223422 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain Stream RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (828) 724-9013
CGID2083

Mountain Stream RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   5   9   8   6   9   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
Absolutely beautiful mountain oasis. The bath house was immaculate. This is a place for relaxation and kicking back. Previous reviews criticized the Wi-Fi and pet policy. Wi-Fi is strong and bandwidth limits are not restrictive. I could do email and surf the net. I did exceed my limit one day (Downloading programs) I was cut off until the next day. I did not have any problems staying there with my 100 lb. dog. The dog had fun playing in the stream with the kids. Responsible owners clean up after their pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$39
Probably the most clean and nicest campgrounds I've ever stayed in, and I've been camping for over 50 years. That being said, there are a couple of things everyone should know: 1. Road leading to campground seems Extremely dangerous no matter what. Good pavement but very narrow and very curvy and twisty! Owners can't change this but be careful...I'm not exaggerating! 2. Temperature was in the lower forty's and the heat was not on in the bathroom?? 3. Although I had no problem as some other reviewers have had, the owners seem overly concerned about their grass and pet waste. Most pet owners and people who are responsible and don't need extended lectures. 4. Campground seems perfect for seniors. Once again, the place is absolutely spotless and pristine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$39
First of all, let me say that this is a pretty park. Although the sites are on top of each other, they are clean and well kept. The picnic tables are really nice as well. That's where our positives end. While checking in, I was lectured on the do's and do not's. Aside from the 18 rules (19th one was a "if you read all the rules come get a free gift"), I was informed that it was OK to check email and Google a few things, but do not download movies, do not go on Facebook, etc, because their Wi-Fi is on satellite and they only have so much bandwidth. If they go over the bandwidth, then the Internet service provider will cut them off for 24 hours and they use it for business reasons as well. The place is more dog friendly than it is kid friendly. Around 9:15 some kids were playing near the pavilion and the owners came on 2 separate times to tell them that it was quiet time. Quiet time is 10 PM there. It's on their rules and on the sign next to where the kids were. The kids were not loud either. The next day, the kids were playing in the creek and tossing rocks. The owner comes and tells them to stop doing it that they paid to have those rocks put there. The parents of the kids were both there and nothing was said to them. There is nothing else there for kids to do at all. The wife and daughter went into the store there and she felt as if the owner kept watching them as if they were doing something wrong. They do have a dog walk area which is nice. But there are rules all over the place about your pets. Not only on the long list of rules which mention that dog wastes leave bacteria and germs in the grass. (What?!) All in all, we didn't feel welcome here. We had a child and a dog. We've read the reviews and mention about it on forums, but didn't believe it was going to be as bad as we found it. We felt so over-watched that we decided not to attend the potluck. Our neighbors did and they said felt like outsiders there. No one would talk to them or eat their food. Both us and neighbors on both sides felt like there was a select group that went there often. We will not return. If we were ever to do it, it would be when we are much much older, without kids and probably without a pet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
Beautiful park, most sites along stream, all back-in. Didn't want dogs going potty on grass and lots of other rules. Lady checking us in seemed a little "testy". Did have a fenced dog park. Was charged $10 early check in fee before noon - it was 11:15. We got a deluxe site which was huge. Problem with water pressure which was going to be fixed the day we left. WiFi was satellite and slow. Cable TV was limited. We'd go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$46
Very clean and pretty campground. Extremely friendly staff. Very well landscaped all through the campsite. Enjoyed the ice cream social on Saturday. Restrooms and showers very nice and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$46
We stayed here during Easter weekend. When we arrived the owner checked us in. He used a memorized script telling me the do's and don'ts. He wasn't rude but wasn't very friendly either. It seemed like he didn't want to be there. He gave me some printed info about the campground and related rules. The rules were highlighted in yellow and were plentiful. He told me to have the dog use the bathroom on the gravel. There was no area for dogs to use. The park is pretty and situated on Buck Creek. The sites are very small. We had a "premium super stream site". It was very small and our car didn't fit very well in front of the motor home. The road in the park is gravel and probably very dusty at times. We didn't notice dust since it had rained recently. There were no trails or walking areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
This is a very nice RV park. It was extremely clean and well maintained. I did not try the bathrooms but my husband said they were clean. The only beef I have about this place is that there's not much for kids. They don't even have a playground and then they want them to strictly adhere to park rules. I don't think I would say children are welcomed, just allowed. Other than that it was very nice and we enjoyed our time there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$46
