223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Cape Hatteras KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 67 user reviews. Phone: (252) 987-2307
CGID2098

Cape Hatteras KOA

Camp Information
Sites
314
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$92



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   10   7   9   8   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$92
We had one of the new deluxe patio sites. We enjoyed being closer to the pool. The site had plenty of room and we would request that site in the future. As always we had a great time and were sorry to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$105
Pros: Everything is brand new. Nice boardwalk to get to the beach (no crossing roads) Plenty of stuff for kids to do/play on. Nice pool Staff was nice (even delivered ice) Cons: No shade $100+ a night Constant wind (welcome to the Outer Banks) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$65
Gave this park a 7 cause there is a lot to do here; so much is new, including playground and new sites with cement pads and grass laid. This is going to be a nice resort with many different levels of accommodation, and the water is east and west just a few hundred steps. We were only here overnight and it was windy, cold, and rainy. They "tried us out" on one of the new cement pad sites so we were further from the beach but that was OK as we were not going to the beach anyway. Close enough to walk to several restaurants, and since we didn't want to unhook the toad for the night, it was great to have a pull-through. Not all campgrounds have this option. If we are back this way, we will certainly consider this park at which to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$62
Rate reflects KOA 10% Membership discount and taxes. This is our 3rd stay at this KOA, and it won’t be our last. We love it here off season. A beautiful beach is only steps over the dunes accessible by wooden walkways. Sites are sand and gravel – we have never had one that wasn’t level. There was a torrential downpour during our stay, our site got flooded and we had to move, so probably a good idea to request a site that does not flood when reserving. The bathhouses are immaculate with large private bathrooms with a shower. Our dog loves it that he can go to the beach, and that there is a small dog park where he can be off leash. The Camp Store is very well stocked, even off season , with reasonable prices. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The Wi-Fi worked well for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$60
This is a big KOA on the ocean in Cape Hatteras, but if you think you'll be able to see the surf from your rig, think again. Most sites, even those closest to the beach, are on the shore side of a high dune, so the beach is a short walk, but not visible. Sites are sand and gravel and ours wasn't level. (I'm not sure where a previous reviewer saw concrete pads. Maybe under the sand, but not at our site.) During our stay the Wi-Fi never connected to the web. Restrooms are individual full baths. This park was virtually destroyed a year ago by Sandy, and the rebuilt version is very nice. Sites are wide with reasonable space in between. Pool/spa is terrific and there's an on-site restaurant which will deliver to your site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$56
Park was very nice. Nice big sites with concrete pads and easy hook-ups. Office staff very friendly and helpful. External and internal pool and hot tub was a very nice addition. Beach was nice and very easy to access. Not very crowded during Mid- October. Like it better that the KOA down the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$89
We stayed here 3 years ago and it was very nice so we decide to return. We found an almost new campground - they must have been wiped out by Irene . The price is very high and they even had the nerve to charge a extra 5.00 for my dog . I spent a long day at the beach and came back to find a nasty note taped to my coach door saying to come to office right away . When I handed the person at the desk the note she very abruptly told me that I was supposed to check out . I then showed her my receipt showing her I was paid in full for 3 days . The response was not apologies, it was a very dirty look with a nasty response of we are very busy and must have made a mistake . This place is now very high priced and clearly has no idea about customer service. We will not be returning to the Cape Hatteras KOA . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$100
This has been our favorite KOA park by far. It is essentially new due to rebuild after hurricane damage. Pool and amenities are clean. Had a back in site at dunes that was very nice. Can't see ocean from site, but can definitely hear it. Waterfront sites have covered picnic shelters and covered swings facing ocean. Only bathrooms we went in were next to beach access and they were clean enough for beach bathroom. It rained off and on our first day and almost the entire first night. Some roads held water but I didn't see any sites with standing water. We caught a little sewage smell for a brief while on second night that we think was coming from bathhouse vent? A little pricey as we are coming to expect with KOA but we haven't been let down by the quality yet. Will come back again and it's worth the extra cost to be waterfront. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
We love this campground. We stayed for a week and had a great time. They have really fun planned activities or you can just use the amenities there. The beach is a very short walk and so is the pool. They have a great dog run and the new building is huge with a cafe and a huge store. We had a problem with our camper the first night and the maintenance people came out and did all they could to help us. The KOA workers came to check on us to make sure we got the help we need. The pool is very nice and the bathrooms were clean for the most part. It was not the campgrounds fault, but people just need to clean up after themselves. We will definitely be coming back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$74
We stayed here in June of 2013, right in the middle of Tropical Storm Andrea. Restrooms were very clean and campground staff very friendly. We have stayed here in the past and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$64
