206564 User submitted reviews online!!
New Bern KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 70 user reviews. Phone: (252) 638-2556
CGID2088

New Bern KOA

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   9   10   10   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
We stayed here for two days and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful and easy to work with. Our site was located next to the pond and it was on the small side, but we had full hookups including cable TV. The WiFi was spotty, but it worked. It was raining the entire time we stayed, but the campground looked well maintained. There was an occasional train, but it was not disruptive. Would I recommend this park? Yes. Would we come back? Yes We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We camped with our camping club and the staff here was very accommodating. Our site was large and level. Campground was clean and well maintained. Pool was clean and refreshing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$54
This is a really nice campground. Pool and playground for kids, a nice fishing pier on the Neuse River. Restrooms and showers were very well kept. There was light rain much of the time we were there, but the sandy soil drained well. It's pricier than we are accustomed to paying, but very nice facilities and helpful, pleasant staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$60
This is the third time we have stayed here over the past five years and they just keep improving things. We stayed in a premium site and it had a nice patio, a fireplace, a table with umbrella and a firepit. The sites are all good length and looked to be very level. They have a nice pool and lots of things to do, and the staff is friendly and helpful. About the only negative is that their interior roads could use some work but overall this is a very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Friendly staff, nice sites, and amenities. Some construction areas. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$60
Very nice campground, clean facilities, very polite workers. Many activities for adults and children. Will recommend to fellow campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
This KOA has a great camp store/office and the personnel are extremely nice. They give you an escort to your site and help situate you on the site. Our site had a great patio with umbrella, wrought iron table/chairs and a chimney type fire pit. We had a wonderful view of the Neuse River. An extra added amenity of this campground is a dock/boat launch and rental of kayaks. Several sites seem to be occupied by "long term" campers which is getting to be the norm nowadays rather than the exception. Space between sites was adequate. All the sites I saw were very level. Road noise is almost non-existent. Be forewarned, however, there is a train trestle crossing the river within site of the campground and trains run late at night and early morning, as in around 4 o'clock. That was the biggest drawback to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
This is our 4th time staying at KOA New Bern. We have family in New Bern so we use KOA as a base of operation. We have never found it dirty or have been afraid to stay here. Hosts do a great job. They have a good staff also. Bathhouse by the cabins is always clean and I take showers there when I need more than a 6 gallon hot shower. The dock area is nice to walk to and sit down on the pier under a covered area while watching the Neuse River flow by. Dogs are welcome and they have nice area to take them off the leash. Roads could use some gravel to level them out. BUT that would be my only complaint. Nice new double lane highway US17 going by the campground with nice new entrance. It's easier to get in and out now than a year ago. We will be going back to KOA New Bern. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$65
Another predictably good entry into the KOA list of camps. This one is on a river and has a small dock which is nice. The dog runs are also very nice. The camp even offers a dog washing station. The only downfall in my opinion, is the location. The camp is not in the nicest part of New Bern. I didn't fell unsafe, but you are not far from some dicey retail shops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$50
This is one of the best KOA campgrounds we have every stayed at. Spend the extra money and get one of the premium pull through sites. They have nice patios with table and umbrella, fireplace and glider. Nice lawn in between sites. None of the sites are right on the river or has a view of the river because of the woods, but it is just a short walk to a nice dock and viewing area of the river. The non premium sites are much smaller and closer together and not suitable for a big rig. There was a nice pool and playground for the children, even a small catch and release pond. They are pet friendly with two fenced in dog areas, even a special bathing area with a raised tub to keep the puppies clean. My only disappointment is the campground is across the river from New Bern, so it is about a 10 minute drive into New Bern. The area is a bit industrial and there is road construction right now in front of the campground, but once inside it is just perfect. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Stayed for most of June in monthly space for $450, plus $30 electricity (metered). Very large clean restrooms and showers. Staff very friendly and available. Campground well maintained. Would recommend to others. Excellent Verizon cell service; free WI-FI. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Great time at New Bern KOA! Our site was spacious and good grass for kicking the soccer ball. We didn't have the concrete pad sites which would have been slightly more desirable just due to the dust factor! Campfires OK! Hay rides for kids, great playground. Nice big fields with a fenced off leash dog area too. We're already booked to go back in July! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$50
