223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Dan Nicholas Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (704) 216-7803
CGID2101

Dan Nicholas Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   8   8   8   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Nice staff; quiet; lots of families. Don't expect cell service or satellite TV (thick trees). Nice fire rings. I had a great time and will be back. They told us camping in parts of the winter is 2 nights for the price of one. No generators allowed; no golf carts. I loved the place, I will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
We come to Dan Nicholas several times a year as we are a county resident. We absolutely love this park. Most of the sites are very level, some being a little tricky to get into because of the tress. They are very large shaded gravel sites with a fire ring and picnic table. The staff is outstanding and you can tell they take pride in keeping the campground clean. The restrooms are very clean. No sewer hookup and they really need to remove the tree obstacle at the dump station. This is the only thing that keeps me from giving the park a 10. There is so much to do on the park side - gem mining, carousel, train, small zoo, petting zoo, aquarium, miniature golf, paddle boats, large lake. Small concession stand. It's very quiet and nights are great to sit around the campfire. Do not expect much of a cell phone signal if any at all. You can get just a couple local stations on the TV using your antenna. We highly recommend this park and we will continue to visit as often as we can. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
We had wanted to stay at Dan Nicholas for some time, and we were not disappointed. There is quite a demand for sites in the fall, so I made a reservation back in the summer. Their policy is that you pay for your stay when you make the reservation. The rates are very reasonable -- $24 a night for non-county residents. Campsites are large and shaded. No sewer hookups, but there is a waste dump station. The activities in the park are great: miniature train, carrousel, gem mining, wildlife center, paddle boats, hiking and more. Families can enjoy the park and return to the campsite when the kids need a break. Beautiful, rural setting. Quiet at night. Friendly, helpful staff and hosts. Well worth a visit. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is our second time staying here, and it was a great weekend once again. The sites are fairly level and well shaded. Each one had a fire ring and picnic table. The biggest attraction to coming here is the family friendly park just a short walk from the campground. They have a small zoo, petting zoo, miniature train ride, carousel, mini golf, paddle boats, fishing, and a playground. Everything is very economically priced. If you have kids under 10 this would be a great place to stay for a weekend. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This was a nice campground. Stayed on a mostly level site. Clean bathrooms, roomy showers. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Nice size sites easy access in and out. Friendly staff, lots of walking trails, including a trail around the lake. Best in the spring and fall very pet friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
This is a great getaway, clean, quiet, paved roads and most sites fairly level. No sewer hookups but had a dump station but had navigate the park to get it on the correct side. Plenty for the younger crowd to do. Close by the NC Transportation museum in Spencer, worth the trip especially for train buffs. Cell phone and air card limited but you know that was ok too. Will be back, had a very pleasant weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
This is a first class place. The camping facility is beautiful, shaded with 100' trees next to the lake. It could not be better. Only down side was out cell phones had no signal (Net10)...May be different for another carrier. No cable TV or internet wifi service at all. This is a nice spot to get away from it all, though. For some reason the dump station is on the wrong side as you exit so you'll have to do a loop to get lined up. No sewer hookup is a pain, but you know that going in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We visited Dan Nicholas after a friend told us about it. This was a very good experience for us, even though the weather wasn't the best. The sites are roomy and some are close to the water. The restrooms are good. We enjoyed the volleyball court. I would have liked to see a basketball court with a concrete pad to make it more user friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
Came here for a quick weekend getaway. Very nice campground. Trees everywhere, clean bathrooms, and nice people. The sites can be a little tricky to get into to, especially the pull throughs. Spent Saturday morning at the gem mine, carousal, and train which are all located in the park. Cell signal was terrible but who cares. Not to much to complain about. The dump station is in a really bad, awkward location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$25
Great park but sewer hookups would be nice. Campground is set in place by large wooded lots and is quiet. Is located next to large county recreation park and has plenty for children and adults. Large fishing lake. Nice bath houses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Very nice campground with large sites and lots of built-in entertainment on the other side of the pond (extensive park with gem mining, petting zoo, aquarium, water plaza, several playgrounds, paddle boats, fishing, and more). Perfect for younger kids, but our tween found plenty to do as well. Bath house was exceptionally clean and we were here on a busy weekend. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
