218152 User submitted reviews online!!
Statesville / I-77 KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 50 user reviews. Phone: (704) 873-5560
CGID2109

Statesville / I-77 KOA

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   4   8   7   7   8   7   6   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
We stayed here 4 years ago and liked it enough to stay again on this trip. Sites are level, utilities including cable and WIFI worked well, park including restrooms/showers are nice and clean, friendly manager. Highway noise is there but didn't disturb my sleep any. You should be aware that the park was full the night we stayed and was mid week so I would suggest advanced reservations be made. I would stay again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$42
Very nice campsite, with level sites, full services, and conveniently located off the highway. Laundry facilities were excellent, and the staff were super friendly. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
We stayed here for one night while driving back home. While the staff was extremely friendly the campground is a little scary. Looks like some people have taken residence here for too long, some of the building are in need for repair and the sounds from the interstate are constant. We stayed on site #15 and noticed people sitting in the playground area drinking beer. Utilities worked fine and there is LTE service here from AT&T. This campground could be nicer if they removed some of the trailers they look like no one lives in them and cleaned up the buildings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
Restrooms and showers were nice but not exciting. We had to park in a spot with water all around after a rain shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Campground is located just off I70 so there is traffic noise but it's not too bad. The pull-through site we stayed in was just adequate. Good location for visiting Nascar race shops. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
Park is old and on a hill overlooking I-77 with access via a country road and a long private driveway. Pavement is need of attention. Our site was a pull-through, reasonably level dirt and mud covered (some grass/weeds) but no pad. High speed internet service is quickly throttled down to unusable. Adjacent to Interstate so some vehicle noise; otherwise quiet. Sewer connection diameter is larger than standard making it impossible to get a seal. Somewhat overpriced at $45 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$34
Arrived late evening and was met by staff. Registered and escorted to our site. Nice and easy. Level. Good, solid overnight stop for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$37
As noted the 30 amp pull throughs were level side to side but required unhooking to level front to back. The road in and out requires some attention particularly in the dark as you appear to be heading down the entrance ramp to the interstate. OK for an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
We had a 30 amp W/E pull-through gravel site, level side to side but quite a slope toward the front, so even for one night had to unhook. The bathrooms and laundry were clean. The 50 amp FHU sites look nicer, but cost much more. Right next to the interstate so there is a lot of noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$41
A big rig can get in this park but it is a bit tight. We had to disconnect our tow. The park itself is well kept and the dog run in the back is great. There are quite a few permanents mixed in with the RV sites. Cabins looked nice. It is difficult to get back to I-77 especially if you are going south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Only stayed one night; goal was to get off the road and relax. Had 50amp, water, and sewer. Sprint cell phones and air card worked fine. Don't know about activities. Staff was friendly and knowledgable about the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
As all the last reviews stated, this park is good for an overnight stop. Park is well kept. We would of liked to have 50 amp service but they were full when we got here. Utilities all good, including cable TV and Wi-Fi. Biggest fault is the site we were on was not level at all. None of the other vacant sites looked very level either. We would probably stop here again, but call ahead to make sure we could get a 50 amp site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Stayed here for a quick overnight. Pull through was good, but too short. I had to disconnect to stay for the night. The bath houses were clean, but a little dated. The pool was nice, but small. When you have a KOA, shouldn't the pool be bigger? All hookups were good and cable had a lot of channels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
I agree with all the prior evaluations as a very adequate and pleasant overnight or weekend stop. Some of the picnic tables were badly bent and if I managed the campground I'd improve this cosmetic flaw.Other than that it's a well kept property. We'd certainly return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
