221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Myers RV Resort was rated 4 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (336) 492-7736
CGID2084

Lake Myers RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
425
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   4   2   8   3   1   1   1   10   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2013
$48
We unhooked and did a drive thru in our tow and glad we did. The roads are narrow and in need of repair. Tree limbs hang low and will catch all RV's regardless of height. The restrooms need cleaning and work. Most of the sites are small, the full timers have taken all the "good" sites, and visitors have the left overs. We could not get our 40 foot motor home in and out. We did not stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
This large campground is almost full of permanent campers. Most are older models that are really ran down, which makes the whole campground look bad. Sites are very small and difficult to extend slides and awnings without hitting trees or camper next to yours. Low hanging tree limbs hanging down. Pools are nice. Cable is good. Bathhouse's are nasty. Only wireless is near the pool and at the office. Power went off two times during our stay. One major problem are the mosquitoes. Teenagers on golf carts are a problem. Staff are very friendly, and know that improvements are needed. But with a large corporation owning this campground, funds are limited on their behalf. Beware if the clouds get thick, the manager will close the pools for hours, anticipating a storm. We will probably not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Went here when i was a kid and still live close buy. It was the campground of all campgrounds 30 years ago. It had a skating rink and other amenities. Now its as close to the ghetto as you can get. It is not the people running it. It's that big corporations usually mess things up. Man if I only had the money to buy this place and return it to its lost fame. You would have to schedule a year so in advance so much potential. What a waste of such a beautiful thing Bad Water slide runs sometimes. Bumper boats half work. Bath houses are nasty. Sites are run down. There are lots of permanent residents. It is not big rig nor camper friendly. There are weird office hours. It has mostly dirt roads. The water slide pool is good. They have canoes, a small store, a grill, golf cart rentals, and a horse shoe pitch. There is nightly entertainment in summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
This is a large family campground with several pools, fishing, playground, skating, putt-putt, general store, and big water slide. There are annual Halloween activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2012
$42
We wanted to try this campground due to its amenities. The word campground really doesn't come to mind after our visit. This is a resort for permanent sites with a shameful excuse for traveling RV'ers. People who own there probably like it fine. Sites are small, crowded with trees which makes slide outs a real challenge, and they created sites in between where most other campgrounds would not have. We had read poor reviews about cleanliness so we avoided those places and visually they were not good. This place is not for us so we will not go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
We stayed here Labor Day weekend 2011, This place is a joke. Its not a campground its a run down ghetto trailer park with the worlds most disgusting bath houses. The golf carts with the blaring stereos constantly circling the park was ridiculous.The only thing 5 star at this place is the price! THE BATHROOMS ARE NASTY! Do yourself a favor and stay at the KOA campground 5 miles up the road, we will next time! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
We are new at the camping thing, but a friend had told us about Lake Myers Campground. We booked a trip and we were disappointed almost as soon as we pulled into the campground. We checked in after hours and our paperwork was waiting for us. We proceeded to our site to find that it wasn't marked nor was any of the others near this site marked to use as a reference. We were told the next day that we were in the wrong site, but that we could stay where we were. So far not to bad. Upon visiting the bath house the real disappointed began. The condition of the men side was absolutely deplorable. The trash can was overflowing with trash. The showers were very dirty and the toilets were either broken (no handles) or clogged. They should be charged with fraud for advertising a putt putt course because the condition of the course was so run down (torn carpet and rocks all over the place) that there was no way to actually play. There was trash scattered all over the campground and the place obviously hadn't had ANY TLC in quite some time. The pools while large were very dirty. You certainly get the feeling that if you are not a permanent camper that you are not welcome. We will never return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
My family and I were excited about having a relaxing Memorial Day weekend at Lake Myers R.V. Resort, but were in for a rude awakening! We checked in at the office on Fri.,May 27th, 2011. We drove to our reserved campsite and our camper would not fit into the campsite. We requested a refund or a different campsite. A staff member on a golf cart told us he would go the office and check on things, but he never returned. We waited and waited! Finally, we found a campsite at another campground. We went back the next day for a refund and noticed our campsite had been rented out. The staff member in the office was rude and refused to give any type of refund. We have never had problems camping before. Shady business! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
