223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Deer Creek State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (740) 869-3508
CGID2202

Deer Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
232
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   7   8   10   8   6   7   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
Beautiful setting. No hot water for showers or handwashing and men's restroom nasty, seriously needed cleaning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We camped here for 4 days. The sites are mostly level on the non-lake side, but some are severely sloped. Almost all are well secluded. We love how remote this park is and how the sky revealed 5-6 satellites and a half-dozen shooting stars each night; very little light pollution. It's remote, but it's still within 30 minutes to Columbus. We spent a day at the State Fair and another at COSI, but the others were spent relaxing at the beach, biking and fishing. there are also 2 parks with swings, rocking things and marry go rounds. Beware: There is very little cell service with AT&T and Verizon, and no Wi-Fi except at the Lodge. The Lodge is a 5 minute drive away and the nearest grocery store (not counting the decent little-little camp store) is 15 minutes away (but it's near a creamy whip so that's OK). The town is about 12 blocks square so the IGA is stocked as such. The beach is nice and sunny and sandy with a fenced-off pet beach, but it's a 10-15 minute drive away. This is frustrating because you can see it from the campground, but have to go AROUND the lake to get to it. Also, it's important to keep in mind that this is a State Park, not a commercial one, and you're surrounded by woods so the restrooms are a little rough, but the water is hot and they have the fewest 'pets' crawling around we've seen. All-in-all we loved (loved) the seclusion provided at most sites and the campground in general. This is our second trip and won't be our last. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
We were coming back from All Good Festival and needed a place to stay. Sites were big but not level. Ours had a picnic table and fire ring. No water hookups but water was accessible through spigots around the park. Don't know how you would fill your tank. Dump station was fine. The lady in the office was lovely. They had miniature golf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Nice area with multiple hosts available. Clean and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
The campsites are great. Most are very big and private. Use common sense because of the skunks and raccoons. Driveways are at an angle for easy back in. Restrooms/showers are old but clean. Very pet friendly with a beach for the dogs. Has many activities. Gas up on I-71, because of a lot of driving in the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We enjoyed the seclusion of each site; most are separated by trees and provide a semi-private space. The shower house was clean, the park well kept, and the surrounding area beautiful. We came for the State Fair in Columbus but wished we had more time to spend at the park. The restrooms could have been cleaner, but they weren't unkempt any more than any other state park so we can't complain. The park's lake, beach and resort are incredible and made us want to visit again when we can spend more time onsite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
From my past few reviews, it probably sounds like a bad camping year for us, and yes it has been. Probably along with everyone else. This was a good old standby for us as it was not far from home and well kept. When we arrived, the trash bins were over flowing, the rules about a certain amount of people and vehicles was just completely overlooked, we saw up to 5 vehicles parked on one site! The majority we saw had at least 2 but most had 3 and/or boats and trailers. To top it off, the entire (and I mean entire) campground smelled of sewage. Not sure if has been a problem lately, or if the high humid temps we have been experiencing for the last month or 2, has something to do with it. We even wondered if maybe some of these people who were staying long term (14 days, and there were a few), were dumping on the ground? The gnats were unbearable, and between those and the sewer smell made the 4 days we were here absolutely miserable. The fire rings had not been touched and beer bottle caps (which are not allowed in Ohio state parks), were embedded in the ground around our campfire. Also, we came across at least 2 vicious dogs while walking the loop, one even tried to bite my husband while he was on his bike. This used to be such a well kept state park with respectable campers and fairly nice camping units. That is a thing of the past I am afraid. We will probably mark this one off our list for now unless some management changes take effect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
We have stayed at this state park campground several times over the last few years. It is one of our favorites. The campsites are spacious. There is a wide range of types of sites also, from sunny and grassy to shady and woodsy. All sites are pet friendly. We have settled on a favorite location, site #166, because it has a nice view of the lake and is across the road from the showers/restrooms. The restrooms and showers are always as clean as any state park facilities I've seen. The camper hosts have always been helpful and very friendly. The grounds are well kept, however in the woodsy side of the campground mud is a problem when it rains. The lake is beautiful, with lots of fish to keep my husband busy and happy. There is a lovely lodge with a restaurant, lounge, swimming pools, etc. There is also a nice golf course on the park grounds and several walking trails. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We camped here last year; this year we had site 157. The site is not level but is not bad. We had no trouble leveling front to back. The showers and rest rooms have had upgrades since last year's visit. The most obvious was new floors and shower stalls. They were also painted. The only problem with the new floor is that the toilets which are mounted on the wall are now at least an inch or two lower than before. My wife had knee replacement recently and found it somewhat difficult to get up and down because there are no grab bars to use for assistance. The camp store was having a sale both Saturday and Sunday. When we went there were a lot of buyers. We will return to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This was our yearly trek to Deer Creek, the bathrooms were in good shape at this time and hope they will stay that way through the summer. The park hosts were polite and friendly and the park in the normal shape. However, the water in the lake was down a lot, so for you boaters, you might check with the park on that before you haul your boat over there. All in all, a good place to camp. Oh, don't forget to stop by Ben and Joy's in Mt. Sterling for dinner, their all you can eat ribs are wonderful! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
This use to be one of our favorite Ohio SP's; it just doesn't seem to be as well taken care of anymore. The shower houses were "OK" nothing great and some of the shower stalls were stopped up and not fixed during our stay. The mowing is evidentially contracted out now as we watched them skip many empty lots and hap hazard mow the rest. Use to be such a tidy, clean state park but we just see it going downhill...We will probably look for camping elsewhere when coming to the area from now on, sadly. The camper hosts were friendly as were the park attendants, the park was completely full the weekend we were there, weekdays were more crowded than we have seen in the past. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
We stayed in site 154 over Memorial Day in a small travel trailer. Our site was level enough but some we saw would have required a lot of blocks under the wheels to get the rig level. A lot of the sites have trees or shrubs as a buffer between them which is nice. Most have some shade during the day. Our site had the picnic table and fire ring down a steep incline. While it did not rain at all during our stay, it had rained a few days prior and the area was quite soggy albeit usable. Being downhill it was difficult to get to safely for anyone who might have trouble walking. The showers were very nice and clean with individual temperature control. Also, there are comfort stations located independently throughout the campground. The one near us was clean and odor free with flush toilets. Not sure if they have hot water available because even after letting it run a while it never seemed to get even warm. There is a free beach which was very nice but required driving to it. The bath houses were not clean but the season had not really started. Campers may swim at the lodge for a $5.00 daily fee. This also requires driving to it. There are 2 pools - indoor and outdoor. Despite being Memorial Day weekend neither of them were overly crowded. We appreciated a 10 am service in the outdoor shelter house on Sunday. They even had juice and donuts. The camp store has most everything but some things are limited quantity. Check in was very quick. If you have a large rig make sure to ask which direction you need to go to be able to back into your site. They sent us the wrong way but our rig is small enough that we could still manage. They do recycle and have a nice dump station near the entrance. There are bicycles of various types for rent as well as mini golf. One word of caution if you have the small scooters they may be used only if running on foot power. If they are motorized they are not legal unless licensed. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
We come to Deer Creek every Spring, Summer and Fall. It is a well run campground which is continually working on upgrading aspects of the park. They are currently upgrading the electric this winter, which is the only complaint I have ever had. They have a lot of activities in the summer, spacious clean sites, and for the most part it is very quiet. In the summer you are allowed to use the lodge's swimming pool for a small cost. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
This is our 3rd year. We were so disappointed in the condition of the shower houses...the buildings were fine; but the inside was bad. There were spiders everywhere; cobwebs and bugs all over the place. Spiders on the shower curtains. It was so horribly hot in there you couldn't catch your breath and there was a roof fan; but you could tell by the cob webs around it; that it had not been turned on all summer. Both shower houses we checked out were the same. I don't know if the camperhosts are in charge of these or a paid worker; but they are completely opposite of last years trip. the bathrooms were always cleaned before and we even commented to the park about how nice they were. We also looked for a comment card; but could not locate any to let the park know. But we did send a note via their website. We did see where they are planning on upgrading the electric this fall. That is a good thing, everything else about the park was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
Park was very nice, the bathrooms are nice also...the only thing that was bad was the electric surged quite a bit and it wasn't on the weekend either. It could have been the site too, we were in 182. Last year we camped there with no issues. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$23
The campground is very shady and quiet. We enjoyed swimming at the Lodge indoor and outdoor pool. The beach is nice but full of goose droppings. Putt putt was fun. The store had quite a selection of goodies. The gift shop and restaurant at the Lodge were wonderful. They have quite a few campsites that you could get together for family/friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Very nice sites...The park is beautiful and easy access. The sites are bigger than most at private grounds and the bathrooms were modern and very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com