214623 User submitted reviews online!!
Lock 30 Woodlands RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (330) 424-9197
CGID2189

Lock 30 Woodlands RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   2   9   7   9   10   10   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
It's a nice park with long sites. And yes, no one camps in front or behind you but like the other reviewer said, they do camp close to you: that is true. Sites aren't metered anymore unless you're a seasonal camper. We've camped a lot of places and this place was the only campground where we'd been to in the past that charged for electric: must be why they changed that policy. We were here Labor Day weekend 2012 and the park was full. It was a rainy weekend, but even then the only "activity" was Bingo, and I understand each day only 4 people went to the pavilion and played. It wouldn't take much for the campground to purchase a Power Point projector for a couple hundred bucks, a lap top computer, and show movies in the evening down at the pavilion. The pool was open this weekend as was the game room, which yes, is more than most places have. But besides bingo, there were no other activities besides the above mentioned, and the Saturday afternoon fire truck ride around the loop for the kids. Would be nice to announce activities on a PA system and not rely on postings on the Gate House and bathroom doors. Everyone needs a reminder now and then. We noticed that the teenagers they have on staff here, have a rough time keeping up with cleaning the bathrooms. (Most all the staff were teenagers!) I've stayed at a near by state park several times and am a stickler about bathrooms. (Don't we all like clean ones?) But the State Parks employ older people who have cleaned a bathroom or 2 in their lives. I was in using the restroom on the Sunday afternoon of our visit and had to listen to the Manager yell at one of the new kids because the bathroom wasn't cleaned. 1) when guests are present, no employee should be talked to like their idiots, and 2) no employee should be spoken to like their idiots. The Manager knew I was here because I had to walk past her to get to the bathroom. It's a nice place and all, and we've tried to give it a chance a couple of times, but management needs to get it's act together. This weekend wasn't their first weekend of operation, but it sure seemed like it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$34
Beautiful campground in interesting historic setting and surrounding area. However, at least half of the lots are severely sloped - we noted several units with unusually large amounts of blocking to raise the rear. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Nice park which advertises "where no one camps in front of you or behind you", but your neighbors are really close. They don't mention in their advertisements or on the telephone when making reservations, that you pay extra for the electric hookup because they are metered sites. You pay $0.18 per kwh, which made our four day stay cost an additional $14.00. There were many black snakes in the park, in fact we had to kill one (about four foot long) which was going into my sons tent. You must buy firewood from the park, because you could not bring your own in. Fishing is catch and release, and were very small. We stayed here because it was close to the Rogers flea market. I don't know why they call it a resort, because there were no "planned" activities. Bugs were a big problem in the evening. Don't know if we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Nice campground, very shaded, very pet friendly. Nice sites. We had no problems with getting into the site and from looking around I noticed a lot of sites that were longer then ours. They very orientated about being pet friendly and have doggy do bag stations all over the entire campground including down along the creek and pond area. We had a full hook up site so used the restrooms very little when I did go in they were clean. The pool was cold but nice. The Wi-Fi could be a little better. And the fire wood they sold us was the worst wood I've had for staring a fire. Other wise I will stay here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
If you plan on coming here, bring tons of insect repellent as well as dog treats for Black Jack, the campground dog. CG was decent enough, it is very remote and peaceful. I only had a few complaints, there is a 5 mph speed limit that the staff in golf carts and the seasonals blatantly disregard. There were only a handful of seasonals, and they were very tidy. There were no activities during the week, even though there were a fair amount of children present. They own a fire truck, so it would not be difficult to take the kids for a ride here and there or something simple. The camp office had a tiny store with essentials, but the hours were very odd. It seemed that the person manning the desk also cleaned the bathrooms, pools etc. Bathrooms were very clean. Sites varied in size, some were very deep, but not very far apart. We were here during the week, so there were very few campers around us, but I would imagine the weekends are a bit hectic. There is not a whole lot to do in the general area. There is some shopping about 15 min away in either direction. Wi-Fi worked great at times, other times I couldn't load my email. Mid week special was very reasonable. This was the first time we dealt with metered electric and with our AC running at 70 degrees, it was roughly $3 a day. We would return, but not during mosquito season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
