223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Jordan Lake SRA / Poplar Point Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (919) 362-0586
CGID2136

Jordan Lake SRA / Poplar Point Campground

Camp Information
Sites
161
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   3   7   5   10   8   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
This is a nice State Park type atmosphere. We stayed in "F" loop, where there was no 50 amp service, but the 30 amp service was good, as was the water. The restrooms were OK, but could use a good update. They were pretty buggy. Our rate included a senior discount of $6 and we felt the rate was great for a waterfront site. Some sites are waterfront, some waterview and some off the water completely. The road in is paved, but sites are dirt and gravel. Some bigger rigs would not be able to get level in some of the sites. We liked it here and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
We picked the best time of year to go to this state park (mid September). We were the only camper in our entire section the whole time we were there. It was less than 100 feet walk to the water to go fishing. This is not on the main part of the lake so there are not a bunch of powerboats/jet-skis flying by at full throttle. Sites were well shaded and had picnic tables/fire rings. Having walked around some I would highly recommend sites B77- B82 or B15-16. One problem with our site was a permanent lantern pole that prevented our awning from being extended. Since the site was so well shaded this was not really a big deal. The other thing is that the gates close at 8 pm, so you have to be back before then or you are locked out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$19
Sunday, June 23 – Poplar Point Campground, Jordan Lake State Recreation Area, Apex, NC. This recreational area is just 30 miles southwest of Raleigh on Route 64. There are day use areas with beaches, three big camping areas – Parker’s Creek, Poplar Point and Crosswinds Campground, hike in camping, group tent camping, and group RV camping. They even have some sites for camping with horses. We stayed at Poplar Point which has 579 sites for RV and tent camping and now 363 of the sites have water and electric hookups. There is a picnic table, grill and lantern holder at each site. There are many loops here B-J with or without electricity. We stayed here four years ago and we stayed in the F loop which was nice. This time we stayed in the C loop a reservation only loop and we had a great site C15 overlooking and on the water, but most of the sites in the C loop are not right on the water. We were at the bottom of the hill so hiked to get to the bathhouse which on a Sunday afternoon when we arrived. Not that clean, but that is to be expected. This lake is very popular with locals for boating and camping especially on weekends. Check out is 3pm and check in is 4pm, so arriving before 2 the bathhouses had been well used. Our site had a little beach which the previous campers left plastic bottles, soda cans and plastic bags all over it. We did clean it up, but refused to pick up all the cigarette butts. Another problem we had this time is that no one can leave the campground until 8 am in the morning. We wanted to head out around 6 am to drive through Raleigh before the morning traffic and to the NC shore. The last time we were here some of our neighbors left early to go to work, but this time the rangers said it was not possible. We have been camping for five months from RI to CA and this is the first campground where we could not leave. They stated that this is the policy of NC state parks, so it looks like we won’t be staying at anymore if we need to travel early. So because of this policy I rated this campground lower then I have before or would have on this trip. It costs us $19 with a reservation fee and a senior discount of $6. It is really a nice area to camp, but you just can’t get out! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
Many sites are difficult to access with a big rig or trailer. Having a 36 1/2' fiver limited our site selection. As mentioned in other reviews, the gate locked between 6-8 which we worked around. Site was level, good water pressure, picked up 15 local TV stations. It was quiet and very empty. They must have turned off the flight path as there were no planes taking off or approaching overhead. Wish there was sewer hook up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$19
The location of the park, access to the lake, and the sites are all probably in the 8 or 9 range. The paternalistic lock you out at 8 PM till 8 AM, the dirty showers, the lack of hot water, the constant sound of airliners on final, and the threat of getting a ticket and thrown out if you have a beer with dinner take the overall experience down to a 5. The roads are paved, the sites are gravel and sand, with a picnic table and fire ring, and our site as pretty level. There are some sites that are nightmares. You can get OK Verizon voice and data signals but it's a bit slow. My main complaint is that they lock you in or out at 9 PM during the summer, 8 PM on the shoulder season, and 6 PM starting in Nov. There is a lot to do and see in the area but your options diminish as the evening comes. If we come back I'd probably camp here but during the summer I imagine Jordan lake is very crowed. We got the old fart's off-season rate of $19. Note this park as 162 sites. Other state campgrounds in the area have about the the same number. Poplar Point is the only one open year around. Note if you don't make a reservation you are restricted to loop E. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Always love staying here! We pull our boat up to the campsite and have the best of both worlds! I wish they had FHU sites but it is a state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Wonderful setting in the woods by the very large lake. Closing comfort stations four days a week seems odd. Showers are on timers (30 seconds each "push" and single stream; stalls have no place to hold clothing so showers could stand some work. Main concern is being locked in from 8 PM to 8 AM and only allowed to have gate opened if there's an emergency. This applies to visitors. It also applies to you if you don't make it back in time...park your car outside the park and walk in is your only option. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