KOA Cape Hatteras suffered major damage from Hurricane Irene in August 2011, but they have recovered well, rebuilding and actually improving. It’s an expensive place to stay, however everything works well – electricity, sewer, water, cable and a secured Internet – and the staff is friendly and helpful. They have built a new walkway which makes going to the beach over the dunes an easy trip. The bathhouses have been renovated – the one near our site (322) actually has large individual bathrooms with a vanity, shower, and a toilet in each. Be sure to ask how their “on demand” water system works so you will be assured hot water for your entire shower. The laundry is modern and efficient. We love the small off-leash enclosure for our dog. There is a new pool, which we did not use, but it looked nice. KOA Cape Hatteras will always definitely our choice each time we visit the Outer Banks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$114
This park is still recovering from last year's hurricane, but is almost back to normal. They rebuilt a very nice pool and some nice looking cabins. The RV sites remain much like they were previously - sand/gravel/mud and a bit uneven. Given that, this park is WAY overpriced for what it offers. We stayed here just one night because we decided to extend our OBX trip by one day and the campground to the south couldn't extend our stay. The KOA staff was very helpful in accommodating my request for a pull through for one night. I was shocked when I checked in and I had to pay $5 per dog for one night (I had 4 on this trip, as I was dog-sitting an extra). So my total for one night was $114! Given that the sites are dirt and mud, we don't use the bathhouses, there is no wi-fi at the site, the cafe was closed Monday and Tuesday, the mosquitoes were horrendous, and I brought my own dog bags, I am not sure what that $114 was getting me. I will say the new ramps over the dunes are nice and the new bathhouses appeared nice, but short of that, you would be much better off to look further south for a better deal and nicer sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$86
Having stayed at all three campgrounds in the Waves area, I would say as far as camping facilities, this is the 3rd best. But as far as recreational amenities, it is the best. While Wi-Fi is available by office/store/cafe/pool area, it is not at sites. Although the price is a little high for a patch of sand/dirt/grass (no paved pads like other 2), I would stay here over Camp Hatteras if the other park is not available, when I travel to Hatteras Island again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$120
We camped at the Cape Hatteras KOA for 1 week. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. After a long drive from Virginia battling severe storm after storm, we were welcomed into the campground by a helpful gentleman on a golf cart who backed us into our site and told us to check-in when we got settled...very nice touch! The pool is modern, huge, clean, and well stocked with modern chairs and tables. The pirate playground, complete with ship, wheel, and cannons is nice. The kids also enjoyed the large bouncer (think trampoline shaped like a whale's back. The Summer Shiners, who ran the activities for the kids, were also a lot of fun. On average, there are 3 to 4 planned activities a day for the kids/families, plus fitness activities for the adults. The wooden walkover to the beach provides easy access, although the beach was much narrower than we are used to (we camp yearly at Assateague State Park, MD), and the ocean was extremely rough. The sites were decent sized and mostly level. The bath house facilities were modern. Although the floors tend to get covered with sand, I still considered them to be acceptably clean. Plan on taking full advantage of the facilities and activities if you stay this far south in the Outer Banks, as there are just a few restaurants and shops in the immediate area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$90
We enjoy our week at this campground every summer.The owners are really putting a lot of time and money into rebuilding after Hurricane Irene. There are many changes including a number of bungalow type rental units and a really nice new large pool. More things will change by next season we were told. We always stay in the area nearest the beach. The new walkway makes transiting the sand dune much easier.We will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$90
We enjoyed our stay here. They need to do a better job with bathroom cleaning. There is no visible campground security. While we were here someone was arrested for stealing beer from coolers and going through tents. I don't know if they were a guest or not. There is no shade but I expected that at Hatteras. For a "parking lot" the pull through sites with sewer near the ocean were plenty big. We would stay again but I hope to see some of these issues addressed once the construction is complete. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$88
If you like camping in a parking lot, this place is for you. Other campgrounds on the island are more beautiful and half the price. This may be the worst KOA I've ever camped in. They say they are still recovering from the effects of Hurricane Irene (2011), but the other parks have already completed their recovery. This park shouldn't charge more than $25.00 per night until they make it something other than a parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$90
We last stayed here in 2010 and Hurricane Irene really did a number on this park, however the owners are working hard to get it back up. Beautiful new pool - very large with water slides, snack shop (we didn't eat there but prices looked average). Our site was a back-in on the ocean side - great site! The only improvement we aren't fans of was the bathrooms. The stalls are individual with shower/sink/toilet. So if you just need to use the toilet you may be waiting awhile for someone taking a shower. We prefer the shower stalls separate from the toilets. Also I don't like using a shower after someone has just taken the "walk of shame". Dairy Queen is across the street and Lisa's Pizza is just down the street - both are good. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Price based on a free night plus use of KOA Value Points - otherwise $60 a night. We really enjoyed this resort. The sites were large, level, and easy in & out. Definitely a family resort with tons for the kids to do, not to mention the beach right over the sand dunes. We were here over Mother's Day Weekend so it was somewhat filled. However, it was quiet by 10:00. It was nice being a way from the business of Kitty Hawk. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