This is a beautiful, quiet, small park. The wifi worked great. Notice for dog owners - your dogs are not allowed to use the grass in the park between sites for their business. Unfortunately, there is no other grass except out on the road. Not a problem for us because we didn't bring our dogs on this trip but we talked to some other dog owners who would not have come there if they had known this in advance (it's not on their website). If your dog requires grass, you need to walk them on the road. We probably won't be back if we are traveling with our pets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
A great campground on a wonderful sounding stream. The landscaping is well taken care of and the overall feel of the grounds is of a very well taken care of place. The bathhouse was closed for the winter but that wasn't a concern for me. It is also a quiet place, the only vehicle that I heard was a school bus. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$43
What a beautiful park! A gem set in the mountains! We stayed on a premium site that backed up to the running stream. The site had its own deck with a picnic table. Each site has a "firebox" that you can have a campfire in. Firewood is available at the campground store. The owners are friendly and take wonderful care of their park. We did have wifi access, but unless you have satellite, you probably won't be watching TV. That is fine with us. We came to enjoy the mountains and the beauty around us. Just a note: No cellphone service in the park. Not a problem for us, but others may need to have access. We hope to be back here next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
This is a great little campground for getting away from it all. No phones, no TV, just the sound of running water in the beautiful stream to relax you. A good place for getting back to nature and enjoying each other. We love the people and always leave wanting to go back. We have a large 39 ft motor home and have always had plenty of room even with the car or Harley and trailer. For all you bikers, there is some great riding in the area and the owners are good people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$41
Our family stayed here for a week in early May. We were looking for a place to relax and fish, and Mountain Stream was the perfect place for that. Our site had a deck over the stream, but any of the stream-side sites are just as nice. The campground is well kept and attractive. Azaleas were blooming during our visit. The only negative was the lack of trout. The stream was not yet stocked, so there were only a few very small fish. Our family found nearby places to fish, but it would have been nice to be able to stay and fish. The Wi-Fi was extremely slow, but we were just grateful to have it at all, especially since there is no cell phone reception there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
WOW! is the best way to describe this campground for me. I have never given a campground a 10 but this place deserves it. We had reservations and when we arrived they had all of the paperwork ready and check in was a breeze. They explained everything very well and before parking you knew what was and what to expect. We did not see a bad site in the campground; some are just longer than others. The owners have worked hard to make this a nice campground and it shows. They live there full time in their motorhome, yes motorhome. I do not think I have ever seen a campground or bathhouses and clean as this place. It is located on Buck Creek and over half the sites are creekside, which makes sleeping very easy. No noise to speak of at night except the creek and it just soothes you away. Now if you are the part of society today that is looking for lots of amenities, you may not be happy here. You can fish in the creek,or explore it, you can walk around the campground or ride a bike,(it is nice and level) play horseshoes, or basketball. Our favorite activity that they offer is just sitting by the creek and watching it go by. They do not have a playground, game room, or mini golf which was fine. We also liked the fact that you had no cell phone service at all,and no television that you could see very well unless you have satellite. The last thing I will add is that the road getting to Mountain Stream is a little tight and has some curves but nothing bad so do not let that deter you from staying there. We will definitely make Mountain Stream a regular spot for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$36
We stayed here for Thanksgiving and really enjoyed the campground and the socializing with others guests. This place was so incredibly clean it was amazing! The bathroom and showers are cleaned a couple of times a day and they are heated. They had a potluck Thanksgiving dinner where the owners supplied the turkey and the guests brought all of the side dishes. It was a wonderful time of fellowship, food and fun. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 was because there were some seedy looking campgrounds leading up to their entrance with lots of permanent (dumpy looking) residents. I wish those people would take care of their grounds like these people do! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This campground is beautiful, peaceful, and pristine. Well worth the extra few miles beyond the RV repair place in Marion. The owners support the local community. They told us about the monthly Saturday Breakfast fund-raiser at Carson's Chapel. Amazing food! We followed the advice on their website and unhitched our towed vehicle in town. After scoping out the twisty route up to the campground, we had no problem with a 31' Class C. If we hadn't scouted it first, we would have been a lot more intimidated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