Our family loves this campground! We've gone once a year for the past 4 years, and it's now on our list of things to do every summer. The park personnel are so helpful and friendly. Lots to do for the kids, and inexpensive, too. The kids would spend all day at the "Gem Mine" if we'd let them! We bought a bucket of gems, a round of minigolf, a train ride and a carousal ticket for $8 each. Great value and lots of fun! Be aware, the Gem buckets contains a LOT of shiny minerals, so the kids will come home with lots of treasure! There's also a small zoo and a serpentarium. Go to the zoo early in the day, the animals sleep during hot afternoons. There's also paddleboats and hot dogs/ice cream at the snack hut. Nice little lake to toodle around and enjoy. A huge playground as well. There's no pool, but at the park there is a water spray area for the kids to cool off. This is a county park and it's well maintained, very clean and tidy. There's hiking trails if you're inclined, and you're also a short ride to the Train Museum. Campsites are wooded, lots of shade and you can request a site at the edge of the lake. We love to have a campfire in the evening, and relax. The only negative is that there are no sewer connections. Staff is excellent: we even had to cancel a trip at the last minute due to illness, and they kindly sent us a pass to use the following season. Can't say enough good things about this campground and park. It's a real gem! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Great family camping! Lots of shaded sites, very safe for children. Lot's of paved roads for bike riding, trails for walking and hiking. No permanent sites like a lot of campgrounds, so no trashy, structures, cluttered sites, or golf carts. This is a very quiet and clean place. Great nights around the campfire, this campground sits back a mile or so off the main road so there's no traffic noise like some other places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
For Father's Day weekend, we were able to reserve two adjoining campsites plus one nearby cabin for an extended family gathering. Even though the park was full, everything was clean and organized, and the staff could not have been friendlier. Our campsites were large and well shaded. The cabins are very small with just enough room for one double bed, one bunk bed, a small refrigerator, and a small microwave. Two of the six cabins have ramps for the handicapped. None have toilet facilities, and the closest bath house could be a bit far away for the elderly and disabled. My only suggestion for this park is to add a small bath house in the cabin area. We had little to no cell phone service there (AT&T), and that would be a problem for those who need to stay connected with the world even while vacationing. We had a great experience there, and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
We rated this campground a 10 because, quite honestly, we didn't see much that could be improved. (Would be nice to have a fenced-in dog area though!) We visited during a very busy weekend and the bath houses were exceptionally clean. Our site was quite large and well-maintained. The campground is located on one side of the lake, and on the other side is a large park with gem mining, train rides, an aquarium, petting zoo, playgrounds and much more. I'm kicking myself for not visiting when my daughter was younger: she would have thought it was almost as good as Disneyland. Nice walking trails: one of which takes up to 2 hours to complete. This is a large park! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
This was our first official camping trip and I must say this was a great place to begin. This park has plenty to do for young kids, and older ones like myself. The campground sits on the backside of a lake and is very private. Each lot is spaced from the next so you don't feel crowded. The whole campground is located in the woods so there is total tree cover which was nice since it was hot. My only complaint is the site we had was not level so I had to run to the local hardware store to purchase some 2x8's to level the camper. The bath houses were clean. The front side of this park is open to the public and is where all the activities are located. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Plenty of activities for the kids. They had a great time. Would definitely recommend this campground to anyone with children. We spent the entire weekend in the park and never ran out of things to do or see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
Parking for big rigs was extremely tight, and we almost called a tow truck after getting stuck pulling into our "pull-through" space, which was a tight arc. Two good Samaritans came and helped us figure out how to ease the rig all the way in. We couldn't get any help from the campground. Once we were parked, we had a lovely time. It's a beautiful campground with lots of trees. The bathrooms are kept very clean and cheerful. Everyone we met was very friendly. The attractions at the park are fun, and especially good for younger kids (10 and under). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