I was surprised by the last reviews. We had a great time here and met so many nice people. We came on a Thursday and it was very quiet even the gas powered golf carts were very quiet. Friday night was quiet too. The activities are awesome for the kids. On Saturday they had a dance and a huge bonfire. On Friday through Sunday the rate jumps up to $45 but then goes back down to $23 the rest of the week. The staff is really nice and they even have a laundry mat. I will camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Well, after seven different visits to this campground through the years, hoping it would get better, this was our last visit. The restrooms were nasty, no paper towels, bugs everywhere, and dirty. The water slide needs cleaning, and they need to get all the debris out of the catch pool. All the rental boats were half full of water and have never been cleaned. The whole campground is almost full of permanent sites. Believe me: everyone here has a golf cart. A lot of the golf carts are gas operated and are extremely noisy. And they ride their carts all day and half of the night. A loud band shows up on the weekend and blasts the music through the campground. The campsites are extremely tight. Last visit, my awning was touching another camper. The sewer pipes are an odd size PVC and sewer odor escapes around the connector, causing a bad odor. The only reason that we rated them a three was of the pool for the kids. They advertise being big rig friendly. Not true. If your RV is over 30 foot, be aware that you might not fit. We will not return to Lake Myers Campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
This place is a dump , restroom/shower house where nasty! Our pull through site was dang near impossible to get into and I drive a 70ft tractor trailer for a living so that is saying a lot! I would say 80% of the sites are permanent, some of these where neat and well maintained but most where not! I believe a requirement to have a permanent site is to be a over weight smoker who love's to ride around on a golf cart drinking beer and throwing their trash on the ground! Only 1 of the 2 water slides worked and water used for it was pumped out of a sess pool of a pond , NASTY! Every time I drained my Grey/black tanks the sewer connection would overflow , YUCK! The only reason I gave it a 2 is because the 2 pools where pretty decent! Other than that I felt like I needed to scrub down with a brillo pad after I got home! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
Well, it was quiet, anyway. During the summer, it probably won't be. 95% of the sites are "planted" with various aged RV's. This park is worn out, as are many of the seasonal RV's/sites. Roads are narrow and potholed. Electrical boxes are practically laying on the ground with no dedicated breakers and worn/loose receptacles. Sites are hardly level (4.5" was not enough) though she said our site was pretty level. Real pain to get set up. FUNKY! DO NOT take a big motorhome, fifth wheel or trailer over 30'in here. You'll be upset right in the gate. Big corporation is putting some money in the pools and various other parts, but the infrastructure needs a major overhaul. We would not stay here again. I'd rather boon dock. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
Somewhat difficult getting into the site. It was a pull-through even though the guide profile shows "no". The difficulty was an intimidating bridge over water at the park entrance: making us wonder as to this being the correct place. We arrived after hours so took the displayed map and made our way to our site, a little treacherous. The site itself was very nice: shaded, quiet, full services (CATV, 50 AMPS, water, sewage) and level. This was a stopover for the night, and as mentioned, once into the site it was quite pleasant. Much of the campground or "resort" appears to be permanent RV's set up with porch, etc., appurtenances. It was a respite when one was needed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$55
We called ahead to see if this resort was big rig friendly, they said yes. Well, it wasn't rig friendly at all. We have a 40 diesel and had a terrible time getting in and out of the resort (I use the term Resort loosely). At one point we thought we were going to have to un-hook the toad so we could get though the park. There is a KOA just a few miles west, that was cleaner and really was big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
We had a great visit. There's lot's to do. The staff is very friendly, and very helpful. We camped on an off weekend. We love the rustic and shady sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
We stayed the Holiday weekend of the 4th of July. It was very busy but FUN! Lots of activities for the children and adults as well. Pools were very clean. Sites were clean as well. It was a little dusty because of the dirt roads but what do you expect your camping. The only problems I encountered were the bathrooms. They were HORRIBLE!!! Looks as though they are only clean once daily and not very well at all. They could stand to be remodeled as well but are not all that bad besides the cleaning issues. The shower stalls have no benches and only one hook area for towels so you have to throw everything else over the shower door. There was one other issue I had while staying. I have a two year old who needs a snack or juice every once in a while and when you are at the pool no food or drink is allowed only bottled water. I can see why they do this, but as I was standing at the entry to the pool reading the rules on the door the teenaged lifeguard started screaming from halfway across the pool at me about the bag of chips I was