224081 User submitted reviews online!!
Four Paws Kingdom was rated 9 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (828) 287-7324
CGID2099

Four Paws Kingdom

Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   8   10   10   9   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$35
If you don't have dogs, this is a perfectly fine campground. It is extremely well-maintained and clean and the owners are helpful and efficient. If you do have dogs, this place is a treat with all kinds of special dog amenities like several fenced parks, agility training equipment, obedience training, dog swimming, doggie wash, homemade dog treats, etc. Sites are shady and have plenty of space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This is "Doggy Disney World". It is all about the dogs. We were there in our 37 foot motorhome with four adults and three dogs. The sites are exceptional with a fenced in dog area for each site. The main attraction is the owners. They are very serious dog lovers and are always upbeat and positive. They attract many couples to return year after year, and it is clear why. Adults over 50 (and perhaps a bit younger) and dogs are guaranteed to have a good time. Their wireless Internet is practically useless. They have a single DSL link for all sites. Don't count on cell phone reception or Wi-Fi on the campground. If they had a pool and better Wi-Fi, I would give this park a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
We just returned from a long Fourth of July weekend at Four Paws and now this is by far our favorite campground! Large, shaded sites. Super dog friendly with off-leash dog parks including ones with a pond, creek, agility course, small dog, private, etc. Several hiking trails on site and close to Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. Private bathrooms with toilet, sink and shower are super clean. On-site laundry and dog washing/grooming station. The owners are super friendly and make you and your fur-babies feel welcome from the first phone call. The event calendar is full of special happenings, including pot-luck dinners, breakfasts, themed dinners, games, art classes, dog classes and more! You can participate in as much as you would like or stay by yourself. Grocery stores are only about 5 miles away. We will definitely be back, in fact already reserved the whole month of October! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Our miniature dachshund loved all the play areas. We loved the food and hospitality. The owners are passionate about the place and it shows. Daily trash pick up at sites. Site was level, but all were gravel. Very well stocked store. Quiet and easy to get to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$47
Clean safe park. Owners and fellow campers very friendly. Our dogs loved the parks. Weekend activities. We can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Rate is based on a weekly rate. Spotless baths and grounds. Superb Wi-Fi. Some sites are satellite friendly and they have cable. VERY dog friendly. Adults only (to avoid accidents between young ones and dogs). My first visit and will not be the last. A fantastic place if you love dogs. Several off leash areas including two that are for small dogs only. Includes a stream fed pond that pets and their slaves can swim in together. Most sites are very private. The owners are fantastic. They started this facility from scratch and there is a lot of love in it. They hold fantastic events and culinary classes taught by the chef owner who has worked in resorts all over the world. I loved the tapas class. They have dog training classes but none were on this week. There is not a thing I would change...and, no, I have no prior knowledge or affiliation with this park. I just love it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$60
Excellent Park for you fur-babies. Well laid out resort for two legged as well as the four legged stayers. Lots of shades. Friendly owners. Nice location. We really enjoyed our stay. Will definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$54
this campground is doggy disney world. they have great off leash dog parks, very friendly and helpful staff and big sites. If you are a dog owner or just love dogs, this is the place to visit. A word of caution--there are no activities for children...this is not a campground to visit if you are hoping to have your children entertained on site. There are lots of activities at Lake Lure and Chimney Rock for the family. My two labs loved the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$37
Our 4th stay here and once again not disappointing. Everything was perfect and they hosted a great Italian pot luck dinner. We'll be back for a 5th visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Is ten (10) the highest rating we can give? This park and the owners far exceed the 10 on the scale! Read the other reviews and plan your next adult and pet only trip to Four Paws. There are FENCED dog runs, a dog pond and dog stream for them to play. After playing, there is a dog bathhouse with grooming stations for them. Owners: not enough can be said about them! They are friendly, entertaining, warmhearted, down to earth people! You and your four legged friends will have a wonderful, relaxing experience! Will we return? YOU BET!!! What an Octoberfest!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Oh my goodness, is this just the best campground for people who enjoy spending quality with your dogs. They have an agility course, rally course, hiking trails, swimming pond for you and your dog. Front office has corgis that invites all new camping dogs. Has a shower room just for your dogs to get washed up after a swim in the pond. Even a raised tub for the small dogs. 2 grooming tables. Saturday night pot luck dinners and games. Staff was very friendly, and everything was so clean. Me, my husband, and Deogi I will be back many more times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$39
