220520 User submitted reviews online!!
East Harbor State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (419) 734-5857
CGID2183

East Harbor State Park

Camp Information
Sites
580
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   9   9   3   7   2   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$31
Beautiful and clean was my first impression. Very helpful staff. Small walk or drive to the sandy beach. Lots of nice walking trails. Bikes to rent. Three campgrounds....1) no electric, 2) elec no pets 3) elec with pets. Upon arriving they asked us if we needed to fill our holding tank with water and directed us to the fill area. For the size of the campgrounds it was very quiet. Would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
Park is on the lake although we did not see any sites that were on the lake or had lake view. Very spacious park-like setting in all the loops. Lots of sites! Paved pull-ins and back-ins. Large park with lots of biking potential and great beach front to play in. Showers and baths very clean. We primarily selected this CG because it was a Passport America campground which is unusual for a state park but found out that we did not read the fine print and the PA discount was not honored on day we were there. Would come back though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$15
This is a nice park, and is fine for a big rig. We got a long pull-through in the "B" loops - were in site B101 and there was plenty of room for our 44' coach and the Jeep. There was 50 amp electric only (no water or sewer) but OUR SATELLITE WORKED, so we were happy campers indeed! AND, as an added bonus, the Ohio State Parks accept Passport America and discount the rate by 50% on weekdays! Fun park with lots of bike trails and nice scenery. Would stay here again, for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
The Good: Spotless. Great lake access to both Erie swim beach and inlet (calmer boating / fishing waters). Wonderful programs at Nature Center. The Bad. Spots are tiny. I mean miniscule. Grease your rig before pulling in. Volunteers staff check-in and seem unsure. Upon arrival we were told to go to "B" camp area for potable water. Pulling in and out of super tight, highly populated camp area after dark to find the potable water before winding back out to our own site in "C" area. The next morning we would discover on our own that a huge water station was easily accessible in main dump area. I would expect volunteer at check- in to know this, but it's a minor issue. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Excellent state park. Tent camping sites are a bit small, but always entertaining when you have goofy neighbors! Been camping here since I was 12 years old and it is by far my favorite campground in Ohio! Great place. Now if they would just get Wi-Fi and a pool. I'd never leave! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Nice park if you use it as a location to leave from. Not a typical state park, with beautiful shaded sites. Few trees, very congested everywhere in park. Restrooms and showers were clean, but if you're looking for seclusion in the Ohio Islands Region, don't camp here. Camp here if you want easy access to everything in the area, and love the beach and sun. IE.. bake-your-brains-out sites a-plenty! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The $20 reflects Passport America rate. They had very nice sites. However, if you want a full hook-up, book early. They had a nice beach and were close to everything. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This was the last stop on our summer road trip and was by far the worst campground. The sites were small and narrow. We felt like we were crammed in like sardines. The campground is not that large and given that they have over 500 sites should paint a clear picture to everyone. People around us had small fires burning all day which left a smokey haze in the air. The beach was dirty and full of trash. My kids did not even want to swim in Lake Erie. It was not at all what I expected from a state park. I would never stay at this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
We stayed here for Memorial Day Weekend. We went to Cedar Point, which is a 20 minute drive from the park. There has been a lot of rain this spring so most sites were muddy. The mud carried over into the rest rooms which made for a real mess. I think the rest rooms would have been fine if there were not so much mud. They were cleaned throughout the weekend. We rode bikes down to the beach. This is a nice park for bike riding. There is a lot to do in this area. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$30
What a great state park! All the RV sites were paved and pull throughs. What a great campground to ride your bicycle in; they had a bike path to Lake Erie. What a great campground. The bathrooms were clean, etc. We'll go back anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
Very nice for a State Park. The beach is really nice, everything is very clean and well maintained. Be specific as to how big your rig is. Bath houses really clean. Some of the sites are really tight for larger rigs. I had no problem. My 24 footer fit nicely on the paved pad, but if it were a big 5th wheel, there would have been no way it would have fit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
The campsites are packed together, which was somewhat expected since it is located in a sightseeing area. The sites were so close together that if my neighbor or I had a campfire in the provided rings, we would have caught each others campers on fire. Otherwise the campground and its facilities were clean and in good operating order. Note: Fill up your water tank at the freshwater fill up at the dump station. The spigots throughout the campground are not hose comparable. The beach is another story however. Visit the website: http://www.beachaid-eastharbor.com/ to see the story of what the state did to cause it to be such a disaster. Add to that, the beach facilities were boarded up and falling down, though a park worker said that new facilities are supposed to be built this fall or next spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Well, I wasn't too impressed. It's a rather large park, but it's rather like a bunch of fields with small sites, and very few trees in the camping area to shade the sites. When we arrived, we just had strange vibes. When we got to our site, we were disappointed, because we thought we had a full hookup, but we not only had no sewer, but no water as well. We had all tanks dry, and had to leave and stay at another nearby campground. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We used this campground as a base while we visited the nearby attractions with family. We live a 3-hour drive away and hadn't been here before this visit. Luckily, we had picked the very best part of the campground to camp. We were in Section B, which is a pull-through non-pet area. Our site was in the very back. It was very quiet, and there were nice shade trees on almost every site. There are plenty of restrooms located throughout the park. Ours was kept very clean. The shower house was also very nice and clean. I didn't count them, but there must have been about 10 shower stalls. The kids had a wonderful time swimming at the beach, which is located on Lake Erie. This campground is huge, the largest in Ohio. Although we were so lucky to be in the area that we were in, I will have to say that I wouldn't want to camp in any other part of the campground. I took a long walk throughout the grounds just to check for possible future camping sites if we were to come back with our dog. The pet area, back-in sites were extremely crowded together. I would probably have an entirely different view of the campground had we picked one of those sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Campers at this campground were very rude. People cutting through other occupied campsites at all times. Poor layout of campground led to this. Shower house(s) located in middle of row of campsites and dead end roads. Roads very narrow and hard to back into sites. We were disappointed at the condition of nearby beach. Shower houses closed: were only port-a-potties at beach. Concession stands were closed and no life guards. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
This park is apparently a popular spot for locals to spend a few days, most of the vehicles here had Ohio tags. The majority of campers in our area were tent campers and pop-ups. Quite a few groups had rented 2 or 3 sites and set up small communities. The campground was very well maintained and it seemed like there was always a golf cart nearby with people cleaning up. The park was noisier than some just because of the large groups and the closeness of the sites. Everyone we talked to was friendly and pleasant. Bath houses were typical state park facilities, nothing fancy, but useful and reasonably clean. I would stay here again but would try to get a site on the perimeter of the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
We had a great time at East Harbor State Park, and visiting the surrounding area. It is a beautiful park with nice bike trails. We had a nice level site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
I camp at several Sandusky area campgrounds every year, and this one is by far my favorite. This campground features beautiful scenic views of Lake Erie, and the price cannot be beat. If you are looking for a cheap place to camp, with plenty of activities, this is the place. You will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
We were in the pet section, in a back-in site. The roads are narrow and sites at 90 degree angle from road. Tough to park. We had 50-amp electric, but voltage was low and so we could not use both air conditioners. Restrooms were not clean. Camp hosts were friendly and did a good job of keeping camp sites clean. No enforcement of rules. Some campers had very junky sites. Park has lots of trails for walking, biking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This is a very nice state park. All access roads and sites were paved and the sites were level. There were mature shade trees throughout the park. The beach on Lake Erie was great. Don't miss this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
My rate is discounted with use of my Golden Buckeye Card. C-44 was our site, almost level, not enough out of plumb to require leveling blocks. Next time I will not be so close to the restrooms, lots of traffic there. Our Grandsons enjoyed the beach. We had a great time, went out to Put In Bay on South Bass Island, via Miller's Ferry Line. Very much a family campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We stayed here for 3 nights. It is a very clean park, nice mowed hiking trails along the water. The beach was clean as well. There is friendly staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
Very nice campground. There is a gate at the entrance for security. There are many shady areas and paths for walks and hiking. There is a good cool breeze in the campground. You are very near the lake. Fishing is available within the park. There are boat ramps in the park and a beach for swimming. Pull through sites seem larger than the other sites. We stayed in B section. All sites have a picnic table and fire ring. We were here in Mayfly season. They were everywhere. The location is close to Kelley's Island or Put in Bay for sightseeing. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
This is your typical Ohio state park. There is an area where the sites literally back into each other, but they do have full service sites that back into a tree line. The new 4 stall dump station is a real plus. I felt the beach was nasty, but my kids enjoyed it because it is mainly a huge sandbar and they could walk out really far and still be safe. Nice campstore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
We have a travel trailer but tent camped this trip. East Harbor State Park is beautiful with friendly campers and staff. Its close proximity to the ferry going to the Lake Erie Islands is a plus. Some areas for recreational vehicles looked tight, but with so many sites to choose from, there is something for everyone. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
Very nice state park. We stayed in the pull through section. The sites there are larger and you are not as close to your neighbor in this section. Some sites in the C section are back to back, close together. The state reservation site will help you avoid those. This is a good place for bicycle riding. The beach is an ok place to swim. This is a good location to camp to have access to the islands, Cedar Point and fishing. They have Wi-Fi at the camp store. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Have stayed here several times and every time is great. There are activites nearby and all the facilities are clean and well maintained! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This Park is OK. Sites are a little closer together than most state parks we’ve stayed. Double edge sword, it’s nice to camp in all the trees however, they make it harder to maneuver. Took a nice walk along the water’s edge. Staff was friendly, and firewood was reasonably priced. On the way to the park we stopped at a roadside fruit stand and bought some of the best tasting green grapes I have ever had! Restrooms and showers were clean. Verizon air card worked OK for internet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Not a bad park. PROS: nice setting on the harbor, ok playground, good camp store, friendly employees, holiday themes, rates ok, great for boaters. CONS: no pool for the kids, sites are pretty tight for a state park, trees are too close to edges of site for slide-outs, trees need height trimmed as some branches drag your RV roof. We were in C183. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
