223427 User submitted reviews online!!
East Fork State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (513) 734-4323
CGID2159

East Fork State Park

Camp Information
Sites
399
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   3   5   7   8   6   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
This park has been a regular weekend retreat for us for nearly a decade, and the campground has had some good years and bad years, usually based on funding. Some recent improvements include renovations to most of the restrooms in loops closest to the camp office. A few more loops have been upgraded to 50 amp electric. Roads have been repaved, which was long overdue. Parking pads have also been repaved and many have also been extended to accommodate longer rigs. A paved bike and pedestrian path from nearby Williamsburg has been connected to the campground. Pets are now allowed at all sites. I have heard that there are plans to improve the campground’s beach area in the near future. On the downside, the naturalist program, which was always popular with kids, has been cancelled. Patrols by park rangers are less frequent compared to past years. While a number of water faucet / drinking fountain units in the loops have been replaced, not all of the new units are operational. The camp store is not well stocked, though a convenient store just outside the park entrance has just about anything you would want. All sites are back-in and nearly all of the sites are electric only. There are five full hookup sites grouped together near the playground in ‘C’ loop, and another four grouped together in ‘G’ loop. In my opinion, the best thing this campground has going for it is the size and versatility. With around 400 sites, unless you need full hookups, reservations are rarely needed. If you want to be out in the open so you can put out the satellite dish, or you want a site that is almost fully shaded, you can find it here. Some loops of campsites are wide open with areas that work well for large groups of people camping together. Other loops are smaller, don’t see as much use, and are more private and quiet. Some sites even have large clearings in the woods behind the parking pad and are great for large groups of tents. It’s worth taking your time to explore the campground and find a site that you feel is just right. If you live in southwest Ohio this is a nice place to get away for a weekend. It is also close enough to I-275 that it could make for a convenient overnight stop for travelers. Note that the campground entrance is off of State Route 32. A relative came out to visit once and their GPS unit sent them down State Route 125 to the park office on the opposite side of the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Five spaces in the park have full hook ups. We had one of those spaces. The rate reflects Passport America. We had to contend with a LOT of mud because of Hurricane Isaac. Could have used a little wider pads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
The campground was grassy with scattered trees and spacious sites. A few sites had meaningful shade. Roads and sites were paved but the site pads were extremely narrow. Restrooms could have been cleaner and they needed serious maintenance. They had minimal heat and shower water was lukewarm at best. 50 amp was available at my site, but there are no sites with water or sewer. Entry road was paved but rough and needed to be resurfaced. Rate is for 7 day stay using Passport America. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
This park seems to be experiencing the results of state budget cuts. The camp office is only staffed for about 8 hours a day. The campsites are situated in loops all branching of a main camp access road. Shower houses in Loops E thru L were closed due to problems with the water & sewer system, however porta potties were in place. Shower houses in Loops A thru D were open. (We stayed in loop B.) The restrooms and showers did not seem to be cleaned some days. We were told by the staff that the miniature golf course should be avoided because bees had taken over some of the holes. The camp swimming beach has just pit toilets and no other facilities. No camp programs other than a movie (Bambi) once a week. The state should consider permanently closing some loops and concentrate on maintaining the others. Good points: Most sites are large and have level parking pads. Campground very empty the 8 days we stayed here. Good place for equestrian camping with miles of bridle trails and one loop exclusively for horsemen. Good park for boaters with 6 launching ramps and sites big enough for a camper and boat trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
We were not impressed with Eastfork Lake Campgrounds. The electric kept going out. They claimed the electric was going to be updated but they have been saying that for 3 years! The grass also needs cutting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This was our first time to ever RV. Had a great stay in the non pet loop G. During Thursday to Saturday stay, the restrooms were cleaned daily and several state vehicles including rangers drove through area. Felt safe. Did see a couple of skunks but we both left each other alone. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
This is a mixed bag, the park is older, but in good shape, the restrooms were some of the cleanest and nicest we've found in the Ohio park system. The sites were a bit to close to each other for our taste, and some of the camper host's units looked like they had been there for years. Also, no one that we noticed picked up their dog's droppings, so be careful where you walk if you stay in the pet section. Not alot to do in the area unless you like to boat. Security is lax, the gate was not manned much of the time, but maybe that was because it was after labor day, and we did not see alot of security patroling the campground. All in all, we would go back if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
We just spent the weekend for "Gold Rush Days" at East Fork Lake. It is a nice campground for families, but isn't the best place we have ever stayed. The bathrooms were muddy and not that nice. You could tell they tried to keep up with them because they smelled like bleach a lot, but even clean they were pretty dated. The sites are on the small side and pretty close to one another. There were some fun activities for the kids, but overall it was just o.k. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
This is one of the better Ohio state parks for camping. We stayed through the week and it was almost empty. Most of the sites are large with lots of room to spread out. Fire rings and picnic tables are at each site. Most sites are reservable on the state web site. There they include descriptions of the site to make it easy to choose. We camped in section "I" and I don't think there is a bad spot there, but that section is further away from the bathhouses than most. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$23
This is a great park. We camped here for 10 days and only had campers near us on the weekends. Bathrooms could have been cleaner. Lot sizes were nice. Didn't have any problem with any other campers or noise. We camped in the pet area and didn't even notice any barking. Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$31
Beautiful park. Sites were roomy and level. Paved roads throughout the park. Beach area was clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Campsites were not secure. Be sure to secure the campsite and lock everything up. We had left the ice chest outside overnight and sometime in the night it was stolen. We found it further down the lane, emptied and broken. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Camped in the Pet Area, the area had a good amount of shade, it rained while we were there, and the site didn't have good drainage. The bathrooms were OK, the mens room was clean, the womens needed a little work in the showers. The neighbors were fairly noisy, and I ended up getting the Ranger to shut their animals up. Will camp here again, since I can't believe will meet the same jerks again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
I wrote the previous review, and little has changed in the past few years. The only thing worth mentioning is that five sites located off by themselves recently had full hookups installed, complete with 50 amp electric service. This is rare in Ohio State Parks, so I expect these sites will go fast. It is also possible that rental units might be moved in on a few of these sites in the near future. While these full hookup sites are together on a small road, they are near the amphitheater and playground so noise might be a problem at times. Also, these sites are not very large, and not very private. No clearings back in the woods with any of these sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Nice features include a beach and boat ramp for camper use only. Some sites back up to the woods where there is a trail to a small and somewhat private clearing for tents or campfire. Since the park is close to Cincinnati, this campground tends to fill up on weekends during the summer and reach maximum capacity on holiday weekends. Rangers patrol on a regular basis but sometimes it can still get a bit rowdy here. If you are willing to brave slightly cooler temperatures, the campground isn't very busy during late fall and early spring. Very nice campground which I would rate an 8 if it wasn't for the potential overcrowding during the peak season. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com