We didn't camp here. We only went to the park for a family get together. The picnic area was very nice and shady, and we didn't notice any bugs at all. There are so many things to do in the park; a carousal, a little water area for kids to play in, a reptile area, a zoo with quite a few different animals, gift shops, a mini train ride, and a few other things too. This is the nicest park I've ever been too. I would positively recommend this park, especially if you have children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We really loved this park! Family living in the area recommended it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The many trees in the park create a canopy over the sites. We were well-shaded and could enjoy sitting outside in June! There is a beautiful lake on-site with a nice path surrounding it. We hated to leave, but we will definitely come back! We had no trouble fitting the 35' motorhome in the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We loved this park. Lot's are clean and level. There were lots of activities for the kids to do and the camp hosts are terrific and very helpful. We'll definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Very enjoyable park. The site we had was very huge and very easy to get into. The only reason I have lowered my score was due to the dogwood tree that was right in front of camper. I could not put my patio mat out or my awning. The kids enjoyed the park that is on the other side. It has a nice train, merry go round, zoo, petting zoo and water fountain that the kids played in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
The park staff was friendly and helpful. We had a large wooded site next to the lake. The nature center is just across the lake, and is an added bonus. Can't wait to go back with the bicycles in the spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$24
This park is a gem. The campground is in a nicely wooded section with plenty of space between the sites. The staff did a great job keeping it clean on a busy weekend. There is a great trail around the lake - a very nice walk to enjoy the surroundings. The other areas of the park are close by and can be reached via the lake trail. This is a great place to spend a few days enjoying the campground and the rest of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
We camped here in April, two families with 3 kids, and everyone had a wonderful time. Plenty of paved park roads to ride your bike or just take a walk. The park is very well taken care of. We go to Dan Nicholas CG at least twice a year. We go in the Spring and again in the fall. All the campers are very friendly, never had a problem. Bathhouses very clean. Since they don't have full hook up the kids love to go to the bathhouse, they think that's wonderful. Will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
This is one of our favorite weekend campgrounds. The roads into the campground are paved. The camp sites are rustic but okay if you use mats to keep from tracking in dirt. It's a good place to relax and ride backs. There's a lot for small kids to do in the small park just across the lake from the campground. And the campground is just a few miles from High Rock Lake as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
This was our second stay here. This park is a hidden gem that most people that live with in an hour of, do not know about. It has activities for all ages. We had a site on the lake and it was so nice watching the ducks and geese on the water. The activities for the children are second to none, train, carrousel, gem mine, mini golf, playgrounds, petting zoo, bike trail, wildlife area, hiking,pedal boats and for Easter they had an age group specific easter egg hunt. The park is well run and very organized. The only things that keeps this park from a ten for us, is very little cell phone service, and no real swimming area during the warmer months. They do have a splash park. We will definitely be back here many more times We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$23
Easy access park and campground off I-85, only 5 or 6 miles. Very nice, large site sizes and shady sites. Lots of trees but no problem for big rigs on most sites. Fifty or sixty or so of the sites are big rig friendly and most sites or level enough. Staff very helpful, but not much security since park was almost empty. The only things missing in this campground are sewer hookups, WiFi, and cable. Dump station access takes some maneuvering but is doable. The park has many family entertainment amenities for use by the public as well as campers. Great place to take your family for outdoor entertainment. We look forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
We were very pleased with this park. The sites were large and easy to get into. The park itself is very large and has many activities for both children and adults. Tennis, horseshoes, mini golf, two zoos, one for observing and one for petting, gem mine, carrousel, and a train ride to name a few. It was a nice place to ride bikes as well. They have a nice lake for fishing even though the water level was way down due to the drought in the area. The only negatives in this park is they have no swimming area for the warmer months and the dump station is not in the best location in the park. Depending on the site you are in you may have to make a few extra side road turns to get the dump on the correct side of your rig. This park is very close to High Rock Lake as well as Historic Salisbury and the old NC train town of Spencer. We did not get to explore much outside the park as we were kept entertained with all the things to do in the park. We will definitely go here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
Highly recommend this park. Very family friendly place. We will most definitely return to camp here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
The sites at this park are very large, shaded and well spaced. A number of the rv sites were sloped especially around the lake; pads could have been leveled better and had more gravel base. Lots to do at this park for kids. The park was well maintained, clean and quiet. This is a good centrally located park to visit a number of the NASCAR garages, museums, etc. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$23