This is a great park for travelers passing along the I-77 corridor. We needed an over night stop for our trek from the north back to the south. Its a perfect location- easy on and off the Interstate with a nice clean well develped park. We have 2 dogs and they really appreciated the new dog parks and large dog walk areas at this campground. Check in with the staff was great and quick. We were set up on our pull through site(which was very level) in 15 minutes. Fantastic Wi-Fi and cable TV service kept us in touch with the rest of the world. The location and quality of the park made it easy to disconnect quickly the next morning and allowed us hit the road pronto the next morning. We will definitly be back again at this park for north- south transits that use the 1-85, I-77, I-81 corridor. Good value. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
Clean pleasant park. Good staff. Good amenities. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
We use this as an overnight on our way back north. Convenient on/off I-77. There seem to be a lot of long-term campers and the overnight get an area that does not have sewer hook up. There is a dump station on the way out. Our site was slanted downhill, but we did not have to unhook. A lot of road noise, but did not hear from RV when running AC or fan. It seems to be a popular overnight stop for RVers, as the area filled up as the evening progressed and most of us left in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$38
Typical KOA with close sites and high prices for the location. Site was level and clean, all utilities worked, however electrical didn't have any circuit breakers! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$42
We stayed there for one night and found it to be OK. All services worked well such as WiFi, cable, etc. Has some old motor homes and trailers in sites that look like they have been there for years. Needs to get the junk out.Very friendly and helpful staff. A bit expensive for the condition of the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$50
Very nice campground right off i-77. Place was very clean, staff very friendly. Only two things that I didn't like: no water pressure in shower and there were bees around cabins but they went away towards the evening. Other than that, I really liked it here. Highly recommend. Oh also I did not like the fact you weren't allowed to have ground fires. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2012
$37
This is a rundown KOA. Check in was good, friendly staff. The 30A receptacle wasn't properly grounded, as I always check before plugging in. The maintenance guy had the site across from us and replaced it immediately. Nice guy. The site and park was muddy from the recent rain. There were numerous poorly maintained full time trailers, once again, more like a trailer park than a campground. Water pressure was OK. No cable TV. Picked up some Charlotte stations. No shade, and located close to the Interstate so there was a lot of noise. This really doesn't bother us, though, as we run the AC to drown out the noise. Nice new dog park, a little bit of a walk from the main park. Very disappointing as a KOA. We'll find another campground if we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$37
Other than the tricky turn onto the approach road it's a convenient stopover, Use caution or you'll go right back on I-77. I had trouble getting cable reception. The office suggested the problem was in my equipment. It wasn't. WiFi was good. Grounds and facilities were clean and orderly. Some highway noise. No trees or obstructions make it easy to navigate through the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
Decided on this park over other ones on our route because 'Trailer Life' reported an enclosed dog run. There are posts and gates but no fence. There is a good grassy pet walking area. No waste bags but they do provide cut down bleach bottles to use as a scoop. Sites are reasonably level and decently spaced. The shower privacy walls are situated over a communal drain trough. Showers/restrooms are okay clean with a few spider webs in the corners. It appears most of the campers are long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
The park is very close to the interstate but it was not noisy. The pull through site we had was plenty long for our 40' coach plus our attached toad. We used the campground as an overnight stop. It was a little pricey for an overnight stay but it was clean, near the highway and had 50 amps electric service. The day we stayed in the campground it was around 100 degrees F. outdoors. The 50 amp service was great to have. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$39
This looks like an old KOA. It's convenient because it is right off the freeway. If you look at the photos on their web site, they have only ONE photo that shows actual campsites. If you look closely I think you can tell the camp sites are mostly dirt, with a little gravel that time has severely ground into the earth. There were a couple of mobile homes that looked to have been there quite a while – including one with a fuel oil tank hooked up at the rear. This was probably the most plain looking, if not the ugliest, KOA we have ever stayed at. Everything was functional, and if it’s convenient to your route and you need a place to stop it would be okay. The pool was closed due to the season, but it looked like it would be nice. The whole campground would look 100% better if the RV's that (I think) stay there year round were forced to clean up their campsites and the older mobile homes were moved out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$31
