223488 User submitted reviews online!!
High Rock Lake Marina & Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (336) 798-1196
CGID2075

High Rock Lake Marina & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   8   8   8   10   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Very family friendly! Beautiful views of the Lake. Fishing from a dock. Sites are a little close. Employees very friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Called about an hour before arriving with no reservation, got me in no problem. Check-in and employees were very friendly. Sites down near the lake are built on platforms so each site can see the water. My site was a double pull through, wasn't very level, but I could make do without blocks. Sites are relatively narrow, but I was still able to put all slides and awnings out. Very friendly park, I will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Camped here for a long weekend. The weather was great. Realizing that it was late in the season, some of the amenities were not available (boats, pool, etc) it still didn't detour us from have a good time. Management stayed late to show us our site (Checked in @ 7:00). Site was huge and well shaded. Bathhouse was in great condition, and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and the Deli was outstanding. Will camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Great little campground a lot of seasonal campers they treated us like we have camped there all the time. The management was great got there late they waited on us and help me park my camper and rode me around showing me were to put my boat in and park the trailer. Sites are tight and close together but it was fine for us spent most of the time on the water. Cable TV had several channels.I would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
My family along with my brother's family spent the weekend on the lake at this campground. We got sites 34 and 35 with both of them being full hookups and pull-through sites. My site #34 was on a slight incline so I had to use all of my leveling blocks on one side to make it level. My brother's site was level when he pulled in. The sites are real close together and I could not put out my awning for the trees in front of my camper. The campground is mostly permanent campers but well kept with a few sites for overnight stays. The boat slips are $5 a day which is a good deal and they have a grill at the office with some tasty food after a day on the lake. Overall, I would come back to this campground since it's real close, within 10 minutes, from the intersection of I-85 and Hwy 64. High Rock Lake itself is clean and nice place to take a dip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
This campground was very family friendly by having plenty for our children to do. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They do have a lot of permanent campers there. The site we were at was one back from the lake and it was breezy and peaceful. We would go here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Called on Friday at 6 PM and got a site. Got to the site at 8 PM and was met with a friendly staff. The sites are tight to get into, but plenty big once set up. I had to jack-knife my 32' trailer in. All the amenities are great. It was a HOT weekend so no fish were biting, but we still had fun. Mostly full of seasonal campers, but all were friendly. Pool was clean, and everything was within a short walking distance. Great location. Overall super experience, and will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Our kids can't wait to return to this campground. They love to fish and caught lots! The campground is clean, the pool is refreshing. The owner and employees are courteous and friendly. We stayed in our motor home and our adult kids stayed in a cabin. The cabins are located right on the lake, you can fish out front! We did not take our boat this time, however, we were able to rent a pontoon boat...lts of fun! This was our first visit, however, will not be our last! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$36
Clean and friendly, sites are a little tight and access is no so easy. This is mainly for seasonal visitors, few overnight spaces for larger rigs. Grounds are kept very nice, buildings are dated, they are clean but due to the age you don't get that clean fresh feeling. Pet friendly. Hey, they do have a very nice grilled chicken salad at their deli. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
We always feel like we have "come home" when we visit this campground. The people are so friendly and helpful (they just gave us 12 ears of corn to add to our dinner!). The campground is always clean and QUIET! It is a joy to go to bed and not hear anything. This is definitely a family campground that enforces their rules. If you plan on drinking and partying this is not the place for you! The kids love the pool and the boys like to fish off the pier. We usually rent a boat, however, this weekend it rained so we just had plain old family camping fun. Don't miss out, make a reservation you won't regret it!. We are having our family reunion here next year, they have RV sites and cabins, we can't wait! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This is a very nice and quiet RV park off the beaten path. The entrance is completely covered by trees and wide enough for one large rig, makes you wonder "What did I just turn in to?" Keep going: it'll be fine. It looks like all the lake-front sites are taken by permanent residents. "Big rig" access means different things to different people. Our 40' MH fit nicely into a double space which made it a pull-through. Anything larger may be a problem. Friendly staff made our stay great for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Very nice park with a friendly staff. This is a good park to stay to see the pigs in Lexington, have some BBQ, and go the Childress Winery. The park is paved roads with gravel sites. Had it rained it would have been muddy as the gravel is getting a little thin. They have boat rentals and fishing in the lake. Quite a few permanents are here too. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
I love this campground! Our site was great. There are allot of permanent sites but they are newer models. The staff is great and very helpful. If you don't want to cook they have a grill with great food. I didn't want to come home. We will be back and had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$75
