218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Falls Lake SRA / Rolling View Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (919) 676-1027
CGID2096

Falls Lake SRA / Rolling View Campground

Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   9   3   10   7   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$19
The signage and directions are very unclear and make it hard to find this forested campground. It is very peaceful and almost empty this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
We've always been big fans of the NC State Parks system, and we will continue to use them. It's unfortunate that budget cuts are really noticeable. The cleanliness of the bathhouses is the lowest I've ever seen at this park. I would have had to have been very desperate to use the showers. Some of the sites no longer have gravel covering them as weeds have taken over. That said, the sites are very generous in size and private. We had a great time, and we will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
A very nice place to stay. Nestled in the woods, just a short walk down to the lake. We got fooled by our GPS when approaching, luckily my wife glanced a sign reading "Rolling View". Following for about 10 miles we finally found the entrance to the park. Nobody in the rangers office. However, the campground's map showed our reserved site. It turned out to be a bit narrow but nicely arranged staircase to a private picnic area. Very quiet and if there would have been other campers, we still would have had a lot of privacy since the sites are well apart from each other with trees and shrubs in between. There is no Wi-Fi or cable here and no chance to catch any signals under the tree canopies. Definitely worth coming back and staying again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
A great place to "get away from it all". Very secluded, private sites amidst tall trees and thick foliage. Very spacious and level sites, all well maintained. Wide roads for easy maneuverability. Nice beach areas with swing sets. Not the most friendly or helpful staff at the entrance. They failed to give us a campground map, then handed us one sullenly (no apology) when we returned to get it. Note that what appear to be "waterfront" sites may not have a view due to thick trees between the site and the water. No Wi-Fi or cable, which is either a detriment or a good opportunity to truly "disconnect" from the modern world! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$24
Have traveled extensively throughout the U.S. and have stayed in many state parks and this is the ONLY one we've ever encountered where the gates are LOCKED at 6PM or 8PM..depending in the time of year. When we questioned the reasons for this bizzare rule, we told told it was for "security" purposes! This is a huge lake and the camping area is easily accessible by boat. Campers wanting to be outside the park after the curfew hours, either drive to the gate and leave their vehicle unattended, ripe for theives... or arrange to be picked up and WALK in the dark back to their campsite, which for senior citizens is a hazardous 1/2 mile or more hike. We know of many campers who are avoiding this park because of these rules..causing lost revenue for the state. We will not be coming back unless the rules are changed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
4201 Baptist Road, Durham NC 27703; 10 miles north of Raleigh and 12 miles east of Durham. Part of 38,000 acre Falls Lake State Recreation Area located around Falls Lake Reservoir. Reservations http://www.ncparks.gov/Visit/parks/fala/reserve.php Fire ant warning at entry; we walked loop B, saw no fire ants. If fire ants are present, wear shoes and socks. This is our idea of a perfect campground. Basic amenities include water, 30 amp power, our favorite steel fire ring, picnic table, rest rooms/showers, playground. No golf course, swimming pool, games, “resort activities”, leaf blowers, street or highway noise. Dogs don’t bark much because the sites are not jammed together; the only sounds are wind through the pines and bird songs. Large, widely spaced sites; some shaded and some in the open. A few pull throughs. Easy parking at all sites in loop B; no obstructing trees, rocks, or posts. Recycling at bathrooms; aluminum, glass, plastic. Good TV and Verizon signals. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$23
This is a beautiful campground. Rolling hills, forested campsites, and nice walking trails through the woods. It had been raining quite a bit so several sights were extremely wet and unusable. Carefully check the description of the lots before you book in a travel trailer. Some have a considerable slope which will make leveling difficult. The gates are locked at 6:00 p.m., so make sure you are back or prepare for a hike. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
We found Rollingview Campground on the Falls Lake State Park web site to be open conveniently for our Thanksgiving week stay in the Raleigh area. The sites were very large and accommodating. Each with it's own picnic table, and campfire ring. One problem is that they close the front gates at 6pm, so you either get in by 6pm or park and walk to your site. What was even more surprising is when someone came knocking on our door in the middle of the night to ask how to operate the front gate. Obviously he was unaware of the 6pm curfew. We were a little disappointed there were no sewer hookups at the sites, but we learned quickly how to utilize the park's dump station. The lake itself was very pretty, unfortunately extremely low water level due to the the nations draught. The scenic ride around campground gave us quite a bit of joy, to see the fall foliage. We were blessed with gorgeous weather. We did notice that the temperature at Rollinview was a bit colder than in Wake Forest (about 10 degrees). Route 98 from Wake Forest to Rollingview is also a beautiful, scenic drive approximately 25 mins/15.7 miles to the Baptist Rd. turn. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We did not stay here, but I drove through scouting it out as a possible camping spot for my family, as we live fairly local. The sites are spacious, with more than half the sites offering W/E hookups. I walked through one bath house, and it was very clean with clean, hot showers. Several sites have a lake view, and a few have their own little path down to the lake. I saw park rangers patrolling the campground, so that is a plus. There is a boat ramp and a swim area, so water activities are plentiful. We will be staying there later this year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$10
$20 is regular price but we had a senior discount. Rolling View has a number of sites where you can use your satellite dish. Holly Point does not. All sites are very rustic. Security was excellent. We saw the ranger about 10 times a day. The ranger carried a 9mm pistol which we welcomed. We also saw the Sheriff on occasion. We felt very safe even though the sites are remote. Restrooms were not very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Very nice park with large private sites. Not much to do but relax and enjoy the outdoors which is a nice change of pace sometimes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$20
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Roads are paved and sites are wide and gravel. There was some mud on sides of roads as it had rained. Larger rigs will have difficulty backing into many sites without leaving roadway. Electric service was 30 amp and water at site. Dump station available. Some sites have lake view, but most don't. Restrooms modern & clean. In winter the front gate was locked at 6pm, which necessitated a 20 minute walk in a cold and dark park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
What a wonderful campground! We were in the area visiting colleges during spring break and used the campground as a base. The park rangers we spoke to were nice and friendly. One morning they came around to make us aware of a severe storm warning for the area. It was a bit of hike to Raleigh and Durham, but we knew that prior to making reservations. The campground did appear to be under the flight path for Raleigh as we noticed / heard a number of planes on approach. We didn't swim in the lake as it was too cold. The sites were huge. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Great place close to triangle. Wooded campsites close to lake. Lots of privacy. Easy walk to swimming area, fishing pier. Bathhouses very clean. No frills. Great outdoors kind of place. Staff very helpful. Overall, very well maintained. Will be back for close to home camping. Yes, they search the trash cans, but that helps to keep the place safe and eliminates the partying. Thanks to the staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$17
Very nice state park. Large sites with privacy. Some sites with lake view. Hiking trails, swimming, and boat launching. Falls lake is a very large lake. Staff was very friendly and helpful. In NC state parks they lock the gates at night. Has sewer dump. Will go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$17
We camped on a July weekend and the campground was practically empty. The lake is down over 5' so there was no swimming and very little boating. We had a great site with a view of the lake and lots of privacy. Most all of the sites are very spreadout with lots of shade. Clean restrooms and very well kept up. Did not like the gates locking from 9:00 pm until 8:00 am the next morning. Means you may have to walk in to your site if you miss closing time. Will visit again. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$17
A nice state park right on a lake at a great price-point but the motor boats get rather noisy very early in the morning. Also... we found the campground Nazis over-patrolling the park and even digging through garbage cans looking for evidence of alcohol (which is not permitted in state parks). We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com