I did not stay at this park but stopped and talked to the owner. She and her husband live on site in their motorhome. She cheerfully gave me permission to check out this beautiful park and it is everything that has been described by other reviewers. Free Wi-Fi throughout the park. All sites were level - in fact, the entire park was level which was surprising since the park is in the mountain foothills. Most of the sites are along scenic Buck Creek and command a premium price. The rest are along the road and, since I did not spend the night, I don't know how noisy that would be. The park was very neat and well maintained with pretty landscaping at each site and in the common areas. The spaces were farther apart than what one normally sees in a private campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$34
This park was very nice and taken care of. If you are in the area this would be a very good stay; was for us. The cover dish is a must do; the food was great. The sites are all graveled with grass between sites. The owners will go out of there way to please you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Owners on site at all times, very professional and helpful. Immaculate restrooms, showers and grounds. Trout caught from stream just 15' from site. Great Christian campground with Gospel sing-along and chili cookoff on Saturday nite. Church services on Sunday. Marion is great small town, restaurants, etc and Tom Johnson RV Service Center. Blue Ridge Mtns and Parkway just minutes away. Recommend to all, will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$33
This was our first stay at this campground. The previous reviews say it all. This beautiful campground is the cleanest, neatest, most relaxing that I have ever camped at. I am sitting by the creek right now as I use the wireless access to submit this review. The location of this campground is great for visiting the Linville falls and caverns area as well as Mount Mitchell. We participated in the Saturday night covered dish dinner which was great! We will definitely come back to this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
We picked this park for our first weekend out in our new motorhome that we just purchased from Tom Johnson's Camping in Marion, NC (Excellent dealer!). It was a great place to start out. Everything was neat and clean. The sites were level gravel. The roads were gravel. Even though it rained heavily the first night there were no problems with drainage. There was a potluck dinner in their pavilion Saturday night followed by very enjoyable live entertainment. The owners are great people who went out of their way to make "first timers" feel welcome. This is a great park for adults, but there were some kids there too. We enjoyed the "Mountain Stream Church" service held Sunday morning. We already have reservation to return and highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
Visited this park ten years ago; it was great then and is even better now. Great hosts, bathrooms superb. Quiet. A little off the path but well worth it. All back in sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$36
This is a great little mountain RV Park in the Smokie Mountains of North Carolin just a little north of Marion. They have no laundry but it is quiet and clean. The staff is friendly and very cordual host. The stream will tranquilize you if you have a site near it. Great sleeping with the windows open. The road is a little narrow and crooked but my 40 footer made it OK pulling a toad. We will certainly go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$33
Very nice park. Cleanest one we've visited. Owners are especially friendly. They make you feel like old friends from the start. Saturday night community meal is a must do! Great location with lots of close by places to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$33
Great little horseshoe shaped campground with a running stream on two sides. We have been there many times and always enjoyed our stays. Bath house is outdated and needs work. They have live music under big shelter on Sat nights with a pot luck covered dish dinner before the show. Fun place. Sunday morning worship is nice also. They have done some remodeling due to weather damage in 2004. A couple of sites are tight to get in but overall a great campground. Will continue to be one of our favorites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$32
We just spent a fabulous 3 day weekend at Mountain Stream RV Park! The owners have one of, if not the nicest park we have ever been to. Everything is neat and clean, the sites are great and that soothing sound of the stream is worth it's weight in gold! Thanks a bunch and we'll see you again in 2006!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$29
Lovely place with friendly owners (We don't consider it our business what religion anyone else is, so we don't care whether they're Christians! They seemed just fine to us). Beautiful location though park is small. Center area would be nicer if a part of it were fenced as an off-leash area for dogs, but dogs are made very welcome. The only trouble is--and the reason I won't go back--there is a small zoo of animals right next door guarded by a horribly lonely dog chained to a barrel all alone. I can't look at that night and day every time I walk my dog and enjoy the time I spend there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$25
This is the nicest little campground we have ever stayed in. We were here for 5 nights on a streamside site. The sites are gravel, level, & beautifully landscaped. The bathrooms are spotless. The owners are wonderful: very welcoming and helpful. The location is perfect for exploring the Blue Ridge Parkway and all the attractions of the area. This campground gets our highest recommendation. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2005