This price reflects the average costs for five nights, due to the KOA discount and the promotion of staying on the 14th and getting the 15th free. When I made the reservations, I asked for sites 3, 5 or 7 because of the previous comments. They told me there was no guarantee but they would note in my reservation. We did get site #3 for our big rig. It was fine but I also saw quite a few more sites that were level. All 8 sites in the D section (long pull thrus)looked fine to me. The 4 washers ($1.50 a load) and 2 dryers (.25 for 12 minutes) were rather loud and needed some maintenance but they got the job done. When we checked in, the cable was not working but they told us they would let us know when it got hooked up. We didn't here a word. Fortunately, we didn't need it. Garbage is picked up at your site, which is nice. Our Verizon computer card and phone worked well but the KOA free Wi-Fi worked well also. The grass on our site had not been mowed for a couple of weeks, although they were mowing other parts of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
We agree with the previous reviewer: this park is ok for an overnight but in order to be on level site, you need to be on site #5 or 7. Most of the other sites are really unlevel. However, I thought there were fewer older rundown units in the park than in previous years. However, you can't beat the location right off the highway. Great for an overnight but as most KOA's, I think it is overpriced for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
Just an overnighter. Quiet park with good, large, level pull-throughs. Easy off and easy on I-75. This was our second stay here. No complaints. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
We have stayed at this campground numerous times since 2003 and this was the worst visit. Previously we have stayed in sites 3, 5, or 7 which have been level and easy access. This time, we had site 32 which was an easy access site. The major problem was that the site was so unlevel that the front tires on both sides were probably 5 inches off the ground and the front tire on the tag axle on the passenger side was off the ground also. We pulled up so far to try and level that the sewer hose did not reach even with an extension. As usual, Wi-Fi, dog walking, and convenience to I77 were great. We will stay here again only if guaranteed to have a single number site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
We only spent one night on our way home to Ohio from Florida.Not a bad place to stay but highway noise is very evident. Bathrooms need updating but they were clean. Some permanent residents have trailers that looked very cluttered. We would stay here again if needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We stayed here for one night on our way back from Florida. Very convenient off of the highway, it is a nice place to stay to rest up to finish a long ride home. The pool was clean and nice, but could use a bit of updating. The bathrooms were clean but also could use some updating. The gentleman at the desk was polite and did answer questions. There is no closed in pet area but there is a designated pet "bathroom area" but they have to stay on the leash. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$46
One of the worse campgrounds we have ever stayed at. Campground is a very, very old campground with lipstick updates. Several new pull through sites adjacent to old trailers with dumpy trailers on them and owners with old noisy pick up trucks. Best quality of this campground is that is is easy to I-40. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$37
The office, laundry and camp store appeared clean and organized. We had a quick check in, but were disappointed with the sites and common areas. The gravel pad was not level, nor was it clean. There was trash from previous campers and there are some permanent renters at the park who don't keep things tidy. There is a large area to walk dogs. It just seems to need some TLC. Our site was very muddy as it had rained and we had to walk through puddles all around our bus. We thought it was overpriced and would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$35
This park is conveniently located off the north/south interstate (I-77&I-40) at Statesville. For us it was strictly an overnighter. The washrooms were clean and the staff helpful but wi-fi was disappointingly spotty. Do they shut it down at night? Sites are small but adequate but the grounds looked a little tired and could use some spruce up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
We used this park as an overnight stop. The park was clean, and the site was fairly level. We were greeted when signing into the park, after hours, by a host who escorted us to our 50 amp pull through site. The park was pretty full however, very quiet. We would stay here again for an overnight stop however we were not at the park long enough to comment on the park during the day time hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$40
Convenient to Statesville, right off freeway so a little noisy, but tolerable. Clean convenient laundry and store, helpful staff. Sites gravel with grass strip, not very level, and could use some maintenance on pull trhoughs, but certainly adequate. GREAT park for dogs, large doggy walk areas with trash cans and bags. WiFi worked well for us out at end of park far from office. Thought price was quite high priced for what it was. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$17
Friendly office staff. Pet friendly with lots of dag walking space. Most sites are not very level but the ones up top are not too bad. We stayed for 3 months and our rate was 500/month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
