223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Hagan Stone City Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (336) 641-2090
CGID2095

Hagan Stone City Park

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   8   7   7   10   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Nice simple campground. Bathrooms are dated but kept clean. Only negative I have for this campground is that there are no sewer connections, but there are 2 dump stations onsite. Lots of hiking trails to check out and just a good place to getaway from everything and enjoy nature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This park is a 15 minute drive from Greensboro proper, but the rate can't be beat compared to other options in this area. There is 50A service in a mostly sunny area, and 30A in more shaded areas. One problem with the sunny areas, at least in the cooler months, is that the sites have little to no gravel. If it rains, you can easily get stuck pulling out. This is the only park this has been an issue and its happened twice. If I had a 4X4 this wouldn't have been an issue, but one of my two times even then it would have been a problem. One warning - I arrived on Thursday for a 3 night stay and was informed there wasn't any sites available, despite several being unoccupied. Apparently you can reserve sites if you reach a minimum number sites, and the park was sold out which left me high and dry. Although you cannot reserve one site, calling ahead just might be in your best interest. Be prepared to leave a message, and the office staff is often out working around the park. Having said all this, I really like this park and what it has to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
Nice quiet, remote get-a-way. Not near anything or convenient for travelers. Soft grass sites in field were water logged after rain; shared water connections. No shade, would be hot in summer, no sewer connections, no wi-fi, or cable TV. The few wooded sites in a separate loop were small. Good for a short term stay although some traveling workers appeared to be staying much longer. Busy city, day use park with many non-campers around and driving through, no gate house or ranger check in station. Entry gate closed at dark. You are just on your own with other campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
With another family, we decided to take a weekend camping trip for the start of winter. Hagan-Stone Park was relatively close and seemed to have many amenities for the family. We were not disappointed. We were the only two camping in the wooded area. While the sites were small, we did not mind as we were alone. The playground in the campground was a nice size with a big field beside it (the playground on the other side of the park was wonderful and completely accessible). There was firewood available at the campground, and was needed with the cold nights. We enjoyed the many hiking trails and numerous geocaches in the park. The rangers were very nice and allowed us to have after hours access to the campground. Our only negative was the bath house. While clean and well stocked, the hot water was limited. Overall, it was a fun weekend and nice campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
This is a small county park. It is peaceful and pretty quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wooded sites (section B) are tight for a bigger rig. If you have a large rig, I recommend camping in the field (section C), and you will need your own fire ring for a fire there. We came in on Tuesday before Memorial Day and got 1 of 2 shaded sites left that could handle a 30 ft travel trailer. The wooded loop is too tight to get a large rig around (we are almost 53 ft and barely got through without hitting any trees). Sites in the woods are not very level either. The field is much more level. The wooded sites have very aggressive bugs, i.e. wood roaches that will jump on you and your trailer. I spent the whole time worrying about that. It has a wonderful playground and lots of trails. The pool is pay by the day, they had a pH problem so they opened half of the pool? Another nice thing they do is let you come in and store your trailer/motorhome not hooked to electric or water for $5/day for a few days before your stay. This is something they do instead of reservations. We would stay here again but would stay in a different spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
This campground was a very convenient stop-over on our way south in January. It was mid-week and hardly anyone was camped there so we had our choice of campsites. We noticed that if it had been full it would have been really crowded as the sites are close together. Lots of walking space for the dog, friendly ranger, good restrooms. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is a great place to stay. No golf carts running up and down be side your site. The bathrooms are very very clean and the park doesn't look like a trailer park. The staff was friendly. A great place to stay! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$18
Hagan Stone is actually a county owned campground now. It is simple, yet clean and has a good reputation. It is close to where I live and is a good alternative to camp and not spend much on gas. You can either camp in the wooded area and have a big roaring fire, or camp out in the grassy where most of the motorhomes park and have your fire in the fireplace under the picnic shelter. Hagan Stone has active rangers who patrol and are always on the lookout for security issues (which are few and far between) however, it is nice to know they are there. I give Hagan Stone Park in Pleasant Garden, NC a really high mark. It is close to activities, groceries, shopping, etc... Good place to stay overnight or longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
Tent camped here in October. Wooded area; the primitive sites were nice. Included a picnic table and grill/fire ring. The group camping area was nearby, which is why we went . (To check it out for our youth groups.) This park offers a lot of trails and a playground, so it would be good for a youth group. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
Great stop for one night traveling. Larger rigs should stay in C or low number B sites. Water shared between 2 sites and very low water pressure, even in bathrooms, which are older but clean. We stayed in a fifth wheel and got one of the few sites with shade. Good value and we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$19
Our 3 Autistic boys love the playground, had very roomy sites with plenty of open areas to play. Although not full hookup, 2 dump stations are easily accessible. We camp here often in our travel trailer and plan to again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$19
We really enjoyed this park. The "B" sites are very shaded and 30 amp. The "C" sites are in a grassy field and have 50 amp service but little shade. We backed our 42 foot 5th wheel into B6 and were surrounded by lush trees and bushes. We'd suggest sites B1-B6 if you can use 30 amp service. The playground was very nice for the kids and fireflys floated around the grassy field each night. The five lakes are filled with turtles and fish. You can't go wrong picking this park. There are half a dozen geocaches in the park too! There is a laundromat and grocery about 8 miles away. Downtown Greensboro is about 15 minutes away at most. The 30 amp sites are $19 for non-residents, 50 amp sites are $20 for non-residents. Residents get about 5 dollars off (assuming resident means NC). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
We were fortunate to find one of what looked like 2 level sites in the wooded area for larger rigs open when we arrived. Easy set up there. The other wooded sites appeared much smaller and unlevel. It was strange that there was only one water hook up for every two sites. Fortunately we always have a splitter on board and lots of hose. We were going to stay three nights but left one day early because the train whistle blowing in the middle of the night was not conducive to our sleep. We like to sleep with windows open. A very nice park grounds though! Except for the nearby train we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
After reading the previous reviews giving this campground a 9 and 10, I wonder what those people would give to a campground that has full hookups, cable TV, paved sites, etc. That being said, this is a very nice campground. The gravel entrance road to the campground is a little rough. There are only a couple sites in the shaded area that are big enough for bigger rigs. We stayed in the main loop. The sites were grassy and fairly level. One water spigot is shared between 2 sites so bring a splitter and extra water hose. With a multiple slide RV, you will find the sites a little tight if you are between neighbors. There are 2 dump stations. There is a small playground in the campground area. Within a short walk in the park, there are fishing lakes, canoe rentals, and miniature golf. The canoe rentals and miniature golf are seasonal. They do not have a swimming pool; however there is a public pool a short ways away that you can pay to use. The whole park is kept up very well. We have camped here many times and will continue to do so. I give it a 7 because of the lack of some amenities but it is a great deal at $17 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$16
This "Greensboro City Park" is a real treat located away from the urban sprawl of Greensboro. Sites are reasonably sized and are located in both wooded and clear areas, giving you a choice of shade or sun. The bath house was clean. We will return when in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$18
This is a great park with a fantastic campground. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and the water was HOT! Campfires are allowed and wood is available onsite. Shaded sites are beautiful and they also have a nice covered area for gatherings. 400+ acres with ball fields, biking & hiking trails, picnic shelters, several lakes, pool in the summer, etc. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$15
City of Greensboro park. Small but very nice. Large grassy sites in field and some sites in woods. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com