$34
We found the park to be very clean and well taken care of. There was fresh gravel laid and the sites were very level. The sound of the stream/river at night is a great way to fall asleeep. The owners have a potluck supper on Saturday nights followed with live entertainement. The owners were very friendly and helped insure you had a pleasant stay. We will be planning many more trips to Mountain Stream RV park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This is an amazing place to bring your family for a quiet vacation. You can camp by a steam on 21 of the sites and 10 it is just right over the hill. The bathrooms are spotless. The grounds are gorgeous. Green grass everywhere and nicely paved and level sites. I felt like I was a member of the family from the time I entered the campground. The owners are amazing people. They are very caring and fun. Live entertainment was fantastic on Saturday night. A fantastic experience with two small children. We will be back every year for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Stayed in a travel trailer on the stream. It was really nice. The common yard area is nice for the kids to play ball or throw a frisbee. There is a basketball court, shuffleboard was broken and horseshoes off limits to the kids. Showers were the cleanest I have ever seen. No phone reception but you can use a phone card at a phone that is available. It also has hookup for a laptop. Relaxing camping.. Will go back. Wish it had laundry facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$29
This RV park is pretty as a picture. We stayed only one night and wished our schedule allowed for a longer stay. We were there on a Saturday night and there was entertainment provided free of charge to all. It was a delightful couple that played and sang for about 2 hours, some great tunes that were familiar to all. It was very pleasant and a lot of fun. The owners are wonderful. They have that very special way about them that makes you feel welcome and at home the moment you meet them. From check-in to departure they were very gracious and appreciative hosts. She is a marvelous vocalist as evidenced by her CD. Club discounts are extended (FMCA, GS, Escapees, etc). They are located in a rural setting with beautiful trees and a charming mountain stream running along one side of the park. We backed up to the stream during our stay and the sound of the running water gave us a most restful sleep. This is definitely one of our all time top 10 special places. The only reason it isn't rated a 10 is that the pads were not concrete, but they were nice and level. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$27
This is a beautiful, clean, well kept site. The owners are wonderful, kind, Christians who geniunely care about your family and your visit. Many of the sites are streamside with some shade. We had one power surge in the 3 days that we stayed, which was quickly corrected. The only complaint that I have is not one that can be corrected - the biting midgets were horrid, a real bother. We went in August, and plan to make a next trip in the fall or early spring when insects will be at a minimum. We loved the stream. Our children loved the group activities. We plan to return next year. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$28
What a beautiful place. We go there several times a year and have for several years. It just doesn't get any better than this. The place is spotless with manicured gardens, lots of grass and trees. The owner couple is great. You meet them once and you become friends forever. It is a real blessing to be camped there when she sings some of the songs from her latest CD. An occasional low voltage power problem is our only complaint. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$26
Excellent park only your cel phone will not work, it's down in a valley. Small rippling stream running by almost half of the sites. If you have satellite TV it will only work at most of the sites, not all. Try to get lower number sites and out of the trees. Owners / Managers are just great! Will definitely go back when in the area. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$28
The resort brochure motto is "Prettiest Little Park this side of Heaven" which holds true as a description. The Park grounds are well manicured and maintain. Restrooms and other facilities are both clean and inviting. Over one-half of the campsites are located on a beautiful mountain stream whose falling waters add to a truly relaxing atmosphere. We found the park owners/managers to be excellent hosts. They were most accommodating as well as truly concerned with our entire family enjoying their vacation. We did feel the daily additional rate charge for family members to be a bit higher than usual. However we truly loved our visit and will both recommend as well as return ourselves for future visits. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$28
If you are looking for a beautiful, well kept, clean campground-go to Mountain Stream! The creek sites with rustling, rushing waters are the perfect place to relax. We appreciated so very much that the owners are Christians and make it a point to invite you to attend church with them if you are in the Park over a Sunday. A big plus for the campground is that no alcoholic beverages are allowed in public. Activities are planned each week for the entire family. The Park is located close to many area attractions. We highly recommend this wonderful park. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$28
Motto "Prettiest Little Park this side of Heaven" describes it well. Some pet restrictions. About 4 miles off Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com