214506 User submitted reviews online!!
Toad Suck COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (501) 759-2005
CGID212

Toad Suck COE

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   10   8   10   9   9   9   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$5
Needed a one night, walk-up site due to the holiday weekend. They use a parking lot as an over-flow area. It has 30 amp service but no water at the site. Very nice park with well separated sites, shade, and close to the river. Rate reflects Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
The price quoted is with a senior pass. We had a great campsite in loop A with a wonderful view of the river and lock. That said, there are problems here. Our site was not level, side-to-side. Most of the sites on the inside of our loop were extremely sloped from back to front and would be very difficult for larger RVs. Loop B and some of Loop C has level sites. Avoid loop C outside sites from C2 to C8. Same back to front slope. There are very few toilets (4 mens, 4 womens) for the entire campground. Showers in loop C are new and good. Those in A are old and small. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Wonderful find, as good as the name. Inexpensive, roomy sites, and family friendly location about 10 miles from the Inter-State. We will definitely go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$9
This is a nice COE campground. We were satisfied with the site, but disappointed in the restroom facilities. There are only two restroom facilities and only one of those had 2 very small showers. The restroom facilities were not filthy, but could use some updating. Staff at check in/check out were very nice and helpful. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
This is a very pretty park with lots of trees, paved roads and sites. It has nice playgrounds for children, nice place to ride bikes through the campground and is very well-maintained. It is about five miles from shopping and is very convenient. It is on the Arkansas River and a couple of years ago when we were there, the water was up in a few of the campsites, so check to be sure that the river is not in flood stage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
This is a lovely park/campground that gets lots of activity. I had reservations, but on arrival, the staff offered other sites that they thought I might like better. In fact, the most popular site (C10) was just available, and she gave me the option to switch. It is a wonderful site. Partial shade. Drivers side looks out to a picnic pavilion and the passenger side looks out to a large grassy area between looks. The site was on the river and perfectly flat. Friendly staff, well kept grounds, ample 50A power, clean water with adequate pressure. More like a city park than campground, but very nice indeed. I'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$10
Heard a lot of good stuff about this park and it's all true. It's pretty, the sites are level, the staff is excellent. I'm sure we will be back. If they had wi-fi, it would beat most "resorts". We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
We love this park! Returned for a few days because we remembered it from passing through in 2007. Well-maintained grounds, large, shady sites with picnic tables. Beautiful view of the river where we watched tugboats and barges going through the locks. We were on the side away from the playground and didn't use the restrooms or showers so can't comment on those. Can't rate a "10" because there's no sewer or Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
As mentioned before, roads and sites are paved. Sites are spacious. Good electric (50 amp) and water. Dump station. Rate is with Golden Age Passport. Not far from city with shopping and restaurants. Quiet and we would return if in area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$9
The low rating is given because of the lack of scenic beauty and the disgusting rest rooms. This has obviously been a long term problem. Some one had scratched on the toilet stall in the restroom with showers "Enter at your own risk". They were correct. It would gag a maggot. The showers were dark dirty holes in the wall. The river view sites for the most part face the locks. Interesting but not attractive. The campground is near a very high bridge over the Arkansas River. The bridge is pretty neat but the traffic noise from it is not. The grounds are immaculate. The roads and trailer pads are paved. There is lots of shade in the campground, as well as large open fields for games. The playground is exceptional. If you don't plan to use the restrooms and don't mind looking at the concrete wall across the river which is part of the lock system, you can't beat this place for the price especially with Golden Age. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
The bathrooms at Toad Suck suck, and they're too far from the campsites, but otherwise this is a decent enough park in a scenic, convenient location. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Overall, a typical COE park. Bathrooms could use some updating, and the fire pits haven't been cleaned recently. Park seems to be having a problem with locals using facilities without $$$. No "pass" needed to cruise or use the park. Appears that some funds have been cut off for this park. The grass was in serious need of mowing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$10
Our price reflects the Golden Age price. This is a nice park and is kept clean. You are right on the Arkansas River on a lock and dam. Unfortunately, it was extremely hot during our stay and to use the bathrooms is unbearable. Some sites are unlevel. Several walk-in sites available. The dump station is on the wrong side and as you leave, you will need to turn around to do so. We would stay here again. There are two entrances to the park. If you are concerned, call for directions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
We spent one night here as part of a longer trip out West. We were very impressed with the scenery and river front view. It was a gorgeous place! We had electric and water only, but there was a dump station near the front. None of the spaces were pull-through and some were a little hard to fit a big rig into, but the COE website lists the size of each site if you book online. There were bike trails and several playgrounds: it was ideal for families and pets. The rangers made several patrols during the evening so we felt very safe. Overall, we would give this campground a high recommendation for a scenic, back-to-nature COE place, especially great for families. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9
We've stayed here on three different trips as it makes a good stopover park. It's off the beaten path and a challenge to find without a GPS. The campground is right on the river and is quite large. They're really missing a sure bet by not having T-shirts to sell! Who wouldn't want a "Toad Suck" shirt!? The price we paid was with a senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
We camped here for three nights. Our site was in the 'C' loop. Several of the river front sites have sloping paved drives which may make it hard to level front to back. The park has large shade trees with no underbrush between sites. Most of the sites have a covered picnic table. The only showers are located near the 'A' loop. The lights in the shower house are on a timer, so my early morning shower on an overcast day was rather dark with the only light coming in from the window. Plenty of hot water in the tiny shower stalls. The campground was very quiet with a great view of the river and dam. We enjoyed watching a few barges go down the river and also spotted two bald eagles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
