220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Bandits Roost COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (336) 921-3190
CGID2132

Bandits Roost COE

Camp Information
Sites
102
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   8   9   10   8   6   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$12
A nice COE campground with friendly staff, located in the NC foothills, very convenient to Wilkesboro. A few sites are on the water and many of the others have water views. Campground roads are paved, sites are gravel, unfortunately some sites are very muddy when it rains. There are two RV sections at the campground and a separate tent camping areas. A number of the sites have picnic tables down stairs, below the campsite, not convenient and a fall hazard. Section “A” bathroom should be condemned - It is a disgrace (hence the rating). Consequently section “B” bathhouse is not big enough to handle the volume. Verizon cellphone reception was great, internet reception was okay and TV with antenna was okay. We stayed for 7 days and will stay again. Rate shown is with senior pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
We had site 57. It had rained here and the site is nothing but a driveway with 17 steps down a steep bank to the BBQ, table and fire pit that was filled with mud from the bank that made the area unusable. They NEVER should have rented the site in this condition. Since this was a weekend there were no other sites available. We will NEVER return to this COE again! It is the worst COE we have camped at in 7 years of traveling all over the states. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$11
Rate is with senior pass. Staying here is the best of the two worlds of camping and RV living. Most sites are good-sized and separated by trees, and all have tables, cooking tables, and fire rings. Power and water were both good, and a dump station is located on the exit route. Rooftop satellites will be a problem with all of the trees, but we were able to find a site that worked with our tripod and portable dish. Verizon cell was strong, but data was weak and intermittent. Even on a crowded Labor Day weekend, the park was quiet at night. Easy access from the main road, interior roads are paved and sites, all back-in, are hard packed dirt and gravel. A great place to stay, and an unbeatable value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Repeat visit to this park. In spite of the rain, we had a good dry site. Good drainage. Being here for a few weeks, we have the park almost empty during the week and full on the weekends. It is always quiet, regardless. Not having sewer, we use their facilities part time. They are older, but very well maintained. We kayaked on the lake. My husband and grandchildren fished and were successful. Our phone had a good connection. We got one national network and several smaller ones with our antenna. Security seemed good with frequent patrols by either the park rangers or the Sheriff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This is a fantastic park in a great location. Our site for our 30 ft RV was level with lots of space between our site and the next. We enjoyed waking up in the morning to the sound of birds and beautiful view of the lake. Power worked well on 50amp. Lots of opportunities for walking and wildlife viewing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
This is a very nice park adjacent to Kerr Scott Reservoir, with excellent hiking trails for active folks. Access into the park and sites are paved and the sites are gravel. Not all sites are level, and when the rains hit - your jacks may sink into the ground. Water and electric are strong, and there are easily accessible dumps stations for each of the loops - A and B. We noticed that sites in loop B seem to be spaced closer together, and the cellular signals in that section of the park are weaker. All sites have a picnic table and fire pit. Bathrooms and shower stalls are old, but clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We discovered that there are several sites that are "walk-in only", so they are given out on a first-come-first served basis. This is very helpful when the campground gets busy, as it was most of the week we were there. However, this park somehow seemed fairly quiet even when it was full. There are many large stores and chain restaurants approximately seven miles east of the campground. We would definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
This is an older campground with not too many level sites for a 40' rig. We moved twice & eventually got level, but only with a whole bunch of blocks. It rained a lot during our stay, so the lake was way up and our campsite was a pond in itself. Very serene campground with very nice bike/hiking trails if the weather would have been nicer. Dump station and bath house were convenient to the camping area. Close to town for shopping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$10
We used our Sr. Access Card to pay for our stay at the very nice Bandit's Roost COE campground convenient to Wilkesboro, NC and Wilkes Community College where the annual music festival Merlefest is held in late April. The site is on W. Kerr Scott reservoir, and has large, well-shaded sites as well as closely stacked lakeside sites on a peninsula. The showers are kept reasonably clean, except on weekends when heavy use makes this more difficult. Internet access via cell towers is strong. There are a number of sites offering satellite shots. We stayed there about a week this year and plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