On our first visit to Four Paws Kingdom we were welcomed by everyone. The owners were personally involved in every aspect of our stay, and made sure that we enjoyed ourselves without being intrusive. The campground is well laid out for all sizes of dogs with areas well established, and plenty of walking area as well. Our dogs Loved the pond and we were very comfortable with just "letting go". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Unique park for dogs and their adult owners. Lots of fun things to do in various parks and hiking trails. Nice, attractive wide sites. Owners friendly and on-site. Cable TV had about a dozen channels. WiFi was DSL and very slow. Could use some more gravel in places. Restrooms/showers perfectly clean and comfortable. Our rate was Camp Club rate and had to be paid in cash. We hope to come back again as we and our dog loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
This is a dog park that happens to have a campground. What an experience: no kids except for furkids. Great dog parks, extremely friendly folks, and the cleanest restrooms anywhere. Do not miss this if you travel with a dog that likes to swim, run in a dog park, or play with other dogs. The WiFi was intermittent. Our site was narrow and very difficult to get into with a steep hill leaving that hit the truck on the fifth wheel. Rate was Passport America. We would stay again, on a weekend to partake of the food and more dogs to play with, as long as we got a better site. Our Golden Retriever had a great time, and so did we. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Wow if you love dogs this is the place for you. If you don't like dogs this probably isn't the place for you. They have lots of fenced in areas for dogs to run off leash including a pond, and stream, agility courses, small dog park, and even a private park. My dogs aren't too social so the enjoyed the large private park. They have a decent cable lineup and a beautiful campground. The store is poorly stocked with supplies but the bath house areas are wonderfully clean, as is the dog grooming station and the dog washing area. They have lots of dog art but didn't even have marshmallows during our visit. The surrounding area is completely void of any semblance of life. The staff there and the owners are wonderful people and they do love their campers and the dogs. We will be going back for a week in October! The drive to get there is a bit off the beaten path but you and your fur kids will think it is well worth it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
This was our first trip to this campground. The owners were FANTASTIC, even during a busy Holiday weekend. What a fun place to bring your dogs (which we did). There were plenty of activites for the humans and their pets icluding a couple of special dinners. We reserved the premium site which gave us a fenced in deck, which was well worth it having 3 dogs with us. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We love coming to this campground. The German dinner was excellent, games were fun and most important our dogs had a good time. We had a nice site, everyone was friendly and we will definitely return. The owners go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. Our Springer loves coming here. This is the first time our Lab came with us and he enjoyed the pond and meeting some other labs. The addition of the private fenced area was great. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
We chose this campground as our first RV outing with our three dogs in tow. What a great choice it turned out to be. The owners, and all the other campers couldn't have been more friendly or nicer. Truly good people. We spent Easter weekend here, and the planned activities were fun. The whole place is kept spotless. The bathrooms are individual and have a sink, shower, and toilet. They were constantly being cleaned and were kept immaculate. The dog grooming area was superb. The whole campground and experience exceeded our expectations. We have already made a reservation to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Hello fellow RVers! This campground is great regardless if you have a dog or not (but we have 2 labs, so it was especially great for us). It's a quaint campground in the middle of the woods (only 40 campsites and a few cabins). The sites are level with plenty of space in between. They have both pull-thru and back-in, so any size RV will fit. We paid $35/night (they accept the usual discount plans). The bathrooms are very nice (each bathroom has it's own shower, sink, and toilet...not a row of showers, etc.). There's also a place to bathe your dogs. There are several fenced in areas for your dogs to roam and socialize off-leash. The owners are the best, very nice and helpful. They have events going on each weekend. The weekend we stayed (July 4th weekend), they had an authentic German dinner, bingo, ice cream social, and "best of" dog contest. We had such a great time with everyone, we're going back Labor Day weekend. Also, Lake Lure and Chimney Rock is nearby, so there's lots to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
An amazing campground just keeps getting better! Our two week stay has flown by . We are always sad to leave but know there is always next summer. Our dogs love all the activities available and enjoy socializing with their old and new friends. Each year includes meeting up with our old friends and meeting several new campers. The Margaritaville Island Fest Weekend is a fantastic time! Continual improvements to this already modern facility are evident each year. The Campground Owners Meik and Birgit never accept the status quo business philosophy . We will return again and again . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$41
