through the woods. There is a nice pool area and playground. They also have a basketball hoop, volleyball, and horseshoes. I would stay here again if I were in the are but I would not make this campground a destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
We stopped at this park over the weekend and it looks pretty good to us. There where a couple full time sites are in need of a good clean-up but over all a very nice park with some of the friendliest folk we have meet. The owners where friendly, there where kids fishing in the river overall nice looking family atmosphere. We will be camping here this year for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$14
Not sure if the previous post was by an owner or not but probably. I did not even stay at this place, drove in and back out pretty quickly as it did'nt take long to see what I needed to see. Its small with only 37 sites which would be nice if 20 or so of them were not taken by what appeared to be not seasonal but permanant campers on ALL of the nicest spots. The lay out is a circle with a creek on one side of it. ALL the spots creekside were taken by seasonal campers and the only sites that looked open were in the center of the loop and a few on the side of the road leading in. The sites looked very cluttered with a lot of "junk" around. It sits on a very nice piece of property is about the only thing I can see going for it at this time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$14
We've stayed there several times, and are always impressed with the cleanliness and the overall family atmosphere. We usually don't want to leave. Beth and her family are more than helpful, and accommodating, I'd recommend this campgrounds to everyone. I think the setting is beautiful, and it is conveniently located by a larger town where they have a Wal-Mart among other stores. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Very Nice We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com