I thought the sites would be wider from viewing their website. We stayed in a group-like area where the grass was worn off with no gravel pad. It rained a day and a half but didn't get too muddy. They have sites for a few more dollars with metered electric. These might be worth it for slightly more privacy. Those sites are narrow and have gravel pads. No barrier vegetation. You need to be skilled if you're in a big rig backing in because they're deep and lined with trees. All in all, the owners are conscientious. We didn't have a chance to visit the pool or game/clubhouse. I'm bumping up my review because they appear to be nice facilities. Based on the overall cleanliness of the grounds and bathroom what we didn't visit probably is a bonus. They also offered nice activities for adults as well as children. On Saturday they featured a ghost hunter (we didn't get to see but noticed it was well attended), and Sunday was a nice history display by a local historian. We came almost entirely because of the pet friendly billing. This was mostly true. It was hot/humid and the open area down by the river was trickier to trudge under those conditions. Pet Comfort Station was appreciated. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
Very nice place to camp. Owners were on site and came to our camping site to ask if we needed anything on a daily basis. Tent camping cost 15 dollars per night per person, which was a good price considering everything offered. Very nice pool area. Would stay again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
I have traveled all over the country and stayed in plenty of campgrounds. Lock 30 is one of the most beautiful places I've stayed. The park design is very accommodating and didn't have the rows of campers like some campgrounds. The staff was very courteous and down to earth. Lock 30 is very pet friendly, and I loved the "doggy comfort station." Be aware that the corn on the farm next door is tall and made the road sign difficult to see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
It seems Lock 30 is back to having management problems again. Our reservation was lost and the people manning the desk didn't have a clue. Park was ok, our site G* was a little muddy but tolerable. Sites in this section are very close together. There are other campgrounds in the area that have much more to offer. Scenery in the park was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
This campground ranks among the top 3 or 4 we have stayed in anywhere in the country. It is built in a forest of towering pine and fir trees and is absolutely beautiful. Many sites are seasonal but all are very nicely kept. The pool is the largest I have seen in a campground and is adjacent to a very well equipped game room. The laundry and restrooms are spotless. The sites are all back-in and are long and level, and there is a variety of sites ranging from sunny to deep shade. Some sties are satellite accessible. Management is very accommodating in helping you find a site that suits your needs. Although not a lot of tourist activities nearby, it is less than 10 miles to a Wal-Mart Supercenter and this is a geeat place just to relax and enjoy. Good Verizon signal but no ATT. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
This campground is well kept. The management is in tune with the campers needs and responds well to feed back. They have updated the playground with large tractor tires. They still charge for electric. It is nce to pay for only what you use. The (G) sites are kind of short. It is not a big deal, if you know that when you pick the site when making the reservation. The only draw back is the fire wood is cut too small so it burns very fast. It is not that big of a deal if you could bring your own. However the emerald ash borer or something like that prevents you from bringing your own fire wood. At 5.00 per crate there is plenty to go around. I love this campground. I will be back many times. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
This campground was absolutely beautiful. I felt like I was in the wilderness with all the trees, the smell of the pines. Waking up to the river flowing below me was so peaceful and relaxing. This campground has everything to offer, you can swim in a large clean pool, fish in the catch and release pond or the river, bike ride or simply just explore. The wild life is all around from the deer to the turkeys you can see all of this on a daily basis. It reminds you how far away from the "city" you are. The campground was extremely clean with friendly staff and I liked the fact that I had no campers in front or behind me. I had my own area for my kids to enjoy themselves. They even enjoyed playing with the campground "dog" named Black Jack who is very sweet and gentle. Usually where you find all the kids you find Black Jack. He's a great watch dog. He knows the campground is his "domain". So if you see him around he's just keeping things "under control". We definitely will be a summer visitor frequently from now on! You forget you are in Ohio. We never knew such beautiful wilderness existed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