Great little park located across the river from downtown New Bern. Fishing pond is small but fun. I saw one bass and the owners stated they just stocked the pond last week. So in a few months it should be better. They had an Easter egg hunt and bingo. The staff was very friendly and had lots of activities. Great little campground to bring your family. I would come back to this campground anytime. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
Park staff was great. Park was very clean from the laundry ($2.00 each per wash & dry), showers and grounds. Cable TV, WIFI, water and electric were all fine. Concrete patio with glider, table and chairs, patio umbrella and chimenea. Dog run was nice but very small. Overall a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$41
We've camped here since 2003, and it's always neat, clean, and well cared for. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is laid back and comfortable. The dog park is a great asset as we bring our dogs. The park is convenient to many places. We will come back here again and again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
We really enjoyed this campground. We were assigned a nice level spot, escorted to the site, and our host stood by and chatted as I did the hook ups. Loved the dog park and wished we had brought our dog as we watched a Black Lab happily at play. The showers have just been remodeled and were nice, hot, and very clean. I topped off my LP before I left. The hosts and staff were all very friendly and helpful. We'll be back to this campground and bring our fishing poles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$55
Very nice campground (although, typically KOA pricing) with long level pull thru sites and good utilities. Very nicely kept grounds, lovely dock on the river. Friendly staff and easy access to the "city" of New Bern. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$58
We stayed there for a 1 nighter. The CG hosts were very nice. The campground was neat as a pin. A very nice fishing pier and fish pond with a fountain. Our rating is reflected by the high off season rate and the cost for a bundle of firewood. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$40
This park has a dock that goes out on the Neuse River. It is well maintained, spacious sites, clean and the dock adds something special to the overall impression. We would definitely stay at this park again. And New Bern is a very interesting and historic little town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
We had a premium/patio site with a concrete patio, fire chimney, glider, wrought iron table and chairs and lamp post. Extremely personable and accommodating front desk workers. Beautiful lake for fishing or boating. Plenty to do in the New Bern area. The downtown historic district shouldn't be missed. This is a wonderful destination spot where one can easily spend several days enjoying the area. Downtown is Tryon Palace and the newly opened (October 2010) History Center which is a must see. The painted bears and fire hydrants are special to this place. You just gotta go, it's a wonderful place. You won't be disappointed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
We stopped here to break up the trip from Shenandoah to South Carolina. It is a good spot and I wished we stayed a few extra days. The campsites near the river are nice. You can stroll 50 meters from your campsite and sit on the lovely riverfront. It is a nice campground with all amenities in good working order. A nice games room for the kids. New Bern is an interesting town and there is enough to do in the area to spend a 4 or 5 days. It is a charming southern town, similar, but much smaller than Charlotte SC. There are quite a few good restaurants. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Very well run park. Staff is friendly and very accommodating. Clean, nice dock with swings and beautiful views. New Bern is a secret to most people. Come and visit, you will love it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We stayed two nights at this park which had absolutely great staff. Park was well maintained; showers and restrooms were very clean. Sites were level and hookups were easily accessible. This is a quiet park and very customer orientated and pet friendly. WiFi was free and speed was excellent. Definitely on the stay again list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Extraordinarily friendly staff, very clean including daily scooping out of fire rings at sites, beautiful pier for free fishing & breezes. Easy access to sites for large motorhome. Five minute drive from historic downtown, heard rumors of available water taxi service but did not try. Excellent free Wi-Fi, at most distant RV site from office. Quiet nearby neighborhood for exercise walking or biking. Doggie-pot bags on posts all over the place, plus nice fenced dog run & dog wash. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$50
Very nice full featured KOA a short drive from historic New Bern. Excellent Wi-Fi and Cable. Be cautious about "Premium River View" sites - overgrowth essentially blocks all views - not worth the Premium. Very friendly and helpful staff. Sites were reasonably spaced. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2010
$36
The campground itself is very nice, providing you get one of the premium sites. Some other sites were close together. The last two visits I was unable to get adjoining sites as requested. Upon arrival for the weekend, the campground was never over half full. The desk help couldn't tell me why I couldn't get adjoining sites and didn't seem too concerned. Their reservation system is terrible. Stay with the premium sites because of their size and distance to the next site. Look at their site map and choose a good site, don't trust them to do it for you. There are railroad tracks across the street and I was woke up at 5:30 by its horn. Unusual. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
Rate includes taxes and KOA discount. One of our favorite parks with great facilities, CATV, WI-FI and restrooms and close to a very scenic and historic town. Friendly and helpful staff and well-stocked store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$58
