218149 User submitted reviews online!!
Jamestown Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (701) 252-6262
CGID2146

Jamestown Campground

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   7   9   6   8   9   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
Sites are long and level. We had full hookups with 50 amp service. All services worked well. Call for directions. You must travel about 1 mile on a rough gravel road. The roads are wide enough to navigate with a big rig. Trees offer shade but are trimmed adequately not to interfere with maneuvering or positioning the RV. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
We stayed here last year this time. It's great for us as we only need a one night stay close to the main travel route. This year we have an R-pod 20ft travel trailer with one pop out. They are very friendly and always have a cart ready to lead you to your spot and help you get parked. We used full hookups and everything worked well. Grounds are in great condition and the spots are level. Outside the trailer I could hear some light traffic noise, but inside I couldn't. Very nice mature tree provide cover and picnic tables are throughout. I didn't use the public restrooms but my husband did. He said they are very nice and clean and they have a pin code to get in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Decent clean park. Nice staff. Hookups worked. Quiet. Slept well. One night. Would use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Large grass sites, full hook-ups, well maintained. Located on the edge of Jamestown, this park is adequate, with a nice walking path around the perimeter for exercise or walking your dog. Our site was large, the office staff were friendly, the park is off the highway enough so traffic noise isn't an issue at night. Our only complaint is we love campfires and fires were not allowed on the RV sites, which was hard to understand due to the size of the sites and fires being allowed in the tenting areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a nice park with plenty of open land for kids to play and plenty of space to walk the dogs. The scenery is very pretty. We were able to pick up satellite signal and antenna reception. The electric and water hookup is a twin connection that you share with your neighbor. The host was very friendly. One draw back is the frontage road leading to the park is long and gravel. Coming in was okay if you drove slowly because it was dry, but in the morning when you left your RV was wet from dew and the dust stuck to it making mud and necessitating getting it washed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
Well, this is an older KOA that has been taken over by someone else. The grounds definitely lack TLC. The pull thru we were given was sufficient, but we could not pull out the next morning, we had to back out to avoid trees on the front of the site and rigs parked in front of us. As mentioned in earlier posts, the frontage road will beat you up if you don't do less and 10 mph for almost a mile. Be prepared. There are a lot of long term residents here. The laundry and restrooms were clean enough. We used the laundry (4 washers and 4 dryers). Lots of road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This campground is conveniently located off I-94. A gravel frontage road is the last mile of access. They do accept the Good Sam card for a 10% discount. Sites are level and well-maintained. Managers were pleasant and helpful. There is a nice pet walk/walking path that borders the campground. The store/office was sufficiently equipped. This was a former KOA, but has been maintained nicely with some areas upgraded (showers). We have stayed here previously and would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This place has wonderful managers who are very friendly and personally lead you to your spot. Everything was well kept. The spots were spacious and easy to get in and out of with the 40 ft RV. They had places to walk the pets and a children's playground. It is very close to the highway; however, we were not bothered by the noise. If you are in a tent it might be a different story. They have shade trees, picnic tables, and full hookups which is always nice. We were able to make reservations and would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
The rate is before the Good Sam Discount of 10%. The WiFi is pretty slow at times. They probably need more bandwidth. All other amenities are just fine. As previously stated, the access road into the park is gravel and pretty bumpy and dusty, so just take it slow and easy and you'll be just fine. The side by side distance is pretty close but there are picnic tables at each site. The staff is friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
The interstate runs right next to this place, like most KOA's (which this used to be). The access road to the campground is a bit rutted and dusty (it hasn't rained recently), but I went slow and had no problem. Very nice workers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
The owners were very friendly. This is a former KOA campground. Unfortunately the road getting to the campground is not paved and is rough on units. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
This campground is ideal for a stop over if traveling along I94. It is a well maintained older campground. Our site was level and easy access. Electric was good. Cable limited to primarily local stations. Would recommend for short stays. Not sure local area makes it s destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Nice convenient location. As others have posted, the road leading into the park is dirt and looks like it could turn to washboard fairly easily. However, they may have just graded the road before we arrived so we did not have a issue. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our site was fairly level and was plenty large enough to hold our 34' motorhome with car and dolly attached. AAA discount applied to $32.00 standard rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
Main the road leading to his place is HORRIBLE! Feels like we were driving on a cheese grater. We stayed one night here, and then moved a different campground after hearing nothing but cars, trucks, and big rigs rolling down the interstate just feet from our campsite. Spots were not level at all - horrible, horrible, horrible! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
