224079 User submitted reviews online!!
Clay's Park Resort was rated 5 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (330) 854-6691
CGID2165

Clay's Park Resort

Camp Information
Sites
334
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   2   8   8   1   1   10   3   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$55
This is a place for children, lots for them to do and they can join the other 500 that are there every weekend in their golf carts. Mostly full time sites, some with lots of junk around. Sites are gravel and mostly level, our parking spot was level but the rest was not. Roads are in terrible condition, potholes, huge speed bumps with gaps so the speeding golf carts can go thru. Staff very friendly. This is not the place for an overnight or a peaceful stop. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$56
This is not a Big Rig friendly campground. Some of the sites that are reserved for Big Rigs will not fit any camper larger than 36 feet. Fortunately, we arrived mid-week and were able to say "no" to the site assigned to us. On the weekend we would not have been so lucky. The roads are filled with pot holes and the 'speed bumps' are too high for a Big Rig RV. If you want to fish and go to the beach and you have a smaller camper and you like paying too much for site, then this is the camp for you. Unfortunately, they do not have much competition; however, we will find a different camp ground when we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Clay's Park is an awesome campground if you have kids. Their is so much to do. You kids will be entertained all day. When we were there some of the lifeguards were going through people's cooler looking for alcohol. They mean business when they say no alcohol in the park. I actually respect that they follow through. The campground is very expensive, but we weren't disappointed. They have a log roll in the water that was fun. On certain weekends they have events. The reason I did not rate a ten, is because it's very expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$59
We arrived just as they were gearing up for Independence Day. The park was crowded with families enjoying the weekend. There were many full timers there with decks and other additions to their permanent sites. We were there only for a place to park during a family get together to celebrate my parent's 90 and 91st birthdays at their home and had to pay a premium price for the holiday. We were first shown a nice pull through but, on the way back to the office, we noticed an open spot right next to the lake which they hesitated to give us due to our size (45 foot). The office staff were very friendly and did everything they could to accommodate us. The spot was on the small side for our bus and not very level. We ended up listing slightly to starboard but it was our choice given the spectacular view of the lake. Reading some of the other reviews have me wondering if they were talking about the same park we visited. Evidently, things have changed drastically since others have written reviews. Looking around, all the electrical stanchions were new with 50 amp service, the water pressure was great and we remarked on how well kept the grounds were. Yes, there may have been some noise but, you must understand, our stay was during one of the major holiday weekends. People were outside, enjoying each other's company, Lots of kids, dogs and family activities. I grew up in the area and we visited Clay's park when I was a kid. It was not much more than a swimming hole back then. Today, it is one of the nicest RV parks we've ever visited. Sure, there is always room for improvement (easier access to the dumping station) but it seems that the management is working hard to make everyone's stay pleasant. Clay's Park will always be our favored place to stay when visiting family. We're going back in a couple of weeks and we'll take the time to enjoy some of their many activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
What was once a great park is no more. I have come to this park for many years, and what I am seeing now is truly sad. Maintenance of the park is terrible. When we stayed the electric went out in the part of the park we were in, and it was several hours for it to come back on. Try staying in your camper when it is sunny and 90 degrees. Maintenance had no reason for this as well as how long it would be off. Very rude to us when we inquired about time frame. Water pressure in the park is terrible as well as sewer smell coming from campers when they dump their holding tanks. Maintenance had no answer for this other than deal with it. People were tent camping by a tree. The tree has a large branch that from the looks of it broke last winter during the ice storm. The branch looks like it has been hanging there a long time. Security in the park: forget it when it comes to enforcing park rules. Went to camp restaurant/store. We knew the girl working behind counter. She was selling beer to under age minors, and she is only 18 years old. Looked around park and a lot of seasonal campers are gone: wonder why? As I said in the beginning, was once a great park. If you have money and want to waste it, come to Clays Park. If you are limited on your funds, go somewhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