going to bring in. My only problem with that was the screaming, she could have walked over and told me. This place needs to teach this employee some manners. All the other employees were very nice and courteous. We will try this place once more and hopefully they will clean up there bathrooms; if not we will not be going back at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Stayed at Lake Myers RV Resort over Memorial Day weekend. The campground has everything to offer to children for having fun. The facilities were clean. Paid for a premium site, but when I arrived, they gave me a pull through site where my awning would not extend. After pulling forward, I had to settle with the awning two feet from the back of another fifth wheel. Staff was present, but would make no adjustments in swapping for a vacant site across the road. After paying full price, only one pool was open, and only one water slide open. The pool was not heated; big disappointment. Campground is mainly full of seasonal and full time sites. The campground is overcrowded with noisy golf carts, gas & electric. We will try this campground one more time to see if it improves any. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
What a great place! My wife and I were so impressed with this campground after one visit that we became seasonal campers. We both look forward to our get away weekends with all the amenities like Bingo on Friday and Saturday Nights, large clean pools, playgrounds for the grandchildren, fishing in two lakes, Band or DJ on Saturday Nights with Gospel music on Friday Nights and Fellowship on Sunday Morning, Paddle boats and canoes, horse shoe tournaments. The onsite grill is excellent. The Managers are friendly, knowledgeable and very children oriented, for example they have installed an outdoor movie screen and are very selective about the movies that are shown on the weekends, in addition to the lollipop flashlight hunt on Saturday night, crafts, dodge ball, basketball, skating, the list goes on and on. Camping as we all know is about the family, children, the people, the friends that you make along the way and the memories of all the above solidify the experience. I would highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
This "resort" has 425 sites, 420 occupied by seasonal residents. The remaining five look like sites that none of the seasonal residents wanted. The reservation number listed for this campground is to a central reservation site in Florida. The persons I talked to there did not have any idea of how the camp sites were laid out. The manager of the campground told me that reservations are faxed to them, and that mine did not arrive before I did even though I had called 10 hours before. Pass this one by unless you are desperate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Like some other reviewers, I agree that the CG felt more like a trailer park. Most sites were permanent. The sites were close together, but did have shade. The restrooms were old and not cleaned very often. Half of the time the toilet paper would not flush down. Everyone seemed to have a golfcart and drove them down the roads at all hours of the night. Kids, (pre-teens and teens), were a nuisance. They were left unattended at the pool, playground, basketball court, etc. The pools were big and fairly clean. The pools were the best part of the campground. The people at the CG were also friendly. However, I will not be back due to the overall atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$38
This park should no longer be considered a campground. Most of the sites are occupied by seasonal units. We discovered what may be the explanation when we were at Camping World and were solicited by a sales person (not a CW employee) to purchase a site at this park. Apparently most of the sites are owned. They are not well maintained and give the campground the ambiance of a slum neighborhood. The interior roads are in poor condition and difficult to navigate in a large unit (we have a 37' fifth wheel). At no time did we ever meet anyone on the staff. The office/store was closed the whole time we were here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
I'm a full-time camper, so I stay in a variety of RV parks. This is not an RV park. This is a trailer park. I'm not joking. 95% of the sites are permanent sites, with decks and such built up on them. And they are not kept up very well, as a general rule. We were there in April and the people were cleaning up their own sites using gas powered leaf blowers and such, and then burning in the ditches. It was very pleasant (note the sarcasm). It should have been cleaned up off-season. When we arrived they had a "reservation" in that they knew we were coming, but did not have a site reserved. It took the clerk 45 minutes to register us and take payment for us to fill a tank of propane. There were 3 people in the office, but only 1 was doing anything. The other 2 stood around and watched. The park itself is rather dumpy, and the roads are horrible. They have speed bumps that are rutted out, are narrow and curvy and the entire park is in the woods. (Which is not bad, if it's not so tight). You have to drive completely through the park to get out the other side (1 way road) and the signs are kind of confusing. When you exit the park you have to drive over spikes to prevent people from entering through that exit, which I was nervous about doing. We had expected 50 amp sites, but were given a 30 amp. The first time we tried to dump our black tank it overflowed because the septic tank on that site was full. They have individual tanks for many of the sites, and when they are full you have to call to have it pumped. We were not aware of this. So, we called and they came within