Our site (H46] was level and adequate in width and length. The staff was friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi connection was good. The pet walk was nice with a trash can provided to dispose of waste. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
A nice place to stop for a night or two. Not a lot to do at the campground for children. Playground had two swings and a metal structure to climb on. The pool was closed but appeared nice. The campground is right next to I-77 so there is traffic noise 24 hrs, not overwhelming but there. Multiple pet walks and lots of woods on two sides. Easy access to I-77 and sites were close together and level. A nice 1 or 2 night stopping point. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2008
$17
OK park. Good for overnight stops - right off the interstate. Note: it is a good location per NASCAR fans but that is about it. Many permanents in older RVs. Sites are not level - some not too bad but some are way off. Staff nice. Good dog walking areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$35
This KOA is great to use for an overnight stay while traveling I-77. The sites are narrow, grass to gravel, but level. They offer free Wi-Fi, but connectivity was somewhat intermittent. There is a nice area for dog walking, but waste scooping is not enforced, so you must be careful while walking your pet. The higher rating for this park is mainly for convenience to the interstate and the easy fuel up at exit 42. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$39
Clean and quiet. Near the interstate but didn't hear the traffic. It is tricky getting into the campground since you have to go down the interstate entrance ramp a short distance then turn into the frontage road. The other interesting item is there is a large billboard over the frontage road that looks like it will take the top off your trailer, but the road drops down enough to give clearance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$41
Not a bad place for an overnight stay. Right of of Rt 77 and close to the dining & shopping at Statesville. Friendly staff and nice pool also. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
Clean, easy off easy on I-77, nice pool, ect. Could use some organization staff wise. WiFi was down the entire time we stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Stayed one night after picking up newly purchased vintage travel trailer in Charlotte. Campground is close to Camping World. KOA hosts were friendly and welcoming. As requested, they assigned us a good easy to access site as new RVer's. The site and location suited our needs as a one night stopover on the way back to Northern Illinois. Very clean restrooms and showers. Would stay in again as an overnight stopover. Easy access to and from the the interstate. We didn't notice the road noise that much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$33
This is a campground to stop at on your way to or from a destination. It is not like your typical KOA as its a very basic campground. You are camped on the highway so road noise is continuous. The game room was shut when we stayed there as was the pool. There is a basketball court and the office provides the balls. There are no scheduled activities and the sites are not level at all. We camped on a site that had we put our awning out it would have shaded the neighbors sewer hose, so we opted not to put it out. When it rains it becomes a muddy mess. There is no cable and we couldn't pick up the local channels with our antennae. The staff is friendly and the store is stocked minimally but does have your basics. It is a clean park with the staff working daily to keep it that way even picking up cig butts which are left behind. I rated it as a 9 as it is what it is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
We stayed for a week here. They do charge 2.00 extra per night on top of the 32.00 for the use of a/c. Staff was very friendly but the campground is old and needs lots of upgrades. Advertised 4 TV stations but only was able to receive 1. If you don't have satellite you're out of luck. We had an air card for our laptop, T Mobile, and had excellent reception. If you have the KOA Value card you will get 10% off. Directly off I 77 and close to I 40, lovely area if your up here for a reason. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$31
Excellent campground, easy on and off highway. Close to junction of I-40 and I-77. Visited twice in the past two months and look forward to visiting again soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2003
$32
I stayed here for a NASCAR race. It was not real loud. Most sites were nice, but the one we had was next to a tree and we could not put the awning out. Clean place, but nothing special. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$29
Convienient and easy to find location on I-77, Six miles south of I-40. Folks at counter were efficient and friendly. Sites were for big rigs to tent camping. A few cabins for rent at $38 a night. Has a couple of permanent trailers but no issue. They allow motorcycle camping. Nice pool and swings for kids. Campground was very nice at one time but is getting a lttle tired. But not too bad. We stayed two nights in September and everything was fine. It has a lot of one nighters. Good place to stay if you are not looking to be entertained at the site, just a place to spend the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com