This was a great campground. We had been looking for a home base and I think this might be it! Easy to get to, easy to get to town/shopping. Tent sites are spaced out nicely, with trees in between. Sites are large with plenty of room. Bathhouse in A section was nice -- could have used more showers, I think, but still adequate. Playground was great. Would have liked more things offered in store, but again, town is close by for anything needed. Will definitely be back next year! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$12
A great COE campground with really friendly staff and rangers. Located south of Wilkesboro on highway NC-268, which makes it easy to find. Convenient to Wilkesboro shopping, etc. Campground roads are paved, sites are gravel. This campground has two separate RV areas and 2 separate tent camping areas. A few RV sites are not very level and some have picnic tables at an elevation below the camp pad. Many good waterfront sites and many inner-loop sites have a view of the lake. Bathrooms in section “A” badly need a modernization. TV reception was okay with antenna and Verizon cell phone worked great. We camped here for 7 days and will stay here again. Rate shown is with senior pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Great place. Sites are laid out kind of funny, but the rest of the place is great. Showers and bathrooms are dated, but function quite well. Large, pea gravel sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
We always enjoy our stay here. We stayed on site A54. Most sites can accommodate a large camper. Most sites are shady. There are some sites on the water, but they are always booked up. Very popular campground. Even though it was completely booked for the Memorial Day weekend it still didn't feel crowded. My only complaint is that they used to have two swimming beaches and they closed one. The one they closed was the best of the two and my family really hates that it isn't there anymore. Shopping needs are nearby. Great campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
We have heard so many great things about this place that we wanted to give it a shot. While it was not a total let down, it was one of the worst COE campgrounds that we have stayed in. It just didn't seem kept up as nice as others we have stayed at. Many of the pads needed work. A lot were on top of each other, which is something we never really experienced at other COE campgrounds. The beach was closed, but was told by the attendant that we could go swimming at another park down the road and get access with our pass. We went down there and was told there was no swimming areas open on the lake at all due to the low water. That attendant seemed irritated that the other attendants were sending people down there. Upon leaving we went to dump at the the dump station in our area (B) and it was full. We had to go to the other area to dump. I did like the firewood thing. It was by donation to "Friends of the Lake" and you got more firewood than you do at other places. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This was our 3rd stay at Bandit's Roost. We love this campground and it is close to where we live. We stayed in site A54. We always enjoy our stay. Water level has been low so the beach was closed. I have found this to be an issue at all the campgrounds we stayed at this summer. Someone comes and cleans the bathrooms daily, but I noticed that they were pretty messy on the day we left. Considering that the bathroom's trash can was only half full I think it is disgraceful for campers to throw paper towels all over the floor. But because the bath house is not monitored throughout the day I gave a rating of a 9. The park staff are always friendly and helpful. One note: Wi-Fi is only available at the gatehouse and there is a fee. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$12
A great COE campground with really friendly staff and rangers. Located south of Wilkesboro on highway NC-268, it is easy to find. Campground roads are paved, sites are graveled. There is a separate tent camping area. A few sites are not very level and some have picnic tables at an elevation below the camp pad. Campground is located away from most all road noise; but convenient to Wilkesboro. Many good waterfront sites and many inner-loop sites have a view of the lake. Bathrooms were okay, and kept clean – but could stand modernization. We will stay here again. Rate shown is with senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
We were really lucky to get site A20 which is a great lakeside site. Very peaceful and serene at least where we were. I am not sure what it would be like to be there on a weekend as it might be too busy. We are kayakers and this was a very nice lake. My husband used the shower and as many have said it needs updating. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
