223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Alum Creek State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (740) 548-4039
CGID2172

Alum Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
289
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   2   8   9   7   8   10   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
Large park with very spacious sites and a very nice beach for swimming. Main complaint is lack of security in park. When we arrived we just drove to our site and never checked in, and were never questioned! There were cars in and out all night blaring their stereos and we woke up to find that our cooler left outdoors overnight was depleted. Not that I'm not grateful they only took drinks, but the "safe" feeling is gone. If I had wandered outside with protection, it could have gotten ugly ... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
First site was very not level, however we were able to move to a more level site. Sites have 50 amp service, picnic tables, and a fire ring. Park as a whole was well kept up. There is a huge dog park (actually 3) in the park. One for small dogs, one for large dogs and a lake area for the all the dogs. My biggest complaint was the speed that fellow campers felt was appropriate to drive through the park at. They need to hand out some speeding tickets before someone gets hurt.Our rig is 40' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$14
Most sites are electric only. The first site was not level, but we were able to move. Standing water on floor of toilets at all times of day. There are floor drains, but water does not drain to them. Standing water in changing area of shower stall. Trash and toilet paper on floor of shower house at 10pm and 4pm. Water was hot, and pressure was good in shower house. Lots of mosquitoes. Rate reflects Passport America discount during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
This is one of my favorite state campgrounds. The sites are large and private with plenty of trees. There is plenty to do in and around the area. BTW, I'm a local and here is a tip: the lakes in Ohio are fairly pretty from afar, but we don't swim in them and you shouldn't either. They're absolutely filthy. Instead, ride a bike or go for a hike. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
We camped in the one of the three full service sites. Not as secluded as the rest, but still had nice spacing between sites. Full service sites have an extra cement pad off the parking pad. Came in handy due to a big rainstorm the night before we arrived. Did not see a bad site. All were shaded and level. Will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We were here for Memorial Day weekend, so the park was full. The site was nicely wooded and fairly quiet. The bathrooms were a bit buggy, but overall they were clean. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We live in Columbus and had never camped here, so we decided to give it a try for a quick weekend trip. The sites were all very clean and most were shady, too. The campground is very large so bikes are a good idea for easy transportation within the campground. It was very hot when we were there, and the campground beach was pretty crowded but not unbearable. Our kids loved the activities in the nature center and the playground. We will definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We have camped at many campgrounds both public and private across the state. We were once again not disappointed in the Ohio state parks. Considering the number of people coming through, the shower house was VERY clean. Trust me, in 30 years of camping I have seen many holes! The campsites we saw and stayed in were roomy enough even with a 36' trailer. The beach was pleasant and there were many fun trails to go exploring. I especially love the design of the campsites where each site is nestled into the trees...gave it a private feeling. We hope to return soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
Rate reflects winter season rate. This is a beautiful park built around a large reservoir. We took an over night stop here (45 minute drive from home) preparing for our first trip of the year and it was lovely. We did not use the restrooms on this trip and only a few were open, but my memory says they are clean but could use some renovation. As it was still considered winter season, the camp store was closed and water was not turned on at the spigots. There are plenty of paths to bike and walk, many along the shoreline of the lake. The sites are generous in size with quite a bit of natural brush used for separation and privacy. We will be back many times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$26
We stayed here overnight while traveling. Sites are a little tight and electric is the only hookup. It is great to have the state parks open year round and nice to have power for the night. We have stayed here twice now in the off season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We stopped at this park at the end of a 4 week trip. This is a beautiful big park. It is on a man-made lake (COE) and has some wonderful big, private campsites. Each campsite only has 30/50 amp electric although there are water spigots available throughout the park. We camped in the L section and it was quite nice. The shower house/bathrooms are older and have the painted brick walls found in many state park campgrounds. The floors were rock pebbles that have been cemented to the floor. The showers were warm (not hot) but sufficiently warm to take a shower. They do not have the flow controls that require you to constantly hit to keep the water running. This was nice as you could shower as long as you want without hitting a button to get more water. Since we brought our 2 dogs with us, we visited their dog park and it was GREAT. They have a very nice small and big dog area both with water available. They also have 2 additional dog parks right on the lake so that water-loving dogs could swim and fetch in the water. Our dogs loved that feature. The dog parks were built by volunteers and they obviously were dog people as it was built for both the owners and dogs to enjoy. The park itself is not far off the expressway and is easy to get to. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
Old state park campground which needs to be updated. At least with water at each site. Nice lake and beach. Lots of areas to hike and bike. Park kept clean. Bathrooms are very old. Okay if you don't want the amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Great campground! The only drawback are the bathrooms. They need some TLC. Otherwise sites are super and the park is clean with great bike riding for kids and good fishing spots. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