What I’m looking for in campgrounds is easy big rig access, full hookup at 50 amp, level sites, secure area, and clean restrooms. Drive-through, Wi-fi and cable TV are bonus features which are much appreciated. I have no interest in a pool, a dog run, or kid’s activities. I’m here to see sights in the area and the campground is simply a place to park my 37‘ 5th wheel. This campground is under re-construction and will be really nice when completed. The price is much lower than I expected but was due to possible outages of services during construction. Actually, other than wi-fi and cable TV outages we didn't encounter any outages. The bathouse and laundry is brand-new as I'm guessing everything was lost in 2007 Hurricane Irene. The dune cross-walk to the beach is brand new, and even though it was cool weather I used it many times in our stay. The campground was nearly empty during our stay. If it had been a full campground, the pulling into a campsite and pulling out could have been a bit of a challenge. I'm sure my review would be different during summer or after construction. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$105
Pretty good campground, but a little pricey. Bath house was clean; showers had unbelievable water pressure. Staff was friendly, good camp store. No camp fires at your site, but lots of people do them on the beach at night. Beach was not crowded, but surf could be too rough for younger kids. Location is good for relaxing and enjoying the local scenery and watersports. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
I'm not sure we'd like it during the busy prime time, but it turned out to be perfect for this time of year. Hardly anyone here. Had a full hookups; cable TV and Wi-Fi; a heated, immaculate bathhouse next to our site (#111) and even a off leash area for our beagle. All for $35 a night. Very helpful and nice staff here too: very welcoming and anxious to please. We felt like the beach was ours alone! Very few humans, just lots of seagulls, terns and pelicans. It was chilly and very windy, but that didn't deter us from taking long walks every day. The breeze blowing the winter doldrums out of our heads! There were a couple of open restaurants in Rodanthe. Hot Tunas has excellent fish & chips, and there is good pizza at Leonardo's. Most others open around April 1st. We drove up to Nags Head one day for groceries at the Food Lion and stopped and had delicious steamed oysters at Mulligans (Milepost 13). Would suggest acquiring gas in Nags Head, as it's expensive farther south: $3.49 vs $3.73, when we were here. We plan to make this a yearly visit in late March or early April, and perhaps after Labor Day as well. Highly recommended: wild and wonderful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$69
Very nice campground. Hate the prickly burrs that stick to everything, especially the dog. Nice pool and cafe, with great biscuits! Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$85
We have enjoyed our stays here for the last several years. Yes it is pricey,but your options are really limited in this part of the OBX. Sites can be tight, so pick your preferred site carefully and pay to reserve it. We do this and are quite happy with same location each year. Just a a short walk over the dune makes it a worthwhile experience for us. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$74
We camped at this location for five nights. Our site was located one row away from the ocean in the top left corner. Great site, very low traffic. Bathrooms were fairly clean. Their dump station was out of service, so you just had to go to a different designated full hookup site that they were using for the time. Staff was extremely friendly. This campground is located in a great spot on the Outer Banks that allows you to easily go north or south. It's about 20 minutes away from Nags Head (which we went to quite a few times). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$75
I just can't believe it: here are my issues from this past weekend. Was "escorted" to the campsite by a teenager in a yellow golf cart. Pulled in right behind him in his golf cart. He said you have site 163. You need to back up and pull into site 163 which is next to you. I did just as he said. Pulled into site 162. He said to plug in "right here." Ok. Done. At 11:00PM, a staffer knocked on my door, woke me up and said, "You are in site 162. You need to move into site 163." I said, "Some kid parked me here, I'm staying. You figure it out." The next morning at 7:00AM, someone ELSE knocked on my door, woke me up, and asked me to move into 163. I said NO! You figure it out. The next day ANOTHER staffer asked me to plug into the correct power pole and water for my site, located on the ENTRY side to my camper. WHAT??? My cord is not 75 feet, nor is my pot water hose. "YOU figure it out!" When preparing to leave, on the way out, I needed to drop my black and grey tanks. Two other problems here. The dump station is directly in FRONT of the check in area. Is very awkward to get a fifth wheel camper in that location. Second, the dump station has a small water hose, located on the incorrect side of a camper for dumping. Impossible to use. Now the best part. After paying $75 a night for three nights. There is no threaded adapter in place above their dump hole. It's just an angled cast iron hole. I had to put my foot on the hose to hold it in place. Dropped the black water and was immediately covered in three days worth of the worst stuff imaginable. The tank barely took any. My wife went in the office to tell them there was a problem at the dump station. No response. I went into the office to tell them of human waste and toilet paper everywhere, including on me! They sent over some crusty old guy who told me, "You have to dump slowly here or that will happen." I then dropped both my grey tanks and that went everywhere BUT into the hole. It went across the parking/drive in area and was a real mess. He said, "Sir can you shut that off?" (You are kidding me, right???) There is a biological/ecological mess here: they should be closed down for this. Never again. $75 a night for about 25 gallons of water and $5 worth of electricity. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$75
Very nice park, as most KOA's are. The bathrooms and showers were clean and staff was very friendly. It has ocean and sound access and the pool is great, includes two waters slides. It was very hot and windy and many nights we had to pull the awning in. Great beach fires at night and enough small markets around to get essentials. The camp store was adequate, but if you're looking for more than beer and hotdog/hamburger rolls, shop before you arrive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$90