This was our 3rd visit to this campground and will not be our last. The owners went out of their way to talk to everyone and the catered dinner on July 4th was excellent. Lots of activities on the weekend. Our dog played until she was exhausted and we know she can't wait to come back again. We had friends who came to this campground for the first time and they will be back as well. If you have dogs, you need to come here. We had a pull thru site, level, nice picnic table, and we were able to use our aircard, (Verizon) and DirecTV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This was my second visit to the campground and it will not be my last. I attended the agility boot camp which was great. Also, I had some private dog classes that helped me greatly. I will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$40
We just returned from the Octoberfest Weekend. This was our second visit and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously and so did our dogs. The park was well taken care of and immaculate. The Octoberfest dinner was mouthwatering and plentiful followed by good entertainment. There was even a hot dog eating contest for the dogs. It's obvious the owners take great pride in their park and are very people and dog oriented. We checked in the same time as three other groups and all (people and pets) were warmly welcomed. Don't understand the previous reviewers comments and low rating. Even the work campers were very friendly. Separate off leash areas are available for big and small dogs, agility training areas, a pond for swimming (yes, it was muddy probably from all the dogs frolicking around), plenty of walking trails (we even saw deer), free wi-fi and pets are allowed in rental trailers and cabins. The dog washing, grooming, bathroom and laundry areas were immaculate - my house should be so clean! The only thing we would wish for is paved roads instead of crushed rock to keep the dust down and make it easier walking for our small dog's feet. We absolutely will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
I reviewed this park last year after one visit and gave it a good rating. Unfortunately, 1st impressions aren't always correct. I went back in the spring and the grass needed cutting and the swimming pond was very muddy. I blamed it on spring rains. It's now October and I just returned from the campground. The grass still needs cutting and the pond was horrible. I also found the owners less than pleasant this time. They seem to cater to certain campers at the expense of others, although everyone is charged the same rate. Needless to say I will not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Ditto to most of the earlier comments.Only negative we found was limited cell phone service (Sprint and Verizon) and, of course, neither air card worked. But cg Wi-Fi is awesome DSL Our dogs will make us go back. Note:call for directions if coming from I-26 - Google/Mapquest and GPS will take you on some pretty steep mountain roads. Campground can direct you an easier way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Four Paws has never let us down on our 5 visits in 4 years . It just keeps on getting better ! The owners of this modern campground work tirelessly on improvements and fun weekend events. Our two Corgis are wiped out from each and every days activities . The areas attractions are bountiful and the Blue Ridge Parkway is amazing . Dog owners will appreciate this campground . We will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
This is a unique place. It's billed as a campground for your dogs. You're pretty much secondary, and your kids would be after that. It's not that kids aren't welcome, it's just that this is for your fur kids. Owners are the managers, and very involved. Tons of social activities for you and your dog. Owners try and work hard and clearly enjoy what they're doing. One of the owners was a dog trainer. Dogs are welcome everywhere, even the camp store and other buildings (unique). Also they have special dog washing stations, and 5+ fenced-in dog parks (one of which has a pond, another for small dogs, and yet another one is for agility). Clearly if you have a dog, and love it like a child, this is a place you'll want to check out. If you don't, this is a place you'd want to avoid. One other caveat is that while many of their sites are big rig ok, we have a 39 foot 5th wheel and it had some tight turns to get there, and some of their sites aren't big rig friendly. Be sure you get what you need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
This is a great campground for dogs and their humans. The owners have made several improvements and really make you feel welcome. Events are planned each weekend. It is nice to go to a place where your dog can run and play in a safe environment, fenced off leash areas, pond, creek, agility & more. The campsites are full hookups, and space between each site. We already have plans to come back in Nov. and will return next year as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$28
This campground is unique in its focus on dogs. I appreciate the fact that the owners make no apologies for catering to adults. This is NOT a "family campground." Hallelujah! It's so wonderful not to have to deal with out-of-control youngsters teasing your dog or cutting through campsites on bicycles. Whether your dog likes to go hiking or swimming, tear around an agility course or show off obedience skills in rally-o, you can keep the K9 occupied all day here. My dogs love romping with the other bowser's in the play area, and that opportunity really helps with their socialization skills. They're so much calmer when we have to move on to other campgrounds. The bathrooms and showers are immaculate. I talking, "you could eat off the floor" immaculate! (My own place should be so clean!) The sites are plenty long enough, though not as wide as those in some of the better state parks. They're gravel, as are the roads. Cable and electric hookups worked fine. Cellphone reception was weak. One thing we noticed is that even though almost everybody arrives with at least one dog, at night the place is so quiet you could hear a pin drop! In fact, after sundown it's probably one of the quietest campgrounds we've ever been in. We stayed 2 weeks and will stay again. Even though we could go to a nearby campground for about half the 4Paws rate, we feel giving our dogs the chance to spend time here is worth the extra money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$27