This is a nice park if you are in one of the dozen or so premium sites. They are long and wide, have good size patios and are fairly level packed gravel. The other sites are short and very narrow and are not suitable for anything over 35'. The park is clean and in a good location but the interior roads are fairly narrow and could use some work. If you reserve one of the premium sites make sure that you get written confirmation of the site number otherwise you may not get the site you requested. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
This KOA has some nice sites available, but some small ones, too. Make sure you know what site you reserve or you might be sorry. The sites were level, water pressure a little low, but sufficient. Sites with concrete patio pads are available. There is a pier on the river front for fishing. You can rent paddle boats there. People at the campground were friendly. We will stay here again, but we will make sure we get one of the better sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
We really enjoyed this campground. We were there for Labor Day. Had a beautiful site. River was nice but New Bern had had a big fish kill so fishing was out of the question. The Wi-Fi was iffy at times. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
We really like this campground- the setting is great, the pier and water access to the river for kayaking is easily accessible and beautiful. The sites are well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bathhouse is clean, the pool nice, the playground up-to-date, and there is a little catch & release pond. The riverfront setting is close to New Bern, and about an hour from the ocean (we enjoyed both when we stayed). Overall, the campground is quite nice. We did look at this site to stay in again over Labor Day, but found the price just too much- it was easily the most expensive campground we explored in the central coastal area of NC, which is why we gave it an 8. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
Based on nearly 35 years of camping, I feel the 10 ratings on this campground are a little high. BUT...that said; this is certainly an above average KOA. The store is well stocked and new. There is a boat dock and a beautiful sunset on the Neuse River. They offer premium patio sites with chiminea, swinging chairs, and umbrella topped tables. The sites are level. But, one set of toilets that we used were a bit dated and the pool only goes to 4ft. Additionally, the pool DOES not offer steps, only a ladder which make it difficult for the elderly or disabled to get in. When I compare the landscape and facilities to a CG such Willow Tree Creek or Normandy Farms, it's still only an 8. But, it is a VERY good Campground though...well worth the visit and central to area attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$55
This is a spotless campground. The showers, especially ones near the laundry were hardly used and were immaculate. The staff was super friendly. There is an awesome pier on river, amenities for kids (playground, tether ball, swimming pool) and the dog park was an incredible surprise. To have a grassy fenced area and other fenced area with doggy exercise equipment was such a treat for our dog. Dog parents were very respectful and area was clean. The Camp store has lounge area with games and free coffee. Only issue we had was why we were charged for kids AND charged another $15 a night for the boys to sleep in their tent. We would have all slept in camper if we knew we were going to be charged $75 extra for 3 nights of boys sleeping in their tent. (equals $25 extra per night with $10 for 2 kids and then $15 for tent). I think either one charge or another (people or tent) but not both. We could have rented 2 lots and it would have only cost $5 more and would have been worth the space so each site would have 1 adult, 1 child and no additional fees for pup tent. The staff was very receptive to my inquiry over pricing and suggested I follow up with owners, which I will. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
A very nice campground. Campsites have easy access for long fifth wheels. There were many families with children over weekend enjoying pool and fishing in the "Catch & Release" pond. Staff was very helpful and friendly. As with most KOA's, it's a little expensive. Id say it is the best bet for visiting New Bern. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
The camp site map is outdated and some sites are outdated, a few sites are now cabins but prime tent sites now have water and electric. We stayed on one of the regular tent sites with electric and water. Campsite had a gravel area for tent, picnic table and combo grill/firepit. The newer prime tent sites are very nice. They have a grass area for tents, water and electric hookups, grill, firepit, raised picnic table with umbrella and waterfront view. The catch and release pond is small and over fished but river is very nice for fishing. The CG offers a small pool and playground. This is a small CG but nice kept. The RV sites are mostly pull through with all hook ups. Large RV sites have a brick patio. We are planning to return but on the prime tents sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Campground in excellent condition. Only gravel site I have ever pulled through that was totally level. Wi-Fi access excellent. Staff excellent and the campground facilities are spotless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Great campground with a wonderful staff. Everyone was helpful and courteous. At night we walked down to the dock by the river. A pleasant place be. During the day and one evening we went to the city of New Bern. A must see. Very charming. We took the tour one morning and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is a campground that I would return to as well as New Bern itself. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We normally do not stay at KOA's as we feel they are overpriced-hence the 9 rating. However, we checked into this campground for 2 days and eventually re-registered for an additional 2 days. A great campground, close to everything we wanted and very well landscaped and maintained. Nice walkway to the dock leading out on the river. We definitely will stay here again. A nice pert was if we registered for 2 nights we got a free night at another owners' park, which we used in the Wilmington KOA. That park was nice also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$65