I was impressed with this campground. The only problem we had was that the water connection was stripped and spayed water all over the ground and the camper. We ended up only turning it on when we needed it. Our campsite, B004, was a nice size and very wooded. The site was also very level. There were quite a few campsites on the water that would be great for when we want to tie up our boat overnight. There is a nice beach, and the boat ramp we used was very convenient. Campers can park their boat and vehicles overnight by the boat dock. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Very nice campground with beautiful views. This campground is used by many people with boats. They tend to beach them below their sites. Be prepared to hear boats coming and going all day. We had some noisy neighbors. The campground was very peaceful once they left. There were some people camped on Loop E across the cove/inlet from us (we were on Loop F). They ran spot lights on the beach well after midnight that shined into our site. Very annoying. The staff was very nice and worked hard to keep the place clean. They came around to empty the trash cans at the end of the sites at least 2x during the day. Some sites are tighter than others. Some are longer than others and some are on a hill. The website will tell you if the site is level or on a hill. Be aware that as a NC state park, the campground gates will close and lock at dusk and will not reopen until morning (typically open about 8am to 8 pm). You must be inside before they close or you will be locked out for the night. You can only get out in case of emergency. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$19
Price is after senior discount. Very nice state park: shaded, wide sites, good privacy. Very quiet. 8-8 “curfew” keeps this place family-friendly. When I Iearned that UNC would have a home football game while we were there, I was glad about the 8-8 policy. Only complaints were extremely low water pressure and only tepid water in the shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is our first stay at Poplar Point. We usually stay at Crosswinds across the highway. Sites here are a little smaller, but level. There are no double sites either. The scenery is great, the water pressure OK, and access to the lake was limited from our site. TV reception from Raleigh was very good with our antenna. A very nice campground, but I still wish they had sewer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$42
We stay here every year throughout the season. We started a little early this year, and found the campgrounds fairly messy. Ranger station unattended upon entry, however we were flagged down as we approached our site, and were asked about reservations, and then told that there would be a ranger by later with our paperwork. They seemed very focused for what manpower they had on checking the garbage cans often for beer cans or ?, coming through every couple hours. Seems like they could better use some of the time raking camp sites out from all the debris coming from the trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We joined a group of other pop-up campers from a weekend at Poplar Point Campground. We reserved our site in advance (for a fee) and were right on a cove off the main lake. The site was large with a camping and tent pad, fire ring, light post, and picnic table. The hook-ups were convenient for the trailer. Right off our site, we were able to swim, fish, and boat in the quiet cove. We had a wonderful time. The restrooms were cleaned daily, but could have used more attention (that is why we marked this a 8). The rangers made regular rounds. As to the complaints about the gate locking, it is announced in their literature and you are told about this when you arrive. It may be an inconvenience for some, but adds to the family friendly nature of the state park, keeps the noise down in the evenings, and limits vehicular traffic after hours. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
WARNING. NC state parks incarcerate customers from dusk until after dawn, 8 am! The gates are LOCKED and no exit or entry allowed. Parking outside the gate and walking in will get your car towed. Failure to make it by by curfew results in violating park rules of not leaving your camp unattended over night! This is a completely unacceptable place to vacation! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
Great state-run campground. Lots of sites, some directly on the lake. Lots of double sites for camping with friends ($44 for double sites, but most doubles are on the waterfront). It's a long way to a shopping center, so bring everything you need. Not much else to do in the area: 20 miles to Raleigh/Cary, 15 miles to Chapel Hill/Durham. Nice summer-time park with lots of fishing, boating, swimming, just relaxing in the shade. Propane and basic supplies available close-by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
This is a family friendly campground. Kids can swim at the "Swim Beach" which has sand just like a beach at the ocean. My children loved swimming in the lake and playing in the sand. We saw a few deer around the campground. When making a reservation, pay attention to the site and pad sizes you are reserving. They vary greatly. Some sites would only accommodate a tent and not a travel trailer or motorhome. We camped on loop "C". The bathhouse restrooms were clean however the showers were awful! The stalls were dirty with mildew on the walls and the showers operate with a "water-saving" feature. You press a button on the wall and the water will spray out of the shower head for approximately 20 seconds. It does not spray evenly and it comes out in a stream. Also, you have no control over the water temperature. It is set for all the showers with one temperature. This particular campground has a playground on the website map but we were disappointed to find it was only 4 swings. There is no baby swing for toddlers or younger children. Despite the few things mentioned above I would say this is a fairly nice campground especially if you like wooded, shady campsites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