Nice park, can walk to the beach. Very pricey!! There are several other parks close by that are less expensive. The staff was friendly and helpful. The showers and bathrooms were very clean and air conditioned. The level gravel sites were reasonably close but not tight. Had a good pool and store. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$80
I would have rated this campground higher if it weren't so expensive. On the plus side, the sites were level, the wi-fi and cable were very good, and we were right on the beach. The help was friendly except for several ladies from Florida in the store. Kind of surly. On the minus side, the cost. Too much for what you get. The campground next door, which was less expensive, was full while this campground was almost empty. If ever in this area again, I will make reservations elsewhere due to the high cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$90
Beware, most sites are water / electric only. Lots were small and close together. Our first lot had a bush/tree that took up half the lot. Had a loud young adult group in cabins nearby: two nights of noise before they were asked to leave after numerous complaints by several different people. While staying, someone broke a water hook up, they had to shut water off to all the lots to fix. Bath houses had water and mud standing in them every visit. Grass was not mowed. It's overpriced: nickle and dimes you for everything with extra charges for children, visitors or guests. There are nicer campgrounds nearby for less money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$80
We would never stay at this KOA campground, again. First let me state that the campground did not have many RVers this time of the year (probably around 20 at the most of the available 314 sites), but when we could only get 47 -78 instead of the usual 120 volts on volt meter (we always check because we have known people who "fried" everything by not checking), and asked if we could move to the site right beside the one we had been given,we were told someone would come check on the problem. Now, we had to call back and when the "guy" finally came, he was arrogant and asked "Are you a license electrician?" He said he was busy and did not have time to replace or check the electrical outlet. So, we asked if we could move to the site next to us. He did call the registration office and they finally said, Yes. The bath houses and showers are old. The sites are gravel, but it was level. This place is way too expensive for what you get, and then to have to fight to get an operating electrical hookup, and to listen to a "guy" argue was way too much. As I stated, we will not ever recommend this place, nor will we ever stay here, again. If you want an expensive place right near the beach, then go ahead and stay. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$66
Decent oceanfront campground but not worth the price compared to the campgrounds available within 1 mile. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$75
We stayed here four nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. One complaint: they allowed the rig next door to setup a wire-fenced dog pen with three large dogs. When we asked to be put in a different site, they did so, but charged us $5 more per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$1
The deciding factor in choosing this campground was their having an off-leash dog park. The park staff were among the best we've ever encountered. Facilities were all in good repair. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$93
We stayed here for 6 nights and paid $93 with a KOA card: 3rd row from the dune. We had great beach access with steps right over the dune. Someone mentioned they had chairs available so you didn't need your own: this was not the case when we were there. Many items weren't available after Aug 20th which we didn't know. Activities for the kids were limited. The pool slide was closed most of the time: by closed I mean padlocked. Someone would come and open it for maybe 30 minutes and then it would be locked up again. Why? It wasn't crowded and there were few kids. I, as well as other campers just couldn't figure it out. They had a kiddie train which they ran 2 nights we were there. One day they put up a giant slip-n-slide. They do have a nice playground and pillow-type trampoline. The mini-golf was closed the whole week. The campstore was pretty well-stocked with the usuals and they did have a computer you could use with a 10-minute limit per person. Dogs were out of control! Dogs were doing there business everywhere on all sites. Some owners picked up and some didn't. There was a dog walking area: but they still walked dogs on other's sites. There is a dog playground. Showers and bathrooms were amazingly clean: some of the best I've ever seen. There are outdoor showers for rinsing off sand prior to going inside which is great. Sites were typical beach sites: sand and full sun, however the beach access is great and that is why we stayed here. We would stay here again. The only reason I gave this a 9 was for the activites closing down, slide being closed and unruly pets. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$85
We've stayed here before and came back because we enjoy the awesome beach this campground sits on. However, the price has gone up significantly since our last stay. In fact, it borders on ridiculous. With tax, it cost us $85 per night for a 30 amp pull thru, 4 rows back from the dune. And that included a 10% KOA member discount. So for 2 adults, one teenager ($7 per night per kid!), one dog ($5), 30 amp, cable ($3 per night), and WiFi (slow!), without a KOA card, this campground will charge you $93 per night!!! I am have no problem paying for quality, but this is obscene. Also, the management expects everyone to wear a yellow wristband all week long - in the water, at your site, walking around the campground, wherever. This is a measure to reduce the freeloaders who have been using the facilities. It seems to us there should be a better method to do this then wearing a wristband all week. For the record, we blew it off and no one ever questioned us. As for facilities - great beach, really windy (never could put our awning out all week and you get sandblasted sometimes on the beach), and lots of bugs at night. For the price, I'd say this KOA is not worth it. But since the choices are limited on OBX, there's not much you can do about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