Family reunion ruined! We reserved sites for 10 travel trailers, 5 months in advance, not one was in same area. We explained that we booked way in advance, they assured us we would be together. We complained, they told us to leave if we did not like it and would not refund our deposits. The site was a death trap, 4 legs coming down the water sprayed electrical hook up. 7 wires per breaker lead. Water? Not enough pressure to brush your teeth, forget about doing dishes. Went swimming and cut my foot. The 16 year old life guard was told by her supervisor not to use too many butterfly wound closures because they were expensive. I got to cut one in half. She closed the wound full of sand. They did not even want to see the jagged concrete where I cut myself. Band aids are cheaper than concrete repair. The pool has a nice array of floating band aids and oil slicks, watch out for pink eye. Overall, nice concept but the owners are not running a resort. They are more interested in filling their pockets with your money. Stay away from Clay's park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$72
We stayed at this park over Memorial Day weekend. It was a very nice campground with a lot to do. The waterpark/beach area is very nice and was a huge hit with our whole family. The only small complaint I would have regarding the lake is that the water was quite cold but that is to be expected for this time of year in northeast Ohio! We have a golf cart and were very thankful for that since the sites are pretty far from the beach. The sites are a bit close together in some areas, but we have a 40 foot fifth wheel toy hauler and didn't have much of a problem getting into our site. The restaurant on site is nice for a quick snack and their breakfast buffet was nice and quite inexpensive. Over the holiday weekend, they had a band/DJ both Friday and Saturday night which was quite a hit with the adults and kids. The only downside to this park is the amount of golfcarts and it doesn't seem as though they really care who is driving them. I saw quite a few young kids on them later into the evening going quite fast. Other than that, it is a wonderful campground with so much to do. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Prices are pretty steep for what you get. Roads are either worn asphalt or gravel; rough but no overly so. Lots of grass and area is clean. Sites are back to back style and fairly level but the gravel is pretty packed into the ground so after a good rain, you have a clay mud mess. Electric was solid, water pressure was well over 50 psi so use a regulator. Our site was Water & Electric only. The swimming lake is clean with a nice sandy beach. Fishing lake is carp, catfish, and some blue gill. We would probably pass on staying here again simply because of the rates and the fact that if you have visitors they MUST pay to enter the park even though they are not using any facilities at all. No exceptions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
This place is full on the weekends and BUSY! Huge place with camping away from the lake day use, which is nice. Tons of amenities and the swim lake is fabulous. Expensive but worth the price if you think of the amenities. Good gravel and paved roads. Good Verizon internet, cell and DirecTV. They take you to your site which is good because it's easy to get lost. The campground is over 200 acres. Had a fun time and enjoyed sightseeing in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
We stayed here for the Alive Christian Music Festival. Our site was in the Sunny Side section. The sites were very large and roomy. The access in and out of the campsite was simple and easy. The park is separated into two large sections. The top section is the "campground" while the bottom section is (for lack of a better term) "recreation." They have a "waterpark" which is not much more than a glorified swimming lake. Compared to most waterparks, it fails dismally. However, compared to most swimming lakes, it is probably the best I've seen. There are only few paved roads and those are rustic at best. The indoor pool is nice but not excellent. I'd give it a 6 out of 10. The camp store however is excellent. Not by the contents, but by the staff. Ralphie's (the name of the bar/grill inside of the campstore) is staffed by wonderfully nice people who make you feel welcome. The worst part of this campground is the large number of seasonal campers that feel like they not only own the campground, but make other campers feel unwelcome. Especially for the Alive Festival. There was an "us and them" mentality that pervaded the cg. We felt that they had to "put up" with the festival campers while we were here. Other than that, the cg was nice. We probably won't choose to go out of our way to return, but would stay here if we are passing through and are looking for a place to lay our head. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$44
This is the worst park ever to be a seasonal camper. They have the rudest staff including the two in pines 80. This is the most over priced park. #2 in the U.S. Don't waste your money! The lowest price site for the season is 1800 dollars. Yes, the lowest price. Don't give the them any of your hard earned money. The staff is the worst staff I have ever seen at a camp ground! Not worth the money! This is a Rip Off! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$50
We have always liked the amenities at Clay's Park. The staff there is really top notch. However, more recently the park has not had the upgrades needed. Electricity goes out frequently. Electricity rates are off the charts. The park implements miscellaneous fees and issues tickets whenever they need a boost in cash. The roads are horrible. Huge chuck holes exist. They do not mow entire fields which breed mosquitoes and other critters. Campers are not given a voice to properly issue a complaint. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