One of the best places to stay. Great people, great facilities, and an outstanding place for dogs. The owners even gave a free training clinic for us to help learn to train our dog! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
A very friendly couple own and operate this campground. Dogs are allowed, if the owners are well-behaved. Please pray for rain in their area, the interior road dust was very bad. Looking forward to the next time we are in the area and can stay some more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
If you have a dog, you owe it to them to bring them to this campground. We have a 5 month old puppy who had a blast, she also received excellent training. She loved the off leash areas and getting to meet other dogs. We know we will be back here again. The campground is in a real peaceful setting. The owners have made this a place to return to year after year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Four Paws continues to be a great quiet campground .Our dogs and ourselves can't get enough of the activities . At the end of each day , our doggies are wiped out from all they do . Humans can participate in weekend activities ( Looking forward to Marguitaville weekend ) . Plenty of sightseeing to do . Highly recommended We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$69
We stayed at a cabin here the weekend of June 15, 2007 for the Margaritaville weekend. The owners Birgit and Meik were very helpful and friendly and gracious enough to let me practice my German on them. The cabin did not have a shower, but the bath house down the road was clean and wonderful with a private shower, toilet and sink all in one room. The cabin had a nice front porch with a gate to contain our dogs. The Island Fest was a lot of fun with games, prizes, a conga line and delicious food. Birgit made tasty alcoholic drinks in a blender (additional charge for drinks) and Meik was a great MC and comedian for the evening. The other campers were very friendly and we met several that return year after year. You need to have a fire ring at your campsite and get a fire permit from the office before you start a fire in the evening. The fenced-in pond was muddy looking but our lab loved swimming in it. We used the hose there to rinse her off when she was finished. There were a lot of nice, small trees planted throughout the campground to create living fences between the camp sites. We found it best to follow the I-26 from Asheville directions listed on their website. Route 74 through Lake Lure has many hilly, windy curves along a river. Brigit is a talented artist and chef and makes dog biscuits, bars of soap, and painted dog plaques. These and other dog and camping items are sold at the checkin/gift shop. Brigit also has painted all the cute signs around the campground. Rutherfordton has a nice, old downtown area with two dog stores that sell treats, leashes, clothing, books, etc. It also has a nice antique store, book store and gift shops. Doc's has delicious homemade ice cream. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
This is a great park. The owners are super nice. It's for dogs but great for the people who bring them, Yeah, we're going back, already reserved a spot, for Octoberfest. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
This was by far our favorite camping experience. Before we left, my husband wanted to know when we could go back for a week rather than just a weekend. Our dogs had a great time! The campground was immaculate, the planned events were great, and the owners were friendly, helpful, and very involved in making sure everyone, human and canine, had a good time. It was also a quiet campground with no crying children heard. All in all a great experience and campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
This park is amazing, at least for dog owners. After 6 weeks on the road, our Welsh Terrier has finally had a good place to exercise! It's great...separate off-leash areas for big versus small dogs, a swimming pond for dogs, several agility areas. I wish there were more parks like this. And it is quiet, primarily because it is not filled with noisy, screaming, fighting children and teenagers (as we have had too much of already on this trip). The restrooms and are indeed spotless (and filled with original dog related art). Thumbs up to Four Paws and the people who run it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
Where the dogs have there day... Great spot that is geared for the pets. Huge fenced in areas e.g. 1 acre or such. Ponds and streams for the dogs to cool off and a obstacle course both pro and beginner. Very good management who are more than helpful. Saturday night they had a nice feed for those of us who elected to pay for in advance. It was a nice get together. Dogs pens for both large and small to keep them separate if needed. I liked this place for several reasons, 1 it is only an hour away for us, 2 nice roomy sites, 3 good people, and 4 a place that truly welcomes the pets... Oh, I have 3 dogs! Regards, Lee We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
We travel with our 6 agility dogs. We loved this place! This is the best campground ever for people with dogs. I read some of the ratings from people with kids and they wanted more for kids to do. Well, this is a campground for people with dogs and for that is is awesome! There are plenty of campgrounds geared to kids that are not dog friendly but this is the only campground we have found in the country that is made just for dogs and their people! We loved it! We live 3,000 miles away but will return next year and stay for a month! They have so much to do for the dogs and the owners are the nicest people in the world! It is a must go to place if you love your dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$44