We stayed here on a shakedown cruise for our new 5er. We had stayed in the Wilmington NC KOA (same owners) several times, so our expectations were high. We were not let down and will definitely be back. This is a very clean campground with some very nice, level, long pull through sites with large patios, patio furniture, and fire rings. The sites near the river have a view of the river, though it is a few hundred yards away. There is a large dock and boat ramp on the river as well. All of the hookups were as advertised, with good water pressure and very fast Wi Fi (great reception and we were the farthest spot from the office) The staff was fantastic - even helped me hookup when I pulled in. All of the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. The only reason this park is not a 10 is that the sites next to the entrance are subject to a fair amount of highway noise. While we could not hear it in the back, it might be an issue for those that stay up front. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$36
The New Bern KOA is one of the best campgrounds we have been to. Everyone is so nice. The have a nice pool, dog park, clean, nice laundry and the park is very clean and beautiful. We will always stay at the New Bern KOA when we are in New Bern NC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
November 2008
$59
Stayed here three nights in the cottage and used this as a base camp for our sightseeing trips in the area. The river front is beautiful and as soon as the wetland growth is cut down a bit will be much more visible throughout the park. They are planning to do this in January, 2009. Unfortunately, the cottage and lodges are at the front end of the park near a very busy highway and we heard traffic pretty much all the time. For some reason the heater in the cottage is extremely loud and actually woke me from a sound sleep on a few occasions. Sounds like a wind tunnel. stayed at another KOA campground afterwards in a lodge and this was not a problem at all. Campground hosts are very friendly. The cottage was very clean as was the park itself. I did however notice that the camp sites were very small and I felt that if I had my motorhome with me I would probably be unhappy with this situation. There appears to be plenty of room for a large rig to park but the little yard areas are narrow and too close to the other campsites. All in all I might be inclined to stay another night here while passing through the area. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
This is a beautiful campground with just the right number of trees and spacious level sites. There is a friendly staff, and everything is nice and clean and well kept. I would have given it a 10, but the pool was covered with a scruffy green cover held down with oil drums which looked awful. Other campgrounds we visited in North Carolina still had their pools open, which looked much more attractive even if they are too cold to swim in! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$31
Super nice people work there -- very helpful. The location on the river is very nice. There is a nice dock with two swings to enjoy the view. There were several bathrooms (small, but adequate). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$54
This KOA is pricey, but for good reason. It is one of the nicest parks I have ever stayed in. We stayed in a premium site which included concrete patio, iron patio set with umbrella, cast iron chimenia, and 12 volt lighting around the edge of the patio. The campground has it's own boat launch and dock with benches for enjoying the view. This was the 2005 KOA Presidents award winner park, and with good reason. The staff was friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$45
This was by far the best KOA that we have ever camped in. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Great amenities. We would have liked to swim in the pool, but, closed @ 6pm. Almost worth the cost for the night, but KOA's are expensive anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$70
Best campground we have ever been in. We had one one of the deluxe patio pull thru sites for the July 4 weekend. Site had patio table with umbrella and 4 chairs, glider, fire place, and patio accent lighting. Park staff were always helpful and extremely friendly. Lots of kid friendly activities during weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
While this Park is on the expensive side it is on the Nuese River, with a place to dock your shallow water boat, and a boat ramp. They have a nice pool, but it is flooded with screeming, running, splashing, kids. For adults the pool does have some Adults Only hours. The Park is just across the river from the Town of New Bern, and just over an hour drive to the coast. The management team was fantastic ! We will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$51
We have camped at this campground several times over the past year and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves each and every time. The staff always makes you feel welcome and the campsites are always clean & level. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$79
River view sites not really river view. New EPA rules keep the area from the campground to the shore line from being cut, so you only see the underbrush. Patio sites were great, I loved the concrete site with a double glider, table with 4 chairs and the mode lights around the concrete. Plenty of room with slides out and awning out for fun. Bathhouses were always clean and supplied. Patio area around around office was nice. This was Mother's Day weekend and the camp ground staff went out of their way to make it special for Mom's and their families. Free breakfast Sunday before church services, this was nice for the moms. I would stay here again when I go to New Bern. Diesel pumps and gas station within one mile of entrance to campground. Around 4-5 miles to all the shopping you would need. Historic downtown New Bern 2-3 miles away. Camp staff were on top of everything, Pat was a great hostess. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$45
