220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Forks Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (701) 772-6108
CGID2142

Grand Forks Campground

Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   5   3   5   1   8   4   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Interesting access down a dirt road. Staff were helpful and friendly. Site was level, with easy access. We only spent one night here as the park was booked out. I had no reason to move my starting mark of 7. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
As others mentioned, this park is located just off a busy freeway and about a mile down a very dusty road. We were tired and decided to stay. We paid, parked, went back to the office to get a refund, and left. While the staff was very accommodating, the RV park is dirty, dirty, dirty. We absolutely could not deal with being covered in dust from those driving too fast through the park and the farmers digging up the fields on all side of us. Lots of road workers which equals a lot of trucks and guys sitting around drinking and smoking. Not our kind of place at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
While the campground was accessible from the highway, it was quite crowded. It was a Canadian holiday and many were down from Manitoba to visit. Being the beginning of the spring season, it was a bit muddy. After the heavy rain, our entry to the camper was a huge puddle. There is potential here, but someone has to care, and take care of the property. Okay for an overnight, because it's really the only place in the area. They are friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Looks like someone bought a farm with a campground on it; they should stick to farming. The restrooms were a dirty mess, and the campsite was also. We asked for a site close to the restrooms but those sites were being used as a parking lot by the workers from the farm, it seems. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
This was an OK overnight stop off the freeway. This park also has a 1 mile gravel road leading into it, but it is maintained fairly well. The park needs some maintenance and the washrooms and showers are old and need maintenance. Only one of the three showers actually worked. The bathroom stall walls were all pulled out of the wall and were loose. There are many large stores and restaurants about 5 minutes away. It seems to be the only campground in this town. We had a quiet sleep with no train noise and minimal noise from the traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
We did not enjoy the sound of traffic all night. We did not enjoy the smell of sewer. We did not enjoy traveling down a dirt road to get here. We will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
After all the negative reviews, we were hesitant to stay here, but decided to try it due to its close proximity to Grand Forks. We are so happy we did! We found the campground well maintained, sites were level, lots of shade trees and our pull-through site offered a standard amount of yard space. Not overly large, but we were able to have our canopy down even though we had a large tree on our site. Washrooms were clean and well maintained and the check-in people were pleasant. Yes, you have to drive down a bit of a gravel road but it is well maintained. And yes it is just off the highway so you can hear traffic, but if you want convenience to a the city that is a sacrifice you have to make. No trains though (seems half the campgrounds we stay in have railway tracks running right beside them!). We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
The biggest problem with this campground is a half mile dirt road going in. Its either muddy or dusty or both. This used to be a KOA years ago and has had little maintenance since those days. Depending on the wind direction, there may be a smell of sewage. It would be OK for overnight if not for the dirt road. Plan on visiting the car wash afterwards! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Stated 1 night while passing through. Has so-so desk personnel. There are very narrow roads for a 38' 5er with a long truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
The sites here were very tight and hard to get into. Also, the interior roads really need repaired! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This campground is great! Stayed here while house hunting in our motorhome on 'C Row' for 2 weeks. Great stopping point for people traveling to Canada. Most of the people we have met were here overnight. There are some long term campers (like us) but everyone is extremely friendly that we have talked to. The farm machinery is not troublesome as previous poster said. The campground is on the street side of a working farm, so it is to be expected that there might be a tractor leave in the morning and come back in the evening. Friendly atmosphere, great people, close to shopping (all national stores you would expect in a big city are about 3/4 mile away). The only thing it lacks is a pond to go fishing in. Highly recommended for short/long term camping. It is a safe place to be and family friendly and extremely quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
If you're looking for a destination "resort"-type campground, this isn't it. There are lots of semi-permanent residents here and the campground is surrounded by farm machinery, trucks and other equipment either being stored or parked for several days, so it's not terribly attractive, but the sites themselves seem to be fairly clean and well-kept. We had a great time here just chilling for a few days. One slightly negative note: we wanted to extend our stay to a week and asked about the weekly rate, but it's not available unless you book for a week when you check in. But they do take credit cards now, contrary to an earlier post. The sites on one side of the campground are larger than on the other -- our site was plenty large. The sewer connection is at the back of the site, which was a challenge for our hose, but it worked. It's pretty quiet, even though it's right off the interstate, and there are wonderful farm field surrounding the campground so there's no noise or lights from there. We liked it and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This