This is a relatively new campground that is geared for dogs, which is a neat idea. We brought our 2 dogs (Cockerpoo and Yorkie) and they had a great time. Although it is great for dogs, kids may be bored. Ours were not, because they like playing with the dogs in the dog runs. Our site was a bit unlevel, but I was able to level our Motorhome without lifting any of the wheels off. Roads to the campground were not too bad and it was pretty easy to get to. The owners were very friendly and helpful with dog advice and training. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
Our 5th time here at this campground. Our dog loves it! We stayed over Easter and the dogs had an Easter egg hut Easter morning. The campground has the cleanest restrooms I have ever seen. We fully intend on returning again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
A great campground. Very well maintained, hosts go out of way to make sure everyone is taken care of. Escorted to site, even trimmed a branch that I thought might catch my roof. Very nice campground, off leash areas for the dog to play. Will return again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$29
This was our first visit to this campground, but it won't be our last. It's designed for people who have dogs and who like dogs. For that it's really great. For kids this wouldn't be such a great place because there is little for them to do, unless they are also really into dogs. The campground itself is very nice with level gravel sites and roads. Some of the sites are really big. None of them seem to be too close together. The owners, who live on site, are very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean and nice. We definitely plan to go back and take our two Dachshunds again. Highly recommended for dog owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
I went for two days and stayed two weeks. My little papillon pouted all the way back to Maine when we had to leave! He and I both had the time of our lives. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
This is the best CG, and all of the previous glowing reviews are accurate. We recently returned from a week at Four Paws, capped off by the October fest night. The food was spectacular and the games and singing most entertaining. Our dogs love the place and so do we. I hope to go many more times next year, especially since we heard that the ribs were the best this couple had ever had. You can't go wrong with Four Paws. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
We have camped at this campground multiple times and it is still one of our favorites. The owners are very friendly. The facilities for the dogs are wonderful. We try to stay here two or three times a year. The perfect campground if you love dogs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$29
The owners were very friendly and came out to meet our dogs after check-in. They showed us to our site and were readily available to assist us. The cable service was a little weak, but you were still able to get the major channels. The Wi-Fi service worked well. Most of the campers, if not all, had dogs which was good for conversation and there is plenty to do with your dogs since there are several dog play areas. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay and would plan on returning again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
This is a very nice park especially if you travel with a dog. We camped with another couple that has a dog and a daughter. There is not allot for kids to do in the campground other than play with the dogs. It needs a sand box play ground for the kids. The owners were very nice and helpful. I asked why they did not have a playground to give the kids something to do and pretty much got the answer that they did not want that they wanted to cater to the dogs rather than the kids. I do not have a problem with that but people who travel with dogs also have kids. We will visit again because its a quick getaway from our home and it is very clean. The bath house is great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
We just returned from a 2-week stay at Four Paws Kingdom in Rutherfordton NC. This is a top-notch facility for those who travel with their dogs. Meik and Birgit (the owners) will treat you as family and offer hospitality like one has never experienced. The campground has several off leash areas for your pups including: large dog park, small dog park, swimming pond, competition agility course, agility fun area and Rally O. A nice hiking trail will really work off yours and your dog’s energy. The pristine bathhouse facility includes a bathing facility for your dogs! Our last weekend was the Margarita Island Fest that included a wonderful dinner and party. Off campground there is a ton of stuff to do. We spent most of our exploring time on the Blue Ridge Parkway! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This is the BEST campground I have ever camped at. I am very satisfied with it and will camp there again! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Great campground if you're a retired dog owner. But, not conducive to human kids! There is little or nothing for kids to do at this campground. They even have a rule that 'kids under 16 years old cannot leave their campsite without an adult escort'. Do what?! My sons felt like prisoners! They should really post information on their webpage to tell you when you call. The restrooms and showers were ultra-clean. The owners were very nice. The dog training areas were pretty nice. But, the entire campground needed a good weed-eating. Our dogs had a great time. Our sons vowed never to return. We'll go back when the kids are grown and gone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$65