As some other reviews said, there is a horrible dirt road leading to the campground. My rating of 7 is because of this rutted road that we had to slow down to 10 mph on. Once you are there at the camp, it is very nice. The lady in the office had our paperwork ready and escorted us to the correct site with her golf cart. The site was level and big enough for our 3 slides and awning. Power and water were good. The camp has lots of good grass for dogs to play on and while we saw other dogs, they were all leashed as required. The trees provided lots of welcome shade. Washrooms, laundromat and showers were old but clean and everything worked. Wi-Fi was strong. The park seems well maintained. It is a good stopover while traveling the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Old KOA. Sites not bad. Heavily treed but satellite worked. Good one night stay. They have some very nice open sites for big rigs but we stayed in an older site and it worked for our 43 ft full wall slide rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
The one mile gravel road, if you are towing a car behind a motorhome, is really bad. You have to drive very slowly. The campground is really not that bad. We did not notice the road noise from the interstate, but we were in a motorhome with the AC on at night some. The sites are great and level and the water pressure and electricity are fine. Makes a great overnighter. We enjoyed the buffalo museum and the village. Lots of interesting stuff there. Would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Pretty decent place - the gravel road is something to be desired to get to it - but other than that the facilities seemed decent. The only real issue with this place is the proximity to the interstate - getting to sleep in a tent is next to impossible with all the big trucks rolling down the road. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
As previously mentioned, right next to I-94, so road noise may be a problem for some. The gravel road to get to campground is not in good shape, very dusty when dry and we were told very slippery when wet. Older park that has been maintained very well. We would stay here again, probably as an overnight rather than a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Sites are level, several quite long. Nice country "feel" to the campground, and quite a few shade trees, but road noise from I-94 was very noticeable - I wouldn't want to camp here in a popup or tent! Facilities old but clean. Wi-Fi was spotty. Campground is reached by a mile of gravel road - very dusty if the weather's been dry! Note: no LP gas fill available here - one must go to a truck stop several interstate exits away. Decent overnighter, as long as you have a hard-sided rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Wasn't that easy to find, per Nuvi! You have to go on the frontage road next to the freeway and then it's a dirt road. The young gal checking us in wasn't doing any more than she had to do; I wouldn't say unfriendly but not necessarily friendly. We were escorted to our site by a man. Good level sites. This was a good stop for passing through, as we didn't have to drive far out of the way. We were put in a back row surrounded by some trees, which gave us a quiet night with no trains and it was dark. You can see they have planted and there are a number trees throughout campground. We were here on an off season time. Cable & Wi-Fi worked just fine. I have to say the bathrooms were 'old'--repainted a number of times, a few cobwebs in the corners, and the shower head was for short people! Opted to wait for our next stop for a shower. Would stay here again if just passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
A beautiful campground. Has a nice play area for kids. Sites are level. Owners friendly and helpful. Even though it is located right off interstate our site was situated where there was very little traffic noise. Cable TV is available but only offered approximately 6 or 7 channels. Wi-Fi free and excellent reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Nice park, have about 3/4 miles gravel road to get to it. Other than that it is a nice park, shaded but not so much that satellite wouldn't work. Has unique dog walk area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This is a nice campground with many large shade trees. It is near the freeway, so there is a fair amount of traffic noise, although much less over night. The grounds are clean and attractive with a nice area for children to play in. The staff was friendly and helpful. Very minimal camp store. WiFi coverage was great and free. Cell phone coverage was good as well. The gravel road into the campground is relatively bumpy: take it slow. Good, level, gravel pads with plenty of grass between each one. This is the third time we have stayed here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Small but clean, neat and well kept. Husband & wife very nice. Would definitely stay here again. Coming from the east, be careful if your gps tells you to exit at 258. DO NOT! Go to 256! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This campsite is very run down. The yard across from our campsite looked lake a dump for old rusty things. A poor buffalo was wandering around in this yard. Despite calling the campsite about 2 months prior: they did not have a reservation for me. The man at the desk was able to find my reservation in a book and then was able to find us a site. The garbage dumpster was over-flowing so we could not fit our garbage in the dumpster. The trains are horrible!!! All night long they sound their horns. We were awakened by this constantly all night long. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We used this campground for an overnight stop only. The campground was pretty full so our choice of sites was limited. Our site was level and the power supply was good. The biggest issue I had with this campground is they are still using the old style credit card receipt which lists our entire credit card number information on the receipt. Be careful not to just throw your receipt away. Our Sprint aircard reception was good as was our DirecTV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
We stayed at Jamestown Campground not only once, but on our return trip home we stayed again. We were guided to our campsite and asked if there was anything we needed. They offered us a map on how to get to and around Jamestown. They offer a walking area around the campground, a nice play area for the children and a feeling that you are safe. I especially liked the clean bathrooms. Clean bathrooms show the pride the owners/caretakers have. I have and will continue to recommend this camp ground to our fellow RV'ers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
After driving for hours, finding this shaded, easy to get to campground was a most welcome sight. Check in was easy & I was glad to have someone lead me to our site. Sites are side by side pull throughs, but it didn't feel overly tight. Nice for an overnighter. Yes, the gravel road was dusty coming in, but I was just glad to find something close by. We had Wi-Fi that had average connectivity. Looked like the playground had plenty for kids to do. It was well-kept looking & clean. My only complaint was that one of the workers came around in his golf cart & officiously announced, "Your dog has done his business, are you going to clean it up?" We'd only been here for a half hour, for crying out loud & hubby was taking a nap. Granted I've heard that is a #1 problem with campers; I understand that, but thought it was a little extreme. So be prepared to clean up after your pet the minute he defecates! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
