224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Tranter's Creek Resort & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (252) 948-0850
CGID2123

Tranter's Creek Resort & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
284
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   3   9   6   8   7   9   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
Not impressed. If you're open for the season, everything should be open and available. Only place for overnight or short stays is the back 40 row of 20 spots I believe. Wind is pretty strong there too and you can't use your awning because of it. Not good since there's no shade. Place is filled with seasonal and full timers in all the good spots. No balance to this and is typical of all campgrounds who entertain seasonal stays. Makes other feel unwelcome, myself included. Seemed to be experiencing electrical problems during my stay. Had to replace some fried electrical equipment upon return home. Owner is very nice. Maintenance crew seemed to have bad attitude and burned out. They should be replaced with folks who appreciate and know customer service and care about the place. Instead of messing around for 2 days with a bad breaker trying to keep power on, this $2 item should have been replaced then. Was told my year-old camper was the problem. Odd how I've had no issues at 7 other campgrounds this year and 6 previous year. Place is advertised as resort to justify a marked up price yet it's just a campground. I will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
From 10, deduct a point each for No Wi-Fi, no pool (recent rain), the clothes washers closed (drain problem), mini golf course in poor condition, the playground equipment is dirty, and "resort" advertised. We stayed one night. This is a good overnight that added "Resort" name and $15 to price, but does not have resort amenities. 250+ spots are residential. Bathroom very clean partly because it gets very little use. Extraordinarily long and level pull through sites. Good Sam rate. Saw no kids other than ours. Very good folks, but overreached on the advertising. We would not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
Very nice park, clean and very quiet. All the people in the office very friendly and helpful. Family atmosphere, would rate a 10 except for the Wi-Fi was only available right at the office. Lots of permanent residents but I have found that these parks are usually the best maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$42
Pool was closed. Laundry room was closed "indefinitely". Entry gate did not work well. Otherwise an attractive and nicely maintained park. Lots of grass, not much shade, beautiful creek. Friendly staff. Note that most residents have full time park models, which are nicely maintained. Park was very quiet except for the people next to us. We complained and park management was very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
Rate shown reflects Good Sam weekly rate. Park is mainly made up of park models and long term residents. There are a few waterfront sites for transients but appear to be for smaller rigs. Otherwise, the transient sites are in the last row. The sites are pull through, very long, and level side to side. But front to rear, there is a hump in the row of sites which affect your leveling. Wi-Fi is non-existent at the sites. The park is a good value and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$47
Our site was not shaded. It was sand, grass, but not level. Plenty of length to pull through, but not well defined. Utilities were good and gravel roads with some tight turns. It's a gated park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$43
This was our first time at Tranter's Creek Resort and Campground. We really enjoyed talking to the staff which are very friendly and helpful. The campground is laid out well with the monthly spot rentals on one side and the nightly spots on the other next to the playground and putt-putt course. The campground is very wall maintained and clean. The sites are fairly level and great water pressure! Very close to downtown Washington off of HWY 264 and HWY 17. We went to visit Twin Lakes Campground which is bigger but not the same well maintained look and feel as Tranter's Creek Resort & Campground. On downside to Tranter's Creek Resort & Campground was the road noise and no shade trees but that's just a small one. We'll be going back since we received two free night's coupons from them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Sites are long and easily accessed, but void of any shade or cover. Campground is well maintained. 50A is available and was confirmed true 50A. Staff is very friendly, store is lightly stocked, but a Wal-Mart is close by. Pool was very nice and clean. All the river sites appear to be occupied by permanent campers. Sites are fairly level with turf surface. Trees have been planted but are several years from providing shade. We'll probably return but in the late fall when it's cooler. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
We camped here for a month and it was an extremely pleasant experience. The site we were given was just across from the creek and we were able to just plop our kayaks in and go. The site was the biggest RV site we have ever had anywhere. We got to know the staff and you couldn't asked for more pleasant or more helpful people. The pool was spotless and bath house was always immaculate. The only negative is that the Wi-Fi was terrible due to restrictions on usage even though you had to pay for it. We made lifelong friends here and can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
This park is excellent for a overnight or couple of nights stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool and covered shelter area were very clean. We would stay here again as well as recommend the park to other campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
Staff was very helpful and we were able to look at several sights prior to setting up. We chose this park due to the ability to kayak almost right out from the site. The river was absolutely wonderful! Slow moving, wooded on both sides and the fish were jumping. The town of Washington was close and had a very pleasant waterfront area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This campground was just OK. The good, shaded sites by the creek are taken by seasonals. The rest of the park has absolutely no shade. We asked for a site that faced east, but the campground map was incorrect and we wound up facing NW. When we arrived at our site, an employee showed up and told us that due to recent rains, we needed blocks under the levelers, or the jacks would sink into the ground. I'm glad she showed up and she did get the blocks for us. Expensive for what we got: and no cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