There are less than 75 seasonal and weekend sites at Lock 30. The property is beautiful and the restrooms are clean. However, happy campers are driven away because of poor management and higher than normal fees. Owner lives out of state and on-site management has no camping experience. Neither are in touch with what camping is all about. With the exception of 2 or 3 holiday weekends, this campground is empty year round. Any longtime camper knows this is a pretty good indication of it's flaws. Lock 30 comes off as a business investment rather than pleasant place for an enjoyable family camping experience. Owner and staff are extremely impersonal. The office and camp store do not have regular hours and frequently not open at convenient times Conversations with fellow visitors to Lock 30 indicate the same reasons for weekend campers not returning and majority of seasonal campers pulling out to greener pastures. Although children are allowed, they don't appear to be welcome. Beware - websites are deceiving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
We had a great time and met many new friends. The park is forested in a horse shoe shape with no camping in front of your site or behind your site. Our kids enjoyed the playground, fishing and swimming in huge pool. Our dog stayed at no charge and the rules were no different than other dog friendly campgrounds. The property is absolutely beautiful with beaver creek flowing around it. The campground sits in a valley surrounded by mountains. We found the staff to be knowledgeable and helpful. The restrooms and showers have tiled floors and walls, heated and extremely clean. We di canoe in beaver creek it was nice but had to exit canoe at various locations due to low water. Overall we enjoyed our stay at Lock 30 (6 days) and will return next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
We stayed here this past weekend, but opted for their "Gas Saver Special". Book 2 consecutive weekends and leave your camper on the grounds (moved to a designated area). Stacey in the office couldn't be nicer - check in was a breeze. The camp store has some things, but not food. The Grocery store is in Lisbon about 10 miles away. The restrooms were cleaned/checked more than a few times a day because every time my husband or I were down using the 'facilities' Stacey was there checking it! The showers were clean and roomy, although the one in the club house had no separate changing area from the bathrooms. The showers in the rear were large enough for changing right inside the shower stall. The pool was wonderful on 2 hot days! It's not heated, but didn't need to be. The club house has a pool table, fooseball, some video games, a table, sofa. It's also where the laundry room is located. VERY clean. The sites are long, no one behind you or beside you. There were a couple places where the sites looked 'tight' (mainly #43 & #44) yet others were normal. There is no brush or anything hiding you from your neighbor, incase you're expecting a private site in a private campground - and no there are no 'waterfront' sites. You have to walk down to the creek. The campground was pretty full on our visit, but extremely quiet at night. The pool closed at 10 (or dusk) as does the club house. There was everything from Tent campers to Motorhomes and Fifth Wheels here so all are welcome and accommodated. At the time of this writing, the County this campground is located in is 'quarantined' due to Emerald Ash Borer, and therefore you must buy your firewood from the campground. $5 a large milk crate, which is larger than what you'd get at a convenience store - and they have a dump load or more depending on how long you're staying. We really enjoyed this campground and we're looking forward to going back next weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
My family and I recently visited Lock 30 Woodlands just last weekend, and have been camping there several times throughout the summer. I must say we have traveled all over the United States in our motor home and have never seen a park as beautiful and clean as that one! No wonder it's rated the highest campground in 3 states! And with such small staff they somehow find the time to keep it clean, keep the flowers looking beautiful, the grass clean cut, and be very friendly all at the same time! (And they made a conscience effort to remember our names, too!) They have a 40x80 crystal clear swimming pool which is excellent for the hot days we've been having. They have access to one of the now privately owned historical locks, most of which are deteriorating quickly like other places in the area. Big tourist attraction, and the view is something like you'd see in a movie. The Beaver Creek horseshoes all the way around the campground, and makes for a great hike, not to mention so peaceful. And their 3 acre stocked fishing pond is a favorite of my children, and family dog when he wants to get cooled off! And when you're done fishing, maybe you'll feel like a game of bocce ball on their tournament grade bocce ball court! I always feel safe at Lock 30 because it's so family oriented. I think all in all, my only complaint would be that they have less than 100 sites, and only about a dozen tent sites, making it hard to get a reservation. I've been told they book up to a year in advance, so I suggest you call way ahead of time because they fill up quick! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$39