This was our second visit to Bandits Roost. We stayed on site A45. Sites are roomy and there is space between sites which was great since the park was full. There used to be two swimming areas, but now there is only one. The office staff said that the other one was too deep for children. Too bad, because it was the better of the two and my teenagers enjoyed it. There is internet available, but only if you are at the entrance and at $5.00. Not convenient at all which is why I gave a rating of 9. The park staff is friendly. There is no store to buy supplies, but there is ice and wood available to be purchased. I would recommend this campground. We plan on camping here again at the end of the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$11
A COE campground a few miles south of Wilkesboro (on highway NC-268). Most everything has been said about this campground; so I won’t repeat it. Let’s hope it gets a modernization soon, as did Warrior Creek in 2010. This is a great campground. Located away from most all road noise; but convenient to Wilkesboro. We camped here for 5 days and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$11
This is a COE campgrounds on Scott Kerr Lake at Wilkesboro, with two RV camping areas. Hosts and park ranger were very friendly and helpful. Many of the campers we met here were regulars, that book each spring and fall. The campground roads are paved, but sites are graveled. Due to run-off in heavy rains, a number of sites get quite muddy. Some sites have the picnic tables and fire-rings are 6-8 feet lower than camper pad, not good. As mentioned, bathrooms were okay, and kept clean: but need modernization. In section “A” there are numerous waterfront sites and inner-loop sites with a view of the lake. There are also two nice tent camping areas. For $5 there is wireless internet available at entry gate, this covers the length of your stay. We camped here for 7 days and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Bandit’s Roost, is one of 3 COE campgrounds on Scot Kerr Lake at Wilkesboro. Enter this campground from NC-268. Campground roads are paved, but sites are graveled. There is a separate tent camping area. Some sites are not very level and some have picnic tables at an elevation very different than camper pad! Most sites are at least partially shaded and also have fire-rings. Bathrooms were okay, and kept clean, but could stand modernization. Two beach areas and a playground for kids. Many good waterfront sites and many inner-loop sites have a view of the lake. Wireless internet available at entry gate, $5 for length of your stay. We camped here for 3 days and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
We stayed here for 3 nights in A48. The staff was very friendly. The bathrooms were clean and we even witnessed a worker cleaning them. There was a room that looked like it used to be a laundry room, but no longer held any washer and dryers. I did not check on other sections of the campground to see if a laundry room was available. The sites were great sizes and many were in shade. Some site were right on the lake. It did seem that it was time for the sites to have new gravel. Our site was clean when we arrived. There are areas for swimming in the lake and the areas around the lake were clean. The price was great at $22 a night and we had water and electric, but no sewage which I feel was reasonable for the price. We would love to camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
We've stayed at Bandit's Roost 2 times this year and will be staying one more time in September. We have been very pleased overall with our stays. Three things kept me from giving this park a "10": 1. Sewer hook-ups 2. No soap in the bathrooms 3. Water accumulates all over the shower section to the point that you can't get dressed without getting your clothes wet Overall, I consider Bandit's Roost a very good park especially priced at $20. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
Based on previous reviews and our previous experience at another COE campground, we were looking forward to camping here, especially as a base for exploring the Blue Ridge Parkway. We were very disappointed with the maintenance and cleanliness of the campground. Apparently everyone who camps here must smoke. There were cigarette butts all over the place: in the site and on the "beach" (actually a steep muddy bank). Fireplace was filthy and unusable (full of corn cobs and other unrecognizable food items from one of the previous campers). Our site (and the beach) were also covered in goose droppings. We ended up staying inside the trailer most of the time because of this. We just didn't feel comfortable letting our kids play outside in the filth. Playground was very outdated and had broken glass on the ground. Men's room and garbage dumpsters were quite a hike from the lakeside pull-throughs. The men's room was clean but the shower facility didn't look too inviting so we did not use it. We will definitely not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
The previous posts are accurate and I agree for the most part. We camped here over the Memorial weekend. The sites are old and tired but in good condition and clean. My son and I fished but the water was shallow near the shore and out into the reservoir for quite a distance. Having a boat would definitely help. Overall it was OK. We have stayed at other COE campgrounds that are nicer. The staff was very pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$10