We camp here at least 2 to 3 times a year. The bathrooms are ok. The sites are close together but if you get a cul de sac site they are quite large. They have great walking trails along the water. There is also a lot to do in the area, it is a great base camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
This is one of the nicest state parks that we have stayed in. Staff was very friendly and helpful with a well stocked camping store. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
We stopped at this state park on a whim for an overnight and what a treat that was! The original site we were offered was too close to a road for our children and we asked to change - no problem - I picked the one we wanted and the change was easily made. I'm sure this would not have been able to happen had it been a busy time, but the staff was very accommodating. Sites were a bit small, but nice, level and shady with plenty of green space close by to play in. Free Wifi available at our site, no problem. Shower facilities standard state park, but clean and plenty of water with good pressure. We were there at the end of the season during the week so it was pretty quiet and can see how it might be a busy place during peak times. We took a day trip to Kelly's Island - great fun! Our first trip to this area and we only wish that we had been able to stay longer - East Harbor Sate Park is a place we will definitely return to! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
They've made some nice improvements. The volunteers do a very good job keeping their areas picked up. As soon as someone leaves, they're there to pick up and make sure the site is ready for the next camper. WiFi has been installed and is available in the camp store area. You can get it from the parking lot. Lots to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$32
This is a large state park with it's own dedicated boat ramp. Fishing from the courtesy docks resulted in lots of bluegill and perch for the kids to have fun with. Also, we moved during our stay, due to coming in early and then we also left early. The staff were wonderful to work with and made the changes easy for us. Biking around the park is also easy with plenty of areas to ride. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
Very small & close sites, better get along with your neighbors here! Close to attractions like the islands, lighthouse, Cedar Point. Beach in the park but it is not within walking distance. Camped here with a large group of others we know. Good camp for this type of activity since you are close to each other. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2005
$26
Be careful with the big rigs. We have only a 28ft 5th wheel and barely made it into our spot because of trees at the entrance of our spot. Luckily the guy across from us moved his truck so we could pull into his spot and then back into ours. Spots are small, campground is very crowded. There is a dog and no dog section. If this is important to you - make note. In the dog section, there were dogs everywhere. The beach is very nice, and there was a dog beach too. Showers and bathrooms are old, but semi-clean. With that many people, they were constantly in use, and only cleaned once a day. There was laundry facilities, but equipment was old. The dryers took forever to dry the clothes. We had a great time camping there - first trip to the area, loved the water and beach swimming. Had never camped in such a busy and crowded campground before. Somewhat of a shock. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$36
A beautiful state park near all of the attractions of Lake Erie. We enjoyed the nature center and their activities (crafts, hikes, movies, etc. ) Even though it was full, it was very quiet for our whole stay. The swimming beach is very nice, but the restrooms there left a little to be desired! The full hook-up sites in a state park are really a bonus! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$25
We were there twice in 2004 and both times had pretty decent experiences. Be careful where you choose your site if you reserve. Many sites are so close together that trailers have to park back to back just inches from one another. Other sites are large and spacious. The management also does not hesitate to put 40' motor homes on pads intended for 10' pop-up campers. Lots of tow vehicles stick out into the roads. But the staff is friendly and eager to help and the park itself is pretty nice, especially the beach. I would consider going back. Many people have told me that this is the best Ohio state park, that would make me hesitate on visiting any other Ohio state parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$21
A very nice State Park! I believe it is the biggest or one of the biggest in Ohio. It is located on the shores of Lake Erie. It has unlimited opportunities for outdoor recreation. Boating, fishing, swimming, picnicking and of course camping. East Harbor is on the Marblehead Peninsula. It is a popular tourist destination during the summer with lots of "touristy" activities. The bath houses are satisfactory and their is a camp store. It is approx. 25 min. from Cedar Point. Would definitely stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$21
This is the largest Ohio State Park in Ohio. The sites vary from grassy tent sites to large pull throughs. The facility is attractive and a pleasant RV experience. Many fisherman use this facility for Lake Erie fishing. There is a very large boat ramp that can handle 4 or more boats simultaneously. There is also facilities to clean fish. The park is near Cedar Point with their many amuusement rides. Ferry Boats also go to Kelley's Island and Put-In-Bay. A large swimming beach is located at the facility. There is something for everyone at this campground. It is only a few minutes from Rt. 2 and about 30 minutes from the Ohio Turnpike. This facility will reach capacity during the summer and holiday weekends. Prices for tents and backin sites are a lower cost. Ohio Residents also receive a large discount with their Golden Buckeye Card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com