221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails / Kenisee Lake was rated 8 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (440) 576-9030
CGID2181

Thousand Trails / Kenisee Lake

Camp Information
Sites
147
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   8   7   9   9   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$3
Rate is TT member for 50 amp. Well kept park with paved and gravel roads easily navigated with our 40' motorhome with tow car attached. Level gravel sites. The pull-thrus were full so we used C-23 back-in. No problem with our roof top satellite, but suspect sat. reception in most of the rest of C section could be a problem. Verizon smartphone had 4G one bar but Jet-pack had 4G three bars. Avoid B-6 (pull-thru) if it rains hard the ditch overflows. Real nice park, look forward to a future visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$1
Rate reflects TT member, very nice and well kept campground, sites level but STILL need attention on making mouth of sites larger to ease backing into sites, this would eliminate problems of sinking into the grass because the grounds are soft from rain. This would be the only bad issue here. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
This campground is clean and the sites were gravel and level. They had an ice cream stand and offered many games for kids. The playground was nice and the pool is set apart from the rest of the camp. There are lots of open spaces and a few lakes on property to fish/canoe in. The staff was friendly and helpful. They do not have a camp store so pack carefully or you will wind up at the local grocery/sporting/hardware store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$3
Rate TTN for 50A. Torrential rains caused major problems with drainage. Part of "A" section is closed with electrical issues. Part of "B" section is soft. An incident there required a big rig tow to drag a pickup and fifth wheel out of the muck, buried to the axles. Staying on the gravel site areas really is necessary or you can sink into the gunk. Staff was helpful and courteous, quick to respond. Amenities are in good shape and weekend activities are fun and some draw a crowd. There are seasonal sites but there isn't a problem finding an open site to set up in. This is our 2nd stop here this year and we have enjoyed the time spent in this CG. We would return when through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
Nice campground, but they did receive almost 5" of rain the day before we got there so the grounds were very soft. It made it very difficult to back in a site as the mouth of the site and the narrow roads meant if you got off the gravel you would sink almost 6" The pool is nice but small could see it very crowded on the weekends, mini golf was probably the best one I have seen at a Thousand Trails park. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
Our nightly rate reflects our Thousand Trails membership. There are four camping loops. “A Loop” is, I think, the best. It has more shade trees with nice roomy sites. “B” and “C” are okay, but without as much shade. “D Loop” isn’t a good place to be in wet conditions. There was a lot of standing water there over the first several days of our stay. One very nice thing about this campground is that all sites are full hook-up, thus there’s no scramble to grab the sewer sites and not as much resentment concerning the seasonals taking all the sewer sites as we’ve seen elsewhere. The miniature golf pretty good. There’s also a heated pool and other amenities. The Wi-Fi is in the Activity Center and it’s fair at best. My 4G wasn’t the best cellular connect I’ve had, but it did the job. The area has some interesting attractions. There are covered bridges, some nice beach and waterfront parks at Lake Erie, and other historical sites and events. Nearby Jefferson has a scenic railroad, but it doesn’t start operations till late in the summer and into the fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$1
TTN Rate. CG is being updated, guardshack being relocated closer to Mill Creek Road. CG is well maintained and staff is friendly and helpful. The main lodge is presently outside the "entrance" so you need to go through the gate when going back and forth, as in doing laundry. The pool is open, the amenities are clean and in good condition. There are fire tubs in each site and sites are level and utilities are easy to reach. 50AMP is available for $3 per day. There are many annual sites but still room enough for others. The annual sites are actually in better shape than the others in the CG. There are no waterfront sites but many do have views of the two lakes. Lots of hiking and biking trails and plenty of elbow room between sites. On the air HDTV is okay; Wi-Fi needs help and many cell phones don't work out here. A new resort sign was going up as we left this morning. This is a pleasant CG, well worth the visit and we would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
This resort accepts Encore campers and is a great park. Sites are level, very quiet, nice pool, good activities and nice people running it. We recommend it and will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
Rate used just to post, as this is a membership park, so no fee. Very nice and quiet park, kept very clean. All hook ups were good. There was an extra charge of $3 for 50 amp. Pool small but very clean. The sites were level. Not as many seasonals as in some Thousand Trails parks, so that left some nice sites to pick from. Will return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