My husband and I, along with Tater and Chewie our kids, had a wonderful experience at 4 Paws Kingdom. When we first arrived, the owners came out to the car to meet the kids and were so welcoming and friendly. We opted to stay in a cabin since we don't own a camper/trailer. The cabin was perfect for our two night stay. I was amazed at how clean it was, considering that dogs have previously stayed here. The dogs had plenty to do. We went hiking each morning, followed by a swim. After some lunch and a nap (humans too) we went hiking and swimming again. And again in the evening. By nightime the dogs were exhausted. For us humans, we enjoyed grilling out hotdogs and hamburgers, sitting on the front porch, reading, relaxing and a movie on tv at night. Very relaxing! I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$68
Everything that I came across on my trip to 4 Paws Kingdom was great. I camped there with my 2 dogs. A Toy Chihuahua that is not very friendly with other dogs and a Dauschaund that gets car sick. So it made for a very fun trip down. I live in Richmond, Virginia. It took me approximately 5 hours to get there. Of those 5 hours Mapquest had me go the wrong way twice. Other than me getting temporarilly misplace i had the funnest time there. I at the time was 21 so I was the youngest person there, everyone made me feel at home and i even made friends with 2 people the live in there camper that travel the US that were in there 30's that i wish i had a way to get ahold of. All in all it was a very nice trip. The Showers were clean along with the restrooms. Also because my dog gets carsick i had to wash clothes alot, but I forgot my detergent. The store had a small enough bottle to help me wash clothes. I will gladly go back soon. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
The personal customer service and attention given by the owners made this one of the most enjoyable trips we have taken. The campground was very well kept and I can only dream of haveing bathrooms as clean at my house as they were there! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$65
I have just come back from the most amazing place - 4 Paws Kingdom Campground. It is a campground designed for pets and their people. You all have got to go! It is perfect for neurotic dog people like us. It is North Carolina - a 5 hour drive - so plan for at least a four day trip from Savannah. It is very much worth the drive. Of course - I didn't drive (I slept the entire way!) But anyway, I would drive knowing what I know now. The cabin was perfect. I have a picture of Gracie perched in her usual spot - my pillow. All of the sites are named for dogs. We stayed at Bella's cabin. Most everyone there were in RVs. (Some of them were REALLY big!!!) They even have satellite TV so you can watch NASCAR. There was even a Jeff Gordon fan there. They had all private baths that were about the size of my guest bath - big! Trouble and Gracie had a ball. Trouble was in heaven in the fenced in pond. He could run and fetch until his heart was content. Gracie ran the perimeter of the pond area trying to get to the ducks until she wore herself out. The play areas for the dogs are safe and secure. (Just ask Gracie - she became the perimeter patrol. She ran the fences looking for birds, lizards, and heaven only knows what else!) If Gracie could not get out of the pond or play areas to get to the ducks, then no one can! There were no snakes, no ant beds, and of course no alligators. It was perfect! They have 2 agility fields - one for playing and one for real agility dogs. The lady who owns the campground, competes with her corgi and offers classes. Of course we worked Trouble once - just to try out the equipment. There is a rally course and fenced in play areas for big dogs and little dogs. Most everybody brought their dogs to the big play area. The little dogs kept the big ones in check. It was funny to see this little fuzzy dog named Tiffany take off after Trouble just a yapping. Then Lucy, a corgi, kept trying to herd the big dogs as they chased the balls. They have a toy box that Trouble had no problem getting the lid off of. Amazingly, all of the dogs got along. When there was some posturing, the owner was there to make sure that they were just playing. We were more paranoid that our dogs would not get along than she was. The owner gives lessons in obedience and helping owners help their dogs. Penny, a rescue, turned out to be Gracie's best friend. Penny was used for temperament testing for pitbulls at a humane society, but after a few introductory lessons, you would have never known that she was once afraid of big dogs. There is one picture of Gracie flopped down on the ground so exhausted from running and playing with Penny that I had to lift her to put her harness on her and then carried her home. She was in her element. They have a web cam set up at the play area so that you can watch from your cabin and know when the others come out to play. After a couple visits to the playground each day, a romp in the pond, a short hike, and a run through the agility course, the babies slept through the night and didn't even flinch at the thunderstorm that came through on Friday. The people are so nice. The owner's husband checks all of the fences and rides his golf cart around to check on everybody multiple times a day. We did not lack for anything. You know that one of my favorite things to do on my days off is nap, well Gracie and I napped but not often. We had too much fun stuff to do. Too many puppies to pet, too many puppy kisses to get. There were two little puppies there - a corgi (Cooper) and a 7 week old rotti (Goose. ) We played pass the puppy a lot. They still had puppy breath! You know that I am not into "games and activities" (that's why your themed birthday party is driving me crazy!) but I was one of the first to volunteer for BINGO at the potluck dinner. We even won BINGO once! Anyway, we had a wonderful time. We are going to work on the schedule so that we can make it back in the fall - hopefully for Octoberfest. With the owners being German, they say it is wonderful! You will love it! We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$36