We stayed here over the July 4th week. Everything was clean and well kept. the staff was extremely responsive and very helpful. The pool was clean and had great slides. I would recommend this campground for family and friends. I will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$60
Very nice campground. They provide a lot of activities for children. The sites were of average size and the campground was clean. The employees were helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$80
I can only rate this campground a 6 for several reasons. We will not go back. The sites are extremely small, they pack everyone in like sardines. If it rains (and it did), your site will hold water and be muddy for a quite a while. I don't feel it is a good value: the prices are too high and the fees too much for the lack of space at the sites. It burns me to have to pay extra each day for small children. I do realize that location is everything and it was nice to be just a sand dune away from the beach, which is why we camped there. Don't forget to bring your fire pit, they don't have them; well they do for extra. Everything here is extra. Say it slow: everything. The pool was nice, and the camp store was nice and stocked. The walk to the beach was short. The bathrooms were cleaned daily, but only once. When you are at max-capacity bathrooms and showers need cleaned more than once a day. So, it wasn't my favorite campground, and I'd have rated it worse except there's no denying the location is awesome. The staff was very friendly also. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$65
We spent a week in this camp/rv park. It was actually the week prior to Mother's Day. My wife , two other couples and myself obtained 3 adjoining spaces at the ocean's front door. Our days were spent enjoying the park almost entirely by ourselves. The Host and Hostess were outstanding and all were very friendly. They did have some construction going on, upgrading the heater at the bath houses. We were not disturbed by this and at no time were we without hot showers. I will return to this location again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$68
This one you can't beat for family fun and ocean access. Just over the dune and they supply the stairs so you don't trudge thru the sand trying to peak the dune. Everything you could want except for shade, but with the true beach life you cant have everything. A solid ten. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$70
This was our first trip to this campground and found it to be an excellent vacation stay. The staff really is a top notch group of people that help make this place rate a "10". We stayed in Premium Pull Thru section and sites were fairly large and level. Being able to be on the beach in just a few minutes walk makes this place a great vacation spot. We will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$68
This is our third trip to the Hatteras KOA. The campground is very clean and the staff is exceptionally friendly. We loved the fact that the campground no longer charges for the kids train and the moonbounce pillow. The campground has a nice camp store and two decent size pools. Two waterslides were added to one of the pools this year. This is one of our all time favorite campgrounds and is a great place to take the kids. We highly recommend the Hatteras KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$75
We made another annual trip to this KOA again. Once again, the campground was great. They got pretty busy over mother's day weekend, but the restrooms and showers were very clean. The staff was great. We had reservations and I hardly had time to get out of the truck when someone pulled up in a golf cart and said "follow me". They took us strait to our site (#66 on the dune), and did a great job backing us in. The staff was working very hard making sure campers got to the sites in a timely manner. This campground is great for the kids, and it was obvious not only from watching our own, but the others in the park as well. Many things to do, and great planned activities. The beach is only a short walk over the dune. We will continue to make this trek every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$68
We always camp here when we are in the Outer Banks. The ocean front sites are big enough that we can back-in our 30' motorhome and still have room for our 10' motorcycle trailer. It's great to go to sleep at night and hear the waves crashing on the dune. There is a fenced dog play yard, my dogs love it. The store is well-stocked and the staff are very nice. We've had many nice chats with the manager. The only problem I've noticed is that sometimes the sites have a bit of debris (cigarette butts or can tabs) from the previous occupant, but the sites are sandy, so it can be difficult for the camp staff to get all of it cleaned up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$50
Very nice place with a very helpful and friendly staff. Right on the dunes with a real short walk to the Atlantic Ocean. Just watch the wind. The Outer Banks is very windy from fall to spring. Gusts of 30 mph is common from what I have been told by the locals. We had to relocate to another site where the showers partially blocked the wind. The office staff went out of their way to make it happen and they sent a worker over with a pickup to help us. Good people! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$45
I was here only a few days, but it was fun, and I enjoyed myself. I will come back if the time allows. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$80
Stayed here in the off season. Looks like a great place to stay during the summer months. They have a lot to do and you can walk to the beach from the campground. All that seperates you are the sand dunes. Would like to come back again in the summer months We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$66
Positives: Bathrooms were clean and the pool was still available. The lots were fairly flat and we were able to get a pull-through. Negatives: We chose this campground because of all the amenities it offered for children. We arrived on a Monday and stayed until Wednesday. The "fun train" never went through the campground, the jump pillow remained flat as a pancake, and there were no movies at night. Only half of the showers were available at the seaside bath house, so we had to wait in line once or twice. (There were 15 showers available, but only 7 were open). The ones that were open had no ventilation, so it got unbearable hot and humid. We were there in October and I can't imagine how unbearably hot it would be during the summer months. The women's bathroom was very narrow and hard to move around in. The other bath house had fewer showers, but they were all open. Unfortunately, none of the outlets in the women's bathroom worked so we had to hike over to another bathhouse to use our hairdryer. We drove through a few of the other campgrounds in the area and discovered that this KOA is by far the highest priced although it doesn't offer any extra amenities during the off-season. The others all had concrete pads, which the KOA does not. We found a very nice campground about a mile south that had comparable amenities and views for $34 a night. The bottom line -- there are equally nice campgrounds in the area that charge a lot less. This was not a good value and they did not deliver what they advertised. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$80
