223354 User submitted reviews online!!
Hocking Hills State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (740) 385-6842
CGID2190

Hocking Hills State Park

Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   6   8   3   9   9   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$14
Wanted to update this park since the latest update is rather old. We spent 4 days at Hocking Hills. It was a return outing after a 35 year absence. The rate reflects a 50% Ohio senior discount (Sunday-Thurs) The park has seen some improvements in the last 30 years, however, the sites are still close together, there are large drop-off spaces from the pads to the ground. That is an accident waiting to happen! The pads are OK for a popup and car, but unit larger would be a challenge to accommodate both. Most had a slight slope to the pads. The restrooms were typical SP issue with a quantity of bugs sharing all spaces. The restrooms were cleaned daily, but some of the faucets did not work correctly, and there were no HOOKS to hang your clothes, towel, etc. Hiking trails are the high point, however, staying on the trails is a must. Massive drop in height if you don't. There was a swimming pool at the campground, but not open while we were there (guards were in school) and was scheduled to close on Labor Day. Staff was helpful and polite. We were allowed to pick our site prior to registration. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Nice park with fairly level asphalt pads. Best suited to under 30'. 30 amp electric and no water at site. There are several water fill sites within park and two dump stations. We were there midweek so the campground was pretty empty. Restrooms were fair to poor. 1/2 mile walk to Old Mans Cave. It was empty for season but pool looked pretty nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
This was our first time to the area, loved the area and the park. The trails are great. Our site was nice we had site 123, a bit of a decline/slope from the pad to the fire pit, however we liked it like that and it worked out great for us. We liked the sites in areas 3 and 4. We had dinner at The Lodge restaurant; it was one of the best brisket dinners I have had in a long time and at a very reasonable price. I would love to come back either in the fall or spring time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
Small camp sites with mostly narrow, uneven pads. Many pads have a dangerously steep drop off that could cause twisted or broken ankles, legs, or toes. Very little grass - mostly dirt and/or straw. Attractive because of the location - scenic Hocking County and within walking distance of Old Man's Cave or a short drive from many of the other caves and sites. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and stayed for three nights. It wasn't until Tuesday that the over-flowing garbage dumpster RIGHT NEXT TO OUR TT was emptied. It was full when we arrived but people kept putting their garbage in it, on it and close to it. Because of the many sites worthy of visiting in the area, a lot of people use this campground - pop-ups, tents and antique TTs. A very busy campground and with close neighbors, it is seldom quiet. Dogs bark regularly and we saw no attempt at quieting them. This is one of Ohio's state parks we will not return to - we'll leave it for the many, many folks that have NO interest in quiet, peaceful, enjoyable camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Spent a week here in the spring. Is a wonderful Sate Park with plenty of local activities. The grounds are well maintained and the staff is very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again if our travels bring us to central Ohio. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Not very conducive to tent camping. Very crowded with motor homes, kids everywhere on bikes, the Buckeye game blaring from every RV. Giant blow ups of Brutus Buckeye: that kind of thing. Fine if you like it, but not the escape to the woods I was looking for. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
We agree with all the positive comments from previous reviews as well as the negative comment as to shower design. The Old Man Cave area was so beautiful, - like scenery from Lord of the Rings. Next time we come we are going to get up early and take the trails there before it gets busy. Don't miss the other natural areas, - Ash Cave, Cantwell Cliffs, Cedar Falls, etc. We found the Conkles Hollow area was particularly beautiful. One final note: if you are travelling to the park from the south on highway 23, don't take highway 50 and then north at Allensville. It looks like the shortest way but there are no signs and the road north from Allensville is very winding, - easy to get lost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
This was a very nice and clean campground. Easy access to Old Man's Cave hiking area either by trail from the campground or by car on the main road. The playground areas were nicely maintained and the pool was fairly large and clean even on a hot and crowded day. The restrooms and showers were clean and despite the large number of campers, we never needed to wait for a shower. Some of the sites are pretty close together, although most were fairly shady. We had site 103 and it was a good location for us, but were thankful that no one was on the site next to us (102) as their pad was about a foot away from the back of our pad and at an angle. If someone had put a camper on that site, the back of their camper would have been about a foot away from the side of ours, so we would have definitely been cramped for space. If possible I would avoid those two sites when choosing a site! We would definitely return to this campground in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This campground is nice but probably not as nice as I had hoped. But, the Hocking Hills area makes up for the disappoitment of the campground. We didn't spent a lot of time at the campground because we were too busy taking in the breathtaking sites that the area has to offer. The pool was large but there was a stench in the air from some type of a sewage system so that was a drawback. I would return to this campground because it had activities for the kids and we loved the area. I do wish the sites had water on them -- that makes for short trips only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
This state park is real nice overall and in a great area of Ohio. There is a lot of easy walks, some a little tougher with stairs, to check out water falls (which were pretty dried up due to lack of rain) caves, etc. The swimming pool was nice too. We would have liked sites with a little more room, but the sites were adequate, the real downfall of this park is the bathrooms, I'm not sure what the designer of these bathroom/showers could not have been thinking (they looked relatively new), there was no real area for privacy while changing clothes, you had to undress in an area shared by all three showers, which was separated by a shower curtain to the entry area of the bathroom. The floor of the shower was open at the bottom so you would get splashed by anyone showering next to you which we didn't care for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Wonderful park. All the people we met were so friendly. There is currently a repaving project going on, so half the campground was closed (the older half) and the newer half (off to the left) had all new paved roads and sites. The road up the hill from the registration office to the campground was a bit windy and narrow and steep and we didn't want to take our Class C back down the hill in the morning just to check in our site number, but dh went down on a bicycle and it worked out fine. The playground on the left side of the campground is spectacular, and near there is a dirt path down to Rose Lake where they have built a wildlife viewing blind. It's very nice. You can also reach the Old Man's Cave hiking trails from the campground. Our site was very nice, though not quite level. Plenty of trees. It was completely full by Saturday evening - not a single site available in the part of the park that was open. Typical state park quality - underground electric, paved sites, nice showerhouses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
This was the cleanest Ohio State Park we have seen so far. Surprisingly litter free. Beautiful surroundings and close to all the local attractions and activities. Some sites a little close together, but most are pretty good. The pool looked nice but it was closed since we were there after Labor Day. There are several small playground areas scattered around the campground, and there is a coin laundry in the main shower house by the pool. Some friends stayed here a few weeks before us and said that the water was really nasty because of high sulfur content. We came prepared with a full water tank and several extra containers of fresh water so this was not a problem for us. We also took some time to drive thru a few private campgrounds in the area and felt that the State Park was the best value if you can do without full hook ups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com