I wouldn't stay here again. The showers were disgusting, they smelled, had bugs in them, and I felt dirty after being in them. I couldn't wait to get out. Also, we had to leave early and the lady in the office wouldn't take pity on us and return any unused nights we had. I wouldn't recommend this. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This place could be so much nicer: but since it is a State Park, that will never happen. The sites are "ok" the plus here is that you are near Alum Creek. Rangers harass you about petty things (like having a tire on the grass). It's great to see tax dollars hard at work! The layout could be better as larger rigs could have issues. "Dog" people are separated into certain areas. Again, you are here to enjoy the lake, not the camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
This is a lovely park with sites that can accommodate large rigs and each site is secluded from the next. We stayed in the off season and chose a site that no one told us would be closed a day later. We chose the site because it was close to the restroom because of the lack of water at the sites. They allowed us to stay at the site but closed the all but one restroom at the front of the CG. It has been a long time since I have seen restrooms a poor as these. Paint peeling off the walls and VERY dirty. Ohio could do a much better job. If they want to keep the parks open they have to keep the staff to manage them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Stayed here two nights on Passport America rate. Very nice back-in spaces. No water or sewer but we knew that going in. Very nice and quiet place to visit. Great places to walk. Would definitely stay here again. Would be nice if they had some pull-throughs for over-nighters. We parked on lot B-28 and got great satellite reception. Probably anywhere in the park with a Southern exposure would get satellite as long as the trees and limbs were not in the way. I only gave it a six because there were no water hook-ups on-site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
This is a nice RV campground. It notes that there are Lake sites available. We did not see these, but some of the sites were closed because it was off season. The fee of $25 or no water sites is steep, but the sites are fairly private and nice. The Campground is fairly tree covered so it is difficult, but not impossible, to find a site where you can get satellite reception. There is not a lot more to add to the other reviews. It is a nice campground, not exciting, but nice. Oh yes, if you like trains, you will love this campground as you can hear trains in the background all night long. (We like train sounds so it was not a problem.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
The park is situated in a forested area next to Alum Creek Lake, and is approximately 6 miles from I-71. All roads and sites in the park are paved, and have a picnic table and fire ring. The sites vary in length and some can accommodate a 40-foot RV but others cannot. It was quiet and very dark at night because there is no lighting along the roads or at the sites. We got local digital TV reception by using our TV antenna on the roof. The one thing to really note is that the sites only have electricity and do not have any water or sewer hookups. You can fill your fresh water tank with potable water from a special faucet at the dump station area. Afterwards, if you need more water, you can get it by taking a water container to one of the drinking water fountains located within walking distance of your RV, filling your water container from the side faucet, carrying the filled container back to your RV, and pouring the water into your fresh water tank. We stayed for five nights while visiting relatives in the area, and would stay at the park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$42
I've enjoyed this campground for the past few years. It's a great campground but I get the sense that it is either going downhill, or the people running it are not doing a very good job. A few things. First of all, the site we reserved was filthy: trash piled up in the fire-ring and it looked like someone swept out loads of trash onto the site and spilled miscellaneous liquids. Having paid $10 to reserve the site days in advance (an increase over last year), they had plenty of notice. We checked in after dark. The next day I went to the office and told them about the trash and they said their VIPS were supposed to clean it and would. But nobody ever came to clean the site. And furthermore for the $10 reservation fee, is it too much trouble to put a "reserved" sign at the site like every other campground does? This campground doesn't do that. My other complaint is that the internet wasn't working. I asked if there was something wrong with it and they said it "was on the fritz all summer". It was more than on the fritz, it didn't work at all the entire stay. The person in the office referred me to some company that is selling cellular broadband cards! That is unacceptable. I have to give a new rating based on the quality of our stay. Hopefully they will get their act in gear for next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Beauty abounds in this state park. If you're looking for privacy in a site with lots of trees, this is it! The site was big enough for our motorhome, slides, and tow vehicle with no low hanging branches. We just needed a one night stop and found this to be delightful. It was quiet & clean. We would love to return to this park and spend a little more time. Internet and cable would have made this a 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Plenty of shaded areas. Sites are spread apart enough to give you more enough space from neighbors. Park is large to get lost without campground maps. Pet areas are set apart from non-pet sections. Large lake area with swimming and boating. Park was clean with plenty of trash receptacles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is a family friendly place. There is lots for kids to do. Private beach for campers is nice. Stay close to host families to avoid partiers during holiday weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