This weekend was all about our dogs and this is the most dog friendly campground we have stayed at. There are fenced in play areas, agility courses, a swimming lake, and doggy bath house. For Easter weekend, they even had an Easter egg hunt for the dogs. Of course the hidden eggs contained dog treats. Sometimes you want to kick back and not do much of anything and this place definitely fits the bill because there is not much to do without your dog. They do have fishing and swimming lakes and horse shoe pits but that's about it. And the lake didn't look like something I would want to swim in. It is more a pond with lots of scum and mud shores but the dogs seem to enjoy it. The greatest asset of this campground are the owners. They are extremely hospitable checking often to make sure everything is fine. We had heard they were great cooks so we participated in the German Easter dinner and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent. Bingo was played after dinner as a fund raiser for their charitable organization to help shelters in the area. They also have a small gift shop with some very nice hand crafted dog related items. With a bigger rig, the ride to the campground was a little hairy. The road leading up to the campground is narrow and windy with some shoulder drop offs. Not fun when opposite traffic crosses the double line on curves. The campground is a bit on the rustic side. We had a full hookup, pull-thru site. It was freshly gravelled and fairly level. The owners deserve a 10 rating because of their graciousness but my overall rating is 8 because of the lack of amenities. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$33
This place is truly Disney World to your dog. It doesn't get any better than this for a dog. Swimming lake for you dog, two fenced in areas for the dogs to run; one for large dogs and another for small dogs. The dogs are so well behaved that they all tend to mingle in one park. They have bathing facilities that are spotless for both humans and a separate one for dogs. They have a professional agility course and are in the process of building another. They also have a rally course. As for us humans each site has 50A, water, sewer and cable tv. The campground is equipped with free wi-fi. The owners Meik and Bridget mingle among the guests for as long as time permits. Even if you don't have a dog you will truly enjoy the peaceful existence that this park has to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
This was the best camping experience we and our dog have ever had. I agree with all the positive things said by others on this site. To avoid being repetitious, I will just say this: Four Paws is the only place we have ever camped where one of the owners gave us all a hug - including our dog - as we checked out. You truly become part of the family when you camp there, and Meik and Birgit are the reasons. There is no other campground like it. There are no other campground owners like them. If you camp and you have a dog, you need to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
I have stayed at this campground 4 times in 2005. The owners go out of their way to make sure you have the best stay possible. Since it is a "dog-dedicated" campground it provides the best for dogs and their owners. There are playgrounds for the dogs as well as trails that you and your dog can walk. The sites are level and the bathhouse is the best I have seen in any campground I have visited. There is always a planned activity at the pavilion every weekend. It is located to so many other attractions. I look forward to many more visits in 2006. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
We love this campground. We were there for Oktoberfest and wow - what a great time. If you have not experienced this cg, then look them up. They offer something every weekend - cooking classes, art classes, food and more. Most cgs are dog tolerant - this one is dog dedicated. We are already looking at next seasons events and planning trips. 2 draw backs for the cg are gravel roads and not a lot of kid stuff. There is a small playground. Lots of stuff to do locally including Lake Lure, Chimney Rock, Asheville and the Blue Ridge Pkwy are all with in a 45 mins drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2005
$33
We recently spent a week at Four Paws Kingdom, and I wish it had been even longer. It was the first trip in our MH for our 18-month old coonhound. Thank goodness we chose Four Paws for this trip. The CG is the best we’ve ever stayed in and the owners, Miek and Birgit, are so thoughtful and go out of their way to be sure their guests get whatever they need to have a successful stay. We stayed there when they had the Octoberfest evening. The food was spectacular and the singing and dancing were great too. We are very impressed with all aspects of Four Paws and will definitely return next year for an even longer time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$35
We've just returned from a wonderful trip to Four Paws Kingdom. We were originally camping in Myrtle Beach, but Hurricane Ophelia changed our plans. Host and hostess were so accommodating, knowing of our evacuation, and allowing us to arrive VERY late. (After midnight.) Our Golden Retriever loved the play area, and even ventured into the swimming pond (he's not a swimmer!). The bathhouse is the nicest we've seen in 14 years of camping! We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay here, and are planning to return next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$33
Off the beaten path. Unique campground catering to dog owners. Clean, quiet with excellent staff. Sites and driveways are gravel. Sites are full or semi shade. Owners served BBQ dinner over Labor Day weekend at the pavalion for a fee. Special playgrounds and pools for pets both large and small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$63
Four Paws Kingdom in Rutherfordton, NC was a delightful experience for both me and my dogs. It was very clean and I certainly have recommended it to everyone I know since I have returned home. I will continue to vacation there as it is an excellent camp ground. We camped here in a .

