218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Lanier's Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (910) 328-9431
CGID2112

Lanier's Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
365
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   9   5   7   3   9   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
I am so sorry I booked this place over the campground down the road. It's 90% permanent and of those it's about as hick as it gets. The sites aren't even sites really, grassy areas with hookups. And it's LOUD. Shame being right on the water. If you like mullets, old trailers decorated with various patchwork tarps in a CG with sites that are lumpy slots in the grass, and enjoy things like the Saturday night cruising the circuit in golf carts making enough noise so it's hard to sleep, then this is the place for you. If you have ever dreamed of living in a run down trailer park, with all the horrible clich├ęs come to life that come with it, then this is your place. Otherwise book elsewhere. We actually left here and went to the other campground. Easily the worst placed we have ever camped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
Camp sites: We stayed in site W1. We arrived after hours and were told to use site W1B. We were unable to do so because W1B had dirt stockpiled in the site and was within feet of the large maintenance shed. We had to relocate ourselves and W1 was close and nicer. W1 is a fairly level, but small site. I parked my tent trailer within two feet of the shore connection and the awning on the door side reached clear to the neighboring site shore connection. A larger unit in this site would not fit. I would estimate the campground is three quarters filled with permanent units, but these have seasonal residents. The campground seems to cater to these residents. The sites available to those of us that are not permanent are clustered amidst the permanent units. Staff: The staff did not go out of their way to be helpful. The couple checking in before us did not have a reservation and they were given a phone number for another employee who was on vacation and told to call them to figure out which site they could use. When I wanted to top my propane tank with fuel, I was told that I would be charged for a full tank fill up even though I had about a half a tank remaining. I went elsewhere to fill it up after leaving the campground. Bath House: The bathrooms did not appear to be cleaned daily even though the sign said they are cleaned daily. The toilet paper ran out and was not refilled the last three days we stayed. The men restroom was locked and was not open for our entire stay. I used the family restroom. Amenities: The park playground was interesting, but nestled between the two busiest campground streets with no real barriers to keep kids in or cars out. The laundry was locked and I had to ask for a the staff to open it. They do have a boat ramp, but I did not look at this. They do have a pool, but this was closed for the season. The park is gated and key cards with a $15 refundable deposit are provided for access. Internet Wi-Fi is available within 50 feet of the office. General Comments: Dogs are welcome and lots of people walk them frequently, it was very much a dog parade up and down the park streets. Cats are welcome as well and they run freely throughout the park. Some sites have views of the waterfront, but not all do. The land is graded so that in a rainstorm, standing water up to six inches or more puddles in many of the sites. We do not plan to return to this campground and actually cut our trip two nights short because of our dissatisfaction with the campground. A refund was not available. The reason given was listed on a sign at the desk and reiterated by the staff. It said that camping is an outdoor experience and refunds are not available because of effects of nature. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
Very convenient to fishing piers and golf courses in the area- well kept campground- we recommend you stay here when you're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Sites very tight. Unfriendly staff and owners who don't care. Mostly park models and seasonal, roads not well maintained. Bathrooms and laundry locked at all times. Laundry had note on door, Closed. When I asked they said "Well if you have to use it, we can open it". Dog owners walk their pets anywhere, allow them to bark at all hours and don't pick up after their pets. Also big sign at check-in advising of recent thefts of things left out over night. No cable TV. Rate was for water and electric (50 amp). Only plus, water views are beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
A nice, quiet, clean relaxing campground close to some great sea food restaurants at Surf City. A visit to the memorial battleship USS North Carolina is a must and is an easy one half drive. Plan on spending the entire day. Use Rt 17 by-pass not business 17. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
The park has a great location on the Inter coastal waterway, and within walking distance of Surf City Beach. However, the park itself is seriously run down and dirty. When we were there the laundry was not open due to mechanical malfunction, and was not expected to open in the foreseeable future. The roads were very rough with potholes, which filled when it rained. The sites were muddy so it was impossible to keep our rig clean. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
Contrary to what is written above this campground DOES NOT have cable TV and wi-fi is only available at a few hot spots. Very nice campground except for those 2 misleading things and we would stay here again. Exceptionally clean rest rooms and showers. Sites were a little close to each other but otherwise we liked it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
This was a one night stay. As usual we arrived late in the afternoon. The registration staff was friendly and helpful. We had the usual hookups except for cable. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
A large parking lot-type of campground with amenities like a pool and playground that would be nice in warm weather. The main bathhouse was closed so we had access to the two handicapped ones (you have to pay a $15 deposit for the rest room key). One was kind of sandy and dirty, the other was clean, neither was warm. Wi-fi was poor even near the office. Friendly host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Great facility. Location is excellent. Close to most all fishing piers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Nice level lots. Water front lots are on the Intra coastal Waterway. Lots near water and boat ramp can be noisy. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
The staff was friendly & welcoming. There was a gate at the entrance, but the campground was not fenced. The pool was being enjoyed by lots of campers, but it appeared small for the number of sites/campers. The lots were small & narrow. There were only 27 sites in the huge campground that would accommodate our 24ft camper, of those 10 did not offer full hook-up. Of the 27, several were vacated permanent sites with gravel pads. A lot of maintenance is needed on the campsites (grass mowing, weed eating, weedkiller). Some of the roads were in bad shape (bumpy ride, broken pavement). There are a lot of improvements that could be made at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Very nice campground. Children loved the playground and game room. Pool was not open yet but looked very nice. Very friendly staff. Will go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Very clean restrooms. Some of the cleanest I've seen. My one camplaint was there was no cable TV and poor reception with rabbit ears. Easily accessible to Topsail and Surf City piers for fishing. Would definitely camp here again. Quiet and very secure campground. We have a pop-up camper, but were with a friend who camped in a tent. His sight was right next to the restrooms, which was very handy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$28
We stay at this campground a lot when we go to the Surf City/Topsail Beach area, especially since Roger's Bay in North Topsail doesn't rent sites anymore. Lanier's is mostly seasonal sites. In fact, we hear there's a 2-year waiting list to get a seasonal site! But overall, it's a nice campground and we enjoy it. The big swimming pool is a plus, as well as the grill that's open on weekends for breastfast & lunch. Most sites are grass & can get very wet, soggy & muddy when it rains, so having 4x4 is helpful. The campground is located on the soundside, not the oceanside (about 5 min. from ocean), but you can get waterfront sites occasionally, although most are occupied by seasonal campers. My biggest complaint is they don't provide soap in the bathhouses or anything to dry your hands on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com