about 45 minutes and pumped it. When I commented that at least it would last a while now, he said it usually takes about 4 days to fill up again! Great way to spend my time here. As someone else mentioned, the golf carts are crazy. They have lots of rules about where you can ride bicycles (like not riding across sites) but they drive those carts everywhere, and everyone seems to have one. The site next to ours was empty and pretty much everyone used it as a thoroughfare to get between different areas of the park. The last day we were here we lost power (just our site) and waited an hour for someone to come and help us. No one ever came and we wound up leaving the park before anyone ever showed up. The staff was more or less friendly, just not particularly helpful. The residents weren't particularly friendly. Every time we got near them they would just stare. Made me feel creepy. They are a "resort" in that they offer putt-putt golf, water slides, pools, bumper boats, fishing, etc. All of those cost extra $$ above your site fee (which is already high enough). Yes, even FISHING costs money, just to get access to the lake. We were here on their opening weekend and the putt-putt course was lousy because it was covered with debris from the trees. The game room was closed all week, as well as the water slides and paddle boats. The pools look like they'd be nice, but one is a public pool so I bet it gets crowded. The playgrounds are okay for a park of about 50-100 sites, but are woefully inadequate for a park of 400+ sites. I was certainly not impressed and we will never stay at this campground again. We were all quite pleased as we exited the grounds at the end of our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
We stayed here over Christmas 2006 and were treated very poorly by staff and residents alike. There was a potluck dinner while we were there and we were treated like we had crashed a family reunion. On Saturday nights, teenagers were running wildly throughout the park and drunks were everywhere. The women of the park are very jealous of outsiders around their husbands. The so-called wifi was always down. Save your money, this place is not worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
We stayed here this past weekend. We camped with another family so we took up two side by side sites. Our impression of this park was border line trailer park. We felt like we were the only ones camping (using the fire ring, cooking outside). All of our neighbors would wake up leave the park and return long after dark (and this was a weekend). There does seem to be load for the kids to do. My teenage son was occupied the whole weekend (and met many kids that either live there or camp all the time - one said he'd only been home 3 weeks in the last 4 months). Over all our impression was to expensive for what we got, we might have been happy to pay $20 per day after the summer season (the pools, bumper boats, and mini golf were closed) so we paid for amenities that were not offered to us. Don't think we'll be back We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
We were seasonal campers here. We have to agree with some of the more negative comments here. Yes, the old staff was RUDE and really not nice to anyone. They were definitely not choosey about who they were rude to so don't feel attacked. It was just everyone. Secondly, they have new owners they say. In my opinion, I believe it is the same old owners who just partnershipped with another management company. They definitely need change. We were here for more than two years and are disappointed in our experience with some of the people that are seasonal campers here. The golf carts are out of control and people were friendly as long as you have known them for years. Furthermore, the bathrooms were not modern and not clean. This last season was the final straw when the residents were asked to make donations to clean the park up. Monetary donations, donations of time, and donations of supplies were being accepted. Mind you, there is a yearly fee that we do pay in order for the park to be maintained. We just do not like it anymore. The park is falling apart, it is dirty and unkempt. The roads need redone and there seems to be a problem with the sewage and some water leaks that we can see. Would love to see them clean up. Such a shame because with the right management, this could be a fun place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
This time of the year the pools etc were closed. This is mainly a permanent resident park but the sites are kept very nice. Was told that management has just changed again and that the staff expects for things to get better. We liked it even though we were just an overnighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
We had a lot of fun at this park with our kids. The waterslide, putt putt, bumper boats & pool were great. The only complaint is that the spots are pretty small. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$32
We pulled into this "place" and it was a dump! Interior roads so rough and narrow and so many trees I didn't think I would make it thru with my 37 ft DP and Grand Cherokee. All I seen was junky looking old trailers with broken down decks not at all well kept up. I didn't even stop at what they called an office. I would not have stayed in this so called "resort" if they paid me. I really don't think I could have even gotten on a site with my rig. I finally made it out of there in one piece. The kid above says he don't know why all the negative remarks!! He must be the owners son. I would rate this place a minus if the rating went that low. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