This campground is listed in the Passport America directory and lists a fee of $16.00 per night. The nice lady told me it would be $18.00. I asked why. Her reply was the boss told her to charge PPA $18.00, which included $2.00 for a/c and/or electric heat. I explained I was not going to use either. Her reply was that the boss says that all campers say they will not use it, but they always do. I told her that the boss has never seen me, and yet he is calling me a dishonest liar. I paid the $18.00. It seems to me the boss is the dishonest one. He clearly advertises one price but charges another. The campground has folks staying there long term, including 2 tenters. In one word it is a dump. No, we will never stay there again. The campground has small crowded sites. Trash is everywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Nice place for an overnighter. Well groomed and very quiet. Not a problem for big rigs. Would rate higher if not for a dusty mile of gravel road to get to it. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
I agree with the last 3 posts. This is a nice park for an overnight stay. Easy in and out from the interstate. Not particularly noisy. Friendly hosts. Lots of space to run my dog. Plenty of things to let kids burn up some energy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Nice park, big shade trees and nice grass. Well maintained. Nice grassy areas for walking the dog. Just off the freeway, but trees block the view and some noise. Gravel road to access park from exit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Nice park. Lots of well mowed grass, and good shade trees. Long pull thru sites. Easy access to the Interstate. Nothing available within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
It has easy interstate access. It is close to shopping and dining in town. Access to the campground is on a mile long well maintained gravel road. The park is well laid out and well maintained. The staff was helpful both in the office and guiding to campsite. The power posts are new with 30 and 50 amp services. There are a lot of trees that are trimmed. The sites are mostly level and long enough for big rigs- 38 feet with a tow vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
The major drawback to this otherwise nice little park with free Wi-Fi is the mile long dirt access road to get to it. Our MH and dinghy were covered with a layer of dust by the time we got here. Local people use the access road and feel the need to drive it at 70 miles an hour creating huge dust clouds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Like many former KOA's it's a bit long in the tooth and the pool died sometime back but it is well maintained, has lots of grass and trees and there's lots of space (there was at least 35ft between RVs on the shared hookup we had. It was quiet and a great place to spend the night after the 520 mile drive from Billings, MT. It's easy access from I-90 and I don't mind a relatively short stretch of decent of gravel in most cases. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They recommended driving the 100 miles to Fargo to save 30-cents on gas which we were fortunately able to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This is a well maintained former KOA campground. The owners are trying to sell the campground, and their son told us a sale recently fell through. Perhaps as a result, the pool was not operational, and the camp store was not well stocked. Friendly staff. We were escorted to our site, which helps keep speed and dust down. The pull through site pad was gravel, with the rest of the site grassy. Our daughter informs us the cable channels were limited. Overall a pleasant place to stop on the way through North Dakota. The gravel road was not a major issue, but then we don't tend to get overly excited about a little dust on the rig. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$35
Former KOA, nice but bugs are heavy, only problem is you have to travel on a 1 mile dirt road to get in and out, if you have a clean rig, kiss it good bye! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
Nice appearance and pride of ownership is evident. Owner managers are very helpful but not experienced in guiding very large motor homes. Not a big rig park but big rigs can be accommodated in a few sites if the rig enters the park in the right direction. Walk the park first if you have a 45 foot big rig and especially if you are towing. Entrance could be wider. Watch the turn in a big rig. The gravel road to the park will make your towed vehicle absolutely filthy by the time you reach the park. They allow windshield washing but not the entire rig. I had to stop at a rest stop and use my on-board power washer to insure that my rig was safe to drive it was so dirty from the gravel road to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
Very nice campground with very pleasant, friendly owners. Previous review complaining about dust was greatly exagerated. A 1/2 mile gravel access road but dust did not enter the campground. All sites are very long, level pull thrus. Owner leads you to your site. Large manicured grassy areas, plenty of shade trees but satellite accessable from most sites. Surrounded by wheat and sunflower fields. Not a lot to see in Jamestown but this is a great place to stay a night or two on your way through North Dakota. Would go out of my way to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
Very nice rv park and campground run by very friendly people. Nice level sites with good ingress and egress. Generally big rig friendly but don't let them stick you in Site 48 if you have a big rig and a toad and don't want to unhook. You don't have enough swing room to get out. Otherwise, would highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Incredibly difficult to access, down a couple of miles through clouds of dust down the washboard gravel frontage road. Campground equally dusty, dangerous to even breathe outside. Small pool not inviting. Almost all sites are back-to-back, no privacy. No choice about sites, managers put all in the smallest site usable, saving best for possible larger late arrivals. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$26
Owner led us to our site and was helpful. We found the campground clean and spacious. We had no problem with a big rig. Camp store is limited. June 2003 36' MH We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com