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Excellent campground! It has the cleanest restrooms and bathhouses I have ever seen. The fields for dogs to run in were in great shape. My only complaint is the dog pond for dogs to swim in. The owners said it was fed by 3 nearby springs, but it was quite muddy and I didn't feel comfortable allowing my dog to swim in it. This is definitely a place you should check out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
4Paws Kingdom is a very lovely campground. Sites are graveled and very level!! The hosts are excellent. The camp is geared for campers with pets (mainly dogs) but, they do not mind if you come without a pet as we did. The park boasts 2 off leash dog parks, one for the little ones and one for the big ones. Each off leash area is equipped with a doggy cooling off pool, drinking spots and lots of toys. There are areas for the owners to sit and chat while Fido and Spot socialize. The camp also has an agility park, rally park and a swimming pond complete with ducks. For the fisherman in the family (human of course), there is a stocked fishing pond filled with 5 different kinds of fish. One cg host is an artist and has used her talent to decorate the campground so that it is downright welcoming and homey. The camp sites have even been named. There are different activities scheduled on the weekend throughout the year. The weekend we went they had a chili cookoff. Everyone brought in their best chili and we sampled, judged them, and the winner was awarded a lovely prize. Then everybody pigged out on the rest of the chilis until there was none left. Even though we did not need to use the bath house everything else was spotless in the camp that I would be safe to say that it was too. The only thing that I missed having was a fire ring at our site. There was a communal fire ring down in the tenting area, but I don't think that anyone used it while we were there. If you think that since the camp is meant for campers with dogs that it will be noisy and filled with barking canines, you'd be wrong. This was actually one of the quietest campgrounds we've been too. All the dogs were very well behaved and I'm guessing because they had nice areas to run and play they were too tuckered to bark when left in the trailers. If you get a chance to visit this campground, I encourage you to do so. I know that I will return!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$33
This is a delightful campground. It is beautiful and clean. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The park features many activities for our dogs: agility field, fenced play area, rally course, swimming pond, grooming area, and nature trail for walking. We had a wonderful time there and hope to go back soon and often. If you travel with your dogs, this is a place you must see to believe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
This campground and its owners are terrific! The sites are spacious and clean, and the amenities for dogs are generous and well maintained. We enjoyed an Asian dinner thrown by the owner-hosts, who have many years experience in the corporate hospitality world and know how to do things right. Everything here is well thought out. I only wish that insurance rules would allow it to be a bit more child-friendly (no under-18's in tent area with or without parents), but that's not the owners' call. We took our dog here to teach her campground manners before taking her to places where she might be living next to people who don't like dogs. Here, we discovered tolerance and friendly people. I wish all campgrounds were like this one! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$30
Confirming all the good things said in the other reviews; adding that the owners/hosts are expert in making all feel welcome. . . especially the dogs. Will return soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2005
$20
This is an excellent campground, especially for dog owners. The campground is designed with your dog in mind, from off leash fenced in play areas, to a swimming pond, agility ring, to even a wash room with tubs for your pet. The owners are the nicest we have ever met, and go out of their way to be helpful. Besides the activities for your dog, there are activities planned from art classes and such during day, to cook outs in the evening for all campers. A great place to relax and let your pet have a vacation too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2005
$33
This is a great CG especially if you have dogs - sure dogs are welcome else where, but here they are more than welcome. They have 2 off-leash parks, an agility ring and an obedience ring. Plus a fishing pond and a dog/swimming pond (both are spring fed). The bath house is a one of a kind - it's divided up in to separate rooms, all with exterior doors. Inside, there is a commode, shower, and sink with mirror. You have total privacy! But the real jewel of this CG is the owners - they are just great! Activities are planned for every weekend and include art and cooking classes, eat-offs/cook-offs, andn karaoke to name a few. I just can't say enough good things about this CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2004
$28
As full-timers traveling with with a dog, this was probably the ideal campground. Four Paws is the only truly "pet friendly" campground we have ever visited. While many campgrounds list themselves as "pet friendly", they turn out to be, at best, pet tolerant. With 4 Paws, RVers are provided with a park that allows dogs to be dogs. Along with the typical amenities, full-hookups, clean restrooms, etc., there are a number of features specifically geared toward the dog owner. Pet amenities include both large and small dog play areas: the large dog play area is over an acre in size, a large pond for swimming, and a fully equiped agility field. In addition there is a separate "Doggie Bathhouse" to cleanup in after a hard day's play. In addition to the amenities for the "fur kids", the campground's owners make an effort to make everybody feel welcomed. There are informal group gatherings most Saturday nights at the picnic pavillion, special theme weekends including a chili cook-off, international cooking demonstrations, authentic Oktoberfest catered dinner, as well as arts and crafts, and dog training lessons. There are also two rental cabins available. The most telling rating I can give to 4 Paws campground is that we initially intended to stay here 2 weeks and ended up staying over 2 months. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$24
This is the perfect campground for people that like to do activities with their dogs. Fenced play areas, agility ring, fenced pond, and hiking trails are the main features. Shower building has a dog bathing room and area for grooming. Campground is brand new so there are a number of minor things not complete yet but they're working hard on it. Owners are very friendly and accommodating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This campground has just opened and my husband and I went for their very first weekend. We really liked the campground and will be returning. The campground is geared towards pets and there are off leash areas for your dog as well as an off leash pond where the dogs can swim and there also is an agility ring. The owners are super nice and make you feel welcome and comfortable. There are many interesting activities and events scheduled throughout their open season. This is a campground everyone should try. And as I said above, we WILL be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com