This is a great little park. Sites are well laid out and quite a few are big rig friendly. The view of the river was great. The only reason I didn't give this park a 10 is there is no sewer connection and some road noise as it sits close to the highway. Most sites are paved with a concrete patio and covered picnic table. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Very nice COE park. We had a lovely view of the river. Rangers were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but would love to come back and spend more time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
Super helpful Rangers and Park Attendants. Every thing well maintained and clean. Fantastic view of the Arkansas river, lock, and dam/bridge. We would love to come back and stay as long as the rules allow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Unfortunately, my stay was a miserable one. The site employee specifically stated over the phone the day before I arrived, that they accepted credit cards. The "volunteer" on duty over the weekend stated that "the computer was down," so they could not accept credit cards - which turned out to be a falsehood. The computer was "not down," so I had to go through the hassle of writing a check each day which is a pain. The park employee argued with me that the park volunteer had not lied, and that they wouldn't trust anyone with the computer but the park employee. What a joke! Like it's my fault for their bumbling antics. I told the employee that the volunteer could not be trusted because of telling the lie about the computer. The first night the neighboring site had a bonfire (92* degree day - like you need a fire?!) Smoke billowed into my coach's roof A/C from the bonfire. I called the gatehouse and naturally there was no one to take the call, nor did they return my call. Other than the lying of the volunteer about payments, and two dogs wandering the campsites - one of them a dangerous looking Pit Bull running loose, it was somewhat an enjoyable stay. The price was right - if nothing else. The non-riverside sites are $18 and the riverside.view sites are $20. The 62 and older price is a flat $10 a day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$10
A nice park and very helpful staff. Has long, backin spots which slope some to front, but not too hard to level camper. Has a good view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
We've stayed here twice this year, once in Jan. and again in March. Pretty campground in view of the Toad Suck Lock and Dam on the river. The sites in some areas are pretty close to each other, but in others you have plenty of space; depends on location. I don't think I'd want to spend several days here (there's not much to do and quite a ways from town), but for one night while passing through, it's a great deal! They would make a fortune if they'd sell T-shirts with their name on them! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$10
Thought the name was a hoot! The weather was awful - pouring down rain which diminished our experience here. Otherwise our site faced the river and it was a nice area. Sites all seem to be slanted so leveling was a challenge. We would probably come back in better weather. Typical COE park - well maintained. Rate was for Golden Age Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This is a great place to spend some time. The sites were level and well spaced. There are some sites that have quite a slope to them, so make sure you ask for a level site if that is important to you We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$20
Nice campground, but the rest rooms are small and the only shower is in the "A" loop. Nice view of the lock and dam. Easy satellite setup. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This place has a pretty setting along the Arkansas River. Loops A & B have good views of the river and lock & dam. A loop is heavily shaded with nice big trees. Sites vary in length, & many are not level. Some are difficult to back into (especially A loop). Pads are paved or gravel. There are on-site camp hosts. Campground is 10 miles west of the interstate and has a real country feel. A small store (Toad Suck One-Stop) is next door to campground for a few necessities, bait, gas and firewood. There are no reservations, so it starts to fill up Thursday for the weekends. I would have rated this campground higher, but the bathrooms didn't look very clean. I could not resist the name, and the campground was much nicer than it would imply! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
Take Hwy 60 Southwest from Conway and you'll find Toad Suck, the town, and the COE park. It's right on the bank of the Arkansas River just beyond the bridge. Nice quite park and like most COE parks, one of the best deals available - $10 with the Golden Age/Sr. Citizen card. Has dump station and small country store with lots of things close by. Lots of open space to run the dog or just walk about. Our satellite dish worked fine and the sites were easy to level our 41 foot rig. There is a play ground for kids. We'd come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
Nightly rate is with Golden Age Pass. One of the nicest Corps of Engineers (COE) parks you will ever be in. We were in site C2, and could get satellite and internet easily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
This is a quiet campground on the Arkansas River. It is fun to watch the barges go through the locks. We stayed in the A campsites. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$10
Lovely campground by the river with great views. Watched the barge/boat traffic moving through the locks. Large sites with plenty of room for awnings and slides. Water & power (50amp)was good. Our site was level and easy to get into. Cellphone, aircard and satellite signal was good. Quiet except for the boat and lock activity (horn) which wasn't very often. Good place to overnight and relax away from the constant roar of the I-40 while traveling. Would stay here again. Golden Age Pass accepted for 1/2 price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This park has all back-ins on the Arkansas river. Nice view, quiet park with friendly staff. Would love to stay longer but no sewer hook-ups. Close to the Dam and to town. Great for a few days. We stayed with a 40' motorhome and had no problems. A little hard to find due to it being off the main highway and limited signs, but worth staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
Relaxing park We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Stayed in park in a 40' motorhome. Park has a great view of the Arkansas River. Park was very clean & quiet. We stayed next to the water & all sites in this area were back-in only. Sites were large with a table. Trees were well trimmed & roads were in good condition. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$16
Beautiful shaded campground on the banks of the Arkansas River. The campground is located right next to the Toad Suck Dam. One of the most shaded, peaceful campgrounds I've seen. Very friendly and helpful hosts. A Corps of Engineers park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com