206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Brunswick Beaches Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (910) 579-7562
CGID2110

Brunswick Beaches Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   8   8   1   9   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
The staff was friendly. The sites was a nice long level pull-thru. Utilities worked well. Catv is limited, but it is a satellite friendly park. I thought it was a little pricey for what you got, but we have never been in this area. It was definitely the best park in the area. We always use RV review and it has not let us down yet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Clean facilities. Friendly staff. Large pull-through sites. Level and grassy. We have stayed here before and enjoyed this campground. Nothing fancy, just a nice well maintained park. The only thing that needs attention is the inner entry road. Pothole are developing. That aside, I would definitely recommend this campground. We will return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$41
We paid the Good Sam rate. Pro: The sites are large, the staff friendly and helpful with information. Generally, the park seemed well maintained. Con: Whoever engineered the sewer connections had 40-foot motorhomes with far rear dump valves in mind. My 23-foot travel trailer would have required a 30-foot sewer hose to reach the sewer line. The park felt barely in use, with few others here. This former KOA felt deserted. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Nice, clean campground. Everything worked well and there were plenty of open areas for dog walking. It would appear that the campground is trying to become a little more upscale than it was when it was a KOA. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$38
No longer a KOA now a Good Sam park. Shallotte Brunswick Beaches RV Resort. Sites are level with full hookups. Nice fishing pond I caught a Bass. Wi-Fi works very well. Not many sites occupied in January. They are really fixing up the park sense we were here last January. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2011
$40
Did not stay here. Picked the campground thinking it was a friendly reliable KOA, but found the opposite. It is no longer a KOA. The office was closed (all day Thursdays) and only a few sites were occupied. I didn't see a single human being. A sign said the Wi-Fi internet was not working. There were no services and no amenities. I expect more than this for $40 a night. Decided to leave and camp elsewhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
This park is no longer affiliated with KOA. We stayed here for three nights while visiting family in Ocean Isle, five mile away. Nice level sites with nice grass at each site. Most sites offer at least some shade during the day. Staff was friendly and the facilities were very nice. If looking at the map of the facility, sites 7 through 12 were, in our opinion, some of the nicest. Level and shaded. We were in lot 10. We WILL definitely return. Wonderful, quiet campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$45
This was a very quiet campground. No activities. Staff was friendly. Park was clean. They have a 2 acres dog area/ picnic area. That area had many holes, and while I was running my dog, she tripped in one of these holes. Just beware. The bathrooms were clean but during hot days they were really hot. The swimming pool is very small. The park is old but looks good for its age. For us it was too far from Myrtle Beach. (It's a 35-45 minute drive.) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$60
We chose this park because it was close to family I was visiting. The park was very clean, and quiet. They have a pool, and that is about it for kids. I was really surprised that there were not any planned activities for the Labor Day weekend. Every KOA we have stayed have always had activities. You never really saw a lot of staff. The same girl worked the counter in the store, and a man sat at the guard house at night. The site we paid for said shade, but there wasn't any. The sites were level, but our neighbor's sewer line was right in front of us. It is a short drive to beautiful beaches. If you are looking are a nice quiet getaway without a lot of amenities this is the place for you. We had a nice stay, but not sure we would come back with our kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
We stayed two nights. Staff did answer questions but were preoccupied with things other than the customer. Park was well maintained; showers and restrooms were very clean. Sites were level; very little shade. The pool was clean and well maintained. This is a quiet park and supposedly close to the best seafood in North Carolina. On the staff recommendation we tried Ella’s seafood, not a good choice. WiFi was available through a third party, but they have free DSL and that speed was excellent. Not good enough park to try again until we try some others in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
This park is very, very quiet, clean and has level sites. There's not much shade, great for satellite TV. Has very friendly people, the owner is on site every day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
The staff was not very friendly. There wasn't allot to offer at the campground, the kids did enjoy the pool. Sunset Beach is close by and is a nice beach to visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
We really enjoyed this campground. It was very clean and the staff was great. Our site was at the end of the row and we had a lot of room. The pool was very clean. We will be going back. Sunset Lake and Wrightsville Beach just up the road. Very easy to get to. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$44