We took advantage of their buy two nights get the third free. Staff was courteous and very helpful. We chose a patio site and enjoyed the patio especially after the rain. Quiet hours were observed by all and that included the BSA (Boy Scouts of America) troop tent camping nearby. Will make this a future stop when we return to the New Bern area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$65
Park is nice. Staff got rude when a visitor showed up and accidentally exceeded the speed limit. Sites were OK. If you were willing to pay up to a $100 you could have a nice site. We probably wont be back there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$85
Campground is very clean and staff members are very friendly. Lots of activities for children/teens. Beautiful view from waterfront. Will definitely visit again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$47
As others have said, a very friendly staff and a meticulously maintained and equipped facility. As one poster said, the water view is across a marsh and barely viewable. We paid $47 in Feb for a water view site, not one of the fancy paved patio sites! This seems absurd for a non-resort location. While it is a superb facility and staff, it is not worth $47 in Feb (or anytime). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$40
Excellent site. Friendly staff. Very nice site/ Will return if we are that area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$45
This is a very clean, nice campground. The staff was fabulously friendly and wonderful. The site was large and level. The COMPLIMENTARY pancake breakfast was a very nice treat. The pool, fishing pond, pier, and even exercise cabin were great. Our only complaint was that our "riverview" site really didn't have a view of the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
We were assigned a great pull through site with a patio, fire pit and furniture. Nice dock on the Neuse River with fishing and pedal boats. The fishing was more like worm killing, but that was me, not the KOA. Camp personnel were friendly and kept the park very clean. We were going to use the pool, until I found ducks swimming in it after dark. Yuk! There is a small fishing pond for the kids. Facilities were clean and well equipped. Great place to base camp for visiting New Bern. Go see the old hardware store downtown. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$55
Great campground. Lots of activities for those inclined, level gravel sites with plenty of room. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$60
First time we have camped at this KOA. We took advantage of the one night free weekend and chose one of the premium sites that had a paved patio, cushioned glider/seat, table with umbrella and fire pit. We also took our kayaks as there is a nice boat ramp and pier area in the campground that is on the Neuse river. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The cable system was great and the wifi also worked well. Historic downtown New Bern is about a ten minute drive away. We would definitely return to this campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$27
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$55
This is a great campground whether overnighting or for an extended vacation. It is conveniently located for a day trip to Morehead, Beaufort or Atlantic Beach. There is also a lot to do in New Bern itself. The campground itself is in excellent condition with packed gravel for the roads and sites. Patio sites are available with a nice paved patio, swing, table and chairs and a fire pit. The big rig sites are long and level with a fire pit. There are nice water view sites for tents that have water and electric with a nice patio with a picnic table with an umbrella! What a refreshing find. The view from the water is to die for. It has a fantastic sunset view and also a pier with limited boat slips available. We wish to go back very soon and also visit for a lot of trips. Wish we had found it sooner. Did not visit the bathhouse but there is a small cabin with a treadmill and exercise bike for those who wish to work out. The campground store is new with limited groceries and gifts available. Thanks for a great and memorable weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
We only stayed here one night. It was a lovely campground, except for the freight train that goes by several times a night. At 4 am the train kept blowing the whistle and woke us all up. My husband said he heard the train at midnight, 2 am and I also heard it at 3:30 am. I just think its a shame as the campground was very nice. Couldn't understand why the train kept blowing its horn over and over at 4 am. Don't plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$50
Nice, quiet, lovely campground. Campground looks like it went through a major renovation because everything looks updated and new. The landscape was so nice and neat that in some instances the mowers became a nuisance but was a good trade off. The cabin we stayed in was impressively new looking. Was large, had air and accommodated our pet. Campground is small in comparison to the others we have been to but the RV sites were large including the sites for cabins. All sites seem to be level matching the terrain. Was able to erect an over the picnic table screened in canopy. Driveway was nice, large, and well kept. The cabin had a lovely front porch with a swing. The porch had enough room to leave our fishing and swimming equipment out without looking messy. We stayed during the week so missed most of the activities. Did enjoy a cooked breakfast at the enclosed recreation area, and watched a country band. Store was well stocked