Beautiful area, campground is nice, clean restrooms staff is friendly and helpful. Had a great time, kids love the beach. We will definitively camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Nice campground and friendly people. Sites were right across from the dunes and the ocean access. Sandy sites with sparse grass. Cable had a good variety of channels. Only problem was that access into the campground was a challenge during heavy traffic periods. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$71
This campground is the "standard" beach campground - a large parking lot with narrow sites, no shade, and lots of sand. But, we go to these type of places for the close access to the beach and that is exactly what you will find here - lots of beautiful, uncrowded beach a two minute walk from your site. Overall, the staff was friendly and very responsive to our needs. We had a few complaints however. First, the smell of sewage was overwhelming when we got there. Every time a southerly breeze would blow, we'd almost gag. Finally, we figured out it was coming from a large sewage vent in the southeast corner of the park, at the end of our row. We asked management if they could do anything about it, and the vent was covered within 10 minutes. No problems after that. Also, most of the dumpsters were overflowing and smelled horrible. Management came by and told us it was the refuse company's fault for not emptying it on time and that they were working to get it solved. Within a day it was remedied. Finally, and this may be out of the staff's control, but this is the worst place we have ever been when it comes to dog owners not cleaning up after their pets. We love dogs and take our two mutts with us everywhere we camp, but always clean up after them. The KOA has ample walking areas and plenty of bags, but for some reason people choose to be inconsiderate about cleaning up. I think the management needs to be more aggressive about enforcing the rules and ask the offenders to leave if necessary. Overall, this is a great place if you are looking for a place to park your camper while you enjoy some of the greatest beaches on the East Coast. There are enough activities to entertain the kids, the beach is awesome, and best of all - no golf carts!! Final note - do bring awning tie downs, bug spray for the evenings, large/several mats to cover the sand at your site, and keep an eye on your kids in the water because there are no lifeguards and there is a fairly rough shore break at all times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$76
Great campground with a ton of activities for kids. With the 2 pools, Fun Train, Jumping Pillow, Friday night movie night at the Outdoor Cinema, and the beach, you don't have to leave the campground if you don't want to. While the website mentions additional charges for activities such as the Fun Train and Jumping Pillow, we were not charged for them. Not sure if their policy has changed or if we just happened to be there at the right time. As mentioned on the website, cable is an additional fee and that fee was $3.00 per night. The following comments are out of the campgrounds control but should be noted. There are absolutely no trees so shade is non-existent with the exception of an awning. Due to the strong winds at the beach, I would highly recommend awning tie-downs so that you can use yours. Also, no campfires are allowed on the island with the exception of on the beach below the high tide mark. And finally, Pear Cactus grow on the dunes. I mention this for those that reserve the "ocean front" sites at the base of the dunes because these cactus are literally 5 feet from your campsite and can grow up to 2" thorns. These things will hurt and can even blow into the campsite once the break off. Again, these things are out of the campgrounds control but should be noted. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$80
This place was fun! Our 4 yr. old and dog loved it. Great access to the beach, and plenty of kids activities. The staff was friendly, and our site was a good size. We will be staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$55
Nice park, very clean bathrooms and laundry. Can not reserve a specific site, but we got the one we wanted. Sites very close together. We liked the "sound" side better than the seaside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$70
We really enjoy this place. Two years straight, now booked for Jul-Aug 2007. Only beef was the little "sand-spurs". We didn't really have them the first year, but last year they ticked me off bad. This year specifically, we asked not to go to the same area,and they were great. We meet great family people here, nice experience. Staff can't be better, always someone to help if needed. Small thing, but the owner ran out of cigarettes, this guy actually offered me his own, and kept saying sorry for store running out. it's pricey here, but the guy is doing his best to provide a good service in a dog eat dog world. we will go here every year, no second thought. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$59
This is a great park. Great staff. Great facilities. We had a great time. If you have kids this is the outer banks campground for you. Absolute only negative is for all intents and purposes they have no wireless internet. If they only added a relay antenna / router the problem would be fixed. I enjoyed a chuckle over some of the previous reviews. Hint; KOA does not control the weather or people age 21 or over from drinking. You can not go to the beach and expect to see no sand in showers. Beach equals soft ground; KOA can not control this. No shade? Is there natural shade at any beach? At home I empty my trash can when it is full, not when it is half full, I hope this doesn't mean I am a dirty person. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$81