We made reservations online, then tried to call the campground with a question the next day. No answer and no callback. We tried to call again enroute, same result. We wondered if they were open. All of these were daytime calls. We arrived behind some folks who were parked at the office scratching their heads. The office was locked tight at 1 p.m. on a Saturday. A camper on the way out, who had worked there during the summer, said we should all just pick a site and that we probably wouldn't have to move later. She said all the staff was in Myrtle Beach, 30 miles away, for a KOA convention. They weren't expected back for a few days. Just after dark, we walked our small dog and encountered an incoherent individual walking a large dog who urged his dog to be aggressive toward ours. We picked ours up and went back to our camper. We could then hear this guy wandering around in the empty sites near ours, muttering, talking incoherently and generally creating a frightening situtaion. I stood outside wondering what to do. Then I went inside momentarily to report to my wife what was going on outside. When I opened the door to go back outside, the large dog jumped into the camper, and I fully expected the man to come in right behind him. But no one was there. Just the dog running loose. After ejecting the dog, which was just a very big overly friendly puppy, I walked down to an empty site and found the guy with his head down on a picnic table. I roused him and told him he needed to get his dog under control. He was still incoherent and unable to tell me if he was a guest at the campground or what campsite he was in. At that point, thinking he was not a campground guest, we called 911, and in the meantime he came and got his dog. A while later, a deputy called us and said he encountered the guy, who actually WAS staying at the campground. He told the guy he must stay on his campsite when he was in such a state. The deputy told us that the dog had been turned loose again by the time he got there. A while later, a guy in a golf cart came to our site. I don't know if he was "security" or not, but he obviously worked for the campground and said he saw the police and went out to see what was going on. He said the guy in question had been at the campground for several months and had never been known to drink. A couple of days later, I found the dog's leash on the same picnic table where I had found the supposedly drunk guy. That same day, a campground official opened the office for a few minutes and was then headed back to the convention. I think she was probably one of the owners. She was apologetic about the situation and reiterated the idea that the guy was not a drinker. We wondered if maybe the guy was having a medical problem, and she said they would keep an eye on him. When we reported that we had observed four incidents of big dogs off-leash, she said they were probably taking advantage of the fact that the campground staff was out of town. She also apologized for the inconvenience of no one being at the office for a few days. Maybe there is another side to this story, and I have tried to tell all of the other side that I know. But this was a nightmare camping situation for us. Big dogs were running loose. All were friendly, including one that jumped into my lap in my own campsite while I was holding my Yorkie. No harm done, but this campground makes a big deal on their website about controlling your dog. But they don't make a big deal out of it when you report transgressions. As you might have guessed, we won't be back. And at $44 a night in the off-season at the beach, it is the most expensive place we have ever camped. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
Excellent run park, staff very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$40
We had a level pull-thru gravel site. The rate reflects the KOA Gold Card discount. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2008
$40
Lovely new "physical plant" - flat field location, some trees - drainage pond "Lake" surrounded by storage old campers and work trucks. Scary "full time residents", VERY unpleasant office closes at 5:00 PM - (at a KOA?), and a security force of senior citizen relatives patrol with a passion. Sunset Beach is worth the drive, and I didn't find anyplace nearby - but I'll probably never return to this KOA. A change of management is needed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Very enjoyable experience camping here. Beautiful grounds, very clean. Very friendly staff. Close to beaches. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Unlike previous posting, we found staff and management to be very friendly and helpful. Had to leave our rig unexpectedly in storage for a week (bad tire on our tow vehicle) and were not charged a penny! Saw absolutely no evidence of sewage runoff, etc. and the place was spotless. There was no rain for quite a while and the roads were not paved, but did not suffer from extra dust. Just normal when it never seems to rain! Bathrooms were cleaned several times a day and separate shower areas were immaculate. Sites are mostly level, but some could be a bit wider. Very hot while we were there and the pool was clean and inviting. WiFi was not free, but a very nominal fee ($4 for three days!) kept us in touch the entire weekend. We had no trouble with reception. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$44
This campground is great!! The staff was super friendly and very helpful. Check-in was very smooth and quick and they will follow up with you to make sure your site is ready. They have large, some shaded, wonderful sites. The campground is wonderfully kept and maintained. Pool was never very crowded even though there were many kids camping here. We loved our site and the whole trip was so relaxing and peaceful!! You are only five minutes from Ocean Isle or Sunset Beach and very easy access to both beaches. The restroom and laundry facilities are kept very clean and friendly. The staff was wonderful and you felt very secure and at home at this campground. Very family oriented. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and we will go back very soon!! I would recommend this campground to any and everyone!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$44