The campground has some really nice sites with lots of trees and privacy. I was not very happy with the restrooms. There is no soap to wash your hands, the sinks had dead bugs in them, and the showers were plugged so that water collected around your ankles as you showered. The toilets were not very clean either. I am not anxious to return any time soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This is a large nice looking campground. The sites are wooded and secluded and you have a lot of space between you and your neighbor. Dog owners are off to one side of the campground however it wouldn't appear as though this side has any drawbacks or anything like that. If quiet and secluded isn't your thing, there is a campground right down the street with a lot of activities and closer spaced camping. Note there are multiple train tracks in the vicinity of Alum Creek, the trains toot their horns nonstop as they are passing without regard to anyone who may live nearby. These trains go through more frequently on the week nights than Saturday and Friday nights. You may not hear them too bad inside a motorhome or trailer however those in tents or fabric structures, bring some cotton balls to stuff in your ears. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$17
The premium sites are on the end of culdisacs, there are path ways to go right down to the water's edge. The site we stayed on was L-16 and we could get satellite reception on it. It was pretty quiet and the staff was friendly. The WIFI was being worked on and they haven't got the bugs out of it with the company that was supposed to put it in. There is a boat rental at the marina and a few beaches, one for just the campers. Sites are private and most are shady. There is growth between sites and that gives you privacy from your neighbors too. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
Best site we've ever had! Unfortunately, only 3 full 50 amp hookup sites available, but all the sites are very private and large! Great beach, boating, dog park/swimming, well patrolled, wonderful staff. Golden Buckeye card gets you half off the fee. Will camp here whenever we can! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
The sites were nice and private, but small, lots of trees and foliage. The showers were disgusting. They need mildew remover for the shower curtains. Hot water ran out. The beach was OK, I didn't swim in the water though, too much stuff floating on the surface. Paved roadways and camp pads. Since it is so close Columbus, I'll probably camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$24
We have camped at this campground several times, but only in "off" seasons (early spring or very late fall/early winter). Our sites are always beautiful, with loads of big trees and lots of privacy. The sites are a good size and good distance apart with lots of foliage in between. The roads are well-kept. Everything is VERY basic, but it's very pretty with plenty of hiking trails. There is a lake, with a swimming beach that is nice. The only thing that could be a little nicer are the restrooms, they need some updating. They're not really dirty (at least not with human dirt), mostly cobwebs, dead bugs, etc. And they're not heated, which isn't not a lot of fun when it's cold outside! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$18
Ok place for a quick get away from Columbus. Dirty bathrooms as expected at a state park. Space between the sites was a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2006
$27
We camped the first thursday in November expecting to get the winter rates even though the date we were there was not listed in either their summer or winter rates. We camped on a premium site just to camp between the only other two campers in the whole campground, nothing posted on the site told us it was premium. We self registered with a credit card (mistake), they automatically updated the card to the higher rate. The bathrooms were awful, cobwebs galore. The site was one big mud puddle, definitely not premium in my mind. We came in late and left early the next morning. We actually are going to try again in three weeks. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$18
This is a great state park, most sites are electric only but there are a couple with full hook-ups. Premium sites have a view of the lake but don't appear to have direct lake access. We stayed for a week in E17, one of the loops that has low hanging branches that wreaked havoc on our forward antennas, but it was fairly level and we loved the thick trees on three sides, the overall spaciousness of the site and the distance to neighboring sites. It was so quiet that the insects at night sounded like a deafening roar. We have a 30 ft class A and the sites appeared big enough for us but I believe that a 40+ footer might have trouble fitting their toad in the site. The person we dealt with at check-in was exceptionally helpful, she went above and beyond the call of duty in giving us information and assisting us in the process. One negative is that the bathhouses are really run down and not overly clean. Our nightly rate reflects four nights with the Passport America discount and three nights at full rate. Lots to do in the area, all easily accessible from this park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$27
Very large state park with easy access off of I-71. Reservable sites are $27, premium (I consider lakeview, not lakefront) $29. There are only 3 full hook ups ($35), but they have VERY short parking pads (less than 20'), so you better have a small camper to fit on those. Large lake for boating, fishing & other water sports. Childrens activities and movie nights on weekends. Restrooms/showers were clean, but could use fresh paint. Sites range from small to large with both open and heavily shaded spots. Many areas have densely wooded areas between sites that make it seem like you could be the only one there. The beach area is especially large with spacious grass areas and clean shower/changing house. As with most state parks, there were lots of critters roaming the park, so be sure to keep food items safely stowed away at night. This was a very nice state park and I would recommend it to anyone travelling through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$99
The park is beautiful the sites are spacious but theres nothing to do unless your a boater, close to the freeway and easton malls. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$25
This was our first time at a State Park. There are plenty of trees between most sites. The restrooms were a little dirty, but it was in March. I assume before the Park is fully staffed. There are 3 full hook up sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$25
The park is very big and the sites have plenty of room; The bathrooms are clean (but older and need updated) or I would have given it a 10...Very nice camper hosts and a beautiful lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Had a great time. Sites have lots of shade and space between each site. Looking forward to going back We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com