was an amazing experience compared to other campsites we stayed at along the way from Texas. The campground was clean and well maintained with many amenities and a wonderful fireworks show on the forth of July. Everything was exceptionally clean except for the disrespectful campers not cleaning up after themselves. Management is on the premises and was diligent about keeping the campground well maintained and cleaned up. They come around daily and clean all fire pits. The campground was never a KOA like mentioned in previous posts this is better then a KOA. The potential for peace and quite, and fun is all around you. This experience made me start looking for a home in the Dakotas as the people are willing to help and are very friendly. The manager of the campground was right there when we had issues with our camper. We have already made our reservation for next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
This park gets mixed reviews, and for good reason. Sites are dirt - the gravel is long gone. We were here in dry weather and found the place to be quite pleasant, but rain would turn the site into mud. Since our rig is small, we were put into the "B" row, which (along with "A" and "C") has spacious and shaded sites. The same is true of the "F" row, but "S" and "K" are the RV equivalent of tenement living - very crowded and nasty. Is this a good place? It was for us, thanks to dry weather and choice of site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Like mentioned in other reviews, there is a dusty gravel road for access to the campground. They do not accept credit cards for payment. The campground felt seedy and not well maintained. Our site was a pull through, but there was a truck parked across from us that stuck out so far that we could not pull out of our site. Instead we had to back out when leaving. The only pleasant thing about this campground was that the wireless internet worked. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
If you like clean vehicles, do not stop here – keep going to another town. There is a mile of extremely dusty road leading to the campground, and the same mile leading back out. If it has been raining, this road will likely cover your vehicles with mud. If the breeze is blowing from the road toward the park you will also have the benefit of more dust. The Park is no help either. Their brochure says in bold writing “Washing Vehicles $25, Rinsing off Vehicles $25, Rinsing Windows $25”. If you can get by the dirt, this is a well laid out and pleasant park. Mostly large pull-throughs with plenty of space between. Wifi performance almost zero at busy times. On air TV only, but many sites are suitable for satellite. Close to the major retail area in town. They do not accept credit cards. We would stop somewhere else another time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Signage to campground good. Good area to park and register. Owner friendly and efficient. Access roads OK but need some maintenance. Sites are gravel pull-thrus with grass, and are flat, but again need some maintenance. Sewer hook-up at very back of site so not easy to connect. Electricity solid and water pressure reasonable. Some road noise but OK for overnight stop. Agree with other reviewers that the campground feels dated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
This is an older park with angled pull-thru sites arranged in rows, with shade trees. There is good separation with grass between the sites. It is close to the interstate, but quite a deep park, so the noise near the back is not too bad. The wireless internet at the sites is very good and the gravel road in was not a significant problem when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$24
First I want to thank the previous 2 posters. Because of their comments, almost didn't stay here but since we needed to have our mail forwarded, we did stop. The other posters lowered my expectations so much that the park was a pleasant surprise. Don't get me wrong, the park already saw better days 10 yrs ago but it's not as bad as was indicated. The access road is gravel for 1/2 mile and that is mostly dust controlled. It is washboard but we're in no hurry. Interior roads are gravel but are in good condition and only very mildly dusty. Though the office area is dingy and old and not well maintained, park facilities are maintained OK. For a private park and especially for a former KOA, the sites are 1) long enough for big rigs (we're a 40' 5th), 2) really quite wide 3) grass and trees between sites, 4) level front to back and side to side. Sites are full hookup with 50 amp available and though tree'd, it's pretty easy to get a satellite signal. Cell service is great and there is a ton of nearby shopping on 32nd St. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
This campground used to be a KOA. The access from I-29 is one mile of a dusty washboard road. Campground roads and sites used to be gravel, but are now mostly dirt. Sites are mostly level pull thrus. Maintenance is minimumal. There were a lot of permanent residents. They don't want you washing vehicles. One of the rules said: Washing Vehicles $25. Rinsing off Vehicles $25. Rinsing Windows $25. I suppose if you did it all, it would total $75. They had numerous other rules that you don't normally see at RV parks. We would not go back to this park because of all the dirt and dust. Note: On I-29 at Exit 138 (the one the campground is at) there is a very nice Conoco Truck Stop that is RV friendly. They have a desiginated RV overnight parking area that is paved and has a dump station. There is space for about 10-15 rigs of any size. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Pool not in operation. Cash only. Employee(s) won't tell you what site you'll have 'til you pay up. That fact will have us look elsewhere next time. Laundry room clean. Four washing machines, three working dryers. I-29 just 300 yards east, so fair amount of freeway noise. Also, there's a dirt/gravel road between the CG and I-29 that carries a fair amount of local traffic, so be prepared for lots of dirt/dust clouds. OTOH, plenty of shopping nearby. Old Navy, Super Target, Univ. of ND not far away. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com