This is nothing but a nice, glorified trailer park. The full timers have the best sites by the river and nearest the river. Our site, as well as most transient sites, were very narrow. Our awning was even with the next site's sewer pipe: yuck! The people were friendly and there is a nice big pool. No shade what so ever, so don't visit here when it's hot! There is weekend activities for the kids and grownups: miniature golf and a playground. They have gravel roads. The park was clean and our site was fairly level. The shower and bathrooms were very clean. No cable TV, but we picked up 12 digital, local stations including 5 PBS channels. The price for the internet was ridiculous. There were a number of transient sites: all with no shade and many too narrow, unless you like smelling your neighbor's sewer. Don't think we'll be coming here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
I stay here while working in Washington. There is no shade what so ever. The staff is mostly good. Other posters are correct: this park is geared more to permanent residents. My biggest problem is with complaints about my TV and radio. I have a hearing loss and was denied when I asked to be parked far away from other campers so not to disturb them. They are supposed to be working on developing the other half of the property for more sites, but there still will be no shade. So if you come during the summer: count on it being over 100 degrees in the open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This campground was developed in an old agricultural area, so the trees are all small and provide no shade. The facilities are well maintained and the staff friendly. It is in a popular weekend/vacation area so has a considerable number of park models, long term and seasonal rentals. We were the only ones in the transient area the two nights that we stayed so our site seemed huge. It was very long, but had there been others in the adjacent spaces, I'm sure it would have seemed no different than most RV parks. The WIFI system was a pay as you go through NomadISP and at $6.95/day, $11.95/2 days was one of the most expensive that we have encountered. Definitely not the campgrounds fault, but a bridge closure adds 10 miles if you are coming in from the East. Also, not the campgrounds fault, but the Historic District of Washington which has been very nicely restored is now mostly vacant buildings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We were very positively impressed with this park. It is primarily a residential enclave, and park models predominate. The management makes it obvious that they intend to provide first rate service to the itinerant crowd, such as short-timers like us. We were guided to a lovely, grassy site near the bathhouse by a young lady who was more than helpful in getting us acquainted with the park, and even gave our spoiled-rotten dog a ride in her golf cart. The utilities were first-rate, the rest rooms were spotless, and the showers were just this side of Outdoor Resorts! We experienced courtesy and professionalism at each contact with the staff. We even got an introduction to the Park's Guard Bird, a Killdeer who had planted her eggs near the Office. My dog wants me to mention the large grassy areas that are available for walks and exercise. There is currently a bridge under repair that requires a rather lengthy detour to get to the park. Take the detour; it's worth it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
We have to say this is a Good park. But ONLY good!! The office staff is often NON Committal. Have a "Have to do" attitude, unless you are a "Full Time RESIDENT", and there are some. The Park itself is Very clean, as well as the rest rooms and showers. The only problem they have is... that there is only one M/F set. The camp laundry room is very clean, and open 24 hrs. The CG is great for an enroute, facility, perhaps a weekend or two get a way. Oh there are NO shade trees, just a few saplings. They have only 3 "Riverside" sites available and they are only Water and Electric equipped. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Park is clean , but no shade. Check in clerk kept us waiting 10 minutes while she was on telephone. She was rude and acted like we were interrupting her (no one else was in the office). She was offended that we were only staying two days. Did not give us good directions to site. will not stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
We planned on making this just an overnight stop on our way to Myrtle Beach but stayed 3 days. Our pull-thru site was wide and level and centrally located. There was one tree that the manager in the office claimed was the largest in the campground, but it offered no shade at all. In fact, there appears to be very, very little shade available in most of the transient sites. It was incredibly hot, but the pool was clean and refreshing. The camp store was very clean and there was a nice game room, but they certainly could increase their inventory. There was very little in the way of RV products available and only the most limited food stuffs. There certainly is room for more. The campground's restrooms and shower facilities are absolutely first rate in every way - very, very clean and modern, even air conditioned. We almost never shower outside of our trailer but we did here. What was most impressive was the friendliness of both the campers and the staff, particularly the young woman who was the manager. There are many permanent campers here. Those we met were open and friendly. Many got around on their golf carts. We picked this campground out of our campground directory simply because it was on our way home and we are very, very glad we did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We spent Mother's Day weekend camping at Tranter's Creek. Friendly office staff, presented wife a long-stem rose upon registration. Community fish fry Saturday included in registration fee. Good Sam discount. Would most certainly go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
$27
This is not an RV resort. It is a place for permanent campers, with a few spaces for RVs. The sites are very unlevel, and are downwind from a horse pen. The smell is not good. The roads are a mixture of dirt and gravel and the dust is overwhelming. To add insult to injury, they have a gate with an arm that is programmed to let only one vehicle through before the arm swings down again, yet they do not tell you this and there are no warming signs. It doesn't take a mental giant to figure out what happens when you come through this gate towing a vehicle or with a tow vehicle behind you. Our damage totalled over $500, and they just shrugged their shoulders and did not offer apologies or compensation. Overall, a bad, bad place to be. Avoid it like the plague. Life is too short. We camped here in a .
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com