The nightly rate was for off season and for 2 people. Add $7 additional per child (again off season rate) and our nightly rate was $44. We have been to the water park but have never camped there since people we know had less than stellar reviews. I cannot say that I agree with them. The staff was very friendly as were the seasonal campers that we chanced meeting. Our site was not level but I do not expect the world when I camp this is why we carry leveling boards with us. Unfortunately the sauna and steam room were out of order. The hot tub was functioning and actually hot (we have been to a few campgrounds where the hot tub was luke warm at best). The pool was a little on the cool side but it was a cool fall weekend. It did not stop kids from being in it. Their summer rates seem kind of high, but once you realize how much it would cost just to go to the water park the rates are not that bad. We are even considering getting a seasonal site here next year. I will forewarn that if you have a site near the lodge the music can be kind of loud and during the summer they have bands and DJ's in some of the pavilions. If you are looking for a park with a peaceful setting this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for a campground with a bunch of activities and people who like to have lively fun, this is the place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Good people. Very helpful. Seasonal campers were very friendly and even offered shuttles on their golf carts. Clean bathrooms, hot showers, lots to do for families. Kids enjoyed beach. Indoor pool was great for days a little too cold to be outside swimming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
Wow - the WORST place I have ever stayed. Sites are so close to each other that slides end up within 15' of the neighbor's campfire! Level sites? HARDLY. This place needs graded badly. Golf carts everywhere into the wee hours. The newer indoor pool was the sole highlight, as the outdoor swimming area is just dangerous IMO. If it were not for all the concerts and other events they attract, this place would be defunct. Overpriced, and overrated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$39
We arrived Friday afternoon at Clays Park Resort and were welcomed by their friendly, smiling staff. They escorted my family to a great full hook-up site with a view of the lake. We have several children and it didn't take them long to find the lifeguarded waterpark, waterslides and paddleboats. The beachhouse had clean restrooms. Seemed there was something for all ages to do here, we mini golfed and fished also. After dinner we took a hayride and saw the indoor pool and whirpool area. The park is huge with hiking/biking trails. Seasonals were very friendly and the park was well staffed and maintained. Will return next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2006
$52
This campground is very overpriced and very "run down". Our site was not even close to being level despite using our levelers and when we complained and requested a different site, we were told "no". It was also a mudhole. The park is packed with seasonal people who seem to "rule the roost". There are golfcarts everywhere making it impossible for a safe walk around the park. Teenagers "cruise" the narrow roadways and play rap music constantly and loudly. Our first night, our seasonal "neighbors" partied until 1:30am. We tried to contact security, but only received a voicemail. The bar/restaurant is dirty and the store has very few supplies. We were so disappointed with the whole place that we paid for three nights, but left disgusted after staying only two! We will never go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2005
$35
We stayed here because the campground's ad in Ohio Camper, promises many fun things for campers. The campground was poorly maintained and there were only a few spots for overnight campers. In fact, our spot had been promised to another family, when the check-out wasn't until 3:00 pm for us. That family arrived at 10:00 am and had to wait for us to pack up. The water slides were enjoyable, but the water park didn't have much for older non-swimmers. My son is 9 and he didn't want to jump off the diving boards. The rings and slide at the beach are definitely safety hazards because the metal steps are slippery. The indoor pool facility looked newer and was better maintained than the outdoor stuff. We were very disappointed in the miniature golf area. We had to use golf balls and the course was dirty and needs to be repaired. My husband also was stung by a wasp because the hook-ups are too close to a tree. This campground needs to update their whole facility, and keep things in better shape! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$35
This campground has some great activities during the year, but so many of their campsites are not well maintained. The staff is friendly but if it rains a lot of the campsites will be a muddy mess (this has happened the last two times I stayed here). I will not stay here anymore. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$41
We were at Clay's Park in North Lawerence, Ohio this last week end for the Yankee Peddler Festival. The Festival was fine. The park could use some work. The electric at our site kept dropping below 100 volts. The sites we were supposed to be in you'd need a truck load of wood to get level and the girl told us, when we reserved the site that it was level. Now mind you, we're paying $42 a night for these sites and they want to charge you extra to dump and an extra $8.95 per extra person. I understand the need to charge for extra people, but $9. It was not because of the festival either. We were told that was the regular charge. They have a lot of things to do but none of them were open. Loud music, put on by the park from 6 until 10 PM. I was a good 600 yards away and my windows were rattling. Trying to have a peaceful dinner was out of the question. Most of the park is dedicated to seasonals. There are not that many overnight sites. The ones we saw I wouldn't put my MH on. This is just my experience with the one and probably only stay at Clay's Park. We did file our complaints with the park as we left. Like that will help. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com