We made reservations 4 months ahead of time, but when we got there, our space was taken. We were shoved to the very back of the park, far away from the pools. We did not even get an "I'm sorry". Other campers told us that this was typical. When our site did not have a picinic table, I called from a cell phone to ask for one, and was told, "I will let someone know". After we did not get one, I went to the office to ask, and was told that the park was out of tables. The park pavilion was overflowing with free tables. We ended up taking one from another site after other campers left. Because of the location we had to rent a golf cart at $45 per day or $40 if you kept it more than one day. We kept it 2 days and went back to renew for an extra day. The staff charged us $45 instead of 40, stating that we had to turn it back in and start over. Overall, the staff was rude. Paddle boats were in bad repair, one water boggan was closed and 5 of 7 days one of the swimming pools was closed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Our family had a great time at Lake Myers Campground. All of the (free) pools were open as were the paddle boats ($3 for 30 minutes), water bogan ($2) and the bumper boats ($2). All of the kids had a great time. All sites except the overflow, are very nicely shaded, however the tree's sapped really bad. The restrooms were "functional" but very outdated, they could definitely use an update. The little grill restaurant that you sit outside, was very good, you can get a large cup of coffee for a $1 which was great. We will definitely go back again. Everyone seemed very friendly and I did not experience, see or hear any drunks. Would have given a "10" if the restrooms were better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$NA
Ok, to start, I do not know where all these bad comments are coming from. If you have a kid or teenager then this is the perfect place for you to go. Trust me I know because I am a teenager who has been going there going on 5 years now, and I love it! It is true that they are under new mangament and I do agree that when the previous owner's owned the campground it was better, but I still think that it is so much fun and is a great time for the whole family. They have everything from pools to waterslides to arcades and putt putt/skating, and almost every weekend they have a band on Saturday, and if you have a kid then this is one of the most kid/teenage friendly place around. As for the bathrooms and shower houses they are kept clean and neat. The people up there work hard to make it the way it is. I would recommend any one and everyone to check this place out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
We have stayed at this campground a few times and since the new company took over, every visit has been less than acceptable. The new staff is incredibly rude, with the manager's wife literally screaming at an older couple because they didn't leave the pool area quickly enough. It looks as if they haven't made any improvements in quite a while. It boasts 2 pools but one was closed 2 of the 4 days we were there and the other one was covered in a blue film that turned out to be carpet fibers from the deteriorated carpet around the pool. The waterslide needed painting and was only open a couple of hours each day. The bumper boats were also open only a couple of hours each day and the boats were in very poor condition. I would not reccommend this campground to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
We loved this campground this time! We visited here in 2004 & were not happy with the "drunken" atmosphere at the Saturday night band, not happy with the "security people", not happy with the staff & management attitudes. Visited again in July, 2005 & were so pleased to see the end of the "drunken" band night. The "security people" had been replaced with Sheriffs Deputies who are not only providing security but were friendly & helpful as well. The new managers & the new staff were so nice, friendly & so very helpful. We loved the "Express Checkin" provided at the front gate! We even had "escorts" to take us to our site & give us whatever help we needed. The 2 large pools were clean & inviting. The Grill was handy when we didn't want to cook. Our kids had a great time on the water boggan, canoes, etc. There was plenty for the kids to do to stay busy & have fun. I can't imagine any family not having fun there now! We were really happy to see the changes. We will certainly come back again in 2006. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$31
Our reservation was made for a Class A, 50 Amp, drive through. Arrived to find they had us listed in Class C, 30 amp drive through. Staff we met friendly. Facilities such as snack bar advertised as closing at 8 PM was closed at 6:45 PM. Pool was fine but rusty fences, soiled carpeting, an employee monitor who yelled, blew a loud whistle, and closed the pool at 8 PM - temperature that day was close to 100 degrees. Advertised boat rentals closed. 30 amp power gave us reading of 99-105 volts. Over all run down condition, Calling itself a resort is really pushing the concept. Absolutely would not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$34