This campground is a nice place to stay for a short period of time. It is secured by a gated entry. However, one inconvenience is the gate is locked at 8:00 pm. It is family oriented: a nice weekend get-away. I would not recommend this for extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This is a gorgeous, sparsely occupied campground and very private. The pull-throughs are a joke though--there are only 22 (16 with electricity), and they are very difficult to drive through. My husband decided that it was actually much easier to back into a different space. Many campsites have lovely views of the lake--the sunsets were awesome! The wildlife were wonderful too. My children loved the little frogs and bats. We did not have a boat, but this is an awesome boating site. Many people set up camp, and then go put their boat into the lake at the boat ramp and moor the boat next to their camp. Like other reviewers, we did not like the 9 pm gate closure, but the campground did feel very safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
This campground is one of three in the Jordan Lake State Recreation Area that has RV camping (Parkers Creek and Crosswinds), there is another for RV groups only Vista Point and one area just for tents New Hope Overlook. We did not have reservations and at this time of year did not need them but at this time they only accepted reservations for 7 days or more. The ranger came around to the site to collect the money and at this time he told us that Crosswinds and Poplar Point are going on a state reservations system beginning April 22 for dates July on. Now you can make reservations for one night or up to 14 and the website is www.ncparks.gov/reservations.php There are a lot of sites on the water and we selected one in the woods looking out over the water so that we could put the kayak in right from our site. Nice site. All sites have a table, fire ring, and alot have water and electricity. There is a boat dock so that motor boats can be put in and then brought over to your campsite if it is on the water. A nice beach area on Jordan Lake which is huge. The cleanest and nicest smelling bathrooms I have seen. We really enjoyed our one night stay here the weather was great, the kayaking really good with calm water going around many inlets and coves, nice bike ride over hills and dales and friendly hosts and other campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Nice Facility. Do not like the closure of gate policy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
We've stayed here twice this summer for a week each time. The sites are very big, most are private, shady and level. There are a lot of water front sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
We have camped here numerous times. Great place to go for the weekend. Large shady sites. No sewer so we can't stay more than 2 days. We prefer early spring and fall, too many ticks in the summer months and the kids like to play in the woods too much. Nice swimming area on the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
We have stayed at Jordan Lake (Poplar Point) at least 6 times over the last summer. It is a great place to stay especially if you have a boat or jet ski. The sites are very large and wooded for privacy. There are nice beaches by the lake if you do not have access to boating. Each of the campsites have their own boat ramps, but the lake gets busy during the summer weekends. We will be there a lot this summer too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Great COE campground, large sites and lake swimming with a beach. My family loves this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Large wooded sites! Peaceful and safe. Rangers visible. Bath houses rustic, but clean. Will stay here often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
Poplar Point is a great campground! We camp there quite frequently as we live only an hour away. We store our boat at the Crosswinds Marina which is also on Jordan Lake. The sites are large and private. Restrooms are in good clean condition and kept that way for the most part. There are lots of trees and watch out for the squirrels, they will steal your food if left out or unattended. Yes, they can open some containers and most definitely most packages so put them up when you leave the site for any reason. We always get a site on the water so we can pull the boat up on the beach at camp site. Fishing is always great on this lake whether from shore or boat. The catfish are excellent eating so bring a frying pan and oil! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We enjoyed our stay. We had a large, very private campsite. Did not use the bath house but did use our bikes for bike riding. It was a great place to stay the weekend. We did not have waterfront, but would highly recommend this place to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$20
This was our first time here, but will not be our last. The sites were large, with lots of space and woods between sites. I felt very safe as there were park rangers patroling. The bathhouses did leave a little to be desired. They were clean when we got there, but by the end of the holiday weekend they were a little messy. The showers were lukewarm. As a state park, there wasn't sewer hookups, but they had the nicest dumpstations I have seen. Beautiful park. They do not take reservations unless you are staying a week, but we went on Easter weekend and didn't have any trouble finding a site. This goes on our favorites list We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$18
This is a very nice campsite. The only reason I rate it a 7 is because of the early gate closing (9pm) and they do not give out the combination. The sites are large as well as fairly private...there are plenty of trees between sites. Our site would have been approximately 20 feet from the water had the lake been a full level (they were in the midst of a drought). There was no store in the campground, but plenty of stores nearby and you are only about 30 minutes outside of Raleigh. We will definitely go back. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com