There was a lot of standing water in the campground from the heavy rains. The staff were doing there best to get it drained. The rest rooms and bathhouses were spotless. Well stocked store and friendly staff. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$44
Stay away from road AA if it rains. This whole row is lower than the rest of the campground. We were swimming in our site. Other than the rude lady at the front when we were flooded the staff was friendly and ample. The owner "comped" us three large pizzas for the conduct of his employee. The rest rooms were maintained well. Bugs weren't too bad, and weather was great 75% of the time. It was very crowded over the 4th of July, of course. I've been to this KOA 3 times in 4 years. They are steadily making improvements every time I have been there. On this trip there was a new big inflatable movie screen they would set out on the beach, and a big sand trampoline apparatus for the kids. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$95
We continued on our summer vacation from New Bern, NC to Cape Hatteras, NC. The two camp grounds could not be more different. We went from a quiet value for your money New Bern KOA to this fun, busy, noisy, crowded, expensive campground. When we checked in with the weather being humid and in the 90’s, we were shocked to find the cabins had no air conditioning. Also the bugs were bad especially at night—bug spray is a must. The beach is accessed via short walk over a huge sand dune. This is not a true campground on the ocean location—can not see the ocean over the sand dunes. Campground is busy with two pools, hot tub and sauna, putt putt golf (fee), basketball court, playground, game room, and kid activities every night. The beach is excellent with nice sand as the main attraction. Cabins were weathered and small for 6 people and a pet. Cabins were spaced on top of each other next to the main noisy thoroughfare. Forget staying inside the cabin during the day due to no air, but was livable at night with the fans on. Camp store is large and well stocked. Found several bath houses acceptable. Snack bar food was excellent and reasonably priced. Daily rate based on a party of six (four kids 13-4) plus a pet with cable. Very expensive considering the condition of the cabin with no air although we love the campground location. We now own a travel trailer so we would come again if in the area. We camped in a campground cabin. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$81
Campground is overpriced. Was quoted $50 to pitch a tent for the night. Bad weather was approaching so we went with a cabin. $81 for 1 room cabins with no AC. Honored no discounts. Ceiling fan/light was broken in cabin which made it extrememly hot. Cabin had ant infestation. When voiced our concerns and were ignored. No shade. Not a lot of nice places to eat that are close. My 5 year old son witnessed college kids doing "beer bongs" at nearby cabin. On a positive note it is a large campground, and facilities were clean. There is another large campground down the street that is also overpriced. There is another very small campground very close that is more reasonable but they were booked up when we were there. My recommendation is to stay at Hatteras National Seashore parks however they have cold showers and no hookups. More camping is available further south near Hatteras lighthouse. We found cabins at another outer banks camping area for $60(aaa discount) with AC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$50
Nice area but the WiFi doesn't work at all sites. Overall it was a nice place to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$45
This is a fairly nice place to stay. We had a pull through site, had no trouble getting into it and the site was fairly level. However when we left, I had a hard time getting out because of the cars that were parked at other sites. There was an employee that was picking up trash and he stopped and helped me pull out of the site with out being asked, and was very helpful. The staff was wonderful and very friendly from check in to check out. We did not use the showers since had our own, however the bathroom was clean when I used it right before we left. This campground is right next to the beach with access to it by using a boardwalk and stairs over the dunes. I did think the beach had a lot of trash on it, mainly from fireworks that people set off every night. The weather here was extremely hot and thunderstorms would pop up rapidly so use caution if you leave the campground: leave your awning in. The staff did come around and let you know there was a storm coming and to put your awning in. My only complaint would be the trikes that they rent out. They are very hard to see even with the bike flags they have on them. And don't expect the children to move even when they are seen. The pool was very nice and clean, and the jacuzzi was clean and very hot. All in all this is a wonderful campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$55
Let us start by saying this is a very long review but with some unique circumstances. This is a popular campground and we knew it was going to be crowded during a holiday weekend and it was full with some tents in the overflow area. We found that the owners are new as of last year, but to their credit, they (and the staff) were very pleasant and trying very hard to please everybody. When we made reservations we were very careful to explain our motorhome is 40' with double slides. Arriving at the campground we were escorted to our site and told to pull thru from the back site to our site in the front. However, nobody told us that the sites had been regraveled as semi-permanent trailers had just recently been relocated off of these spots. In pulling thru the sites (as directed by the KOA employees) the middle ground between them still had very, very soft sand underneath and consequently we sunk half way up the wheels - the toad hitch flat into the ground. KOA management called (and paid for) a tow truck to pull us out. Sitting in the heat waiting for the tow truck the manager insisted this site fit a 40' motorhome. In our opinion it looked to be made for about 30' - we would never have been able to level on the soft sand and gravel even with leveling boards/pads underneath - they would have just kept sinking further down. The manager also indicated there were no other 50 amp sites available - all the other sites had been pre-requested. Going to the office we apprised the owner of our situation. She started looking for another site - even making calls to people who had requested specific sites that would fit 40' and take the weight of our motorhome asking them