When we got to the park, we found the office closed since their hours are 10-5 during the week. Looking for our papers in the box outside the office resulted in extreme frustration since they weren't there. We had the site number they had assigned us and we parked the trailer on the site anyway. Long rigs should note that there are trees strategically placed next to the road so that it's almost necessary to jack knife your tow vehicle and trailer to get around them. We were disappointed to find that you can't see the river from the sites, which was fine for us because it was mostly empty and algae had overgrown in what was left. There is a very steep cliff at the back of each site, and since the sites slope back towards the cliff, it's important to make sure you're not rolling anywhere. Bring lots of chocks!Most if not all the trees are pines, so there is considerable pine droppings all over the place. Although the sites are large, you are all in a row with no foliage between sites so you can see directly into your neighbors rig. We parked a 35' rig and 4 cars in the site one evening for dinner, so you have a lot of room front to back. An aunt came to visit to go swimming in the pool, but turned around and brought the kids home...the pool was a very bright green. No explanation or apologies were given for this. Camp store was a few shelves with one or two items in each of the cubbies, a big let down. There weren't any activities, so we found ourselves leaving every day to find stuff to do. The place fills up with campers (including hordes of tenters) on the weekends, so be careful coming and going on the roads as the loop is bi-directional. Although the campground is located behind a cow farm, we didn't smell the usual bovine essence that travels across the hills and that was a plus. However, it's out in the middle of nothing so make sure you have enough gas to get yourself there. The staff was nice, but no one even pretended to remember our names even though we were in and out of the office all 5 days with guests. Oh, and right off Route 11 on the way is Patrick's Chop House (Lock 24 to the locals). EXCELLENT food! Probably best part of the trip, but it's a little pricey so be prepared. We don't think we'd visit again, leaving this place to the seasonals instead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
This park has about a third of the sites any other campground of this size would have. Speaks highly of the owners, they seem to not be in it only for the money. The woman at the desk when we checked in was very nice and helpful. LOTS of green space in this park. All of the camping sites are on the outside of the road that loops around the campgroung. The entire center is green space with the shower house and one shelter. Lots of trees. Nice, short hiking trail. Firewood is a little expensive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$32
We are longtime RVers who travel in our motorhome all over the country, yet we didn't know that this caompground was practically in our backyard. One of those well-kept secrets! They may benefit from a lighted highway sign. It has to be in the top 10 - huge, level sites, a photographer's paradise with the gardens, river and many trees. We caught several fish in the first half hour and hiked the trails until it started to rain. Only problem is that we coudn't get in the first two tries, the campground fills fast. We were told that holidays book a year in advance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$30
With gas prices what they are, we wanted a campground close to home (a little over one hour). Checked out the website and was pleasantly surprised when we got to the campground; the website did not lie! Quiet campground with nice big sites and lots of trees. Lots of tulips and daffodils in bloom everywhere. The lower level was just as beautiful with the river and fishing lake. Very friendly, helpful staff. We can't wait to go back when the pool is open! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$24
We were disappointed with this campground, nothing at all like their website. Sure,the sites were long and wide, but scrappy. Very little good grass area, if any, on the sites. Most not level. Walked down to the lock which is barely visible due to overgrowth. The fishing pond was a joke, covered with thick, green scum. I will say the staff was friendly and helpful, but I would not make this place a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$30
This is a beautiful campground that is in going through some changes by a new owner. She has the right idea about what to do with the property and I am sure it will be very worth while when she is finished with everything. It heavily wooded, there is a canal that circles the campground and a 3 acre private lake (stocked, although we didn't catch anything). The sights are ENORMOUS. Probably 300 ft deep on the side we stayed on. Hookups where well place and seemed brand new. The owner is extremely attentive and accommodating. Very peaceful and serene. We plan to return in the next year or two to see what progress has been made. I am sure it will be very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$28
Nice campground, not all sites will handle big rigs,some are not level, and most are back in sites. Heavily wooded and NOT close to highway or RR tracks so it is very peaceful. Pool opens Memorial Day. Phones lines were being installed while we were there. We will definitely go here again. Close to Beaver Creek SP which is nice. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com