Let us begin by saying this place is a God send. We live in Advance, N.C. which is only 25 miles from the campground. We camped here one other time, and since it was such a nice experience my wife decide to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary there. Well we called and got a reservation and made our plans. Five days before we were to leave, the owner lady called and told us that the cabin we were supposed to get was being worked on and she would have to move us to another cabin with a better view of the lake. It didn't matter to us which one we stayed in, so I told her that was fine. When we got here and started taking things into our cabin, there on the counter was a card and a vase of flowers for my wife, this immediately made her cry with joy. You see these great owners felt bad about having to switch cabins on us and she did this kind gesture for us. Now I don't know about you, but that is a big deal to a country boy and his wife. This couple that own this campground really know how to treat you. I would not have been so surprised if we knew them personally, but we had only met them one other time 3 years ago. I can give this campground the highest of ratings. We will be going back many times if God so sees. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
A very nice park. Staff were friendly and helpful. They are professionals. The sites are gravel and tough to level up on because it appears that the CG is on the side of a hill down to the lake. We were on #77 and I had to block under the front wheels because the jacks had them off the ground. Sites are also pretty narrow. Can't swim in the lake - bummer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
This is a very nice destination park. There are a lot of permanent, vacation type units. Trees are trimmed well and there is room to maneuver, if a bit tight in places. We camped in a 36' fifth wheel with a heavy duty truck, 60 feet overall, they gave us a double pull through site, so there was room for the fiver, Volvo and smart car in the site. Laundry room might be a bit small in the summer with a full park. It is very pretty and very quiet. Not really an overnight stop as it is a ways off the interstate and several miles off the state highway. It is well maintained and well landscaped. WiFi was spotty for us, often dropped out and signal was weak and the park was not crowded during the week, although it picked up on Friday and Saturday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
This is a lakeside fishing and boating camp with a lot of trees and a friendly, accommodating staff. The atmosphere is similar to a state park. It appears that about 95% of the sites are occupied by permanently-parked RVs which serve as weekend and summer cabins. Most sites require significant leveling. Parking our 35-foot 5th wheel in pull-thru site number 35 was not difficult, but to leave we had to back out rather than pull forward because of trees and a sharp corner. Parked tow vehicles crowd driving lanes and can make it difficult to maneuver. We were at this park Monday through Thursday in the second week of October, so human activity and vehicles crowding driving lanes were less than one would expect at busier times. It’s a pleasant place to walk and to enjoy viewing the lake. Trash pickup at your site. No highway or railroad noise. Wi-Fi works much of the time, but sometimes it will not connect and sometimes the connection will break unexpectedly. We liked this park and would definitely camp here again if we could get site 35. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
This park is on a beautiful lake and is quite cozy with all the trees and flowers. However, do not stay here if you want Wi-Fi (it is lousy), if you need to receive satellite, if you want a place that has good ingress and egress, and if really tight turns and tight spots bother you. Also, if you are seeking a level site, this is not the place for you. The folks here are quite nice, and the park is fine for small rigs, tents, and popups but, if you have anything 35 feet or longer, forget it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This is a very nice campground. Staff was very helpful. Pool hours only till 7:00 pm during the week. Lots to do in the area. Really good ice-cream. Excellent place to camp if you have a boat. Friendly year round residents. Good place to fish and birdwatch. We will definitely come again, next time to rent a boat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This was a very nice campground; however, we did not feel it was well designed for big rigs like we have. There were several permanent sites. The bathrooms were clean, but there was no AC. It was like being at summer camp when you were a child when going to the bathrooms, not what you want to experience as an adult--been there done that. The snack bar had very good selection, but was expensive. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-In was excellent! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Not much to do here except the lake. The sites are not level at all. Pool was nice and clean. Bathroom was clean however the showers were not. Good place to stay if you are going to be out and about. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This is such a great park. The staff is pleasant and the views from my campsite were amazing. The lake is beautiful and the trees surrounding the area keep it cool. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$35
Site was small and not level at all. Small steep incline to get out of site. If you like fishing and boating you may like this campground. Mostly seasonal sites. Advertises WiFi but the signal was very weak. The people in the office were very friendly but we wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
We stayed here during the changing of the leaves. It was beautiful. We arrived late, in the dark. The manager saw us pull in and led us to our site. The site was a little close to the next one, but nobody was there so it was OK. There is about 50 full time sites, but being out of season, there were not many people there. If you like to fish, this is the place. There is a nice pier, there are boat rentals, a snack bar and lots of neat fishing stuff, including bait, in the store. The park personnel were very helpful and friendly. We visited Richard Childress winery (awesome) and local antique shops. There is also an old hardware store in Lexington, really cool. This will definitely be a CG we will be returning to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$33
