219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Jordan Lake SRA / Crosswinds Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (919) 362-0586
CGID2135

Jordan Lake SRA / Crosswinds Campground

Camp Information
Sites
180
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   7   7   10   8   9   3   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
We stayed at Cross Winds for Easter Weekend with five other families. We enjoyed camping on the lake with a small beach within walking distance. The kids enjoyed the water, kayaking, and riding their bikes around the campground. The sites are spacious, with plenty of room and trees between them. The sites are gravel and have a large pad with light post, fire ring/grill, and picnic table. The sites were clear of debris when we arrived. Water and electric we easily accessible. Trash cans were located every few sites and emptied twice each day. The roads through all three loops were well paved and a boat launch is available near the campground. The bath house was close to our sites and well lit. They were cleaned daily, but got messy toward the evening with heavy use. The showers were warm, with a push button access. We enjoyed our stay at Cross Winds and will return. It was convenient, clean, and fun for the entire family. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
This was a tent camping trip with a group of 6 people. We got 2 site side by side. Lots were level and had water/ elec., no sewer. They had the normal park grills. Plenty of room for 2 tents and 2 hammocks. Bath house was clean but needed painting. Everything worked as it should. We had loud group down from us but Rrangers came by and calmed them down. We would go again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We had a double site on the lake. It was level and easy to access. Water pressure was good. The bathrooms were clean, but the paint in the shower stalls was peeling. I will say that the campground recently opened up for the season, so I am sure the showers will get a fresh coat of paint. The only down side of this park is no sewer at the site. It's a beautiful park. Be aware that the gates close at 8:00 pm so access in and out is not possible, unless it's an emergency. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$26
Nice North Carolina State Park Campground, clearly designed for lake access and use. We enjoyed the clean sites and grounds. The beach was open and well maintained. Each site had a fire pit with grill, picnic table, and light post. The sites were level and easy to navigate. The restrooms needed some attention. The hot showers were lukewarm and needed some cleaning. They were push button and needed constant pressure for water. This caused us to mark down an otherwise nice campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
I wish I could give this park more than a seven but I can't. Crosswinds is a great state park campground and we'd recommend it. But I guess the state's budget woes are starting to show. That was our only complaint for the entire July 4th weekend. The beach at the lake has eroded badly and in many sites, the trees need a big haircut. To back our 40' toy hauler in, several limbs had to scrape down the sides and roof more than what makes me comfortable. It just needs to be tidied up some to get back to at least a nine. The park rangers were great and the crowd stayed pretty well-mannered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Like many, I wish like their sister SC sites, the NC SRA campgrounds would provide come and go access after hours via a code. That said, if you can stand staying put at night then this is great place to visit. The lake is awesome, the sites are clean, private and spacious. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$19
This campground offers sites that are both very large and well spaced. Located well away from the highway, campsites are very quiet. There are numerous double sites which permit two travel trailers or motorhomes to locate close together. Note that double rates are charged for these sites. The park appears to be quite popular with local families and reservations are recommended for weekend days from spring to fall. One policy of the park is somewhat annoying. At 8:00 each evening (slightly later during summer months), the entry gates are locked. There is no way to drive in or out of the campground. This is very inconvenient if one wants to go out to dinner or engage in other evening activities. Since the campsites are a considerable distance from the entry, you must park a car near the entry booth. Upon returning, you’ll need to walk several hundred yards from the gate to your car. Be sure to bring a flashlight because there’s no lighting! Note that no parking is available outside the gate, so some form of pickup and delivery to the campground is required if you decide to venture out after hours. The rate indicated reflects the senior discount available to all seniors, regardless of place of residence. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
The weather was beautiful and it was a great stay. Our site was level, water pressure good, even picked up 15 Raleigh TV stations with the antenna. Stayed in Section C, but Section B also looked nice. Couldn't get a site next to the lake, but it was a short walk down the road. Besides a frequent barking large dog somewhere, the campground was very good, one of our favorites. Don't mind the gates closing at 8:00 pm. The camp host was available in case of emergency. Campground is clean and most sites were easily accessible. The bath house is NOT heated so it can get a little cold in there for taking a shower. Tried fishing but succeeded in doing nothing but drowning worms. Water level was way up thanks to the 8+ inches of rain last week. Definitely will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
All the sites in sections B & C were beautiful, large and had plenty of trees between sites for privacy. Our site C32 had a good view of the lake and you could access the lake from behind our campsite. I would have rated this campground as excellent except for one extremely annoying thing. The front gate is locked from 9:00 pm to 8:00 am. In other words, if you arrive back at the campground after 9 pm, you are out of luck and can't get in! There are steel gates and no way to get around them. If you park your vehicle outside the park entrance, you may find your vehicle towed. I have never been to a campground with a rule like this. It is ridiculous to have to return to your campsite by 9 pm and it is also rude to ask your visitors to leave before 9 pm so that they're not stuck inside the park. We had to pass on activities with nearby relatives just so we could make it back in time. The park was almost empty during the week: now I know why. We will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