I paid a month in advance - big mistake. Dusty road. Dust gets into everything. Poisonous snakes in pond & creek. Sewage treatment plant on-site. Waste water from sewage plant flows into pond. Owner is unfriendly. Spoke to me once in a month. They DO NOT enforce barking dog rule. There was a dog 2 spaces down that barked incessantly. I complained several times & was ignored. WiFi is pay only - very expensive - often goes out of service & nobody around to reboot. My advice - stay away. Quite a few much nicer places near Myrtle Beach. I moved to Willow Tree in Longs, SC. It's first class & I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$45
This was a nice clean KOA. It was close to Ocean Isle. There was plenty of shopping nearby. We will definitely go back again. We will be visiting again during the July 4th week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
Cleanest restrooms ever. They had a women cleaning the rest-rooms and showers everyday. They were spotless. Bring lighter-fluid as the wood they sell does not burn very well. We used some twigs and nearby brush. Store sells beer and ice-cream. Very nice if you don't want to leave the site. Beaches are 10-15 minutes away. Very helpful people, you can play horse-shoes or volley-ball at the site. The only con I saw was the security. A women who talked to my girlfriend had said she was scared due to the number of teenagers that appeared to grow as the night continued. The staff do not man the gate after 8pm, no one was on the property after that time. They do allow late check-ins for those who cannot make it on time. The gates are not closed due to that. It would not hurt to have a 24hour guard at the check-in. A light on and a golf-cart behind the post does not fool people. All in all great. Calabash is 8 miles away. Holden Beach was the nicest of the three we visited. That beach is about 25-minutes away. Also has a small pool for those who want to lounge around. If all KOA parks are like this, I will always look for those first. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$37
Park is ony 5 years old and very ready for any sized rig. Very friendly owners and employees. Very nice shower rooms. Roads aren't paved and would be dusty in dry weather but office said plans are to pave the roads within the year. Speed bumps entering the park not difficult to deal with. Most all sites are pull thru (except those along the stream) and larger than many campgrounds. Some even offer 100 amp electrical service! Cable TV has only about 25 stations, but price is included in site fee. Pool may be a bit small if campground is full. We enjoyed a get away weekend even if it did storm one of the nights we were there. This proved the drainage system worked rather well! Only real negative was the poorly stocked camp store. We camped in April, certainly not slack time, but there was very little to find there-very limited RV supplies, almost no food stuffs, etc. This is one problem that could be easily corrected as there is definitely space for more. Easy access from Rt 17 and close enough to the beaches. There is even a nice local winery only about 4 miles away! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$30
This was a very clean and pleasant campground. We got in late and the instructions for check-in were rather clear. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. My only complaint was the individual sites weren't very clearly marked for coming in late at night. We had to get out and walk around to find the site we were taking. The road in and the signage were very clear and easily accessed. We spent only an overnight here, but I would definitely stay for an extednded period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$39
Only the relatively small number of planned activities and on-site recreational opportunities prevented this wonderful campground from being rated as a "10." The facilities (rest rooms, laundry, pool, and playground) were extremely clean and well-maintained; the staff was most helpful; there is a separate, lakeside tenting area, one complete with a communal kitchen and dining enclosure; security was excellent; two pleasant beaches were within a five mile radius, and Myrtle Beach was within a half-hour drive; and the quiet hours were truly quiet! While the (gravel/dirt) access road was somewhat dusty, we were informed that this will be remedied by the paving of the road at the end of the 2005 summer season. All in all, this campground provided a superb base for our group of 10, a group which included both young children and teens, and we would most definitely return. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$33
This campground is very nice. We went here because we couldn't get in our favorite places. We had a very nice weekend. It was clean, in a good location, and quiet. Most sites were fairly large. We were close to Ocean Isle and Sunset Beaches. We now have another favorite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$28
This KOA was a very nice surprise. Being in the Myrtle Beach area where everything is so crowded, this KOA offered a nice break from that. Although not directly on the beach, it is within a 5 min drive. The campground was very clean and well kept. This was our second stay with them, and the owner and his daughter have always made us feel welcome. The sites are nice and large, and even some lake front sites. The store is very well stocked. I recommend this campground to anybody staying in the Myrtle beach area that would like a break from the hustle and bustle and crowds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
The campground was new for 2003. The sites were level gravel drives and lots. Restroom are very clean and well maintain, they have a friendly staff. It is about 5 min drive to the beaches, there are a couple to choose from, and not crowded, like Myrtle Beach. The sites are large with fire rings and tables at each site. There is a pond for fishing. The tent area is large for you tenters out there. Best kept secret of Brunswick County Beaches, but not for long. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com