to swap sites. After some time she did find another site. We moved to that site - also being directed by KOA employees and...you guessed it...started sinking again due to more fresh, never packed down, gravel that had only recently been spread on this site. This time the owner with his backhoe was able to assist in pulling out our motorhome. By now we had become quite a spectical and had been at the campground nearly 4 hours - very long, hot hours - and patience was wearing thin. By some miracle the owner found another site on the end next to some of the more permanent trailers. This one worked and turned out to be very nice with some grass and a little fence around the area. Because of all the problems we were given a 50% discount {the nightly rate indicated is the full rate we were originally given). We were informed that this fall KOA intends to spend quite a bit of money adding cement RV pads and rebuilding some of the sites. Some long-term campers told us that last year 1/2 of the sites were underwater during stormy weather and it had happened again earlier this year - be forewarned if the weather is rainy! While we didn't think the facilities were bad, cement RV pads will definitely add appeal for larger motorhome owners. Right now it's a great placed for travel trailers, tents and pop-ups but we would not call it "big rig" ready. Some shade trees be nice but considering where you are trees are hard to come by on Cape Hatteras. The showers, laundry and toilet facilities were clean except for some sand on the floors which is normal when everything around you is sandy. The grounds were clean and neat but by the middle of the weekend the dumpsters (of which there were at least three large ones) were beginning to smell ripe. But the management had them emptied and everything was fine. The beach was clean, many fishermen and people with pets. Unfortunatly due to the windy conditions not much time could be spent on the beach. Security in the campground is good - KOA employees frequently made rounds in their golf carts checking for pets left unattended or tied up outside, "stray" visitors, loud parties, trash, etc. While we didn't use the pool since it was overrun with families during the holiday weekend, we could see that it was kept very clean and pool rules were being enforced. We did not eat in the snack shop but the prices appeared reasonable. Many, many people had pets but we only saw one person not clean up after their pet and they were told to do so by the management. Grocery stores in the area are few and expensive. Outside of Nags Head 25 mi north, the only one is Food Lion about 20 min south in Avon. With the exception of visiting the light houses there is little to do except enjoy the ocean and beach. The one big annoyance was too many children riding "tricycles" - little three wheel, sling chair contraptions (rented for $3 per 1/2 hour). They were totally out of control and riding everywhere with little regard for small children, adults, pets or cars - a very dangerous situation. Even management had trouble keeping them half-way under control. It would also be nice if more accurate pictures of the park were posted on their website. We will consider going back but definitely not until after cement pads and other improvements are completed. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$35
I booked a site in high season on short notice. I was only able to get a water/electric site for my motorhome. This is not a problem as I have ample holding tank capacity. My site, barely large enough for my RV can best be described as grass covered mud. My rig immediately sank several inches, to a point that I couldn't deploy my leveling jacks. After several failed attempts to put my RV on pads that I carry for just such occasions, I parked the Unit at an odd angle on the driest part of the site. It didn't look good and I couldn't put my awning out. But at least I could get the levlers down and not sink up to my wheel wells. I did inquire about another site and was told they were full. Because the staff member I asked didn't bother to check her computer as she told me this, I suspected I was being blown off. This was confirmed. About an hour later I went back to the office to ask a question, and a walk up (drive up/no reservation) camper was being given a full hook up site. Very aggravating! This campground is right on the beach and the beach is what this campground is all about. Unfortunately the beach was filthy. All kinds of trash, soda cans, beer bottles, food trash and spent fireworks. I couldn't find a clean space to put down my beach chair. Footwear for protection is necessary. This is not an exaggeration. I realize that KOA does not own the beach however, there is simply no excuse for this. The beach is this park's main asset. A camper on the next site told me that in the 20 plus years he's come to this campground he's never seen the beach in such poor condition. He was very unhappy. The two small pools were clean, but overrun by unsupervised chidren. The showers were dirty, but the restrooms were clean. The park itself wasn't as clean as it should be. I found food waste on my site. Beer bottles on other empty sites went uncollected for days and the trash dumpters were overflowing. The dump facility is very poorly located next to the main entrance. Campers registering used the site for parking, blocking access. On the positive side the small restaurant on site served a pretty good burger at a reasonable price. There isn't much close by in the way of shopping, eating or entertainment. But we don't come to the Outer Banks for those things anyway. In the future I would only use this park in a pinch. One block away is Camp Hatteras. A bike ride through this park showed it to be very clean with concrete pads at every site. Next time I'll stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$50
Sites were ok. Not many trees on Hatteras anyway. Bathhouses were clean, but HOT. Individual showers, but NO ventilation. 105 degrees and 105% humidity. Laundry was a joke: better figure on doing it someplace else. LOTS of kids and lots of activities. Short walk over the dunes to the beach, and a beautiful beach it is. Tourist area and tourist prices. Go for the beach, not much else worth it. Maybe the food, but it's $$$. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$55
Nice park, with ocean breezes. Beautiful beaches, very private, and uncrowded. Camp ground is quite a distance from good dining spots, and grocery stores. Make sure you have plenty of gas in your vehicle. We would stay here again. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com