This was our second time here. This time we were in section "B". This section seemed a little noisier than section "C", i.e. road noise. The double site we had was huge and level. It was easy to back into. The bathrooms were clean, but sparse with no heat and the shower temperature is preset. We were able to pick up 8 local TV stations using our antenna, which was good enough to watch some football games. This CG is great for bike riding, hiking, fishing, and swimming (when warmer). The park is beautiful with trees, we could hardly see the next camp site. Gate closes at 8:00 pm. No sewer at the sites. This CG is closing in a couple weeks for Winter. Looking forward to Spring so we can make another trip! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We actually stayed here in July 2008. This is a beautiful campground and exactly what we look for. Very forested setting with sites that have privacy. We came in late at night and while we were unable to get a water front site, I still rate this campground as a 10. We originally planned on staying one day as a stop over, but couldn't bring ourselves to leave. We ended up staying 3 days and changing our plans. The lake is one of the nicer ones I've been to. While there were boats out on the lake, it was not too much to take away from the setting. The beach area was nice for the kids. The campground is not to far from Apex so you can take a drive in to re-supply, etc. We would love to come back and stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This is a beautiful campground with fairly level lots. We thoroughly enjoyed our very first family camping trip here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
Spent a long weekend on a double site on the lake front. The park was clean. The site was large and easy to back into as well as being level. Single sites are cheaper. Being that there is no sewer at the site, we used the bath house a few times. It was clean, but did not have heat. There was a walking path to the lake with a nice shore line, excellent for fishing; though the fish did not cooperate this trip. The CG has a boat ramp, too. The leaves were just beginning to change and the views are beautiful. We'll be back in the Spring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
We stay here often. We are seniors and get a duplex site for $28. That way two rigs can use the sites. They are long and wide enough to accommodate two 5th wheels, with slideouts. You can beach your boat right on the shore next to the site. We would recommend this area for anyone who wants to spend a few days by the lake relaxing. Crosswinds has very easily accessible sites for RV's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
We went with another couple and got a double site. It was great, we parked right next to each other, and was able to cook, play cards, eat well we were all together. That what RVing is all about. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Campground has large wooded sites with trees and space between sites. Waterfront sites are great but hard to get during summer months unless reserved for one to two weeks well in advance, same as all good campgrounds. Whole park area is well maintained. Area B is most popular area since it has lake beach swim area. No swimming pool available. Area C has the most dual sites, we love these for family and friends camping together. Loop A also has great sites but no hookups. Good hiking trails, not too strenuous. Lake is popular for boating, skiing, personal water crafts. Campground has its own boat launch area. Rangers patrol campground regularly and respond well to issues. We use this campground 3 or 4 times a year and always have a good time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This is a very nice park with nice sized sites. Some could be laid out a little better and need some freshening up, new gravel and dirt. They are mostly level. The Bath houses were the cleanest we have seen them in the last couple of years. We enjoy the lake, the eagles, and just lounging around so this place is ideal. Not a lot to do close around. A couple of small gas/convienance stores are close but the closest grocery store is a little over 8 miles away. Our only real problem with this campground is the gate. It is nice to know it is locked to keep things at least a little safer at night but it is locked at 9pm. So you could not go to the fireworks on the forth, a baseball or football game or you would not be able to get in the campground afterwards. They also have No Parking Tow away signs outside the gates and along the main road to keep people from parking and walking in. We love everything else about the park and the lake. If you bring a boat, only one Marina on the lake and this year he was a little pricey, especially for gas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
The good include, awesome sites with woods in between for privacy, beautiful scenery surrounding lake, very reasonable rate, easy big rig access, clean and pretty. The bad include, the lake water was hot and of questionable quality, too wooded for satellite signal. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
The sites at this park are large and for the most part secluded. However, we did encounter more than our fair share of ticks. You would definitely need to take some type of bug repellent, and there are signs there that recommend this as well. The swimming area is nothing special. It is the typical "roped-off" area meant to keep kids in and boats out. Overall a peaceful stay, but I am not much of a "lake person," so my lack of enthusiasm may be reflective of that. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Great state park in a good location, short drive to Raleigh NC, Good for people with boats or water craft, very dark at night, paved streets, big gravel sites, some for two families, there are four campgrounds on this lake & this one is better for big rigs, gate closes at 9:00 pm & opens at 8:00 am We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Big sites. Nice beach. The only down side is a locked gate from 9pm to 8am. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
What a great park. First time at an NC State run park - won't be my last. Sites are laid out well to provide privacy and they are plenty big. Quite a few are double sites - great way to camp with friends. All facilities were clean - there weren't that many campers though and I can imagine how used the bathrooms would be during the season. A great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
Great fishing, cycling, bird watching, boating. Swimming area just for campground, not open to public. I prefer Crosswinds over the other campsites at the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
This was our 7th or 8th trip to Crosswinds CG at Jordan Lake. We were camping with our SS class and had to reserve 6 sites for all of us to stay together. Normally I would have just rode down and got a site for the weekend on Thursday evening, but with this being Memorial Day weekend I was worried we would be hard pressed to find 6 sites together. I was right. Everybody was camping this weekend. Best plans we have ever made booking early. We had a nice time and the lake was wonderful. Bathhouses were cleaned everyday and they even had a cleaning service come in 3 times over the weekend to help the park staff clean the houses. We had a blast, the Ranger's were patrolling all weekend. After 11pm all was quiet. This had to be one of best camping trips ever to Jordan Lake. Friends make a camping trip much better. I too have a complaint about locking you in after 9pm. I feel like that locked gate time could be extended to 11pm on a major holiday weekend. I understand short staffing issues but you have campground host make them earn their free camping space by locking the gates a little later. You are 10 miles from one the largest malls in North Carolina, it would be nice to run up there and not worry about having to be back before 9pm. But over all this is one NC's crown jewels of a lake and campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Good state park on Jordan Lake, nearby marina and boat launch. Swimming area on lake. Near Raliegh We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com