W. Kerr Scott Dam and Reservoir – Bandits Roost Campground – COE Wilkesboro, NC – May 6 & 7 (Wednesday/Thursday) Cost with Golden Age with electric and water $10 – 100 sites – our site 26A. This is another great COE campground but it is only one of over three on this lake. There are some campsites on the lake and others in the woods. There is a tenting only area and there are areas without water and electricity. The section we were in the A loop we had campers on each side of us but we could look out to the lake on both ends. Bandits Roost our campground is on the south side of W Kerr Scott Reservoir in the Yadkin River Valley. There are bike and hiking trails, boating, fishing, water skiing and swimming. Hunting is allowed in season. There is a playground, basketball court, amphitheater and launching ramps for boats, canoes and kayaks. The people who work here are nice and it is a nice campground. There is one bathroom and shower house per loop so your site could be a good distance walking to them. We stayed here for two nights, one with thunderstorms and rain and the next a bright, sunny day! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Nice COE park, employees very nice, we had site A-58 which was back in with extremely nice patio area at bottom of a set of stairs. With sewer and cable would be a 10 all the way. I can't complain to much for $20.00 a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$10
Very long back in sites. Some pull-thru sites. Would rate this a 9 or 10 if sites had sewer connection and paved pads. Overall a very nice campground. We had a site that backed up to the water. Site was level. Very clean campground. Staff very friendly. We use our Golden Age Passport and paid $10.00 per night. we stayed for 7 nights. About 1/2 the sites can be reserved. We stayed here in a 5th wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Very nice campground. When we couldn't get level on the assigned site we were given a list of all the available ones so we could choose which one we liked best. Many sites were close together. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
One of our favorite campgrounds. Nice family atmosphere, no drinking allowed. Some sites are just dirt, others are grassy. Beautiful lake. We camp here yearly We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We did enjoy our stay here. Area A is out on the point and Area B is more secluded. We chose site 87 in Area B. Some of the sites are real close together and share a common entrance drive. This is a nice, clean campground. The bathrooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Our very first experience in a COE CG & we were not disappointed. We had a site on the point above the beach. 2 weekday nights so the CG was very quiet, almost too quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This is one of my favorite places to go. Yes there are some sites that are too close together, but you will learn where to stay once you've been there. It is nice to have a "hotel" card to get in and out of the park at any time needed as well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Overall a good Park, New Construction abounds. The shower house is not within walking distance. Staff is friendly and sites are large. Of the three campgrounds that I have seen on this lake this is ranked #2. If you have children camping with you you may want to stay at Bandit's Roost. Camp roads need work. Dump station is very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Very pretty. Lots of trees and well designed park. We have camped at other COE parks in the south. This is one of the best. We will stay there again soon. If you want more privacy, pick Loop B. There will be a short walk to the water (Hilly) but worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Great campground for a state park. Pretty lake with almost all sites close to water. Clean for a state park with heavy use. Beautiful lake for boating. Sites are large and not close together. Almost all are shady and located in woods. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Another excellent COE campground. This one is 6 miles from Wilkesboro, NC on the Scott Lake. This is one of my all time favorite campgrounds. The sites are spacious and well spaced for some privacy. We have camped here twice and will return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Nice clean campground. Site gave feeling of seclusion. Staff very courteous. Quiet lake. Level pad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
campground over crowed for me, and very tight to get into. Much rather stay at Fort Hamby on us421 side of lake. Much nicer sites but it's a lot smaller. Fills up fast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$18
Tidy, well maintained COE campground at the W. Kerr Scott reservoir with extremely spacious, level, gravel campsites including 50 amp electric and water. We found that the roads in and throughout were in good shape and more than roomy enough for our 30 ft class A. The sites are surrounded by trees and near the reservoir, some had a nice lake view. Bathrooms were very clean and the showers were fine (hot water was hot and shower heads were high enough) but lacked a private dressing area. Dump station is easy in and out. Campground closes the end of Oct. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$16
This is a army corp of engineers campground. It is wonderful. The sites are large and very well maintained. There is a beach for swimming as well as boating and fishing. The grounds and the facillities are very clean. All this for $16 per night. I would highly reccomend this campground!!!! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com