220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Steele Creek Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (828) 433-5660
CGID2087

Steele Creek Park

Camp Information
Sites
300 +
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   5   7   5   4   8   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
This park is in an attractive destination for families seeking outdoor fun. Its remote location is not, however, suitable for over nighters and it is lacking in the usual facilities for RVers. No Verizon cell phone coverage. Friendly staff. Pretty spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
We have stayed here a few times during the week and had a great time. We hear weekends get crowded but not enough to avoid staying here. The water slide may be the fastest I've tried in a long time. Camping conditions were fine. Most good sites are backed up to Steele Creek, which you can also play in. A family friendly place that we will go back to more than once a season. Take some money. It does get pricey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Stayed for a weekend recently. Old. We were here a many years ago and nothing has changed or improved. Beach is nice but small. Stream is OK for wading, a lot of rocks, shallow, and very cold mountain water. Sites are tight. Feels like your neighbor is in your site with you practically. A lot of snakes in small streams. Saw two. Website says $32, but we arrived on weekend and found out then it was $38. Overpriced. Water slide is $10 per kid per day. Mini golf is $3 for very very old course on side of hill. Playground is three swings, nothing else. Bathhouses were not clean. Pool closed for repair. Didn't know that when we went. Drove up a narrow road to use pool, got 1/2 way up and rope across road. Had to back down. They could have put a sign at the entrance. Saved some trouble for people. Rained so firewood wet and smoke was terrible. Kids had fun but won't go back to Steele Creek. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Lots to do here. Hosts were really, really nice. We were disappointed in our site assignment as it was just a big grass field with RV's back to back to maximize income but with absolutely no privacy, no shade and hot, hot, hot. The night of our stay the entire facility lost all power. We ended up running generator from 3ish until we left the next morning at 9:00. Loss of power meant no water too, btw. We'd stay here again, especially if the kids were with us. There's just so much to do: swimming, music, water slides, putt putt, tubing, fishing and lots of places to hike. If you need privacy and trees, this isn't the place for you. If nice hosts and lots of things to do make up for that, then it's a good choice. BTW, there were some sites that looked a lot better (across the stream) but I assume they are for seasonal guests. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This was our first visit to Steele Creek. The campground is located on a series of creeks and streams, with quite a few waterfront sites. The beach area is nice and they have lots of activities for kids, including a water slide. However, the slide and putt putt course is an additional fee. They also charge an additional $3 per night per person for more than two people. The bath houses were hideous, the interior roads are mostly dirt, so when it rained, they were extremely muddy. The sites are also very close together and on weekends the place is PACKED! Staff was not very friendly either. We still enjoyed ourselves, but probably won't return to Steele Creek. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
I have been staying here for years and the campground is consistent. It is remote. The stream is nice. They have a big, high dive right into the stream. Cons: The Hosts and Staff are not overly friendly. They do not have cable TV and antenna service is limited. The area is home to a lot of snakes especially around the stream. In our weekend stay Mid-July we actually saw 6 snakes. Overall: The campground is nice and worth the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
About 14 miles northwest of Morganton, beautiful country and location. Very busy on weekends, no reservations, come early Friday if you plan to spend the weekend, lots of local folks with kids. Waterslide, small pool at bottom, nice sand beach on a creek with diving boards and a DEEP hole: COLD water! Had gospel music entertainment on Friday night. Gravel roads and sites, good water. Would like to stay 2-3 days. Basic rate $25, $3 per extra adult. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Steele Creek Park was very crowded. The campers were very close together. Even though our family had a good time, it seemed a little claustrophobic and very commercial. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
One of our favorite campgrounds. Kids and grandkids love this place. Only negative is the location being about 10 miles from town. First come, first serve on sites, but I've NEVER had a problem getting a site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
We spent nearly a week at this campground. Nice facility, a lot of expansion is planned. More shade trees in open fields would be nice. Wish we were offered some sites in the older section closer to swimming area and more shaded. If we return, we will be more selective in what area we wish to set up. Staff was friendly and bathhouses were well kept. Many activities to do nearby. We will come back to camp here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
The campground is nice. But in order to go swimming or play putt putt you have to pay for that everytime you want to swim or play . I think that should be included with the price for camping. I will not stay there anymore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
We have been going to this campground for a few years. We had always camped in the "older" area and this was GREAT! Close to the swim area, slide and pavilion area. If you are able to get in these sites there is great shade. The new area in in an open field with NO shade what so ever and gets VERY hot. BUT you do get great bathroom/shower area. The sites are also pretty close in the new area as well. Being first come first serve we have never had a problem on a regular weekend getting in. They have a dance Fri/Sat nights which everyone attends. The water slide is a little pricey and has to be paid each day. We never have paid to swim but the water hole is VERY cold and I never could get myself or my kids in. The old area has a great stream going through the park, but do watch out for snakes. I'll go back if I can get in the "old"part otherwise I will goo to a field closer to home. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
We have camped here for the past few years and keep going back since our son loves it. The lower camping area is the best place to be. Close to the VERY cold swim area, Very small pool, camping store and pavilion. The swim hole is shallow and is great for kids of all ages. The pool is very small for those looking for something a little warmer. The waterslide is the best part for the kids but expensive ($10 a day)for what it is. But the kids do love it! At night the pavilion area is the place to be whether it is for dancing, football, basketball this is where you will find everyone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This is a very large park with a stream running through it. The campground has sites for just about everyone. Some sites are the usual tight pull throughs and some do have 50 amp services. The lower sections have seasonal sites and a handful of monthly sites. This is a true big rig park; there are a large number of sites that you could fit 40' plus RV's in. You can find roomy sites, mine was well over 100' deep and plenty wide. The monthly sites can have a telephone line and high speed internet if you wish to get connected through the utility company just like you would in a house. The CG does not offer phone, wifi or cable. My sat dish worked very well though. There is no cell phone service in this area, if you want to stay a few months, a local phone line wasn't much trouble to get. The sites up front were easy to back into, lots of room for turning my big rig. The entrance is steep and tight but, not too bad. The climb out will test your truck if your pulling a 43' 5th like me. I stayed at a 50 amp back in site and it worked out well. Most of the park is full hook up 30 amp. I didn't try the smaller sites towards the back, they looked decent though. The park is not the best kept but, its probably the best in the area overall. It's a busy place in the summer and there are things to do, hiking, swimming, National Parks near by and there is Lake James too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$25
Huge campground, it is local for us. Great creek swimming and decent size sites. A lot of permanent campers in the summer, mostly families. Great family atmosphere. Kids have a ball! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
The kids loved this campground! There is a swimming hole with diving boards, and for small fees you can rent tubes, play miniature golf, and enjoy a waterslide. If you want the quiet section of the campground, turn to the right after entering (before crossing the bridge). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$25
Great Campground!. River swimming with diving boards. Tubing. Shallow river runs through campground. Perfect for kids. Saturday night music. Water slide.Swimming pool. Miniture golf. In NC mountains. Only bad thing was bathhouses were not clean. We will go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com