223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Harrison Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (419) 237-2593
CGID2175

Harrison Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
176
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   9   7   10   7   9   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
We were traveling through to Michigan west coast and this is a good stopping point. Park was crowded for mid week. Sites were level and easy to maneuver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We checked in and went to our site. We had a small, very small issue: and needed the campground host. We located his camper and asked him to help us with something. He didn't come out of the camper and totally refused to assist us. What we needed would have taken 5 minutes. The park is pretty, lake and small beach area were nice. Bathrooms were clean. However, starting at 10 pm a site rented by a group of teenage girls started playing very loud music, screaming (and I mean loud blood curdling screams), and running around the park through other campsites. By midnight my husband decided to check for security at the gate, and there was no one there. We didn't feel the host would be helpful based on earlier interaction. By 2AM, my husband asked them to "Please be quiet" because we had a camper full of kids trying to sleep. Finally by 4AM the girls were at a quiet roar. At 10AM we hauled out of that park after being told the girls were staying another night by park staff. We did not get a refund on our campsite. By far the worst night ever spent camping: EVER, by an avid camping family and ex- state park hosts. Made for a long ride since my husband had no sleep! We will never be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
The North Camp is particularly nice, but South Camp is OK, too. Wide expanses of grass, easy lake access, solid electrical service for our A/C on hot days. For us this is "family land" so we find it special in many ways. It's an easy drop south from U.S. 20, and near enough to the Ohio Turnpike to make it worth the trip, even for only an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
We stayed at the South Side. The flush toilets and showers are ALL on the North side campground. We had vault toilets. The walk between the two is about 1/2 mile over a levee/dam. There is a beach for people and another for dogs. We really enjoyed having a dog beach. The people beach is quite small for such a large lake. If we had stayed on the North side, we probably would have rated this higher. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Registered online - easy peasy. Our site was lovely, backed up to a rural road and cornfields. Absolutely great park to stay in. Fireflies everywhere at night! Great bathrooms too, although they close them for a two hour cleaning at 10:00 AM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Would be "10" if bug control was in effect and excrement removed from beach area. Horrible mosquito,gnat and fly problem, exaggerated by excessive heat and humidity during our 7-day stay ending Aug 3. The lake beach front is covered with goose and duck excrement (yuk). Hard to understand how Ohio State and Park Mgt ignore potential health risks. Sites are nearly all beautifully shaded with mature trees. Hard surface RV pad, crushed rock/grass patio. Showers/rest rooms clean. Would return but not when temp in 90s. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
I fully agree with the previous poster who mentioned how clean the bathhouses are. Definitely that was our experience. Would have liked the showerhouse more if the private changing area for each shower was a little larger and set off by a door instead of a shower curtain, but still - exceptionally clean for a state park. Well-kept grounds, and midweek was maybe half full, and nice & quiet. Lovely place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Excellent, extremely clean, mid-size campground. Large level sites with paved driveways, turn around loops, and very clean bathrooms and shower house. Only 2 problems I noticed was the mosquito's got a little bit worse every day and night we stayed and the park is bit of a drive to everything. I was told they spray for mosquito's during peak camping season, but when I went back in the fall they were just as bad, however it was a very warm weekend. Overall, a great little known gem on a quiet little lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
I have nothing but praise for this campground. The sites are paved, large, and very clean. It is a nice quite campground with activities for every member of the family. I have never been in a campground shower house that was as clean as this! Very nicely maintained. The downfall is no water hookup but that would not stop me from camping there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
We stayed here on a weekend where there were several hundred people from a large group staying at the campground so it was really busy, but it was reasonably quiet. There is lots of stuff to do and the sites are big. Very clean campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$16
This is a wonderful Ohio State Park. Our children were thrilled with the long list of activities available with their Naturalist which included fishing, making bird feeders, and hiking. The sites are all very roomy, fairly level and they're paved. The facilities are not only clean, but the Volunteers in Park are sure to make sure each site is clean too before a new camper arrives; raking up debri and caring for the fire pits. There's a lifeguarded lake beach to enjoy as well and more than one nicely kept playground for the children. Amongst the activities, we found cool bikes and petal boats available to rent. All this for a very inexpensive rate. The only downfall would be that the park is often full and it's first come. It's definitely a great park with activities if you wish them; or just to sit back and enjoy! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com