223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Falls Lake SRA / Holly Point Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (919) 676-1027
CGID2122

Falls Lake SRA / Holly Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   6   9   8   9   9   10   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
We have camped here many times and love this campground. Many of the sites are huge and very private. It is always very quiet, even on the busiest holiday weekends. Access is excellent for large rigs. The one negative is the small, cramped showers. But we usually find the bath houses clean. There is good lake access for boats, and there are a couple of swim beaches. There is also a playground. We will keep returning here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Great campground close to Research Triangle Park and all Raleigh has to offer. Nice lake with plenty of water sports opportunity. Bathhouses could be cleaner, but I let my standards slide knowing its a State Park facility. Nice family campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
We really liked this campground with just a couple complaints. Positives were the nice sites with a good deal of privacy. Most were pretty large and flat. Reserve online and you will be able to get very accurate details about the site that will help you make your choice. The 2 beaches were small but were nice sandy beaches. Also had grassy area great for a game of frisbee! Picnic tables near beach in shady areas. You can also swim or put in boats, floats, etc., at many places around the grounds, including your own site if you select a lake site. Bathrooms were the negative part. Small showers with only one curtain so if you are a private person, you won't like that at all. Water is solar heated so showers at night are not so pleasant. Toilet paper runs out on weekends and bathrooms were pretty dirty by late in the day as well. Overall nice. Will go again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
Very nice park. We stayed there right before the season ended. Had a hard time fining it though. The office was closed and it wasn't clear how to find the parking area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Great campground. Nice level sites. Clean bathhouses. If you go during the week there is a great deal of airplane noise - this campground is right under a frequently used flight path - I would say an airplane would fly over low and loud about every 20 minutes. Less air traffic on the weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Very friendly staff, we asked if we could park outside the gate and walk in for late night return (evening out with friends) and they said sure, suggested we park just inside gates and get friends to pick us up. Made sure we knew emergency number if needed. Gates lock at 9 pm in summer, unlock at 8 am. Pretty campground with large, private, shaded sites. Sites are fairly level side to side, most are quite long but on some slope front to back limits usable area. Verizon internet is 4G and steady. Shower water heated by passive solar, one temp fits all pushbutton showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We found this to be a very pretty campground. The sites are large and surrounded by forest. We had a site that had a trail through the woods to the lake. About 75 feet away. We could see the lake through the trees. All the roads are paved. The site had power and water. It was level with a table, lantern hook, and fire pit. Our son loved the sandy beach and swimming area. They have loaner life jackets at the beach. There is also a boat ramp and playground. Nice campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This is another great NC State Parks that we regularly camp at. We camped here in a tent while my brother and his family camped in the next site to us in their travel trailer. We had a great time. We stayed in sites in Loop 2 next to the swim beach. That was very nice to walk down to the swim beach and it actually has sand on the bottom lake. A very nice touch! We'll be going back very soon since we really like this campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
I thought this State Park was very clean and probably one of the nicest parks that we have stayed in. We had site 71 which had a beautiful view of the lake, was very private with large shade trees for screening between neighbors and right next to the swimming beach. The beach was clean with nice white sand. We did have a hard time finding the campground, we had to go to the park office to get directions. I didn't use the restrooms or take a peek at them so I can't say how they were. I do know this was a great State Park: we really liked it and want to go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
The showers are dirty & out dated; no hot water in ladies showers. Electrical hook up has low voltage not 35 amps. Campsites were dirty with trees and tree limbs was hanging over in camp sites. The beach area was nice and dump station was clean. We will not ever go back!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
For a state park, it's certainly fine. Nice, quiet, heavily wooded sites and the park rangers are quite friendly. We've stayed here multiple times since it's so close to home. For Raleigh area residents, it's a nice, quiet getaway. The bathhouses are getting better but again, it's just a state park. Don't over expect. Unfortunately, Falls Lake has problems with water quality for swimming; especially during the early summer months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$23
We stayed here for three days and loved it. Just wish it had sewer hookups and it would be off the hook!! Loved being able to tie up the bass boat behind the camp site and fish whenever i want to. Kids loved it and we are going back the week of July 17th. I love this campground!!! All the roads are paved and easy to get around! would recommend this to anyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Holly Point is a wonderful, quiet, campground. We camped there Memorial Day weekend, and it was quiet at all times, even though the campground was full. The sites are large, and most are heavily wooded. There are water/electric sites, and then those without. Several sites are close to the lake with a small footpath to get to the water. The showers and bathroom areas were kept clean throughout the holiday weekend. We found it to be a wonderful, quiet, campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$40
We had a double lot, $20x2 = $40 a night. We only went for weekend so bathrooms were tolerable. Bath houses did not have soap nor lighting during day and could have been cleaner. We will return to campsite again. We had campsite that had short footpath (15 feet) to lake which was great. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Heavily wooded, quiet and private. Most sites are on relatively small loops, so there is little traffic on the interior roads. Distance to bathhouses may be a problem, if you are not fully self-contained, or for extended stays since there are no sewer connections. Even though the campground was nearly at capacity, our stay was very peaceful. Boat launch and beach are extras that make this a winner at $20! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Campground is beautiful and a very nice place to stay. The rest of this review is for the benefit of forewarning. If you want to stay here, you should first call the park office to get driving directions to the campground. The office and the campground are far apart. The road to the campground is narrow (no shoulder) so big-rig drivers be careful. The showers have hot water but don't expect anything more than very modestly luck-warm. I found in the first site we tried that my tester said the electricity had a grounding problem, so we moved to another site. When I thought I'd be helpful and tell maintenance, I was rebuffed with "Well all the sites are wired the same and no one has ever had a problem." Finally, the gate closes at 8:00 PM. We hadn't noticed the signs (our fault) until we pulled in at 8:45. Luckily, a park worker was sitting in his truck on the other side of the gate. I thought he would let us in. Instead, he drove away! We had to leave our truck outside the gate and walk almost a mile to our site. But a beautiful and (during the work week) very quiet campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Stayed in a popup. Beautiful campground on Falls Lake. We were amazed at how far apart the sites were! Our next site neighbors were about 75' away, and barely visible through the trees. Great privacy. We intentionally chose a site away from the lake, so there weren't many neighbors, and it was very quiet. Easy access, level sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
We stopped here for one night on the way to and from our destination. This is a beautiful campground, with long, level campsites, and plenty of privacy between sites. The lake was a short walk, and had a swimming beach: very pretty! We will definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
We have camped here several times this season (2005). We did not find the rangers searching through the garbage cans like I have read in some of the previous post. It is a nice campground with large shaded and private sites. A lot of them have water and electric. They have a dump station. The bathhouses could use some updating in the loop we stayed in. We only used the showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$20
Stayed here for 5 days in May. Had a great time. Good sized sites too. Gates are locked at 9:00 PM. Very nice state park. Will visit here again for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2004
$25
Very nice and large sites. Bring along your dry dock tote. No sewer hook ups. Have a dumpstation. Overall a very nice place. Fishing was great even from the dock. Level sites and about 85% shaded all day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Nice Place could not see the lake because of the trees.Over all really nice place just spent 1 night so we didnt get to check it out real good. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Very, very nice. Biggest site we have had, and absolutely not crowded. Short walk to beach on lake. Lots of privacy. Only 15 minutes from Raleigh. Very clean. Just a great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com