We made reservations to stay here over July 4th weekend. I will break my comments into 2 sections: The camping area - This seemed to be real nice however about 90% of the sites are "permanent" and we were located in the Overflow area. This area was horrible - there was no shade and it was overcroweded. I had to move my tent once so they could stick another one in. If you want to stay here make SURE you are not in overflow and it should be ok. The pools were nice but every 30 minutes they have a 10 minute pool break and when it is 95 degrees this is a pain. The water slide and bumper boats were enjoyable but they are only open for limited times. Also, it is go-kart heaven - if you dont have one it will be rough on you. Second area - the STAFF - This was horrid. They were rude and argumentative. One camper near us left around 11pm the first night because they wanted him to move some of his tent stuff so they could shove another trailer in there. Most of my interactions with the staff and help were not pleasant. Overall: I had stayed here 25 years ago with parents when it was owned by Mr. Myers. It is now owned by a company who only cares about how many people they can park in the overflow field. If you want to stay here make sure you are not in overflow and pay attention to how little time the attractions are open. Pool was only open from 10-8. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2004
$30
We used to stay here alot for weekend getaways 15-20 years ago. This past Labor Day weekend on the Friday before Labor Day, we went there and they said they had only one site left and would not let us see it before forking over $90 in cash for 3 nights. Since we stayed so many times before we felt it would be fine. It was not! We were escorted to the site and found that it would hardly fit our 12 foot popup trailer and the small tow vehicle truck would have to be parked off site! There was not even room to open the popup or the door of our popup without being in a permanent resident's flower bed. The site was unlevel and there was no picnic table. There was no room for a table anyway. We got out of the truck and looked around and decided that it was entirely too cramped for even our 12 footer, so we drove back to the office still hooked to the popup, and they would not give us back our money or anything. We spent less than 10 minutes there and it cost us $90. We will never ever again camp there or recommend it as we felt they could have at least gave us back our money and kept a percentage for 5 minutes. That would have been fair. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Since new owners have taken over, it's no longer what it used to be. Managers are unfriendly and sometimes rude. Security watches you as if you're a terrorist. Over 65 permanent sites are now for sale. Roads in bad condition. No more garbage pick-up. Saturday night at the rec building is like going to a beer joint. Can't let your children feel free to walk or ride bikes by themselves, afraid security will jump them. Officestore partly siding and looks terrible. Lakes look nasty and like a breeding ground for mosquitoes. Not a fun place for family to camp anymore. You have to pay for all extras, swimming, putt-putt, bumber boats, water boggan, and half the time they're not running. Place is owned now by MHC/RV Resorts and is going down fast! Camped here Labor Day 2004 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2003
$20
If this place is a "resort" then Saddam Heussin should be considered a "Saint". This place is a joke, its like a nasty mobile home park. You have to pay for everything. If you want to fit in here, get a golf cart and paint it like Earnhardt Jr's #8 bud Chevrolet. This place could be a nice place if they would tow out all the mobile homes and do some landscaping. Its in a good location, but dont let that fool you, keep driving and sleep in a rest area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This place is more like a mobile home park than an RV resort. Our "site" turned out to be a little clearing on the side of the road, and of course one of the permanent "drunks" had parked his pickup on it. Luckily there was a women who knew whos truck it was and the guy looked po'd that we had interrupted his drinking. As the other reviewer wrote, watch the golf carts, there are hundreds of them. And you do have to pay for everything, Im surprised they dont charge you to breathe. Tons of permanent mobile homes, and many for sale. Luckily we used this as overnight stop, would have been better off to camp at a rest area off the highway or in a parking lot. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Nice campground/resort if your into paying for everything including the pool! It's $5.00 here, $5.00 there, and you don't get anything as part of your camping fee. Get their ~rate sheet~ cause their website and pamphlets DON'T have fees on them! You pay for swimming, PuttPutt, rental boats, fishing permits for "Lake Myer, state license is not enough, you even have to pay to put your own canoe in the lake! Sites are gravel and close together, the sewer hole for the campsite next to ours was under our picnic table bench. "GOLF CART CENTRAL" and they ALL thought they should have the right of way over people walking!! Lots of shade. of the 435 sites, I'd guess 300 are permanent, and at least 50 of them are for sale. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$34
Very hilly type camp ground, located on the lake. Big rigs or combo type (RV with dolly) hard to navigate. A few very high speed bumps to go over and a lot of little ones. Very helpful staff. We stayed there for memorial day week, and it rained all week. sewer outlet backed up because of all the rain, but staff pumped it out as soon as we called (caused by all the rain) Did not get a chance to use facilities and rec areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Most sites are wooded and shady. We would stay here again, but not next to the open vented un-airconditioned bath house(A little smelley at times). Most are permanent sites, but most are very well maintained. Lots of hills, so it's a little rough on bike riders. Golf carts are available from the pool. A very good band (Desert Moon) played on Saturday night. Lots of water activities for the family. Very nice office staff. Overall good experience. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com