Based on the site we were assigned I'd rate this campground a 10. Site #4 has the most beautiful view of the lake imaginable with a little terrace and picnic furniture. A 28 foot travel trailer just fit so don't request it for anything bigger. Otherwise the sites are a little close and I wouldn't have been quite as enthusiastic had I been assigned one of these. There appears to be alot of seasonal and full-time occupants in this campground but on the other hand it has an aura of stability and is very quiet and peaceful. Boating and fishing opportunities abound even though the lake lever is currently very low. The pool area looks great but this late in the season it was closed. Nice breakfast at the snack bar. A good value a nice family atmosphere and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
Campground is well maintained and has all the amenities. Staff very helpful and courteous. Nice camp store and grill. Swimming pool very nice. Most campsites are occupied by seasonal and full term campers. Most sites are tight, close together, but easy to get into. Nice playground for children. Plenty of activities including boating, skiing, fishing. Bath houses were clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$32
What a great place to "ring in" the New Year. Peaceful, quiet, lovely setting watching the lake and the water birds that abound in the area. All the amenities, including free wireless internet! We have camped here many times in the summer and loved it, this is the first winter trip and once again, we love it! Great place for families. Many, Many things to see and do within 45 minutes of the campground. Owners friendly and helpful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$34
We love this campground. I had to laugh when I read the reviewer that gave them a rating of 6/10! We were camped next to these rude people and they deserved to have been asked to leave. When checking in you are explained the rules in respects to guests. Any guests you have must be gone by 9:00 p.m. These rude people had 5 guests show up at 11:00 p.m. They were loud and had been drinking. When the owners came up and asked the guests leave, the people registered to the site became obnoxious! I know it is the people we were camped next to, because they used the term rules nazi! We love the rules, we feel safe and know the owners care about our leisure time! A great family campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Excellent campground. Clean and quiet. Friendly owners and staff. We had a family reunion at the location, we had 8 RV sites and 10 cabins and couldn't have had a better time! We really like a campground that has rules and actually enforces them! At quiet hour ( 11 pm ) it was quiet! I would highly recommend this campground to all age groups as there is something for everyone! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
This CG was very nice. Very clean, probably the cleanest we have ever been to. The pool wasn't open when we were there but it looked ok. They absolutely had the cleanest bath house we have ever seen. We stopped in while we walked to look at everything even though we rarely use a bath house. Our camper has a bathroom and shower. The staff wasn't super friendly but they weren't rude either. Nice place to walk our dogs and even the permanent people were friendly. Not much of a pier to fish off of but it was nice standing on it looking out at the lake. We would stay here again by all means! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2006
$32
CG has many amenities but sites close to lake are very narrow and close to each other. They are also difficult to get in and out of. The owners have cleaned this campground up but have gone over board with rules. Seinfield had his "soup nazi" and High Rock Lake CG has its "campground nazis." Break a simple rule and you are chastised to the ultimate. The owners have no people skills at all. There is rarely a smile and one can readily experience their indifference to infrequent customers. Unless the owners change their attitudes, loosen rules, and develop people skills, this cg is headed for rough times and/or sale. We will not be returning due to the treatment recently received from the male owner. There are other cgs in NC that offer as much or more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$28
Good waterfront campground. Many permanent sites near water. We had a hard time getting camper in a tight spot. Several workers were very helpful. Fishing was good on the pier. Will probably not go back. Lots of foot traffic near office and number of boaters around area. A little noisier than we like. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2004
$28
We have stayed at High Rock Campground & Marina several times in the last 3 years. We have enjoyed every stay and will be returning again this summer with our new pop up camper. Stephanie and Lynn do wonderful job keeping the CG in tip top shape. The kids love the playground, game room and swimming pool. My wife and I love to fish and we all love to rent a pontoon for the day. Nestled in the woods right on the lake, it is a beautiful park! We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$28
Excellent location with plenty of waterfont area to sit and watch the lake. Nice easy sites with plenty of shade trees. Full Hookups with cable TV made it great to watch the Nascar race on Sunday. Friendly and accommodating owners. We have a lab that loves the water and owners allowed dogs to swim at the boat launch area. Nice clean older bathhouses with laundry. Cabins available for those without RV's as well as tent sites. A few permanant sites. Boat rental available. Overall enjoyable location for peaceful camping. We will be going back in September with our boat to do some fishing. We stayed 4 days in July and the pool was certainly nice to beat the heat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Family oriented park. Owners friendly and very responsive to camper needs. Some permanent sites, but well maintained. Quiet. Boat ramp for campers. Pontoon boat rental (boats well maintained). Grill on site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Great Family Campground. Pleasant helpful owners and staff. Very clean, beautiful flowers. Bathroom well kept. We rented a boat and had a ball! We would rate this as one of our favorite all time campgrounds. Close to lots of attractions. Go and see for yourself! Stayed many times this year and will go back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com