with essentials yet was short of a lot of grocery type items. Had a nice dimly lighted pier and was able to see the sun set. Waterway was absolutely beautiful. The pier was great for fishing. Has a nice well manicured fish and pitch lake where the kids was able to catch real fish. Both bathrooms were the cleanest of which one is hotel quality. Had a nice sized pool, basketball with adjustable goal for smaller kids (not paved), volley ball court, and a playground. Enjoyed on site camp fires. The cabins are well shaded whereas the RV sites were lightly shaded overall. Called for reservations but when checking in had complications. We were a party of six with a pet. The pet friendly cabins only could accommodate four. The owners were flexible enough to allow us to stay in a pet friendly cabin for four otherwise the dog had to be put up during our stay—nice compromise. Due to personal business issue I had to leave one day early, the staff was generous enough to refund one day’s stay. It seems that there were more seniors there than expected. The fact my kids did not find many kids to play with was not the fault of the campground. Overall the staff was very nice and helpful. Rate includes a party of six, cable, and a pet less KOA discount which was an excellent value. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
This used to be one of our favorite campgrounds. New owners have taken over and it seems like they are catering more to the over 55 crowd. When we went here in 2005 there were events going on most of the day for the younger campers and that is one of the things that has kept us coming back. I have heard since we were here over Memorial Day weekend that they have started to incorporate activities for the youngsters. We stayed with 4 other families and must admit that the staff was friendly and helpful at all times. My camping unit had a power issue and the staff worked with me and helped isolate the problem and then even helped with fixing it. The staff is doing a lot with this facility and with some more activities for the youngsters my rating of 9 would have gone to a 10. We will be back since the owners make you feel welcome and also ensure you are happy while you are here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$40
Overall the park is beautiful and well taken care of. Our only suggestion is that the showers in the main building need a shelf of some kind in the shower itself to hold soap and shampoo etc. We were very pleased and would definitately come back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$33
I have never given a park a 10, but everything about this one is great! The previous reviews say it all and I can only add that the town of New Bern is a gem of quaint perfection to visit. This year it was a two-night stop in a 4,000-mile trip; next year it will be a destination all its own. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$45
Great location and well maintained park. Great management who have a real interest in making the park fun, clean and safe. Toilets and showers were cleaner than any I'd seen before and in A1 condition. Watch out for 6am train. The driver really likes to let you know he's there We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$34
This was a very pleasant campground. The store was new, clean and well-stocked. The staff was very helpful. Some of the sites were a little short for a longer rig. Good wifi signal at our site. Experienced several bouts of low voltage, this was the only real negative to this park. We would return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$40
I have been to New Bern KOA twice this year. The first time quite by accident since I was late in reserving a site for Memorial Day weekend. The new owners of this campground have done a awesome job. The Campground is right off of Highway 17 and the only negative thing I can say is that there is now warning before you come upon the campground. I did a power slide with a trailer behind my van trying to make the driveway without doing a U-Turn. The Campground is small and everyone is so friendly. By the time we left the campground we were so impressed by the staff and the park we made reservations for July 4th weekend. July 4th weekend we showed up and the temperature was in the high 90's and as soon as I set up I found out my A/C was not working. Not only did the staff spend about 45 minutes inside of my hot trailer troubleshooting but fixed the problem and when I tryed to pay them they just acted like this was normal routine and would not take any payment. My kids had a blast at the pool and the special events that the staff hosted and I really feel sorry for one of the owners since my daughters friend while trying to hit the Piniata took the owner out instead, but he took it all in stride. We have made numerous friends at this family friendly campground and are now planning numerous group outings. I will return again and again there is no place better to spend a July 4th weekend!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
Excellent campground and very clean. The sites are large. The pool and playground are wonderful. I would return to this campground if I were in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$38
The above rates are for in season, full hookup, 30amp. This campground was just renovated this year. We camped here in March of 2004 in a 27' TT. The sites are clean and level. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a nice playground with new equipment. The pool was being completely redone while we were here, but it will be nice when it is finished. There is a trail to the river from the campground, with tent sites along the trail. The new owners told us they had just obtained the permits to rebuild the dock area at the river. They plan to eventually have kayak rentals and other activities. Overall this is a very nice, clean, comfortable campground. Only negative is that it is right off of a busy highway, and there is some traffic noise, but it was not terrible. We plan to camp here again this summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com