Great campground, set in a quiet location well off the noise of the interstate. The amenities were well kept and the showers were the best I have seen in a long time. I liked the lake view from the lodge and peacefully worked a jig saw puzzle with the help of some other campers who joined in. My only reason for not rating this campground a 10 is having to go through the gatehouse to get the the laundry and lodge. It seemed odd to go out of the campground to use the facilities of the campground. We camped here in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Beautiful campground with lots of activities planned. I only wish we were staying long enough to enjoy them. We only stayed there long enough to sleep. The only reason why I give this CG a 9 and not a 10 is because it was so far off the beaten path. We were traveling down I-90 and needed a place to stay the night. Earlier posts were confirmed about using directions instead of the navigation system. However, this detour took us about 15 miles off our route. I highly recommend this campground if it fits into your itinerary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Rate is RPI Rate. Do not follow GPS read directions on web site. There are a lot of low bridges in the area. Level sites and easy to back into. Nice lakes with boats and a nice list of activities. Wi-Fi is at the welcome center. Would have given this a 10 if the campground had Wi-Fi through out the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
Rate is Passport America. Nice park, easy in, easy out. We had a pull-thru spot, so didn't have to unhitch the toad. We were just passing through overnight. Check-in was pleasant and quick. We did not check out the entire property but the area where we were was fine. Verizon air card and cell signal worked fine. No OTA TV signal. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
We were not sure what to expect when we first arrived, but by the time we left we just loved this park. It is a small park but has everything you need. We were able to play pickleball, swim and play mini-golf. The lodge was nice. The internet was decent enough to download our mail. The staff was just wonderful. They had plenty of planned activities on the weekends. Be sure to visit the covered bridges in the area as they are well worth the drive! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
As someone else said, follow the park's directions, not GPS. There is a 10' clearance bridge on Mill Creek Road. We went around it with no problem. This is a beautiful park, the grounds are consistently mowed, there are four small lakes for boating and fishing, the sites appear to be mostly level, the buildings are well maintained, the staff is friendly and helpful, and there is lots to do in the park and in the area. We opted for one of the ten new 50 amp sites ($3/night) and although they are a ways away from the other campers, they offer peace and serenity, like being out in the country, but just a short walk from the action. This is a great walking park for people (and their dogs). The manager has a home on site and you can tell this is a well-managed park. I would have given it a ten except there is no store and the pool is being resurfaced and is not finished. This is one of our favorite parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$0
A nice well kept Thousand Trails Park. Shutting down for season, park folks were somewhat distracted by this chore. Clean and roomy and would stay here again. Nice park for walking dog. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$1
Nice Thousand Trails Park. Follow directions in directory or website to avoid low bridge. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The sites on the lake are very nice but fill up fast. The new 50 amp sites are in a not as attractive open area which was wet when we arrived so we moved to a 30 amp site. Nice park overlooking lake. Verizon aircard worked here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
This a very nice and well kept park. Ten new pull thru sites have been added. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$5
Thousand Trails Preserve and a nice one. Very spacious and well cared for. We only stayed overnight as we were traveling but if we are ever back that way we would spend some time there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$1
Just to update and agree with the previous 5-year old review. There was a satellite internet dish at the store (which was closed), but you couldn't get wifi at the sites. Didn't try at the store. There are a few 50 amp sites for $2 a day. Reiterate - DO NOT attempt Mill Creek Rd from Rt 45 to park - the railroad underpass will take your roof off. Follow the directions on the park website. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$29
This is a Thousand Trails preserve just south of Ashtabula. Sites are spacious & easy in and out. There are 5 pull thru sites available. Staff is very friendly & helpful. Park is well taken care of, nice fishing lake and 2 smaller ponds. Good restaurants close by. Store was closed for the season. Avoid driving with rig on Mill Creek Rd, overhead bridge clearance is only 10'6". We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com