We spent three nights at this park while traveling to the NC coast. The sites are quite large, very wooded, and rather private. The campground was busy during our stay but was still quiet. The bath houses were old and only two showers but they were always clean. The only thing lacking at this campground is sewer hookups. We would stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$21
We live about 5 miles from CG. We stay here several time a year, just to get away. Bought new fifth wheel so we took it to Dan Nicholas to make sure everything worked right before longer trip. They have upgraded to 50 amps on each site. We stayed in #28, back in next to lake. Great CG. Wooded sites, paved roads and grave sites. Sewer is at dump station. Water and electric is available. Great place to go. Would recommend. Park has much to do, train ride, ferris wheel, petting barn, paddle boats and fishing. Fees apply ($1 or $2). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
It was very neat. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
This is a very nice campground in a county park that includes a lake, petting zoo, train ride, ballfields and many other amenities, but the campground is in a very quiet area isolated from those things, except the lake. We were there at a very slow time of year, and we had our pick of sites. In fact, the staff allowed us to go set up in a site and then come back to the office and let them know which one we picked. There were only five or six other campers there. All of the sites were nicely wooded. Some, including ours, were pull-throughs. Most seemed to have tables and fire rings. Most had water and electric. None had sewer. All the roadways seemed newly paved, and it appeared that more sites were being developed. It was just a very nice, quiet camping experience in the woods. Just what we were looking for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
We rang in the New Year at Dan Nichols park and can't say enough good things about this campground. The sites are HUGE, the restrooms are clean and the staff is very helpful. The lake is beautiful and the amusement park is a lot of fun for the kids. We highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
We camped here over Thanksgiving weekend and it was awesome! There was lots to do such as the little train, viewing animal habitats, huge playground, tennis courts, mini golf (putt putt), feeding the ducks and more! The staff that we encountered were really friendly. There was a small store where you check in that carried a couple of essentials. The sites were very nicely wooded with a fire pit and picnic table. Most were quite wide. We really enjoyed this County Campground and look forward to going back. The only reason it did not get a 10 out of 10 was because of the lack of sewer hook ups. There was a long line to dump at the end of the weekend. Of course, if they put the sewer in, it would probably cost a lot more! We also did not have any trouble making advance reservations. We just called the number on the website and payed over the phone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$20
Some sights more level than others. We we near the lake. Very shaded but in March didn't have leaves to take advantage of. Very close to activities in park, fishing, (no fishing on Sunday's) train ride, paddle boats, gem mining. The park is still working on an animal exhibit. We were able to make advanced reservations. Quaint camp store; bought firewood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
We've camped here several times but it is very difficult to get a campsite unless you live locally. They do not take reservations over the telephone so since we live out of state, this creates a problem. The campground is very nice, but it becomes obvious that the staff have "local" favorites for whom they save the sites. During one of our stays at this campground, we noticed several sites with RVs and no one staying in them. I spoke with a lady and she informed me they lived about 20 miles down the road and left their RV at the site and came down on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
This is a County park. There are 10 sites with 50 amps. The rest are 30 amps or none. The park is about 7 miles outside town. It is quiet, clean and well kept up. There is one restroom with showers. There is also a dump site next to the restrooms. Murtis Lake is in the park. I liked this park very much and would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
This is a county campground. Half the sites have W/E and the other half don't. However, its a cool weekend getaway. It could be 95 degrees and 10 degrees cooler in the campground. Its very shaded; so much that you don't realize when its daylight. At night, make sure you have a flashlight. All of the campsites are also shaded and distance from each other. The park includes a nature center, merry go round, mini-train ride, lots of shelters (with one shelter near the campground), hiking trails, and a playground. Another thing is great is checkout time. Its 4 pm. You can arrive late after work on Friday and leave late on Sunday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$18
Dan Nicholas is a county park. In addition to the campground it offers a petting zoo, nature center, paddle boats, fishing, carousel, train rides, tennis, horseshoes, hiking, biking, putt putt and two play grounds. It is a good place for the family but does get busy on the weekends with locals taking advantage of such a nice county park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com