217962 User submitted reviews online!!
Van Hoy Farms Family Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (704) 539-5493
CGID2119

Van Hoy Farms Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   10   7   8   8   7   4   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Small, family run RV park. Over half of the sites are "Long termers". Electricity, water pressure, and Wi-Fi are weak. Traffic noise from I-77. Friendly staff escorted us to our site and allowed us to change when the site we were assigned to was next to a tent and a surplus army 2 1/2 ton truck still with army markings. Sites and roads are good gravel and sites were somewhat level. Some more than others. We have stayed here when the pool was open. It was large and clean. Some turns are tight for our 43' RV and some recent tree growth was close to the roof and slides. Nice, convenient over night stop campground. The owner stopped by to thank us for staying. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
We found this campground to be close to the interstate and Cowboy Town in Love Valley, N.C. a must visit if you are in the area. The campground interior roads are gravel and fairly well maintained, restrooms were clean, but dated. Some run down older travel trailers. All the utilities worked fine, the water pressure was good. They were having live Bluegrass music and a Pow Wow the day we were here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$33
Very clean park, nicely mowed, grassy sites. We were able to park our 33 footer on a level site without having to unhook the truck for an overnight stay. That is 50+ feet of level driveway to park on. The host/owner was very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Wi-Fi is excellent, that's what I am using as I type this. A gem of a campground right off of I-77. We will for sure return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
In my opinion, not big rig friendly. My rig is 42'. Turn radii to small. 50 amp sites are few, and most have to close or low hanging limbs. Some sites not level, my rigs airbag leveling couldn't handle it. First time that's happened. People are very nice and helpful. Great place for walking dogs. Lots of open space. Very convenient to interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Very easy access from I-77. The campground is clean and dirt/grass sites are fairly level. The owner led us to the site. This is a good spot for a night or longer, if need be. We will stay again. The pull-through are fine for a 42' motor home. As I recall, the Wi-Fi did not function. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Best value on I-77. Super people own/manage the park. Very nice pool. Only a few site are available as many are taken by seasonal or permanent. No site is level. Some shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
Family owned farm since 1946. Was used as a Fiddlers convention and concerts. Call ahead and tell owner what you need and he can recommend a site. Just pull into the site and owner will come by later in the day and collect fee. Very relaxing location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
No one at the office. They have an envelope to place money in, then go find a site. Most of the pull-thrus are 50 AMP and most sites have meters for seasonal. Those seasonal on sites had clothes lines, some in need of cleaning and looks more like a old mobile home park then a campground. Bathrooms the only thing open and were not being kept up. For a Good Sam park it needs a lot of attention. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
Rate reflects Good Sam disc. Booked a reservation on-line and no one at the office upon arrival, so we didn't know if we had an assigned site or not. We chose one near a Wi-Fi tower, which was great. Wide open fields were great for the dog. Some sites could use some leveling. There were no working lights outside the bathrooms at night. Restroom/laundry could use an upgrade. We would return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
This is a nice open park with lots of room for your dog. It is well maintained. Plenty of TV reception with an antenna. Interstate is nearby and you can hear it. Good place to stop overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Self check in. Very nice pool. Narrow roads, sites not very level, but wide and some shade. OK for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This camp has nice eye appeal with lots of open areas around it. The roads and sites are gravel with grass, picnic table, and trees. Sites are long enough to leave the tow attached. Some sites are open enough for satellite reception. Our site required boards as well as the jacks to level the rig. There is some highway noise. Verizon air card worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Campsite is on a large farm with rolling hills. Sites are pretty level with grass and gravel. Each site has a picnic table. No cable TV but Wi-Fi had good signal. Management is onsite, very friendly. The park is well maintained and it looks like they offer music entertainment in the warmer weather. We did not check out the bathrooms/showers. Very nice, quiet place. Great place to walk your dog! We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This park is easy in and out from I-77. Host was very hospitable and helpful. Has free Wi-Fi. Everything mowed and neat. Sites are a little unlevel but not enough to be a bother. Stayed just overnight. Really not much here but this, I believe, has been well-known as a music venue for years. Has an interesting history. Quiet and relaxing after being on the road...but we were here when there was no music. Will definitely stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
Long term sites presentable, friendly, large acreage. Love it; no frills, no trash. Home farm setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
This place is a dump. Nothing more than a trailer park with a few overnight spots. The concert area is called "Plaza Mexico" Hundreds of Mexicans there, music blaring,yelling into a PA system..Horrible place to spend the night! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
This park is 15 miles from anywhere but just off I-77. It is a large former farm with acres of green grass and space. The lots are small, cramped and mostly uneven. The long-term campers are mostly construction workers with old, well used campers. The weekend we stayed there was a Mexican Rodeo going on in the arena. The owner was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Park is located north of Statesville, NC. This park has easy access to interstate, though only limited services at this exit. The park has been designed in a field, so the roads and spaces are not paved. Plenty of room to maneuver and park with pull thru and back in spaces available. Owner was very hospitable and helpful. One drawback, though, was a weekly "convention" or "rodeo" that also took place. Normally you wouldn't expect to be bothered with this as the area used by these groups was 500 to 700 yards away. However, sound does travel, especially when the groups are loud. Even with this mild distraction (more for my wife than for me) I would readily stay there again. This was the second time I stayed at this site in a span of 4 months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
I stayed one night. I arrived after dark and had a difficult time locating my parking site. In the morning I flushed my tanks. The sewer system over flowed all over the site and my shoes! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$35
Went in and the manager met us in the office. We asked about a site for the night (I had called the day before and told no problem, no reservations needed). He finally came up with a site after much deliberation (in his mind). He asked if we wanted to stay 2 nights but we didn't, this was our stop over for the night only. The bathroom shower's were not the best in the men's room. One was out of order and the other shot water to the ceiling. Nothing much going on in the campground, very quiet, out of the way. Good for an over night stop. Heard it is nice for the concert's during the season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Very nice campground and staff. Not a lot to do unless they are having a concert but we stayed only two days and it was nice and quiet - easy on and off the interstate too We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Very Clean campground with friendly owners on site. Pool was not open as we were there in January. Convenient to I-77 but with no road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com